Driver-Level Fan adjustments bugged ?

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by Zenoth, May 20, 2007.

1. Zenoth

Zenoth Maha Guru

GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 12GB
    Okay, I'm working around RivaTuner 2.01 since I'm a little new to NVIDIA stuff, and now that I've figured how to fix or tweak most of my "concerns", there is one issue that remains which I cannot explain the reason why it doesn't work properly, although a simple answer might just be "because RT 2.01 isn't compatible with the drivers you've installed". Or it might be something else.

Well, it's about the Driver-Level Fan settings, you know, where you can see three sliders for fan speeds, where you see a slider for Standard 2D, Lower Power 3D and Performance 3D ? Well, whatever I change there, as soon as I apply, all of the three sliders go all the way to the left to 25% for all three of them. I try to create a profile, I try to just move one of them at a time, but then again, as soon as I click on apply all of the sliders, even those I hadn't touched go to the minimum speed possible, 25%, for some reason(s), and I don't know what it could be.

Drivers and RV 2.01 incompatibility issues perhaps ?

When I installed RV 2.01, after it created the registry for the first time use, a pop-up window appeared telling me that the current RV version was not tested with the ForceWare driver version I have installed (FW 158.22). Could it be because the tool creator(s) have yet to make it fully compatible with the latest official drivers ? Or do I need third-party drivers ?

I really want to limit the fan speeds because let me tell you guys that at 100% the noise level is so high that it gets over the sounds from my games, and I can't just turn the volume up to choke the fan noise, or else it'd perhaps just plain destroy my speakers membranes or something. It'd be much simpler if I could limit the fan speed whatever the temperature is.