Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#226)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-05-2013, 11:25 | posts: 7,359 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keno34 View Post
Fake
Little late to party, but nevertheless this card is real and should be here within weeks, at least reviews within weeks anyways.
someone cheated and placed that '690'. it got a mistake, it's one pixel too high or something but anyways it's been debunked, not the single gpu titan extreme 3dmark11 score, but the 690 text photoshopped in to lead us off the trail perhaps? just kidding lol
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#227)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-05-2013, 12:07 | posts: 3,255 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Yep, I got an overlord
Damn, man, those monitors are my dream! How did you get one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#228)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-05-2013, 17:27 | posts: 6,661 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Damn, man, those monitors are my dream! How did you get one?
Got em when there were in stock a couple months ago. Got one of the last few for a while. Won't be going back to 60hz or a lesser res
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#229)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-05-2013, 18:10 | posts: 10,482 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Got em when there were in stock a couple months ago. Got one of the last few for a while. Won't be going back to 60hz or a lesser res
Are these monitors IPS also as well as 120hz?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#230)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX 290x/ 2x 7970L
Processor: 3930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: R4BE/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 16GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: SupremeFX/ Disabled
PSU: NEX1500/ AX1200i-/ AX1200
Default 02-05-2013, 18:20 | posts: 1,029 | Location: Nebulas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Are these monitors IPS also as well as 120hz?
The Overlord monitor model Tempest X270OC have a custom PCB design that are 60Hz by default but are capable of 120Hz +.
Mine will do 82Hz without having to enable the pixel patch limiter software that removes the Hz barriers within the GPU drivers.
They are awesome panels and Overlord Computers has great service and they are located in California.

More to come in March
http://www.overlordcomputer.com/over...t_x270oc_a.htm

Specs:
27-inch LED PANEL: S-IPS "A" and "A-" Grades
Refresh rate: 60hz (up to 120hz capable)
Aspect ratio: 16:9
Resolution: 2560-by-1440
Response Time: ***8806;6ms
Contrast Ratio: 1500:1
DCR: 5000000:1
Brightness: 380cd/***13217;
Viewing Angle: 178(H)/178(V)
Display Color(Max): 16.7M
Connectivity: DVI
High Definition: 1440
Speaker: 10W5***937;
Operation Voltage: Power cable 24V5A - US power cord included
VESA: 100mm x 100mm
Display Dimensions w/Stand: 26" w x 17 5/8" h
Display Weight: 15.75lbs w/out stand; 16.5lbs w/stand
What's in the box? Monitor, stand base, DVI/speaker cables, power brick w/power cable, user guide, and warranty card.

Last edited by seaplane pilot; 02-05-2013 at 18:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#231)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-05-2013, 18:32 | posts: 6,661 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Are these monitors IPS also as well as 120hz?
yes they are IPS and 120hz. They are the same panels dell and apple use for their 27in monitors
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#232)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 02-05-2013, 18:49 | posts: 5,656 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by seronx View Post
http://www.olcf.ornl.gov/titan/

Proof of its existence. Project Titan.
Uhh this is just a whole super computer, I'm really just talking about the card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#233)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX 290x/ 2x 7970L
Processor: 3930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: R4BE/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 16GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: SupremeFX/ Disabled
PSU: NEX1500/ AX1200i-/ AX1200
Default 02-05-2013, 18:52 | posts: 1,029 | Location: Nebulas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
yes they are IPS and 120hz. They are the same panels dell and apple use for their 27in monitors
They are not 120Hz stock, they are 120Hz capable with the custom PCB & they are LG panels that dell and apple also purchase for there line of panels. Only the X270OCs are sold as the 120Hz capable panels on there website.

The Tempest X270OC is a 27 inch 1440 IPS display that is similar in every respect to every other 27 inch 1440 IPS display out there - except in one important regard: The PCBs used. Our OC model is your standard display out of the box set to run at a refresh rate of 60hz. However, the PCB design will allow users to push the refresh rate past the usual 65-67hz roadblock on up to 120hz (and sometimes beyond although diminishing returns kick in very quickly past 120hz.) Several factors come into play when attempting to reach the refresh rate of the Gods. First and foremost is your graphics card. Here the adage - "MOAR POWA!" - holds true. To get past 96hz you need some serious graphics processing power. In addition, you need as much copper between your monster graphics card and the display. We recommend going with a high quality 24AWG DVI cable like those offered on this very website! The overclock process for those willing to hit a nice number like 96hz is pretty straightforward and hitting the 120hz mark on the nose can take some tweaking of your graphics card timings. Guides are available on the web and here of course.

Last edited by seaplane pilot; 02-05-2013 at 18:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#234)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-05-2013, 20:46 | posts: 6,661 | Location: USA

^ thanks but i know all that..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#235)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-05-2013, 21:04 | posts: 10,482 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
yes they are IPS and 120hz. They are the same panels dell and apple use for their 27in monitors
How do you know they are the same panels as what Dell use?
Whats the Warranty like on one of these?

Edit...I just read Seaplanes post.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#236)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-05-2013, 22:26 | posts: 10,482 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaplane pilot View Post
The Overlord monitor model Tempest X270OC have a custom PCB design that are 60Hz by default but are capable of 120Hz +.
Mine will do 82Hz without having to enable the pixel patch limiter software that removes the Hz barriers within the GPU drivers.
They are awesome panels and Overlord Computers has great service and they are located in California.

More to come in March
http://www.overlordcomputer.com/over...t_x270oc_a.htm

Specs:
27-inch LED PANEL: S-IPS "A" and "A-" Grades
Refresh rate: 60hz (up to 120hz capable)
Aspect ratio: 16:9
Resolution: 2560-by-1440
Response Time: ***8806;6ms
Contrast Ratio: 1500:1
DCR: 5000000:1
Brightness: 380cd/***13217;
Viewing Angle: 178(H)/178(V)
Display Color(Max): 16.7M
Connectivity: DVI
High Definition: 1440
Speaker: 10W5***937;
Operation Voltage: Power cable 24V5A - US power cord included
VESA: 100mm x 100mm
Display Dimensions w/Stand: 26" w x 17 5/8" h
Display Weight: 15.75lbs w/out stand; 16.5lbs w/stand
What's in the box? Monitor, stand base, DVI/speaker cables, power brick w/power cable, user guide, and warranty card.
Can you push yours to 120hz?
How do you do that?
By doing that do you degrade the monitor in anyway?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#237)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-05-2013, 23:06 | posts: 10,482 | Location: United kingdom

Nvm i just been reading the official forum and they have a coil whine once 120hz is selected.

Most people drop back to 96hz when there not gaming but tbh if theres a whine at 120hz then its put right off.

Thanks for the info but i think ill wait for the technology to be perfected before i buy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#238)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 02-06-2013, 00:17 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
You can't compare a $300-400 gaming console to a graphics card.... If you have a $300 E-machine.....that $300 graphics card won't perform any better than a $100 graphic card. I generally respect what TPU posts....but that article is plain absurd... Gaming systems cost....you can't just buy the cheapest Emachine, HP or Compaq on the shelf, through in a $300 graphics card and get a better experience than on a console. The performance of the system will be abysmal and with it, the overall experience. Showing people an $800+ GPU isn't going to get them to ditch their $300-400 console.....it's going to make people run towards consoles with nightmares of how much PC gaming costs....
+1 A PS3 320GB costs around 300euro/$400 here. My Rig's cost was around 1250/$1700 on 3/2012.

I could have build a good Rig with 660Ti/7950 for 1000/$1350 by shaving off cash from the GPU/RAM/Cooler/Mobo/PSU but this IS what I wanted.

When my original Fat PS3 YLOD I could have have bought 4 PS3's for the price of my Rig.. BUT most people dont realize that: IT DOES NOT WORK THAT WAY..

People need to stop comparing Consoles to PC's. Its like comparing Tablets to Laptop/Notebooks. Although they provide some basic similar functionality, it simply doesn't go like that.

P.S: About the comments on the price for the next nVidia GPU(whatever is called). I really hope they will NOT release a single GPU solution for more than 600/$800 in today's market based on the current economy. No matter how powerful it is.

I can't afford it..

Last edited by Koniakki; 02-06-2013 at 00:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#239)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-06-2013, 01:03 | posts: 6,661 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Nvm i just been reading the official forum and they have a coil whine once 120hz is selected.

Most people drop back to 96hz when there not gaming but tbh if theres a whine at 120hz then its put right off.

Thanks for the info but i think ill wait for the technology to be perfected before i buy.
No theres not. Im running 124hz, there is no noise. Maybe older revisions had it, but Ive personally messed with another 120hz and it was a catleap and it did not have any noise either. Most people drop back to 96hz? I think youre just reading a bunch of crap from some idiots\

and no the monitor does not 'degrade' lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#240)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-06-2013, 01:09 | posts: 18,531 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I`m eying one of them in the next few months
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#241)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-06-2013, 02:05 | posts: 6,661 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I`m eying one of them in the next few months
worth it so much. id probably pay double what i did for this monitor. srsly once you go 120hz you dont go back. Once your eyes adjust to 120hz, 60hz is VERY choppy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#242)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-06-2013, 08:18 | posts: 10,482 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
No theres not. Im running 124hz, there is no noise. Maybe older revisions had it, but Ive personally messed with another 120hz and it was a catleap and it did not have any noise either. Most people drop back to 96hz? I think youre just reading a bunch of crap from some idiots\

and no the monitor does not 'degrade' lol.
Maybe they are idiots but its still a concern that some people have coil whine.

I think its luck of the draw.

Once you go over 120hz the monitor is said by the officials at Overlord that you will get diminishing returns quite quickly, not that you would go over that.

Because your at its max oc threshold i was just wondering if using 120hz 24/7 use would degrade the 120hz setting.

At the end of the day its heavily overclocked and if there are diminishing returns past 120hz then theres a chance degradation could set it.

Question is how long would it take, It may not happen at all but it is something i have noted.



The company are not offering Pixel Perfect Monitors anymore because of there Chinese supplier so again its luck of the draw wether you get a PP monitor or not.

Saying that these monitors are relatively cheap for what they are and the Catleaps have gone up in price.

Which version do you have Grade A or -A?

Why did you go for the overlord over the Catleap?

If TK is buying one of these i look forward to your review.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#243)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-06-2013, 08:34 | posts: 7,359 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Monitor forum that way >>>>>>>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#244)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 02-06-2013, 09:06 | posts: 2,922 | Location: Philippines

i thought i was on a wrong thread, or am I?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#245)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-06-2013, 09:13 | posts: 7,359 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViperXtreme View Post
i thought i was on a wrong thread, or am I?
the Titan thread on front page if full with monitor faff also, but yeah folks are trying to figure out how to get some use outta the 6gb vram.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#246)
isidore
Ancient Guru
 
isidore's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX670M
Processor: i7-3610QM @ 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus RoG
Memory: Asus 8Gb
Soundcard: Asus G75VW
PSU: Asus RoG
Default 02-06-2013, 09:58 | posts: 5,666 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
the Titan thread on front page if full with monitor faff also, but yeah folks are trying to figure out how to get some use outta the 6gb vram.
down sampling and AA.. easy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#247)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-06-2013, 11:26 | posts: 10,482 | Location: United kingdom

Sorry guys.
Agent A01 feel free to PM me.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.