SweetFX Shader Suite release and discussion thread

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by CeeJay.dk, Sep 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doubleohseven

    doubleohseven Guest

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 580 SLI
    Yeah, definitely seems like symptoms of a bottleneck, but that can't be the issue...

    <System specs.

    CPU stays below 70% during BF3 and RAM is below 5GB. My GPU load is between 85-100% without SweetFX, but with, I never see it pass 90%. Usually hangs out between 75-85% with lower FPS.


    Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012
  2. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Guest

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    No no no - that is not correct.
    You don't have to disable AA in every game.

    You can play with both the in-game AA and SweetFX in a lot of games ( most I think ), but in some games you have to turn off AA in the game for SweetFX to work. Not all, but some.

    Using a little bit of MSAA in some games together with SMAA from SweetFX can be a great combination, giving great results while still running fairly fast (compared with other slower AA techniques).

    If you have a monster card and/or don't mind taking a big performance hit you can also go for extreme AA quality and combine a slow AA like supersampling with downsampling and SweetFX SMAA for a total of 3 AA techniques that complement each other.
    It looks fantastic but it's very performance demanding.

    In some games you also want to disable the in-game AA even though it works with SweetFX, simply because the in-game AA is bad and only makes things worse or it's very slow. Some games f.x. don't have real AA but only edge blurring, which doesn't look very good.
     
  3. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Guest

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    Try turning off all effects in SweetFX, but still turn SweetFX on in the game.
    This way the injector will still run and if it still does the same, then it's not one of the shaders but the injector that causes this.

    You can also try running this earlier version of lumasharpen - It's from before I merged it with SMAA and the other effects and called it SweetFX.

    It runs only lumasharpen and nothing else and uses the FXAA injector (without the FXAA shader). It's very fast and the injector is faster because it doesn't do the work required to support SMAA. You can also set it to use pattern 1 which is even faster.

    Then check if it does the same.

    Note that I still don't have any ideas on how to fix it, but it always helps greatly if you can narrow down the problem first.
     
  4. doubleohseven

    doubleohseven Guest

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 580 SLI
    So I turned all the options to '0' in the 'SweetFX_settings' text document, and ran the game.

    I looked at a static scene, and got 65% steady GPU load with the SweetFX on.

    With SweetFX off, 72% steady.
     

  5. PandaSushi

    PandaSushi Guest

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780
    The issue you have discribed has been reported by alot of sli users.It seems dice broke sli with the last patch,just have to wait and see if dice fixes it with the next patch.
    Your system spec's are more than enough to handle sli,disable sli and see if your usage hits 99%.
     
  6. omuerte

    omuerte Guest

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7950 / NV GT 430
    Awesome, thanks a ton!

    FYI- for anyone using SweetFX in GuildWars 2 setting defog to remove yellow (255, 255, 0) does a really nice job of toning down the over-done bloom effect in the game. I think this was the default in the last version of the config file.
     
  7. ninjafada

    ninjafada Guest

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    pny 670
    i'm using this setting for gw2:
    Code:
     /*----------------------------------------------------------------.
    /   Game: Guild Wars 2                                             '
    '   SweetFX version: 1.2                                           '
    '   Author: ninjafada                                              '
    '   Description: "smaa and sharp , hrd, vibrance, sepia" /
    '----------------------------------------------------------------*/ 
    
       /*----------------------------------------------------------- .
      /                      Choose effects                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    // Set to 1 for ON or 0 for OFF
    #define USE_SMAA_ANTIALIASING 1
    #define USE_LUMASHARPEN 1 //Also sharpens the antialiased edges which makes them less smooth - I'm working on fixing that.
    #define USE_BLOOM 0      // Bloom makes bright lights bleed their light into their surroundings (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_HDR 1        // Not actual HDR - It just tries to mimic an HDR look (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_TECHNICOLOR 0 // Attempts to mimic the look of an old movie using the Technicolor three-strip color process (Techicolor Process 4)
    #define USE_TONEMAP 0
    #define USE_VIBRANCE 1    //Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    #define USE_SEPIA 1
    #define USE_VIGNETTE 0    //Darkens the edges of the image to make it more look like it was shot with a camera lens. May cause banding artifacts.
    #define USE_DITHER 0      //Applies dithering to simulate more colors than your monitor can display. This lessens banding artifacts (mostly caused by vignette)
    #define USE_DPX 0         //Unfinished - Should make the image look like it's been converted to DXP Cineon - basically it's another movie-like look similar to technicolor
                              //I think the shader itself works, but the default settings need a lot of work. Maybe you can find some good settings?
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  SMAA Anti-aliasing settings                /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    #define SMAA_THRESHOLD 0.12           // (0.08-0.20) Edge detection threshold
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 32      // [0-98] Determines the radius SMAA will search for aliased edges
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 16  // [0-16] Determines the radius SMAA will search for diagonal aliased edges
    #define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 10        // [0-100] Determines the percent of antialiasing to apply to corners.
    
    // -- Advanced SMAA settings --
    #define COLOR_EDGE_DETECTION 1        // 1 Enables color edge detection (slower but more acurate) - 0 uses luma edge detection (faster)
    #define SMAA_DIRECTX9_LINEAR_BLEND 0  // Using DX9 HARDWARE? (software version doesn't matter) if so this needs to be 1 - If not, leave it at 0.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       LumaSharpen settings                  /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    // -- Sharpening --
    #define sharp_strength 0.9 // (0.2-2.0)Strength of the sharpening
    #define sharp_clamp 0.040  // [0.0-1.0]Limits maximum amount of sharpening a pixel recieves - Default is 0.035
    
    // -- Advanced sharpening settings --
    #define pattern 4          // Choose a sample pattern [ 1, 2, 3 or 4 ] - 1 = Fast, 2 = Normal, 3 = Wider, 4 = Pyramid shaped.
    #define offset_bias 1.0    // [0.0-6.0](1.0) Offset bias adjusts the radius of the sampling pattern.
                               // I designed the pattern for offset_bias 1.0, but feel free to experiment.
                               
    // -- Debug settings --
    #define splitscreen 0      // Enables the before-and-after splitscreen comparison mode. Left side is before.
    #define show_sharpen 0     // Visualize the strength of the sharpen (multiplied by 4 to see it better)
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Vibrance settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Vibrance 0.4  //Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Bloom settings                        /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define BloomThreshold 20.25
    #define BloomPower 1.446
    #define BloomWidth 0.0142
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        HDR settings                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define HDRPower 1.10  //Strangely lowering this makes the image brighter
    #define radius2 0.8   //Raising this seems to make the effect stronger and also brighter
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      TECHNICOLOR settings                   /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define TechniAmount 0.11
    #define TechniPower 2.8
    #define redNegativeAmount 0.88
    #define greenNegativeAmount 0.88
    #define blueNegativeAmount 0.88
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        Tonemap settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Gamma 1.0
    
    #define Exposure 0.0
    
    #define Saturation 0.0
    
    #define Bleach 0.0
    
    #define Defog 0.010  //How much of the color tint to remove
    #define FogColor float3(0.00, 0.00, 2.55) //what color to remove - default is blue
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                         Sepia settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define ColorTone float3(1.40, 1.10, 0.90)
    #define SepiaPower 0.22
    #define GreyPower 0.11  
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Vignette settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define VignetteRadius 1.00  // lower values = stronger radial effect from center
    #define VignetteAmount -1.00 // Strength of black. -2.00 = Max Black, 1.00 = Max White.
    #define VignetteSlope 8      // How far away from the center the change should start to really grow strong (odd numbers cause a larger fps drop than even numbers)
    #define VignetteCenter float2(0.500, 0.500) // Center of effect.
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        Dither settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //No settings yet, beyond switching it on or off in the top section.
    
    //Note that checkerboard pattern used by Dither, makes an image harder to compress.
    //This can make your screenshots and videos take up more space.
    
    
    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    ///////////////////////// Work in Progress //////////////////////
    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      Cineon DPX settings                    /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //I have yet to find good default settings for this .. maybe you can?
    float Red = 8.0;   //[1.0 - 15.0]
    float Green = 8.0; //[1.0 - 15.0]
    float Blue = 8.0;  //[1.0 - 15.0]
    
    float ColorGamma = 2.5f;    //[0.1 - 2.5]
    float DPXSaturation = 2.0f; //[0.0 - 8.0]
    
    float RedC = 0.4f;     //[0.6 - 0.2]
    float GreenC  = 0.36f; //[0.6 - 0.2]
    float BlueC = 0.35f;   //[0.6 - 0.2]
    
    float Blend = 0.7f; //[1.0 - 0.0] How strong the effect should be
     
  8. doubleohseven

    doubleohseven Guest

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 580 SLI
    What? You are missing the point here. I am getting lower GPU usage and FPS with SweetFX enabled, even with all of the effects disabled.

    In fact, I have noticed NO problems with SLI and BF3. The only reason my GPU usage is not 100% all of the time is because I have the FPS capped to 120 (for lower temps). For testing purposes I just uncapped the FPS, with the same result for SweetFX, and I am getting 100% GPU usage.

    SLI is not (I believe) the issue at hand here.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  9. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Guest

    Messages:
    15,608
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW

    This looks good. Hey eclap, you should take a look at these setting too.
     
  10. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    30,768
    Likes Received:
    3,937
    GPU:
    Inno3d RTX4070
    Oh sorry about that CeeJay.dk and Eclap



    I cant get it to work with syndicate.

    Code:
    full path: D:\Install\Origin\Syndicate\System\Win32_x86_Release\
    redirecting CreateDevice
    initialising shader environment
    D3DXCreateEffectFromFile failed
    try to use "D:\Install\Origin\Win32_x86_Release" for shader files
    I tried the dll and sweetfx and shader folder files in "Win32_x86_Release" and Win32_x86_Release folder.

    when the .dll files are in the "Win32_x86_Release" folder (where the syndicate.exe is), the game crashes when it starts.

    There also seems to be a problem with Farcry 1, when i start the game, it instantly crashes. no log file either.
    any idea what could be wrong ?

    d3doverrider no longer works when these files are used. could this be fixed ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012

  11. XRyche

    XRyche Guest

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI AMD R7 265 OC 2GB
    CeeJay.dk, could you possibly adapt the DPX shader to use with MPC-HC? I've been trying it out with WOW and with Vibrance set at .25 it looks pretty good, even with your default settings. That being said, it looks like it would be a pretty good colour enhancement shader for video(depending on the source).
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,211
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Fallout: New Vegas.

    [​IMG]


    As above but with HDR on.

    [​IMG]



    Code:
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                      Choose effects                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    // Set to 1 for ON or 0 for OFF
    #define USE_SMAA_ANTIALIASING 1
    #define USE_LUMASHARPEN 1 //Also sharpens the antialiased edges which makes them less smooth - I'm working on fixing that.
    #define USE_BLOOM 0       // Bloom makes bright lights bleed their light into their surroundings (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_HDR 0         // Not actual HDR - It just tries to mimic an HDR look (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_TECHNICOLOR 0
    #define USE_TONEMAP 1
    #define USE_VIBRANCE 0    //Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    #define USE_SEPIA 0
    #define USE_VIGNETTE 1    //Darkens the edges of the image to make it more look like it was shot with a camera lens. May cause banding artifacts.
    #define USE_DITHER 0     //Applies dithering to simulate more colors than your monitor can display. This lessens banding artifacts.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                  SMAA Anti-aliasing settings                /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    #define SMAA_THRESHOLD 0.13           // (0.08-0.20) Edge detection threshold
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 98      // [0-98] Determines the radius SMAA will search for aliased edges
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 16  // [0-16] Determines the radius SMAA will search for diagonal aliased edges
    #define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 20       // [0-100] Determines the percent of antialiasing to apply to corners.
    
    // -- Advanced SMAA settings --
    #define COLOR_EDGE_DETECTION 1        // 1 Enables color edge detection (slower but more acurate) - 0 uses luma edge detection (faster)
    #define SMAA_DIRECTX9_LINEAR_BLEND 0  // Using DX9 HARDWARE? (software version doesn't matter) if so this needs to be 1 - If not, leave it at 0.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                       LumaSharpen settings                  /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    // -- Sharpening --
    #define sharp_strength 1.0 // (0.2-2.0)Strength of the sharpening
    #define sharp_clamp 0.050  // [0.0-1.0]Limits maximum amount of sharpening a pixel recieves - Default is 0.050
    
    // -- Advanced sharpening settings --
    #define pattern 2          // Choose a sample pattern [ 1, 2, 3 or 4 ] - I suggest 2
    #define offset_bias 1.0    // [0.0-6.0](1.0) Offset bias adjusts the radius of the sampling pattern.
                               // I designed the pattern for offset_bias 1.0, but feel free to experiment.
                               
    // -- Debug settings --
    #define splitscreen 0      // Enables the before-and-after splitscreen comparison mode. Left side is before.
    #define show_sharpen 0     // Visualize the strength of the sharpen (multiplied by 4 to see it better)
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                       Bloom settings                        /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define BloomThreshold 20.25
    #define BloomPower 1.446
    #define BloomWidth 0.0142
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                        HDR settings                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define HDRPower 1.40  //Strangely lowering this makes the image brighter
    #define radius2 0.95   //Raising this seems to make the effect stronger and also brighter
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                      TECHNICOLOR settings                   /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define TechniAmount 0.11
    #define TechniPower 2.8
    #define redNegativeAmount 0.88
    #define greenNegativeAmount 0.88
    #define blueNegativeAmount 0.88
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                        Tonemap settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Gamma 1.0
    #define Exposure -0.1
    #define Saturation 0
    #define Bleach 0
    #define Defog 0.01
    #define FogColor float4(2.55, 2.55, 0, 0)
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                       Vibrance settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Vibrance -0.1  //Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                         Sepia settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define ColorTone float3(1.12, 0.66, 0.20)
    #define SepiaPower 0.11
    #define GreyPower 0.88
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                       Vignette settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define VignetteRadius 1.05  // lower values = stronger radial effect from center
    #define VignetteAmount -1.0  // Strength of black. -2.00 = Max Black, 1.00 = Max White.
    #define VignetteSlope 8      // How far away from the center the change should start to really grow strong (odd numbers cause a larger fps drop than even numbers)
    #define VignetteCenter float2(0.500, 0.500) // Center of screen for effect.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
      /                        Dither settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //No settings yet, beyond switching it on or off in the top section.
    
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  13. XRyche

    XRyche Guest

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI AMD R7 265 OC 2GB
    Pill Monster, that looks pretty good, I might just have to dig out my copy and install it again. You aren't using any enhancement mods with it are you?
     
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,211
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    No enhanced shader mods.

    I do have the 4GB texture pack but this only affects textures afaik and not shaders/colours etc. :)
     
  15. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GeForce 3060
    Far Cry runs perfectly, just put in bin32 folder ONLY the .dll files and injector.
     

  16. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    30,768
    Likes Received:
    3,937
    GPU:
    Inno3d RTX4070
    nope doesnt work for me. the dll's make the game crash
     
  17. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GeForce 3060
  18. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    30,768
    Likes Received:
    3,937
    GPU:
    Inno3d RTX4070
  19. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Guest

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    Do they make a log file?

    Because if they don't then it may be a problem with permissions in the directory.
    See the problem section of the readme.
     
  20. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    30,768
    Likes Received:
    3,937
    GPU:
    Inno3d RTX4070
    for farcry ,there is no log file, syndicate i already posted above. . there is also no permission problem. the game is installed on my d drive, im admin (checked run as admin anyways) , and all users have read and write permission.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page