Im a noob and need help - ATI HD 5700

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Daftnader, Sep 28, 2011.

1. Daftnader

Daftnader Guest

GPU:
    2 x XFX HD 5770
    Hello all.

I recently upgraded my OS to 64 bit ultimate from 32 bit.

After install i noticed that my graphics cards, 2 x HD 5770's in crossfire, are not working.

I go to device manager and it says that i have 2 standard vga graphic adapters. One has a yellow triangle.

Now bear with me on this. I have tried everything from windows updates and manually getting the latest drivers from ATI.

The windows update does not do it and when i manually download and install the drivers, i then restart it. Upon restart it will blue screen during load up. I have even tried to just uninstall the driver when it boots, it says restart, then gay windows just reinstalls them.

I then have to boot it up in safe mode and go to system restore to put it back to how it was and its driving me mad.

When i go to device manager and properties. Under the general tab it states that this device cannot start code 10.
    The driver says its here - c:\windows\system32\DRIVERS\vgapnp.sys

Obviously i just want to install my drivers again I just need some help on what to do. Both cards were working before reinstall. Anyone help me?

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited: Sep 28, 2011
  2. k1net1cs

k1net1cs Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    Try installing one card at a time instead of both at the same time.
    i.e if the first one installed fine, only then you put in the second one.

In order to prevent Windows from using Windows Update to automatically acquire drivers, just turn off Windows Update, disable your wireless device or yank the Ethernet cable off.

3. Daftnader

Daftnader Guest

GPU:
    2 x XFX HD 5770
    Right.