Quick question about Vulkan

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fish, Apr 14, 2017.

1. fish

fish Active Member

GPU:
    MSI 5700 XT
    I have installed the latest SDK from here (as I cant seem to find the stand alone RT):

https://vulkan.lunarg.com/sdk/home#windows

Once installed, it creates a folder containing the 1.0.46 RT, I copied this to another folder and uninstalled the SDK as I am not a developer.

I then installed the 1.0.46 RT saved earlier, this installs to C:\Program Files (x86)\VulkanRT\1.0.46.0

When I run doom, it tells me I am running 1.0.39.0 - I assume this installed AMD drivers 17.4.1.

How do I uninstall the old Vulkan and get Doom to use the new one?

Last edited: Apr 14, 2017
  2. JonasBeckman

JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

GPU:
    XFX 7900XTX M'310
    1.0.39.0 is the AMD driver Vulkan version, you are still using the 1.0.46.0 runtime but the driver has it's own version. :)
    ("amdvlk32 and amdvlk64 .dll" version 1.0.39.0)

Though you can also check to see if there's multiple versions installed.
    C:\Program Files (x86)\VulkanRT

Should only be a 1.0.46.0 folder, if there's more you can run the uninstaller in them and clean them out, perhaps uninstall them all and then re-install 1.0.46.0

3. RealNC

RealNC Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4070 Ti Super
    What were you hoping to achieve with that?

Just use the version bundled in the driver's installer. Installing a newer runtime manually does not have any effect for end-users.

4. fish

fish Active Member

GPU:
    MSI 5700 XT
    I was experiencing some odd stuttering that could only be resolved by having afterburners osd displayed. I had tried a lot of different options and thought I might try and update the Vulkan run time.

Seems quite bizarre that AMD would have their own Vulkan time version number that follows the same format as the official one but uses different numbers!

Can you tell me who the vulkan runtime benefits if not the end users?

5. RealNC