Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#2401)
Marcel
Maha Guru
 
Marcel's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Processor: i7 4770 (3,9 GHz)
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Memory: DDR3/16GB/2133/
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750 W
Default 12-17-2012, 06:22 | posts: 1,115 | Location: Slovakia

Quote:
Originally Posted by PandoraX357 View Post
Hey guys, I wanted to get some feedback on my SweetFX config WIP.
I want to note, I prefer sligtly increased contrast and sharper images. Also, Im usining higher sharpening since forcing AA through driver makes sniper scope crossairs disappear, and have FXAA set at 2 in xml. I also want to note I'm using Starac's Texture mod which has it's skybox affects.

 Click to show spoiler



SweetFX settings:
 Click to show spoiler



my .xml profile (nothing custom here, just wanted to share full combination of variables for this SweetFx config)
 Click to show spoiler
Turn OFF SMAA in sweetFX. In game FXAA works much better . If you want good AA use downsampling with FXAA. Luma pretty clean the image. I have only one game where works well SMAA+FXAA (Batman Arkham City). In other games it blurs the image.
   
 
Old
  (#2402)
PandoraX357
Newbie
 
PandoraX357's Avatar
 
Videocard: 560GTX-ti 2G Twin FrozrII
Processor: Core2Duo E8500@3.85GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 12-17-2012, 07:46 | posts: 14

@jim2point0 Thanks for responding. I "had" AA forced thru nvidia inspector, with luma much lower, and the image was greater improved. But it causes the zoomed-in sniper scope crossairs to disappear. This unfortunately, impacted my playstyle too much and had to disable, so now I'm trying to balance luma+fxaa. But really having a hell of time time finding that line between blurred and crisp. The vanilla game gave me very bad staggered lines.
I noticed the vines white lines too, but wrote it off as poorly done engine simulated reflections, or meshes. Lowered luma without fxaa was very grainy for me.
Also, my approach overall is attempting to stay as true as possible to vanilla, so I'm using tonemap and s-curve to increase contrast, and make colors richer yet less saturated. (note: I'm still experimenting with LGG a bit in this regard. You can see the current settings I was dancing with, but not enabled for this config.
Ill post back a few B&A shots tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel View Post
Turn OFF SMAA in sweetFX. In game FXAA works much better less. If you want good AA use downsampling with FXAA. Luma pretty clean the image. I have only one game where works well SMAA+FXAA (Batman Arkham City). In other games it blurs the image.
Thanks for the feedback as well. Honestly, i wasn't sure whether the smaa was actually affecting anything or not. As mentioned, still wip, so its pretty much still mid test.
Only reason I hadn't DS yet, is cause my gpu is already heavy handed compared to the rest of my out dated specs, and havent fully read up enough to know the impact relative to rest of hardware. Many thanks for tips. Ill drop smaa, and take these comments in consideration moving forward.
Like I said, I can't find that sharpness balance. It seems I'll get near images to my liking, but distant details fail. Change this and that, then it reverses. Haha, FC3 and FC2 are definitely two separate animals. Granted, the PH has alot to do with it.

Last edited by PandoraX357; 12-17-2012 at 07:50.
   
Old
  (#2403)
melbourne47
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 660
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: 2x2G KingstonDDR2 800Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX620
Talking 12-17-2012, 08:13 | posts: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gembel View Post
 Click to show spoiler
@Gembel
Can you post the settings for this
And in these screen shots, are you using the texture mod?

Thanks

@QuadReaktor
Can you also post your settings? Thanks

@both
I'm comparing different settings for far cry 3 and studying their differences so that I will be able to make my own later on that perfectly suits my taste
   
Skyrim Imaginator + SweetFX
Old
  (#2404)
GameGuy
Member Guru
 
GameGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x MSI 670 PE/OC 2GB SLI
Processor: 3570k 4.5Ghz/ H220
Mainboard: Z77 Sabertooth R2.0
Memory: Kingston Gene 4x4GB 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone Strider 850w
Default Skyrim Imaginator + SweetFX - 12-17-2012, 08:33 | posts: 76 | Location: Canada

Just some samples of what I'm working on. I would like some advice on how to lower the intensity of the greens and create a warmer feel during the day. I find the day to be really bright no matter what I do and really vibrant where as I find the nights and evenings perfect in my opinion. I would also like some advice from someone who has played with ugrids to see what is the best quality but yet is stable.

 Click to show spoiler



SweetFX Present
 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by GameGuy; 12-17-2012 at 08:48.
   
 
Old
  (#2405)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 12-17-2012, 09:21 | posts: 780 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by melbourne47 View Post
@Gembel
Can you post the settings for this
And in these screen shots, are you using the texture mod?

Thanks

@QuadReaktor
Can you also post your settings? Thanks

@both
I'm comparing different settings for far cry 3 and studying their differences so that I will be able to make my own later on that perfectly suits my taste
Sure melbourne47

 Click to show spoiler

   
Old
  (#2406)
SOGMARK5
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6700
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: Dell Inc. 0Y2MRG (CPU1)
Memory: 12GB Dual Channel DDR3
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: Dell 450W
Default 12-17-2012, 13:43 | posts: 1

I am trying to use SweetFX 1.33 on Far Cry 3. Wow! This is fantastic improvement!

So, I tried Sweet FX 1.33 on a Novalogic game from 2004. The game is titled Joint Operations Typhoon Rising and it says on the game box that it requires DX8/9. The game is running a mod called Advanced Warfare 2.

When I tried SweetFX 1.33 it seemed to work for about 15 minutes, but then it temporarily messed up other software (MS Office) on my computer… everything is ok now since I rebooted the computer and removed SweetFX from the game mentioned.

Anyway, I wanted to check here before attempting again… has anyone tried SweetFX 1.33 on Joint Ops AW2 with success?
   
Old
  (#2407)
Leilu
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 660 SLI
Processor: I5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-560
Default 12-17-2012, 15:13 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2point0 View Post
The "GamerProfile.xml" link for Far Cry 3 returns to the home page. Could you share it?
Great website. I hope the game list will continue to grow.
   
Old
  (#2408)
NeoEnigma
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ---
Processor: ---
Mainboard: ---
Memory: ---
Soundcard:
PSU: ---
Default 12-17-2012, 15:43 | posts: 631

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leilu View Post
The "GamerProfile.xml" link for Far Cry 3 returns to the home page. Could you share it?
Great website. I hope the game list will continue to grow.
I posted it somewhere in this thread before... I'll try and remember to upload it when I get home. But honestly, what are you expecting to see out of that? There isn't much you can really modify in that file that will change the game drastically. It's mostly turning things on and off as per your own preference.

You can just use Jonas' example config from this post and modify it to your liking. For example, in <post> I disable SSAO, motion blur and FXAA.

EDIT: WHOOPS. My work computer still logs me into my old account. I should fix that
   
Old
  (#2409)
Marcel
Maha Guru
 
Marcel's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Processor: i7 4770 (3,9 GHz)
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Memory: DDR3/16GB/2133/
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750 W
Default 12-17-2012, 16:53 | posts: 1,115 | Location: Slovakia

for all

...

good tool for mixing colors

http://painting.about.com/library/bl...ngpalette1.htm

CeeJay

In the future... it would be possible to add a yellow color in tonemap or lift gamma gain? It would save a lot of time.

Last edited by Marcel; 12-17-2012 at 17:02.
   
Old
  (#2410)
jim2point0
Maha Guru
 
jim2point0's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x-SLI Gigabyte G1 980 Ti
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: 16GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w P2
Default 12-17-2012, 17:25 | posts: 1,322

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel View Post
I might be misunderstanding the point of this... but the way paint colors mix is totally different than how you mix colors in the digital realm. On that site, red + green = black. In Photoshop, Red + Green = Yellow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leilu View Post
I hope the game list will continue to grow.
I need games to play. I tried Darksiders 2... but I get 15 FPS using the same AA mode and resolution that I use in Far Cry 3... where I get 60 FPS.

Last edited by jim2point0; 12-17-2012 at 17:27.
   
Old
  (#2411)
Exploder87
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward 680 Phantom
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair
Default 12-17-2012, 18:08 | posts: 13 | Location: Narvik

Guys, does anyone know how to make SweetFX work with the Serious Sam HD-remakes? The game fails to start when I put the files in the "bin" folder where the game executable is located.

The log says:

"full path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Serious Sam HD The Second Encounter\Bin\
redirecting CreateDevice
initialising shader environment
D3DXCreateEffectFromFile failed
try to use "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Serious Sam HD The Second Encounter" for shader files"

I've tried putting the files in the main folder but it doesn't seem to work in-game.
   
Old
  (#2412)
Marcel
Maha Guru
 
Marcel's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Processor: i7 4770 (3,9 GHz)
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Memory: DDR3/16GB/2133/
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750 W
Default 12-17-2012, 19:57 | posts: 1,115 | Location: Slovakia

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2point0 View Post
I might be misunderstanding the point of this... but the way paint colors mix is totally different than how you mix colors in the digital realm. On that site, red + green = black. In Photoshop, Red + Green = Yellow



I need games to play. I tried Darksiders 2... but I get 15 FPS using the same AA mode and resolution that I use in Far Cry 3... where I get 60 FPS.
no click on secondary colors. If you click on secondary color tool to show you how to get to the color.

green= yellow(1)+blue(1)
click on RED add 1 point to RED, after you click on green tool add 1 point to blue and one to yellow=GREEN but + RED=BLACK

it works perfectly

sorry my english is not very good...

Last edited by Marcel; 12-17-2012 at 21:20.
   
Old
  (#2413)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 12-17-2012, 20:01 | posts: 780 | Location: Indonesia







Setting:

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by Gembel; 12-18-2012 at 12:57.
   
Old
  (#2414)
PandoraX357
Newbie
 
PandoraX357's Avatar
 
Videocard: 560GTX-ti 2G Twin FrozrII
Processor: Core2Duo E8500@3.85GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 12-18-2012, 01:48 | posts: 14

@Gembel Beautiful shots!! Are you using the ingame fxaa, and/or forcing any settings through gpu driver/control panel?
   
Old
  (#2415)
PandaSushi
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: Audioengine D1 USB DAC
PSU: Seasonic X-650
Default 12-18-2012, 05:55 | posts: 39 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel View Post
for all

...

good tool for mixing colors

http://painting.about.com/library/bl...ngpalette1.htm

CeeJay

In the future... it would be possible to add a yellow color in tonemap or lift gamma gain? It would save a lot of time.
To use yellow in tonemap add "#define FogColor float3(2.55, 2.55, 0.00)"
and in gamma lift gain 5% yellow would be "#define RGB_Gamma float3(1.050, 1.050, 1.000)"

Color values can be found here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_colors#Yellow
   
Old
  (#2416)
Maken
Master Guru
 
Maken's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980Ti G1 6GB
Processor: i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 12-18-2012, 06:16 | posts: 261 | Location: Venezuela

Dead Space 2

 Click to show spoiler


COD Modern Warfare 2

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by Maken; 12-18-2012 at 07:07.
   
Old
  (#2417)
Marcel
Maha Guru
 
Marcel's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Processor: i7 4770 (3,9 GHz)
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Memory: DDR3/16GB/2133/
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750 W
Default 12-18-2012, 06:33 | posts: 1,115 | Location: Slovakia

Quote:
Originally Posted by PandaSushi View Post
To use yellow in tonemap add "#define FogColor float3(2.55, 2.55, 0.00)"
and in gamma lift gain 5% yellow would be "#define RGB_Gamma float3(1.050, 1.050, 1.000)"

Color values can be found here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_colors#Yellow
yes I know how to mix yellow but if it would be separately are easy to mix more colors. FXAA post Process Injector has a separate yellow color in tonemap. Thanks for link. is very useful.
   
Old
  (#2418)
PandaSushi
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: Audioengine D1 USB DAC
PSU: Seasonic X-650
Default 12-18-2012, 09:14 | posts: 39 | Location: Australia

Quote:
yes I know how to mix yellow but if it would be separately are easy to mix more colors. FXAA post Process Injector has a separate yellow color in tonemap. Thanks for link. is very useful.
Sweetfx 1.0 tonemap looks to have the same tonemap as fxaa injector.
I have only tested this on dx11 and it works fine,replace the current tonemap in sweetfx/shaders folder with this one(from sweetfx 1.0)

 Click to show spoiler



Then replace tonemap settings in sweetfx_setting txt with this

 Click to show spoiler

   
Old
  (#2419)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill x4
Processor: 2600k HT@4 .5 + NZXT X61
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic 750 Watt
Default 12-18-2012, 10:50 | posts: 26,180 | Location: Netherlands

yeah very nice shots Gembel.
   
Old
  (#2420)
Marcel
Maha Guru
 
Marcel's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Processor: i7 4770 (3,9 GHz)
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Memory: DDR3/16GB/2133/
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750 W
Default 12-18-2012, 11:02 | posts: 1,115 | Location: Slovakia

Quote:
Originally Posted by PandaSushi View Post
Sweetfx 1.0 tonemap looks to have the same tonemap as fxaa injector.
I have only tested this on dx11 and it works fine,replace the current tonemap in sweetfx/shaders folder with this one(from sweetfx 1.0)

 Click to show spoiler



Then replace tonemap settings in sweetfx_setting txt with this

 Click to show spoiler
Thanks for the tip. i will try it
   
Old
  (#2421)
ninjafada
Master Guru
 
ninjafada's Avatar
 
Videocard: pny 670
Processor: i5 3570k@4.5
Mainboard: gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: Gskill 8G@2023
Soundcard: rltek + Altec Lansing
PSU: 550W
Default 12-18-2012, 11:12 | posts: 308

the tonemap setting was RGB + alpha
alpha was useless so it's now a float3
   
Old
  (#2422)
krillemy
Newbie
 
krillemy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 560
Processor: Intel i3-2100 3.1 GHz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB RAM
Soundcard:
PSU: None
Default 12-18-2012, 11:33 | posts: 5 | Location: Denmark

Can i tweak the light with SweetFX? if so which setting is it?. and also lowering the RGB Lift value seems to make the shadows darker which i prefer and like but it also makes other things awfully dark like trees and just the whole image itself. So does anyone know the answers for these two questions

Thanks!
   
Old
  (#2423)
PandaSushi
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: Audioengine D1 USB DAC
PSU: Seasonic X-650
Default 12-18-2012, 11:36 | posts: 39 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjafada View Post
the tonemap setting was RGB + alpha
alpha was useless so it's now a float3
Yes alpha was pointless but the values are definitely blue red yellow with the older version not rgb.I just tested it again just make sure the colors were in that order.
   
Old
  (#2424)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 12-18-2012, 12:42 | posts: 780 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by PandoraX357 View Post
@Gembel Beautiful shots!! Are you using the ingame fxaa, and/or forcing any settings through gpu driver/control panel?
Thanks PandoraX357..In game FXAA=2, not using anything through inspector


Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
yeah very nice shots Gembel.
Thanks WhiteLightning Maybe you want to try my preset

Setting:

 Click to show spoiler

   
Old
  (#2425)
Maken
Master Guru
 
Maken's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980Ti G1 6GB
Processor: i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 12-18-2012, 19:28 | posts: 261 | Location: Venezuela

 Click to show spoiler

   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.