Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#301)
Glide
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 1070
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7 1700X
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMi
Default 04-21-2017, 09:03 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Comparing frametimes at 3D-application level (i.e. measuring them with FRAPS, RTSS or anything else) and display hardware level is not the best idea as well, that's like comparing apples to oranges, they are fundamentally different and won't match. That's exactly why NVIDIA introduced FCAT approach. I'd recommend that user to research what is FCAT, why it was introduced by NVIDIA, why frametimes are different in graphics pipeline input and output, what are runt and dropped frames and they are indivisible at 3D application level but exist in the end of pipeline.
I'm aware of this.
I said many times that I trust the display's refresh rate monitor more than RTSS due to it.

My issue is that people recommend an RTSS framerate limit ~2 FPS lower than the refresh rate to prevent the display switching from G-Sync to V-Sync - and they say that this works for them.
I am having to set the RTSS limiter about 10-15 FPS lower than the refresh rate, depending on the game, to prevent it from leaving G-Sync and tearing or lagging.
So the "100Hz" monitor becomes an "85-90Hz" monitor, which is disappointing.

NVIDIA's framerate limiter does not do this. If I select 91 FPS, it never goes above 91Hz so G-Sync is always in use.
But NVIDIA's limiter is as high latency as V-Sync so that does not fix the problem.

The images posted were to demonstrate what I am seeing, to find out if other people are experiencing the same thing, if it is an issue with my system, with Windows 10 CU, or the latest RTSS betas.
I'm not pointing blame at anything, just asking questions.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#302)
khanmein
Maha Guru
 
khanmein's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4460
Mainboard: ASRock H97 Pro4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston CL11
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: Seasonic X-750 (KM3)
Default 04-21-2017, 09:22 | posts: 1,273 | Location: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glide View Post
I'm aware of this.
I said many times that I trust the display's refresh rate monitor more than RTSS due to it.

My issue is that people recommend an RTSS framerate limit ~2 FPS lower than the refresh rate to prevent the display switching from G-Sync to V-Sync - and they say that this works for them.
I am having to set the RTSS limiter about 10-15 FPS lower than the refresh rate, depending on the game, to prevent it from leaving G-Sync and tearing or lagging.
So the "100Hz" monitor becomes an "85-90Hz" monitor, which is disappointing.

NVIDIA's framerate limiter does not do this. If I select 91 FPS, it never goes above 91Hz so G-Sync is always in use.
But NVIDIA's limiter is as high latency as V-Sync so that does not fix the problem.

The images posted were to demonstrate what I am seeing, to find out if other people are experiencing the same thing, if it is an issue with my system, with Windows 10 CU, or the latest RTSS betas.
I'm not pointing blame at anything, just asking questions.
Try to set 4 FPS lower than your monitor refresh rate. (G-SYNC)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#303)
Glide
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 1070
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7 1700X
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMi
Default 04-21-2017, 09:53 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by khanmein View Post
Try to set 4 FPS lower than your monitor refresh rate. (G-SYNC)
Like I said, it depends on the game.
For some games, 4 FPS may be sufficient - though none that I've tried.
DOOM running in Vulkan is the worst so far and needs an 86 FPS cap in RTSS to prevent the display's refresh rate monitor ever reporting 100Hz and tearing or lagging. (did not test OpenGL)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#304)
khanmein
Maha Guru
 
khanmein's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4460
Mainboard: ASRock H97 Pro4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston CL11
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: Seasonic X-750 (KM3)
Default 04-21-2017, 11:18 | posts: 1,273 | Location: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glide View Post
Like I said, it depends on the game.
For some games, 4 FPS may be sufficient - though none that I've tried.
DOOM running in Vulkan is the worst so far and needs an 86 FPS cap in RTSS to prevent the display's refresh rate monitor ever reporting 100Hz and tearing or lagging. (did not test OpenGL)
Regarding Doom, I use RTSS to limit 60 FPS on my 2560x1440 @ 60 Hz.

P.S NVCPL - Prefer maximum performance & Fast sync.

OpenGL/Vulkan;

RTSS capped 60 FPS, v-sync off (game setting) - 1xx FPS

RTSS capped 60 FPS, adaptive (game setting) - 60 FPS

Both results gaming experience is pretty smooth & without any tearing.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#305)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 04-21-2017, 11:29 | posts: 1,156

@khanmein: This is about G-Sync. Not fixed refresh rate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#306)
khanmein
Maha Guru
 
khanmein's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4460
Mainboard: ASRock H97 Pro4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston CL11
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: Seasonic X-750 (KM3)
Default 04-21-2017, 13:00 | posts: 1,273 | Location: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
@khanmein: This is about G-Sync. Not fixed refresh rate.
Unfortunately, I don't have G-Sync to test it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#307)
yosef019
Maha Guru
 
yosef019's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 4G Gaming @1500
Processor: i5 4690k@4.4 1.25v NH-D14
Mainboard: z97 PRO
Memory: 16GB 2133 ARES CL9 2T
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Pro Fatality
PSU: Crosair 860i
Default 04-22-2017, 05:23 | posts: 2,060 | Location: Israel - Haifa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
update the guru server they still on beta 19
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#308)
khanmein
Maha Guru
 
khanmein's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4460
Mainboard: ASRock H97 Pro4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston CL11
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: Seasonic X-750 (KM3)
Default 04-22-2017, 06:37 | posts: 1,273 | Location: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by yosef019 View Post
update the guru server they still on beta 19
Try to reinstall again. No issue here.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#309)
akbaar
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Gaming X
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700k @4.6
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VIII IMPACT
Memory: 32gb G.SKILL 3200 CL14 1T
Soundcard: SupremeFX Impact III
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 04-22-2017, 08:32 | posts: 223 | Location: Middle East Region

Quote:
Originally Posted by yosef019 View Post
update the guru server they still on beta 19
i agree
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#310)
yosef019
Maha Guru
 
yosef019's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 4G Gaming @1500
Processor: i5 4690k@4.4 1.25v NH-D14
Mainboard: z97 PRO
Memory: 16GB 2133 ARES CL9 2T
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Pro Fatality
PSU: Crosair 860i
Default 04-22-2017, 08:33 | posts: 2,060 | Location: Israel - Haifa

Quote:
Originally Posted by khanmein View Post
Try to reinstall again. No issue here.

guru download page not his link
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#311)
knuckles84
Member Guru
 
knuckles84's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Sea Hawk EK
Processor: Intel Xeon 1230 V3
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-D3H
Memory: ddr3 / 16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic P-860 XP2
Default 04-22-2017, 10:50 | posts: 77 | Location: Luxemburg

The guru Server do not need to be upgraded. This is a beta (21), that Unwinder has give us for testing the new features, an not for a big public or daily use.

So don't cry, if you can't handle it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#312)
akbaar
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Gaming X
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700k @4.6
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VIII IMPACT
Memory: 32gb G.SKILL 3200 CL14 1T
Soundcard: SupremeFX Impact III
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 04-22-2017, 13:43 | posts: 223 | Location: Middle East Region

Quote:
Originally Posted by knuckles84 View Post
The guru Server do not need to be upgraded. This is a beta (21), that Unwinder has give us for testing the new features, an not for a big public or daily use.

So don't cry, if you can't handle it.
uhm ok yes sire absolutely sir!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#313)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 04-22-2017, 13:56 | posts: 13,183 | Location: Sweden

That's 6.6.0 I'm guessing, 7.0.0b19 was also put up for public download but it's been succeeded by b20 and b21 so perhaps it could be updated if deemed stable enough.

b20 added this:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=289
 Click to show spoiler



and b21 this:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=296
 Click to show spoiler



There's also Afterburner 4.4.0(b6 or b7) but I don't think the public download servers have that version at all yet, only the Rivatuner stand-alone was updated.

EDIT:
Looks like Afterburner 4.4.0 and Rivatuner 7.0.0 will be a pretty large update when it comes out of beta going by everything that's been added or updated for these two so far, though I guess that's not too unexpected with Rivatuner going from 6.x to 7.x as a major version number change.

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 04-22-2017 at 14:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#314)
khanmein
Maha Guru
 
khanmein's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4460
Mainboard: ASRock H97 Pro4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston CL11
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: Seasonic X-750 (KM3)
Default 04-22-2017, 16:04 | posts: 1,273 | Location: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

@JonasBeckman I'm using MSI: AB 4.4.0 Beta 7 + RTSS 7.0.0 Beta 21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#315)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-22-2017, 18:49 | posts: 13,122 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by yosef019 View Post
update the guru server they still on beta 19
Development betas are not for everyone and not intended to be there.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#316)
gedo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 280X DD 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-4690K @4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 3
Memory: 8GB DDR3 2133 CL9 Ares
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + ATH-AD700
PSU: Seasonic G-550
Default 04-22-2017, 22:02 | posts: 225 | Location: Finland

I was testing the maximum frametime setting together with the alarm colour. There is a discrepancy in the timings in the OSD - the alarm colour changes late most of the time compared to the value (both when alarm goes on and off), but sometimes it changes in advance.

Is there any chance the alarm colour updates could be synced to the same interval as the OSD value updates? The mismatch is quite confusing. (And obviously, have the logic also consider the same interval for whether the alarm should trigger.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#317)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-22-2017, 22:22 | posts: 13,122 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

No way, sorry. It will totally break the logic with close to zero (if not say zero) positive resulting effect. Doesn't worth the efforts.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#318)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-23-2017, 07:53 | posts: 29,503 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by yosef019 View Post
update the guru server they still on beta 19
No,

The download binary on Guru3D is an Public Beta.

The Betas in these forums are closed for a small group of board regulars and aficionados so that Unwinder can get feedback on new functionality and testing.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#319)
Digika
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 630
Default 04-23-2017, 13:49 | posts: 82

Thank god to RTSS osd we may have OSD livesplit:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C9z1VASXsAA1Li0.jpg

Last edited by Digika; 04-26-2017 at 00:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#320)
LordHyena
Newbie
 
LordHyena's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4xGTX
Processor: i7-6800K 4.2GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CX750
Default 04-24-2017, 11:56 | posts: 7

Hello. Maybe it's wrong place to ask about that, but it's my first comment here.
Can i use RTSS 7.0.0 Beta 21 in my Benchmarks videos on Youtube?
Or i need to wait until RTSS 7.0.0 is fully released?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#321)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-24-2017, 12:01 | posts: 13,122 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Why not?


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#322)
LordHyena
Newbie
 
LordHyena's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4xGTX
Processor: i7-6800K 4.2GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CX750
Default 04-24-2017, 12:14 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Why not?
@Unwinder thanks, just check in advance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#323)
fatherkius
Newbie
 
Videocard: KFA2 GeForce® GTX 1070 EX
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3
Memory: DDR3 24 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 110 BQ 650W black
Smile 04-25-2017, 10:57 | posts: 4 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherkius View Post
As with the previous version ( 6.6.0 ) , the game crashes each time you press alt tab and you try to go back to the game, or when you change to fullscreen in graphics options or by pressing alt enter.

I hope you will be able to fix it for the next final version.
Hi there, I have Windows 10 Creators Update and I have just downloaded Riva Tuner 7.0.0 Beta 19 from Guru3D . It works perfectly and I love the new letters, although they might me a litte bit big. Is there any way to make them smaller?

I've tested this version with Tom Clancy's The Division and I have the same problem that I quoted some time ago, that only happens when DirectX12 is enabled ingame and when I have Rivatuner opened, if it's closed, everything works fine. I know you are working in other things, but it would be cool if you could take a look to the reason of these game crashes and fix it for future versions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#324)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-25-2017, 14:29 | posts: 13,122 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

And that's not RTSS issue. It was previously discussed and I've absolutely nothing to add to it.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#325)
Andy_K
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 960 OC
Processor: AMD FX6300
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0
Memory: Crucial 1600 - 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892 (7.1)
PSU: Corsair CX430M
Default 04-25-2017, 16:00 | posts: 300 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherkius View Post
Hi there, I have Windows 10 Creators Update and I have just downloaded Riva Tuner 7.0.0 Beta 19 from Guru3D . It works perfectly and I love the new letters, although they might me a litte bit big. Is there any way to make them smaller?
Have a look: http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=313
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.