Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Moded 5900XT BIOSes
Old
  (#1)
Dr.InfernO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Neo2
Memory: 4 GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS / Universum M
PSU: LC Power Silent 550W
Default Moded 5900XT BIOSes - 04-15-2004, 17:15 | posts: 111 | Location: Germany - Berlin(Lichtenberg)

The First i want to say is, thanks to jimmor who is still moding the XT BIOSes I've upped them to my Webspace.



Non Voltage Tuning BIOSes:


AOpen Aeolus 5900XT (300/480/800) - RL BIOS-Version included

Creative 3D Blaster 5 FX5900(SE) / MSI FX5900XT-VTD128 MS-8937 (300/480/800) - Relaxing latency BIOS-Version included

Creative 3D Blaster 5 FX5900(SE) / MSI FX5900XT-VTD128 MS-8937 (300/480/800) - Relaxing latency, THROTTLING SET

Club 3D GeForce FX5900XT (300/480/800) - Relaxing latency BIOS-Version included
^-- New version with THROTTLING SET [appropriate to stock core 3D speed]




Point Of View Geforce FX5900XT (300/450/850) - Relaxing Latency, THROTTLING SET, VOLT-MOD

Point Of View GeForce FX5900XT (300/500/930 & 300/475/950) - latency, volt and throttling mods

(GURU 3D BIOS) GeForce FX 5900XT/SE based on CLUB 3D BIOS (300/480/850) - Both latency versions included, VOLT MOD

leadtek A350THD BIOS-SET (450/930) & (500/930) - Relaxing Latency, THROTTLING SET, VOLT-MOD
^-- LEADTEK BIOS is !!!ONLY!!! for good 5900XTs


!NEW 5900XT BIOS!
Leadtek A350XT TDH BIOS (300/450/850) - Relaxing Latency, Volt and Throttling Mod
!NEW 5900XT BIOS!


GIGABYTE GeForce 5900XT (300/450/780) - Latency, volt and throttling mods

EVGA5900SE stocks at 300/450/800 and MSI5900XT stocks at 300/485/800

gainward 5900XTstock speeds at 300/450/800

Several FX5950U BIOSes underclocked to (300/450/750)

Gigabyte 5900XT (300/475/820) - voltmod, throttling and latency changes


Sparkle 5900Xt (W5D) (300/490/730) - voltmod, throttling and latency changes


Chaintech FX5900XT (300/480/850) - Latency-, Volt-, Throttlingmod


Palit FX5900XT (300/520/800) - Latency-, Volt-, Throttlingmod

Leadtek FX5900XT (300/450/850) -Latency-, Volt-, Throttlingmod

Albatron FX5900XTV 300/450/750 - Latency-, Volt-, Throttlingmod


Extra BIOS Type of a 5900NU: (as a basic example of what a modified 5900nu can achieve)

Aopen 5900NU BIOS with stocks 300/500/950 - Throttling-, Volt-, Latency- and Timingmod


Extra BIOS Type of a 5900ULTRA: (jimmor modded it, because of interest from forum)

Creative(MSI) FX5900Ultra BIOS with stocks 300/500/950 - Throttling-, Volt-, Latency- and Timingmod


NEW TYPE of a GeForce FX 5950 BIOS!

BFG 5950ULTRA high-performance BIOS with stocks (300/510/970) Latency, Timing and Throttling Mod!




Please Test it, Benchmark it, and tell us your Experience!



Files are Updated! (19. 08. 2004 23:42 /Germany, Berlin)

Last edited by Dr.InfernO; 08-20-2004 at 00:07.
   
 
Old
  (#2)
butterwaach
Maha Guru
 
butterwaach's Avatar
 
Videocard: AOpen Aeolus 6800 GT 256MB GDR3 @ 370/1050 + 77.76
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Winchester) Zalman Cooler
Mainboard: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Nforce 3 Ultra 250 Bios v1.8
Memory: 2x512MB Corsair DDR 400 (Dual Channel)
Soundcard: AC'97 7.1 Integrated + Altec Lansing 4.1 Speakers
PSU: 21" Samsung Syncmaster 1100p Plus @ 1920x1440
Default 04-16-2004, 03:01 | posts: 829 | Location: from Hungary to Austria

so im done with testing your new bios (AOpen Aeolus FX 5900 XT 4.35.20.38.A6) with the volt mod and modified latencies!!

well the old one i used from jimmor and inferno ruled allready (it was the modified creative bios with stock speed 300/480/800 and the latency mod) which ran stable at 520/810, but this one kick ass!!

evrything worked fine: as my AGP remained at 4x with fastwrite and SBA., the TV out worked fine (but i never use it), well i have to post that there was a vendor id missmatch during the flash but everything worked fine ... so who cares!?!

As for OC this one ran stable until 540/840 allthought after 10 mins of 3d mark 03 there was a short freeze so i aborted! but for far cry it remained stable (i tested later)! for 3d mark i lowered the core freq. by 5mhz and the memory by 20mhz (regarding that i still have crappy hynx 2.8 ns RAM chips). i realized that at 520/820 the gpu works much faster than before (ran the test direct after the aborted 3d mark)!

Final score : 5925 3DMarks

So let me asume:

standart bios - 480/760: 5733 3DMarks

creative bios - 520/810: 5817 3DMarks

Aopen bios - 520/820: 5925 3DMarks

so i think these bios works just fine for XT cards!

PS: i bet i can sqeeze out a little bit more! maybe i can hit the 6000 3DMakrs with 525/830! got to see tomorrow!
still ill will test the creative bios to! who knows maybe it is better

big TH(C)X to jimmor and inferno who provided me with the bios files!
greetz
   
Old
  (#3)
Elanzer
Ancient Guru
 
Elanzer's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 9700 @ 325/580 (3.6ns hynix..)
Processor: Tualatin 1.2@1.7
Mainboard: ASUS CUV4X-E
Memory: 832mb generic CL3 PC133 @ 142mhz CL3-3-2 5T
Soundcard: Soundblaster Live! 5.1 (KxProject)
PSU: 450w Wintech PSU
Default 04-16-2004, 03:23 | posts: 3,466 | Location: Canada

How are you guys modding the latency? Which offset is it exactly? D:
   
Old
  (#4)
jimmor
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA8800GTS 512Mb
Processor: Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
Memory: DDR3-1600 2x2Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec Pro 750W
Default 04-16-2004, 03:54 | posts: 4,532 | Location: Scotland

Quote:
Originally posted by Elanzer
How are you guys modding the latency? Which offset is it exactly? D:
it was posted into the forum a few days ago. !!

you are supposed to look for the 8 bit binary word 07 03 0F 03, and replace it with 07 03 0F 43. The latter being that used in a 5950u bios.

seems to work for some XT cards, however it caused all sorts of problems with my 5900nu.

The equiv word in my bios is 07 00 0F 43, and it doesn't like being changed to the proposed 07 03 0F 43 ???

so change it with care !!!
   
 
Old
  (#5)
Dr.InfernO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Neo2
Memory: 4 GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS / Universum M
PSU: LC Power Silent 550W
Default 04-16-2004, 07:41 | posts: 111 | Location: Germany - Berlin(Lichtenberg)

jimmor you got another email with "memory" info material.

If Memory on XT is Samsung 316 K4D263238E-GC2A
If Memory on XT is Hnyx HY5DU283222([A]F-28)

Voltage on Samsung is 2.5V (+/- 5%)
Voltage on Hynx is 2.9V (+/- 5%)

I hope those were the correct binaries we need for it!

But when, I'm looking @ the Bench results i would say, that the values are correct! The Hynx Memory needs a higher Voltage so the creative(Samsung) BIOS isn't so fast like the AOpen(Hynx)!
AND I know that the XFX BIOS (Hynx) wasn't working correctly @ my Creative Card, but the AOpen worked fine under the XFX BIOS!

Last edited by Dr.InfernO; 04-16-2004 at 07:46.
   
Old
  (#6)
SOTR
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 5900XT (Dawn)
Processor: AXP 2500+ 215x10
Mainboard: Epox 8RDA+ Rev2.1
Memory: 256x2 Gskill Pro BH5
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 07:58 | posts: 10 | Location: Taiwan

Sorry for the noob question but my msi 5900xt's samsung rams gets artifacts at only 740. Would flashing it with the above bioses help?
   
Old
  (#7)
Dr.InfernO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Neo2
Memory: 4 GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS / Universum M
PSU: LC Power Silent 550W
Default 04-16-2004, 08:10 | posts: 111 | Location: Germany - Berlin(Lichtenberg)

Probably, yes!

Download the one from creative and flash those "cr59xtRL.rom" file with relaxing timings!

And when you do it please tell us your experience, so we can continue our work!

Bye the way, MSI/Creative are almost the same.
   
Old
  (#8)
neural net
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 08:20 | posts: n/a

Very nice work InfernO and jimmor! Hats off to you guys

Any idea how to lower the latencies? BTW I ask this for us 5900nu - 5950 ultra users.

I notice these same latencies are in my BFG 5950u bios. It would be kick-ass if we could lower them to make these cards faster too.

Thanks for any info.

Last edited by neural net; 04-16-2004 at 08:30.
   
Old
  (#9)
neural net
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 08:35 | posts: n/a

You know what. I might have figured it out. I haven't tested this, but, this is what I'm thinking;

My BFG 5950u bios has these latencies...

07030F43

If I change it to...

07030F03

It should run faster, correct? This sounds risky though, because it might stress my 5900's 2.2 ns memory too hard. I'll check to see what timings were in my original bios and get back with you on this...

*edit - both the bfg 5900nu and bfg 5950u bios had the same exact latencies (07030F43)

Last edited by neural net; 04-16-2004 at 08:41.
   
Old
  (#10)
Dr.InfernO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Neo2
Memory: 4 GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS / Universum M
PSU: LC Power Silent 550W
Default 04-16-2004, 08:39 | posts: 111 | Location: Germany - Berlin(Lichtenberg)

of cause, try it! But not everyone with a original 5900nu has a good experience with this! But try it!
   
 
Old
  (#11)
cybonic
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 08:53 | posts: n/a

i am thinking of trying the creative se bios. i am currently on the BFG 5950u modded bios
   
Old
  (#12)
Dr.InfernO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Neo2
Memory: 4 GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS / Universum M
PSU: LC Power Silent 550W
Default 04-16-2004, 08:56 | posts: 111 | Location: Germany - Berlin(Lichtenberg)

REAL 5900NU's shouldn't flash to a XT/SE/LT BIOS!
Don't do it! It's another PCB.
   
Old
  (#13)
cybonic
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 09:04 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr.InfernO
REAL 5900NU's shouldn't flash to a XT/SE/LT BIOS!
Don't do it! It's another PCB.
mine's on 2.8ns memory. stock speeds 400/700
   
Old
  (#14)
Dr.InfernO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Neo2
Memory: 4 GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS / Universum M
PSU: LC Power Silent 550W
Default 04-16-2004, 09:10 | posts: 111 | Location: Germany - Berlin(Lichtenberg)

Then It's the same as a Creative 5900!
OK then do it!

If your GeForce has a clock Frequency of 400Core/700Memory
then it's ALWAYS a SE/LT not a nu.

Example:
Creative 3D Blaster 5 FX5900
It also has the same frequency of 400/700!



And TELL us your Bench/Gameing results!

Last edited by Dr.InfernO; 04-16-2004 at 09:13.
   
Old
  (#15)
neural net
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 09:27 | posts: n/a

worked like a charm. now the question is, how to go even lower? lol

we really need to figure out how to increase the voltage as well, as higher voltage allows for better stability
   
Old
  (#16)
cybonic
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 09:33 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr.InfernO
Then It's the same as a Creative 5900!
OK then do it!

If your GeForce has a clock Frequency of 400Core/700Memory
then it's ALWAYS a SE/LT not a nu.

Example:
Creative 3D Blaster 5 FX5900
It also has the same frequency of 400/700!



And TELL us your Bench/Gameing results!
i tried 3dmark01 mother nature & got 10-15fps more.

will try aquamark3 & 3dmark03 later on
   
Old
  (#17)
Soto_Ayam
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 8800GTS 640MB SLI
Processor: AMD PII 940BE @ 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
Memory: 4GB Corsair XMS
Soundcard: X-Fi X-treme Gamer
PSU: Antec Truepower Trio 650W
Default 04-16-2004, 09:58 | posts: 1,541 | Location: Canada

My eVGA 5900 SE with 2.8ns ram is running stable @ 440/875... is this too good to be true?

And the weird thing is that I cant go higher than 440mhz on core, any higher would cause games to crash/freeze. But my memory for some reason, hits 875 rock solid... now is this too good to be true? I don't want my card to crap out in a few days and keep in mind that this is 2.8ns RAM and its not a Leadtek 5900LX...

PS. I used Jimmor's modded BFG FX5950U BIOS. Thumbs up to those.
   
Old
  (#18)
Blitzer
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 10:09 | posts: n/a

Hey there guys i got a Club3d 5900 XT w 128mb ram, any suggestions to what bios i could flash this baby with??

thx in advance
   
Old
  (#19)
cybonic
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Talking 04-16-2004, 10:18 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitzer
Hey there guys i got a Club3d 5900 XT w 128mb ram, any suggestions to what bios i could flash this baby with??

thx in advance
u can get those modded 5950u bios or those modded 5900XT/SE bios to test it with.

Last edited by cybonic; 04-16-2004 at 10:20.
   
Old
  (#20)
Dr.InfernO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Neo2
Memory: 4 GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS / Universum M
PSU: LC Power Silent 550W
Default 04-16-2004, 10:39 | posts: 111 | Location: Germany - Berlin(Lichtenberg)

If your Card has Samsung memory use the Creative BIOS, if your memory is Hynx (HY....) then use the AOpen one!
   
Old
  (#21)
FlashUK
Master Guru
 
Videocard: BFG 6800GT
Processor: AMD64 3700+
Mainboard: Epox nforce3 ultra
Memory: 2Gb DDR 400
Soundcard: Live 5.1 w. mission speakers
PSU: Levicom 420W
Default 04-16-2004, 11:20 | posts: 305 | Location: Derby

WOW! A creative bios. weeeeeeeee
Ive been looking for one of these for ages!

Dr.InfernO, what scores are you getting with your 3D Blaster in 3Dmark03? And what are the default freqs of these creative bioses and how far are you able to push it?

Thanks

Thanks again
   
Old
  (#22)
Dr.InfernO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Neo2
Memory: 4 GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS / Universum M
PSU: LC Power Silent 550W
Default 04-16-2004, 11:33 | posts: 111 | Location: Germany - Berlin(Lichtenberg)

Without the BIOS modification i could only push the BIOS to ca. 490Core/760Memory.
After the mod i was able to push it up to 490core/813mem!
My 3DMark03 score has been increased about 500Points!
The default clock of the new BIOS is:

2D Core ----> 300Mhz
3D Core ----> 480Mhz
2D/3D Memory -----> 800Mhz
   
Old
  (#23)
FlashUK
Master Guru
 
Videocard: BFG 6800GT
Processor: AMD64 3700+
Mainboard: Epox nforce3 ultra
Memory: 2Gb DDR 400
Soundcard: Live 5.1 w. mission speakers
PSU: Levicom 420W
Default 04-16-2004, 11:47 | posts: 305 | Location: Derby

Thats a fair whack on the clock speeds! I havent tried o/c'ing the card yet, guru3d got it up to around 440 core and 760 mem. U sure this is ok to flash? Wont turn my card into a doorstop!? lol. Oh, and i know all about that 'flashing is done at your own risk'
Cheers
   
Old
  (#24)
FlashUK
Master Guru
 
Videocard: BFG 6800GT
Processor: AMD64 3700+
Mainboard: Epox nforce3 ultra
Memory: 2Gb DDR 400
Soundcard: Live 5.1 w. mission speakers
PSU: Levicom 420W
Default 04-16-2004, 11:48 | posts: 305 | Location: Derby

1 more question, do you have any extra cooling on your card? And what is you idle case temp and temp after load?

Thanks a lot mate
   
Old
  (#25)
Blitzer
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-16-2004, 11:53 | posts: n/a

In what way do i i c what mem this card use?? have flashed before but i honestly dont know what type of Ram this card use.... and hey thx for the quick replies...

btw chipset rev. is A1

will i be able able 2 run at agpx8 ?

Last edited by Blitzer; 04-16-2004 at 12:12.
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.