XP 64 patchscript for new 8.453.1 driver

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by schoko, May 5, 2008.

  1. schoko

    schoko Guest

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    had some time again to fix the patchscript for the new firegl driver 8.453.1 from 1.may.

    i was interested mainly in xp 64 , because thats the only OS i am working with right now, but maybe i´ll find some time in the next days to take a look into
    the xp 32 driver also.

    just did a quick run in specviwperf10, and it looks good.

    my results for the hd2600 mobility @ firegl ( with default clocks 500/600mhz) were these:

    3dsmax-04 : 34.96
    catia-02 : 34.22
    ensight-03 : 23.91
    maya-02 : 108.95
    proe-04 : 34.05
    sw-01 : 70.82
    tcvis-01 : 21.30
    ugnx-01 : 18.17

    when i compare these results to my previous ones i can see a slight improvement in fps.

    anyway, here is the patchscript :

    Code:
    [Common]
    SrcFile        = ati2mtag.sys
    BakFile        = ati2mtag.old
    MakeCRC     = 1
    Packed        = 1
    
    ;common script for 676x+
    
    DstVar0	= force FireGL RV610GL capabilities(HD 2400 LE)
    DstVar1	= force FireGL V5600 capabilities(HD 2600XT)
    DstVar2	= force FireGL 3600 capabilities(HD2600)
    DstVar3	= force FireGL M76GL capabilities(HD2600XT GEMINI)
    DstVar4	= force Mobile FireGL V3600 R630 capabilities(MOBILITY 2600)
    DstVar5	= force Mobile FireGL V5600 R630 capabilities(MOBILITY HD2600 XT)
    DstVar6	= force R600GL V8650 capabilities (HD2900 XT)
    DstVar7	= force R600GL V8600 capabilities (HD2900 Pro)
    DstVar8	= force R600GL V7600 capabilities (HD2900 GT)
    
    Src0    = BA 67 00 00 00 E8 47 6E FF FF 85 C0 74 0D 48 8B D3
    SCM0    = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF
    Dst0        = BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 90 90 48 8B D3
    DCM0    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src1        = BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 8E 1B FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 74 0A
    SCM1    = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst1        = BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 8E 1B FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 EB 0A
    DCM1    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src2        = BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 B7 CF FE FF A8 04 75 0D
    SCM2    = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF
    Dst2        = BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 B7 CF FE FF 24 FB 90 90
    DCM2    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF 00 00 00 00
    
    Src3        = 72 3C BA 84 00 00 00
    Dst3        = 90 90 BA 84 00 00 00
    
    Src4        = 74 1F EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 0D 22 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 73 0D
    SCM4    = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst4        = 90 90 EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 0D 22 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 90 90
    DCM4    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src5 = E8 06 9F 00 00 85 C0 74 32 33 C0 EB 45 44 0F B7 C0
    SCM5    = FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst5 = E8 06 9F 00 00 85 C0 74 32 33 C0 EB 40 44 0F B7 C0
    DCM5    = 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src6 = 83 F8 40 75 1A 66 81 7C 24 30 02 10 75 11 0F B7 54 24 32
    SCM6 = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst6_0 = 66 c7 44 24 32 C5 94 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_1 = 66 c7 44 24 32 8C 95 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_2 = 66 c7 44 24 32 8B 95 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_3 = 66 c7 44 24 32 8D 95 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_4 = 66 c7 44 24 32 81 95 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_5 = 66 c7 44 24 32 83 95 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_6 = 66 c7 44 24 32 00 94 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_7 = 66 c7 44 24 32 03 94 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_8 = 66 c7 44 24 32 05 94 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    
    # mod by schoko
    
    btw, the selection lag is supposed to be gone now, at least thats what the release notes of the driver say :

    so would be nice if the people hat were experiencing the selection lag could test this and give some feedback. don´t have time to do all the testing now, cause i have quite some work to do in the next days. ;)
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2008
  2. legolasgleaf

    legolasgleaf Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro FX3500
    Very good schoko. I'll try to install it, asap.

    I hope that we can use a firegl softmod on vista 64 soon.

    Thank you.
     
  3. virtualex

    virtualex Master Guru

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD4870-800/4400
    great job :cheers:.
    any chance for a vista x64 patchscript ?
     
  4. schoko

    schoko Guest

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    i have just played around with the hand1.ma file that was used a while ago for the selection lag test.

    well, what can i say ... no more a selection lag. when i select all three hands it takes no longer a second...

    guess now the desire for an ati card will grow again... ;)
     

  5. snuggles0220

    snuggles0220 Guest

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    -
    For both the x86 and x64 versions I'm having the same problem. At random times when I close maya my secondary monitor becomes full of artifacts to the point were it is no longer usable. I re-installed the older version (8.44) and problem solved. Does Anyone have this problem to?
     
  6. schoko

    schoko Guest

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    so there is another issue with dual monitors now ? i read the release notes yesterday, and there was something written about it.

    Code:
      Open Issues
    
    This section provides last minute information on issues that may be experienced when using this release of the ATI FireGL Unified Driver. These include the following:
    
        * Viewperf 9.0: Running the benchmark test on a system containing an ATI FireGL workstation product may result in the test failing to respond
        * Disconnecting and reconnecting the secondary display device when the Windows Vista (64 bit version) operating system is in hibernation mode may result in the secondary display device failing to display an image
        * The Overall Progress bar may fail to refresh when doing a custom install of the display driver under the 64 bit version of the Windows Vista operating system
        * CATIA V5: The Section Cut may be wrong in the workbench DMU Space Analysis
        * Connecting four display devices to either 2 FireGL V5600 or V3600 series of products may result in on of the display devices failing to revert to the standard display resolution when switching from stretch horizontal mode to extended desktop mode
        * Enabling extended desktop mode may result in corruption being noticed in OpenGL applications when resuming from a standby state
        * AliasStudio 2008: Specular highlight may be missing when running the application on a system containing a Workstation product
        [B]* Maya 8.5/2008: Exiting the application may result in corruption being noticed when extended desktop mode is enabled[/B]
        * Maya 2008: The application may randomly fail to the desktop during hardware rendering
        * Rotating the display 90 degrees may result in text corruption being noticed within MS Excel
        * The rendered image may fail to match the referenced image
        * 3dsMax 64 bit version: Corruption may be noticed on systems containing an ATI FireGL V series of product
        * Redbook: Connecting two display devices and setting the display resolution to 2560x1024 32bpp 60Hz. followed by enabling extended desktop mode may result in OpenGL samples failing to be rendered properly
        * Installing the display driver on systems using either an HD DFP LF2465 or Samsung DFP 204t display device may result in the display appearing blurry 

    but since you are the first one to report back, how about the xp 32 patchscript ? does it work flawlessly ? i could not test that, since i don´t have xp 32.
     
  7. snuggles0220

    snuggles0220 Guest

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    -
    No the 32 bit version also has the same problem with dual monitors to.:wanker:
    other than that it seems fine though.
     
  8. Bananabomb

    Bananabomb Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870
    Is there a workaround? Do the artifacts disappear when you disable the second screen and enable it again?
     
  9. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I have the xp32 mod working flawlessly (thanks schoko!!!)

    the selection bug is still here, but the selection lag is happily gone (thanks amd!!)

    I use dual monitors in extended desktop mode, and I haven't experienced those artifacts, neither with 8.453.1 nor with 8.44 or previous versions (I have had unexpected crashes now and then, but they may be related to something else in my system)
     
  10. snuggles0220

    snuggles0220 Guest

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    -

    No I tried that but they were still their when it re-enabled it. the only way I found to get ride of them is the reboot.
     

  11. maxpoz

    maxpoz Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati X1600
    i've a problem, when i install a driver exist only 5600 primary driver and the secondary?
     
  12. schoko

    schoko Guest

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    when you bring up the problem you have encountered you should give some detailed information about your actual problem.

    right now i just can guess your problem. you do have an ati x1600 ? the equivalent for that is not the v5600. the hd 2x00 series does not have a secondary device id. and of course the equivalents for the hd 2x00 do not have a secondary device id also.

    i think the equivalent of the x1600 is the firegl v5200. and that one has a secondary device id. maybe you should read the older topics on the patching a firegl card also.
     
  13. maxpoz

    maxpoz Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati X1600
    Sorry,but my english is very small


    I bought today a 2600xt becase my x1600 is dead.
    Now, I know that the series 2xx don't have a secondary. Sorry.

    I've another problem the driver for max9 atiomgl9.drv doesn't start, i've tried
    with this version of file and a older version but the driver is always the opengl by microsoft.
    In winxp non 64 work preperly why?
     
  14. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    Thanks for this, schoko, going to try soon :)
    Since I was always the one having selection lag problems and I run extended desktop, soon, you will get some interesting updates from me :nerd:
     
  15. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    Ok, so my experience compared to 8.391.1.1:

    1. Speed = faster (maya weighted 221 / 206)
    2. Selection lag = vanished resp. very small
    3. Selection bug = whatever ;)
    4. Extended desktop corruption = present :wanker:
    I guess I will just minimize maya, not close, until the end of my WinXP session :3eyes:

    Schoko, please, what about the ATi CP? For now, I am using the previously (from 8.391) modded (with your atiicdxx.dat). But I don't see advanced options. Or should I use the CCC within 8.453.1. installation? Which one do you use?
     

  16. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    it's no problem: mine shows the same, and both monitors are available and working fine; it seems HD2600-V5600, unlike other models, doesn't need a secondary adapter driver
     
  17. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    Ok, some other things...
    When i minimize/resize/move/switch the main maya panel, the "hardware overlayed" time slinder indicator stays where it was last time = e.g. now I am in full screen mozilla, and on the left bottom i see remains of the slider. No biggie, just a little bit annoing and it stays over everything, ZBrush, Photoshop...well, at least i know the hardware plane overlays are working ;) It disapperas instantly when I close Maya
    the selection lag within a 10+ milion polys scene is around 3secs, quite good compared to almost minutes with the old one.
    I installed the CCC, have workstation settings...just an idea...with extended desktop and same resolution on both, would the shared Z buffer setting help with the corruption? I don't have same res, so can't check. Plus the corruption does not occur everytime I quit maya...when it does not apper after closing, it appears after reopening...and then again when i close and reopen, it disapperas. Seems to work as some kind of weird switch :nerd: just not always and you basically have to restart at some point, because maya crashes :bang:
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2008
  18. maxpoz

    maxpoz Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati X1600
    i've find my problem, I wrong to write the Vendor Id of my hardware.

    Question, where is the workstation control panel?
     
  19. schoko

    schoko Guest

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    thanks for the feedback maxtorag.

    i guess some of you have read a little at the ati knowledge base. maybe you guys with a secondary display could give some info on these two questions :

    do you use the 3 GB switch ?

    how about your resolutions on the secondary monitor ?
     
  20. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    Your welcome, schoko ;)

    I haven't read anything at the ati knowledge base

    Maybe I missed something, but why the heck would you use a 3GB switch with a 64bit OS? That's just for 32 XP Pro for guys who have 4GB of RAM.

    My resolution:
    Primary monitor (but secondary DVI port - I know, weird, but the thing is, that I use dual boot (for games) and do not utilize this second monitor in the other OS) 1280x800/60Hz (Wacom Cintiq 12WX)

    Secondary monitor (and logically primary DVI port) 1280x1024/60Hz (Samsung SyncMaster 19P)
     

Share This Page