Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1651)
slickwicked
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9 fury x
Processor: i7 5820k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: gs 1050
Default 02-10-2017, 18:31 | posts: 5

long story short i bought the r9furyx cuz my gtx 980 was being rmad and i watched alot of videos showing it performing better than a gtx980ti, got my gtx980 back and get same fps as furyx, before rma my games were slower than it should be the gtx was broken( by the psu i had to rma too i think)

i wanted to jump back on team red but i think ill send it back,
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1652)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 02-10-2017, 20:11 | posts: 6,618

Quote:
Originally Posted by slickwicked View Post
long story short i bought the r9furyx cuz my gtx 980 was being rmad and i watched alot of videos showing it performing better than a gtx980ti, got my gtx980 back and get same fps as furyx, before rma my games were slower than it should be the gtx was broken( by the psu i had to rma too i think)

i wanted to jump back on team red but i think ill send it back,
So, where were you getting the same FPS? Which games? What OS are you using? You are not "sure" if your PSU was ok but you had to RMA it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1653)
Goiur
Master Guru
 
Goiur's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 Fury X 1105/550
Processor: i7-5820K @ 4,5GHz 1,26V
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A USB 3.1
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB @2666 1,3V
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 02-10-2017, 21:19 | posts: 438 | Location: Bilbo, Basque Country

Just another troll messing around with no data to be shared...

My furyx is faster than a 1080 btw, same game, same settings, 1440p.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1654)
slickwicked
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9 fury x
Processor: i7 5820k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: gs 1050
Default 02-11-2017, 03:17 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
So, where were you getting the same FPS? Which games? What OS are you using? You are not "sure" if your PSU was ok but you had to RMA it?

i wasnt clear in my post,my psu was faulty and i think it ruined my gtx980

every game i have furyx is barely ahead of my gtx980 1080p

i was hoping posting on this r9 furyx thread someone might chime in that previously had a 980 and if the furyx is a waste of an upgrade
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1655)
slickwicked
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9 fury x
Processor: i7 5820k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: gs 1050
Default 02-11-2017, 03:20 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goiur View Post
Just another troll messing around with no data to be shared...

My furyx is faster than a 1080 btw, same game, same settings, 1440p.
nope not a troll, i didnt offer data per im just asking a general question

i really wanted this card to work out, im curious if all the videos showing it faster than a gtx980ti were accurate is all, and curious if i should send it back and keep my gtx980
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1656)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Nitro OC
Processor: i7 3930k@ 4.1 212 EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: HyperX 1866 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DXG X-540 5.1
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 02-11-2017, 03:47 | posts: 2,230 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by slickwicked View Post
i wasnt clear in my post,my psu was faulty and i think it ruined my gtx980

every game i have furyx is barely ahead of my gtx980 1080p

i was hoping posting on this r9 furyx thread someone might chime in that previously had a 980 and if the furyx is a waste of an upgrade
You have issues with your system is fury x is barely ahead of gtx 980.

I had a fury X. I know what it can do.

Normal Fury is already pulling ahead now of GTX 980.

It does come down to games though. Some games a GTX 980 will do better then a fury. Have to compare different games. Especially games in 2014-2015 era that were crippled with gamesdontworks bs. I hated gameworks even when I had GTX 970 sli.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1657)
slickwicked
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9 fury x
Processor: i7 5820k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: gs 1050
Default 02-11-2017, 04:06 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agonist View Post
You have issues with your system is fury x is barely ahead of gtx 980.

I had a fury X. I know what it can do.

Normal Fury is already pulling ahead now of GTX 980.

It does come down to games though. Some games a GTX 980 will do better then a fury. Have to compare different games. Especially games in 2014-2015 era that were crippled with gamesdontworks bs. I hated gameworks even when I had GTX 970 sli.
hey thanks for the info

if i may can i ask why you used to have it and which card do you run now
thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1658)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 02-14-2017, 11:33 | posts: 2,774 | Location: HolyWater Village

The Steal Time ->

Fury Nitro 1050/500 299 (insane Price IMO)
https://www.caseking.de/en/sapphire-...-gcsp-133.html

Radeon RX 480 Red Devil, 8192 MB GDDR5 259
https://www.caseking.de/en/powercolo...-gcpc-044.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1659)
Shadowxaero
Member Guru
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Crossfire
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock x370 Taichi
Memory: 32GB Trident Z 3020Mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Ultra X4 1050 Watt
Default 02-14-2017, 16:41 | posts: 140

Quote:
Originally Posted by slickwicked View Post
nope not a troll, i didnt offer data per im just asking a general question

i really wanted this card to work out, im curious if all the videos showing it faster than a gtx980ti were accurate is all, and curious if i should send it back and keep my gtx980
Honestly I have never seen a 980 pull ahead of my Fury, granted I unlocked mine and I am running a custom BIOS so more voltage better OC.

My friend has a 980ti and we are never more than 5 or so fps apart depending on the game. So if you barely beating your 980 then there is a problem elsewhere as the Fury is simply the stronger card. Also note the Fury scales very well with resolution. Try playing at 1440p as the card gets faster the higher the resolution.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1660)
Embra
Master Guru
 
Embra's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro Fury OC
Processor: Ryzen 1700x
Mainboard: MSI x370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: Corsar Ven 3200 16 gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMx 850
Default 02-14-2017, 17:18 | posts: 291

I find 1440p to be the sweet spot for furys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1661)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 02-17-2017, 08:57 | posts: 2,774 | Location: HolyWater Village

Fallout 4 High Resolution Texture Pack GPU test !



More resolutions:

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by OnnA; 02-17-2017 at 09:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1662)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 02-17-2017, 09:06 | posts: 2,774 | Location: HolyWater Village

Sniper Elite 4 GPU test in DX12 2xFiji CF !



 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by OnnA; 02-17-2017 at 09:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1663)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 02-17-2017, 09:10 | posts: 2,774 | Location: HolyWater Village

For Honor GPU test in 1440p

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1664)
Only Intruder
Master Guru
 
Only Intruder's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
Processor: i5 4690K
Mainboard: Z97P-D3
Memory: 16GB HyperX Savage
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi FPS
PSU: EVGA 750 GQ
Default 02-17-2017, 12:32 | posts: 748 | Location: UK

What the hell is going on with those results at the high resolutions... Fury X coming in line with a 1080!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1665)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX-16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 02-17-2017, 12:35 | posts: 9,554 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Only Intruder View Post
What the hell is going on with those results at the high resolutions... Fury X coming in line with a 1080!!!
It was the same in HH Sniper Elite 4 review. 1070 was behind Fury Pro/X at 4k.

I think they are bandwidth starved at higher resolutions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1666)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 1070 SC
Processor: 2600k@4.8 w/ NH-D15S
Mainboard: P8Z77-V
Memory: G-Skills ddr3 16GB@1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: TX850
Default 02-17-2017, 13:06 | posts: 7,954 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
It was the same in HH Sniper Elite 4 review. 1070 was behind Fury Pro/X at 4k.

I think they are bandwidth starved at higher resolutions.
This 100%. 256bit memory bus has no business being anywhere near 4K.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1667)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 02-17-2017, 15:22 | posts: 2,774 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
It was the same in HH Sniper Elite 4 review. 1070 was behind Fury Pro/X at 4k.

I think they are bandwidth starved at higher resolutions.

Now think -> VEGA <-
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1668)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 02-17-2017, 16:10 | posts: 337

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
It was the same in HH Sniper Elite 4 review. 1070 was behind Fury Pro/X at 4k.

I think they are bandwidth starved at higher resolutions.
Would be interesting to see how the newly announced quadro gp100 card compares to the titan X since it has Hbm memory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1669)
AATT
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 3GB
Processor: 6700
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170
Memory: 2x8 2400@10
Soundcard: USB
PSU: E10 500W
Default 02-18-2017, 00:32 | posts: 124

one of the most interesting threads i have found in the last couple weeks, keep it up

299 fury
369 nano
both ~50% price drop since release

i guess amd wont let the current polaris chips be how they are, either refresh or vega replaces it, so thats the big question what will happen in the 480 and 1070 price region
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1670)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 02-20-2017, 15:21 | posts: 2,774 | Location: HolyWater Village

Halo Wars 2 GPU test in DX12



 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1671)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 02-20-2017, 18:08 | posts: 17,596 | Location: Glasgow

Looks like the Fury X is holding up well at 4k.

Tbf, it looks like a very well optimised game.

Assuming no in game benchmark though, see a few weird thing's and inconsistencies though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1672)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 02-21-2017, 10:55 | posts: 2,774 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption80 View Post
Looks like the Fury X is holding up well at 4k.

Tbf, it looks like a very well optimised game.

Assuming no in game benchmark though, see a few weird thing's and inconsistencies though.
TBH every game in UWP DX12 (Win Store Games) is well optimised

Quantum Break -> DX12 ver. bettered the Stem DX11 IMO
Forza H3 -> Best looking racer + runing on my RIG NP at all.
etc. etc.

The UWP is like EA (Just running great)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1673)
Goiur
Master Guru
 
Goiur's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 Fury X 1105/550
Processor: i7-5820K @ 4,5GHz 1,26V
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A USB 3.1
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB @2666 1,3V
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 02-21-2017, 20:10 | posts: 438 | Location: Bilbo, Basque Country

Downloaded Doom Demo on Steam, cant make it work on Vulkan, game wont start.

Tried everything found on inet, reinstalling drivers, reinstalling game, deleting .exe and verifying cache, dissabling steam overlay, closing third-party software, etc...

Any of you had issues with Vulkan and make it work?

Cant make rtss 660 Vulkan OSD work in Dota2@vulkan (tried to run doom but as you already read i cant) but works on VulkanSamples downloaded from rtss 660 beta.

Asked for help on a rtss thread but got closed with no help. great support.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1674)
Fox2232
Ancient Guru
 
Fox2232's Avatar
 
Videocard: Fury X - XL2420T(Z)@144Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,8,20 1T
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 02-21-2017, 22:30 | posts: 5,247 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goiur View Post
Downloaded Doom Demo on Steam, cant make it work on Vulkan, game wont start.

Tried everything found on inet, reinstalling drivers, reinstalling game, deleting .exe and verifying cache, dissabling steam overlay, closing third-party software, etc...

Any of you had issues with Vulkan and make it work?

Cant make rtss 660 Vulkan OSD work in Dota2@vulkan (tried to run doom but as you already read i cant) but works on VulkanSamples downloaded from rtss 660 beta.

Asked for help on a rtss thread but got closed with no help. great support.
Well, after reading your post here, I dent and kicked Dota 2 (I do not play it, I just got it for tests).

I am starting game with: -vulkan -console -novid -noaafonts -high

And RTSS does not get to show overlay too. Disabling Steam Overlay did not help. Nor did adding game executable into RTSS list or changing detection methods/OSD rendering.
It is not within my ability to tell you if RTSS is unable to detect game for some reason or if Dota 2 is resisting Injection.
At least you know that you are not alone.

One additional thing is, that I have quite a few display intrusive components installed. uVNC, TriDefIgnition, TrinusVR.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1675)
Goiur
Master Guru
 
Goiur's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 Fury X 1105/550
Processor: i7-5820K @ 4,5GHz 1,26V
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A USB 3.1
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB @2666 1,3V
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 02-21-2017, 22:52 | posts: 438 | Location: Bilbo, Basque Country

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
Well, after reading your post here, I dent and kicked Dota 2 (I do not play it, I just got it for tests).

I am starting game with: -vulkan -console -novid -noaafonts -high

And RTSS does not get to show overlay too. Disabling Steam Overlay did not help. Nor did adding game executable into RTSS list or changing detection methods/OSD rendering.
It is not within my ability to tell you if RTSS is unable to detect game for some reason or if Dota 2 is resisting Injection.
At least you know that you are not alone.

One additional thing is, that I have quite a few display intrusive components installed. uVNC, TriDefIgnition, TrinusVR.
Ty for trying

Any idea about Doom demo issue (steam)?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, benchmarking, fury x, owners club

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.