Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#551)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 10-21-2013, 12:53 | posts: 1,442 | Location: uk

that good what the 7950 doing ppd wise, look like some people are getting around 100k with an 7970. we need to let people know that folding on AMD is really good now
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#552)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 10-21-2013, 13:54 | posts: 16,055 | Location: US East Coast

Was a bit of a PITA to get going. It's really sad that AMD didn't include the opencl.dll file with the driver....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#553)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 10-21-2013, 15:16 | posts: 1,428 | Location: Japan, Soka

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Was a bit of a PITA to get going. It's really sad that AMD didn't include the opencl.dll file with the driver....
I am pretty sure it comes with SDK kit. You have to check it when installing driver package.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#554)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 10-21-2013, 15:34 | posts: 1,205

The latest WHQL Drivers from AMD should work flawlessly with FahCore_17. If not, than a clean installation of the Drivers and maybe F@H (once all WUs are finished) might be needed.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#555)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 10-21-2013, 16:24 | posts: 16,055 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by sverek View Post
I am pretty sure it comes with SDK kit. You have to check it when installing driver package.
That's what I thought, but F@H said it couldn't find opencl.dll.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PantherX View Post
The latest WHQL Drivers from AMD should work flawlessly with FahCore_17. If not, than a clean installation of the Drivers and maybe F@H (once all WUs are finished) might be needed.
I'm using Cat13.9. I had to download the opencl.dll file from elsewhere and so far it appears to be working just fine.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#556)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 10-22-2013, 01:09 | posts: 1,205

Weird... but at least it is working now and hopefully, will continue to do so in the future without any further issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#557)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 10-22-2013, 01:16 | posts: 16,055 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by PantherX View Post
Weird... but at least it is working now and hopefully, will continue to do so in the future without any further issues.
That's what I'm hoping for. Now if I could just get my APU to fold...lol


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#558)
buttrunks101
Member Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gt 37in 1080 tv
Processor: AMDx3 2.1(2.6)
Mainboard: MSI k9A2
Memory: Mushkin 2 x 2gb Ascent
Soundcard: factory
PSU: epower 550watt
Default 01-08-2014, 16:55 | posts: 46

Well I just started folding late last night with the specs of computer to the left. every little bit counts right? lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#559)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 01-08-2014, 17:05 | posts: 1,205

Welcome to the Guru3D F@H Team buttrunks101

Yep, every WU counts and I am still folding on Intel Pentium E5500 & Intel Pentium E5400 24/7 for few years now. Gets around 2K to 3K.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#560)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 03-12-2014, 15:21 | posts: 16,055 | Location: US East Coast

Back to folding for a few more days. Running SMP3 and 2 660's for now. PPD is lower than with the single 7950 but it's working....sort of. New client didn't want to play nice with my 660's. I configured it the same as I did the previous client when I had the 660 and 640 and it kept resetting both slots to -1. Finally got mad and deleted both slots, added 1 back and set to 0. Started it folding then added the second slot back and set to 1. Then added the CPU slot back and set to 3. As long as I don't stop it, it seems to fold without issue.


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#561)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 03-13-2014, 01:26 | posts: 1,205

Have you tried the latest Public Beta, V7.4.4? Perform a fresh installation and it should function properly by correctly detecting the GPUs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#562)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 03-13-2014, 11:41 | posts: 16,055 | Location: US East Coast

With the freaky weather we've got here, I can't fold a lot so if I have to fix every run it's not a big deal. I do miss the PPD of the 7950 though.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#563)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 03-13-2014, 13:22 | posts: 1,205

Sorry to hear about your weather issues.

If you want total control over FAHClient, what you can do it with a fresh installation (V7.4.4 which is in Open Public Beta), choose custom installation and select the option to start FAHClient manually (Expert). Once the installation is done, you can temporarily disconnect from the internet and edit the shortcut on the desktop to remove the "--open-web-control" flag. Double click the icon and when you see the F@H icon in the notification tray, right-click it to open up Advanced Control (AKA FAHControl) and it should correctly detect the hardware and create the appropriate slots. Configure your details and add the option to each of the Slots or in the expert tab (it effects all Slots):
Name: pause-on-start
Value: true

Now, you can start FAHClient whenever you want and also choose which slots you want to fold since they all will not automatically start folding. This way, you don't have to constantly reconfigure and have total control over your slots.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#564)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 03-16-2014, 11:09 | posts: 1,442 | Location: uk

well that didn't go well have been changing cases so that everythink will fit inside ( this is the i7 970 WC rig) let just say after putting it all back together leak test and yes def had a leak looks like my water block is fXXX so that rig will be down for a while and it my server/ file server aswell down time was only ment to be half a day
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#565)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 03-16-2014, 15:36 | posts: 16,055 | Location: US East Coast

that sucks man. Hope you get it fixed soon.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#566)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 03-18-2014, 00:43 | posts: 1,205

Ouch! Sorry to hear that iancook221188.

I know exactly how you feel since I recently took a system down for cleaning which would have taken about 30 minutes. However, that took about 2.5 days since it just wouldn't boot-up and had to replace the entire system since the PSU damaged the motherboard and HDD. Luckily, the data was stored on the other HDD so nothing vital was lost.

Hope to see you up and folding soon
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#567)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 05-10-2014, 01:37 | posts: 16,055 | Location: US East Coast

Ok, so, since I missed the PPD from the HD7950 it got reinstalled. It's been running for about 22hrs now. Looks like another 9hrs before it turns in it's first WU that I'm aware of....lol

What in the world happened with the Core 17 work units? I used to complete 2-4 WUs a day. The initial completion estimate for the first WU was 10.9 DAYS..... Not used to seeing estimates that high.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#568)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 05-10-2014, 21:48 | posts: 1,205

Assuming that you are using V7.4.4, what happens is when a WU from a "new Project" (in this case, it means that your system never folded the WU from that Project before), the Client will use the "worst case TPF" (longest time to finish the WU by using the deadline) to display the data since it doesn't have any historical data to reference to. Once few percentages are completed (IIRC, between 1% to 5%), the actual data is used which gives a much better estimate.

Once reason to use this logic was that previously, the estimates were completely off and in some cases, it wouldn't display data until a certain percentage was reached. This caused issues with the donors who thought that the system wasn't folding or they installed incorrectly, etc. Thus, the new approach would be better in some cases. I believe that it can be tweaked a little bit more (https://fah.stanford.edu/projects/FAHClient/ticket/1129).

Since you have an AMD GPU, I would recommend that you update to WHQL 14.4 Drivers for optimum performance (https://folding.stanford.edu/home/ne...s-performance/). Hopefully, that might shave a few seconds off your TPF.

As folding progresses, larger proteins are being studied which means longer completion times. Of course, the high-end GPUs take significantly less time than low-end ones or some medium range ones. The current FahCore_17 Projects are mostly suited for high-end GPUs. PG is aware of this and I did request smaller Projects for low/mid-range GPUs or even part-time GPUs. Hopefully, this can be addressed in the future.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#569)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 07-13-2014, 04:33 | posts: 16,055 | Location: US East Coast

Couple weeks and I'll start churning out points again. Getting ready to do a new build (hopefully next weekend) to replace my "gaming rig" as my primary system. The "rig" in my specs will be clocked a bit closer to stock so I can reduce voltage (and temps) and it will be set off to fold until it dies. New build won't be folding at all as it'll be a budget build based on an Athlon 5350. Actually pretty excited about it.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#570)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 07-15-2014, 04:33 | posts: 1,205

Best of luck for your build

You could always run the Chrome Folding App every now and then on the Athlon 5350 to ensure that it doesn't get lazy
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.