Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Starks
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI AGP 6600GT VIVO
Processor: Athlon 64 3000+
Mainboard: Chaintech VNF3-250
Memory: 1024MB PC3200 DDR
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU:
Default 07-16-2017, 02:12 | posts: 182 | Location: New York

GCN 1.0 Fluid Motion is still busted.

Guess I'll have to wait for 17.20.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 07-16-2017, 14:56 | posts: 2,958 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by MerolaC View Post
You can already download it.
Wait until Monday
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 07-16-2017, 23:47 | posts: 2,807 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnnA View Post
Wait until Monday
But why? What's gonna be different?
I mean, I'm using them and they work great...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
sagael
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7670m
Processor: amd a 10
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: hp
Default 07-17-2017, 00:29 | posts: 5

mod for 7670m?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
RzrTrek
Maha Guru
 
RzrTrek's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX580 (8GB)
Processor: i5-7600K
Mainboard: PRIME Z270-A
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: ALCS1220A
PSU: RM750x
Default 07-17-2017, 02:43 | posts: 914 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by MerolaC View Post
But why? What's gonna be different?
I mean, I'm using them and they work great...
You get Microsoft's seal of approval.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 07-17-2017, 04:51 | posts: 2,807 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by RzrTrek View Post
You get Microsoft's seal of approval.
But these are already WHQL...

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
MaCk0y
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390 8GB
Processor: i5 4690K 4.6GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: GSKILL Trident X 2x8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 07-17-2017, 09:17 | posts: 78

Can anyone please test overriding application settings like AA for any game and check if it works?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 07-17-2017, 09:29 | posts: 13,133 | Location: Sweden

Would depend on the game, pretty sure it mostly only works for Direct X 9 and earlier whether you're forcing MSAA or SSAA and the "enhance" mode requires the game in question to support MSAA natively plus probably a driver-side compatibility profiles for whatever the game is.
(Forcing SSAA in old Skyrim made a difference at least on the FPS counter, pretty sure it wouldn't do a thing in the new one since it's DX11 now though.)

Unless you mean that the current drivers broke it totally.

As for other settings like AF those definitively work, near texture detail would be a soupy mess if it didn't for games that don't themselves have a AF setting.
(And VSync and triple buffering are mostly OGL only as per API standards or some such, overriding those are unlikely to affect D3D in any way far as I know.)

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 07-17-2017 at 09:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 07-17-2017, 11:43 | posts: 2,958 | Location: HolyWater Village

I've seen New driver for 17.7.1 from July 14 (now unavaible)
And 17.7.1 380MB from July 10 and now new 17.7.1 from July 17 500MB

Somebody please compare those two
IMO July 17/14 is WHQL one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
xxela
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS Radeon R9 FURY STRIX
Processor: AMD AMD Ryzen 7 1700X@3.9
Mainboard: ASUS CROSSHAIR VI
Memory: HyperX Fury Black 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 07-17-2017, 14:27 | posts: 200

Old one
 Click to show spoiler


New one
 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by xxela; 07-17-2017 at 14:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
MaCk0y
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390 8GB
Processor: i5 4690K 4.6GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: GSKILL Trident X 2x8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 07-17-2017, 15:22 | posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasBeckman View Post
Would depend on the game, pretty sure it mostly only works for Direct X 9 and earlier whether you're forcing MSAA or SSAA and the "enhance" mode requires the game in question to support MSAA natively plus probably a driver-side compatibility profiles for whatever the game is.
(Forcing SSAA in old Skyrim made a difference at least on the FPS counter, pretty sure it wouldn't do a thing in the new one since it's DX11 now though.)

Unless you mean that the current drivers broke it totally.

As for other settings like AF those definitively work, near texture detail would be a soupy mess if it didn't for games that don't themselves have a AF setting.
(And VSync and triple buffering are mostly OGL only as per API standards or some such, overriding those are unlikely to affect D3D in any way far as I know.)
It used to work overriding 4x SSAA on Rocket League but hasn't been working for a while now. I did send a report to AMD a few drivers a go.
   
Reply With Quote
VSR function
Old
  (#62)
rhinohorn
Newbie
 
Videocard: Powercolor 7950 Boost 3GB
Processor: i7-920
Mainboard: EVGA X58 SLE
Memory: 6GB Tri-Channel DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 750W
Default VSR function - 07-17-2017, 19:33 | posts: 9 | Location: TN , USA

I'm still using 16.5 as version 17.1 & 17.2 prohibits VSR resolutions for me in some of my games (Witcher 3, Shadow Of Mordor) ..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
22JHP
Newbie
 
22JHP's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 380 4GB
Processor: Fx8320 4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 990 UD5
Memory: 16gb 1600 mhz LP
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: Cougar 850w
Default 07-18-2017, 18:38 | posts: 21 | Location: Turkey

280x stock

3dmark11

17.7.1 10 july

X3150 graphics score

17.7.1 17 july

X3183 gs

also 17jul is WHQL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
AlleyViper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
Processor: PHII 965BE @4.0GHz
Mainboard: DFI LP DK 790FXB-M3H5
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial 1866C9
Soundcard: SB Z
PSU: RM750
Default 07-18-2017, 19:49 | posts: 281

Weird thing, the 17 July link appears on the release notes page, but not on the regular driver download page.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Krteq
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X OC
Processor: Core i7 6700K @4,7 GHz WC
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z170-D3H
Memory: 2x8GB DDR4 3200MHz
Soundcard: Prodigy 7.1 HiFi + HD515
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 07-18-2017, 20:04 | posts: 321 | Location: Czech Republic

I can see a link points to July 17 package on the regular driver download page.

Last edited by Krteq; 07-18-2017 at 20:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
AlleyViper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
Processor: PHII 965BE @4.0GHz
Mainboard: DFI LP DK 790FXB-M3H5
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial 1866C9
Soundcard: SB Z
PSU: RM750
Default 07-18-2017, 21:28 | posts: 281

Strange, even after ctrl+f5, it still points to the july10 file. (screenshot with mouse-over download link)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Krteq
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X OC
Processor: Core i7 6700K @4,7 GHz WC
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z170-D3H
Memory: 2x8GB DDR4 3200MHz
Soundcard: Prodigy 7.1 HiFi + HD515
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 07-18-2017, 21:54 | posts: 321 | Location: Czech Republic

Hmm, really weird.

 Click to show spoiler



It's probably cached in browser in your case.

Last edited by Krteq; 07-18-2017 at 23:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
prazola
Member Guru
 
prazola's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
Processor: i7 4790k / Xeon X5470
Mainboard: z97 extreme9 / P45T2RS
Memory: TridentX2400 / DDR21066
Soundcard: ACL1150 / XonarDGX
PSU: HX850 / TX650
Default 07-18-2017, 22:09 | posts: 108 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krteq View Post
Hmm, really weird.



It's probably cached in browser in your case.
Ot how many ad-blockers are you using?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
AlleyViper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
Processor: PHII 965BE @4.0GHz
Mainboard: DFI LP DK 790FXB-M3H5
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial 1866C9
Soundcard: SB Z
PSU: RM750
Default 07-18-2017, 22:27 | posts: 281

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krteq View Post
Hmm, really weird.
 Click to show spoiler


It's probably cached in browser in your case.
Nope, as I told in the previous post it was the same after ctrl-f5 (which clears cache). Also, opening the link with IE instead of Chrome (for the first time) still points to the july10 driver and previous page version. Might be due to some other cache that isn't local.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
prazola
Member Guru
 
prazola's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
Processor: i7 4790k / Xeon X5470
Mainboard: z97 extreme9 / P45T2RS
Memory: TridentX2400 / DDR21066
Soundcard: ACL1150 / XonarDGX
PSU: HX850 / TX650
Default 07-18-2017, 22:32 | posts: 108 | Location: Italy

Ya boyyy! No more UVD bug on my r9 280x. Just closed mpc-hc (i was watching csgo PGL AV1 codec 1080p 60fps) and freq are back to 300/150.
I'm actually scared to reboot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
AlleyViper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
Processor: PHII 965BE @4.0GHz
Mainboard: DFI LP DK 790FXB-M3H5
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial 1866C9
Soundcard: SB Z
PSU: RM750
Default 07-18-2017, 22:55 | posts: 281

Still have it on a 7870. If you didn't start MPC-HC with the card already at the lower UVD clock pegged by the browser or anything else (causing the bug to trigger), it's normal that it'll resume to 300/150 fine.

Last edited by AlleyViper; 07-18-2017 at 22:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
prazola
Member Guru
 
prazola's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
Processor: i7 4790k / Xeon X5470
Mainboard: z97 extreme9 / P45T2RS
Memory: TridentX2400 / DDR21066
Soundcard: ACL1150 / XonarDGX
PSU: HX850 / TX650
Default 07-18-2017, 23:04 | posts: 108 | Location: Italy

I played the stream for two hours while browsing and watching video on YT at 1440p60.
Both chromium and firefox.

Edit: problem back after a reboot

Last edited by prazola; 07-19-2017 at 01:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Render distance is getting shorter?
Old
  (#73)
Montville
Newbie
 
Videocard: Aorus RX 570 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320
Mainboard: 990FXA-UD3v4
Memory: 24GB HyperX
Soundcard: Realtek/Creative
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default Render distance is getting shorter? - 07-22-2017, 01:52 | posts: 14 | Location: Australia

Is it just me, on a RX570, suffering very short render distance in games like FC4?
It's even more awful when in small buildings/huts or walking in long caves.

Here a short sample in bad quality but shows the issue...

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0By...UpNeTBlb1YyMVE
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Valerys
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R290 Tri-X/4GB
Processor: Intel Pentium G4560
Mainboard: MSI H110M PRO-VD
Memory: 16GB DDR3@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Sirtec HPE 700W
Default 07-23-2017, 21:32 | posts: 272

Not sure if this is driver related, I also couldn't take a capture of it but sometimes while gaming I get like 1/4 of the screen covered with organized yellow squares shaped in a triangle in one of the screen corners. It happens for a split second at random times (once in maybe 1 hour worth of gameplay) in almost all the games I've tried - first in Watch Dogs 2, thought it's related to ingame graphics, then Deus Ex Mankind Divided, Darksiders, DiRT 4.
I've benchmarked with 3DMark Firestrike and TimeSpy and couldn't find any visible artifacting with my current OC. Lowering the OC didn't make it disappear in the games. My best guess would be it's related to dynamic GPU clocks? Since 3DMark uses the card fully all the time, unlike Vsynched games.

Last edited by Valerys; 07-23-2017 at 21:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.