Is my 970 Dying?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by MegaFalloutFan, Nov 24, 2015.

1. MegaFalloutFan

MegaFalloutFan Maha Guru

GPU:
    RTX4090 24Gb
    Hi,
    I have a pair of ASUS Strix GTX970 in SLI, when I game i overclock them to 1400Mhz, Min voltage to 1170mv and max voltage to 1265mv, FAN set to 60%. (Using ASUS Tool)
    The cards were stable, no artifacts, i could play MGS5 for hours in 4K and it was fine, no issues.
    So i started playing Fallout 4, same thing here, no issues.

I updated to the latest 359 driver and the day after I started to get artifacts in Fallout 4 about 3 - 5 minutes after loading. (some patches of white squares, random red dots/squares and some white/black "sticks" sort of effect, but game wasn't freezing imidielty)
    I tested MGS5, it hanged in while sitting in a chopper ie not even a full level loaded.

I clean installed 358.91, and nothing still the same issues, in both games, so its not the driver?

I played fallout 4 on low overclock 1345Mhz and after about 1 hour i started to get very light random almost unnoticeable artifacts, and after 3-4 hours the game froze.

Also 50-60Mhz less overclock had strange and severe effect on 4K SLI gaming, in places i had 50FPS i started to get drops to 40 and 35FPS.

Note: Fallout 4 in SLi using Tomb Raider profile.

Any ideas?
    Should I try and swap the main card with the secondary card and see if it helps? Or its enough to swap the monitor cable without swapping the cards?

Should i just get 980ti on black Friday? (only if Pascal coming no earlier then 6 months,otherwise I just wait and if its hardware issue i try and give it to warranty, but they wont be bale to fix it if it works fine when not overclocked?!)

Thanks

2. C0D3M4N

C0D3M4N Member

GPU:
    Asus 1080Ti