HD 6950 2GB Unlocked Overclocking

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by MrBox, Apr 20, 2011.

1. MrBox

MrBox Guest

I've been experimenting with 6950's for a few months now, and I've come to the conclusion that they are simply amazing.

I'm using a Diamond 6950 2GB reference card at the moment for overclocking, and it's been truly exceptional. I have been able to push this particular card to 1Ghz with the stock reference cooler and it hasn't gone past 57c while running normal benchmarks & games.

Here are the settings I'm currently testing:

Unlocked shaders on modified 6950 bios.
    Memory timings un-altered
    Current Voltage: 1100mV
    Max Voltage Tested: 1175mV
    Core @ 1100mV = 1000Mhz
    Memory @ 1100mV = 1350 Mhz
    Fan is on a custom profile. It hasn't reached past 50% as the temps haven't gone past 57-59 max.
    OCCT has reported 0 errors
    I do not use furmark/kombustor anymore out of fear. I killed a 6950 by putting too much voltage into it I think. Not sure exactly what caused it, but it started permanently artifacting after I pushed it way too hard.

The performance difference between 980Mhz and 1Ghz on the core is very small. I've been able to squeeze a few extra numbers out of it but in my opinion it's pointless. The best settings I've come up with are:

1100mv
    940 Core
    1350 Memory

These oc settings are great as I don't need to give it any extra juice, and I can run the fan lower and still get nearly the same performance as 980Mhz+

I'm going to run both cards @ 940Mhz now and do some testing in crossfire with eyefinity @ 5760x1080. Will post benches when I have some free time later this week maybe.

Anyone else have a similar experience or any tips with their 6950's?