Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Myths and Truths about PCI LATENCY
Old
  (#1)
GODzillaSDM
Maha Guru
 
GODzillaSDM's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek AMD HD7850
Processor: Intel i7 6700k (stock)
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-GAMING 5
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z SBX & LOGITECH z5300
PSU: XFX 850W
Default Myths and Truths about PCI LATENCY - 09-15-2004, 22:52 | posts: 1,708 | Location: San Diego, CA

Hello all,

From reading different threads on different forums I've stumbled across PCI Latency and learned more about it.

I've read that setting the PCI Latency in BIOS has NO effect. Windows has the power to override it.

What is PCI LATENCY? I read that it is the amount of time a certin device is given the attention by the cpu. Setting it higher will allow it more time with cpu, but the drawback is, other device will have to wait their turn. When one device is set higher than others...e.g. video 248ms, sound at 32ms, the video card is getting a significantly more time than the sound card. Thus, causing sound problems.

I've read that ATI cards are default set to 248ms. (my speculation as well as others are that they want to eliminate any problems with video for themselves. But this is quite selfish and irresponsible to hog the pci bus this way)

Myths. Lowering the PCI Latency does not MAKE that device FASTER. Its not the same as setting MEMORY RESPONSE TIME. Setting the PCI LATENCY lower only means it gets less time with cpu processing.

Fact: So there needs to be a balance of pci latencies between different devices. Setting them to be more equal will allow a more equal processing time. I read setting it to 64 is a magic number.

Fact: AGP is a desiginated slot OF PCI for Video Cards. PCI Latency DOES affect agp.

(please move this thread if you feel that there is a more appropriate section. I didn't know where to put it, and thought video card latency is set too high)

Last edited by GODzillaSDM; 01-11-2005 at 21:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
GODzillaSDM
Maha Guru
 
GODzillaSDM's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek AMD HD7850
Processor: Intel i7 6700k (stock)
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-GAMING 5
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z SBX & LOGITECH z5300
PSU: XFX 850W
Default 09-15-2004, 22:59 | posts: 1,708 | Location: San Diego, CA

So the question I have now is....

How can we change PCI Latency manually in windows? (since bios does not do anything).

I've read about people using "powerstrip". Does this program HAVE to be running on background to keep pci latency to what you want? Or can you delete it after you have set it?

Is there any other way to change the PCI Latency... in registry? Any other good programs? Does NVIDIA System Utility do this (not talking about the unified drivers, but the other nForce driver on nvidia website?)

I wanted to post this thread to inform others truths and myths of pci latency. So if there is anything you like to add on, or correct my mistakes, please feel free to do so. I want to learn more about it myself too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Heat-40
Master Guru
 
Heat-40's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 ti
Processor: I7 4790K
Mainboard: ASRock Z97 Anniversary
Memory: DDR3 Corsair Vengence 16g
Soundcard: Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
PSU: Corsair Rmi750
Default 09-16-2004, 01:27 | posts: 305 | Location: Scotland

search your registry for "DisableProgPCILatency" and change the value from 0 to 1 that will stop the ati drivers from setting your vid card latency to 248ms
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
GODzillaSDM
Maha Guru
 
GODzillaSDM's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek AMD HD7850
Processor: Intel i7 6700k (stock)
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-GAMING 5
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z SBX & LOGITECH z5300
PSU: XFX 850W
Default 09-16-2004, 01:33 | posts: 1,708 | Location: San Diego, CA

any way to monitor the latency values?

setting value from 0 to 1. what will it become? Whatever u set it in bios?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Heat-40
Master Guru
 
Heat-40's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 ti
Processor: I7 4790K
Mainboard: ASRock Z97 Anniversary
Memory: DDR3 Corsair Vengence 16g
Soundcard: Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
PSU: Corsair Rmi750
Default 09-16-2004, 01:43 | posts: 305 | Location: Scotland

use this to see what they are set to link

and yes if u do that in the reg it will set it back to what ever u have set it 2 in the bios

before

and after
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
GODzillaSDM
Maha Guru
 
GODzillaSDM's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek AMD HD7850
Processor: Intel i7 6700k (stock)
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-GAMING 5
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z SBX & LOGITECH z5300
PSU: XFX 850W
Default 10-14-2004, 00:43 | posts: 1,708 | Location: San Diego, CA

Hello Heat-40, so yeah, thanks for your advice. I set the registry to "1", and it seems to correct my sound problem. I have a couple of questions.

1. Where did u get that pci latency tool?
2. Does that tool allow you to set the values? or view only?
3. Where can I find a program that will let me adjust the value as I see fit?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
SVT Amateur
Maha Guru
 
SVT Amateur's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS x850 XT PE VIVO PCI-Express
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2 Ghz @ 3.925 Ghz
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE w/ Intel 925XE PCI-Express
Memory: Kingston HyperX 1 GB DDR2 PC2-4300 533 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
PSU:
Default 10-14-2004, 00:57 | posts: 1,100 | Location: San Antonio, Texas

I thought I read somewhere that for users of PCI-Express graphic cards that they don't have to worry about sharing PCI bandwidth with other PCI cards because they have dedicated bandwidth. Is this true?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
WolfPup
Master Guru
 
WolfPup's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 6800 OC (12/5) extra pipes don't work.
Processor: P4 3.06 (533fsb)
Mainboard: Msi 848P Neo
Memory: 1gig Corsair 3200 XMS @ 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy 2, Klipsch 5.1ultra. Sennheiser HD580
PSU:
Default 10-14-2004, 02:43 | posts: 382 | Location: Suffolk County, NY

I've got this weird sound problem in some games like there is this weird chirpy noise but only when I look in a certain direction? will changing this pci latency thing fix that, do you think?
I'm not even sure what to set it to in the bios if it would fix it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
GODzillaSDM
Maha Guru
 
GODzillaSDM's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek AMD HD7850
Processor: Intel i7 6700k (stock)
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-GAMING 5
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z SBX & LOGITECH z5300
PSU: XFX 850W
Default 10-14-2004, 07:37 | posts: 1,708 | Location: San Diego, CA

Hmmm could it be a bird in the trees, that u can only hear, when u face towards it? LOL.

if its not a bird. Have you tried updating chipset driver? sound driver?

if yes to both and still a prob, then i finally resort to setting the pci latency to either 32 or 64 in bios, then remember to edit the registry. (be careful, screwing up registry = BOOOM!) like heat-40 said, search for DisableProgPCILatency, with Edit Menu/Find. and change the value to 1.

If you have some other programs that can edit the pci latency, I read others saying 64 for video and 32 for sound. But most of them say just change it, test it and see. (trial and error). good luck hope it helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
johndoe
Newbie
 
Videocard: PowerColor Radeon 9800XT 256MB
Processor: Northwood 3.0C, Thermalright XP-120
Mainboard: MSI 875P Neo-FIS2R (PCB 1.0)
Memory: Kingston DDR400 512*2
Soundcard: ADI Integrated, Creative 5.1
PSU: ASUS 5224A CDRW & E616P DVD-ROM, MX
Default 01-11-2005, 19:54 | posts: 15

hi all, i just found this thread thru the PCI Latency Tool v2.0 thread. question is, i got a ton of DisableProgPCILatency values in my registry

which ones do i set to 1 ? any particulat one ? or all of them ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Netcore
Master Guru
 
Videocard: His Excalibur Radeon x800 Pro Iceq II-- 550/570
Processor: Athlon 64 3000+@2.1 ghz
Mainboard: Aopen Ak86-L
Memory: Kingston 2X512 mb pc3200@2.5-3-3-10
Soundcard: On Board Realtek Audio
PSU:
Default 01-11-2005, 20:05 | posts: 331 | Location: Estonia

download the latest version of ati tool,it has the ability to overwrite the pci latency of you video card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-11-2005, 20:48 | posts: n/a

if set right the pci latency tool 2.0 can be used without modifiying the registry as it loads after windows changing it to whatever you set it to

alot of people just aren't setting it right
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
GODzillaSDM
Maha Guru
 
GODzillaSDM's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek AMD HD7850
Processor: Intel i7 6700k (stock)
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-GAMING 5
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z SBX & LOGITECH z5300
PSU: XFX 850W
Default 01-11-2005, 21:32 | posts: 1,708 | Location: San Diego, CA

johndoe, i don't know why u are getting so many returns. Where are they located?

HLH, no offense, but i don't quite get what you mean.

NETCORE, i will try pci latency tool myself also. Although editting the registry helped, i still get static in rare occasions. Sounds like most people benefit and approve of this tool, i will give it a shot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
DaRk_fIbRE
Master Guru
 
DaRk_fIbRE's Avatar
 
Videocard: None
Processor: None
Mainboard: None
Memory: None
Soundcard: None
PSU: None
Default 01-11-2005, 21:41 | posts: 670 | Location: Essex, UK

So what should you set it to.. or is it one of those 'suck and see' approaches..?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-11-2005, 21:51 | posts: n/a

i started at 128 and am now at 64... seems less stuttery at 64
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
GODzillaSDM
Maha Guru
 
GODzillaSDM's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek AMD HD7850
Processor: Intel i7 6700k (stock)
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-GAMING 5
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z SBX & LOGITECH z5300
PSU: XFX 850W
Default 01-11-2005, 21:53 | posts: 1,708 | Location: San Diego, CA

what should u set what to? registry value? set to 1. pci latency, set agp to 64, and others such as sound to 32. but try around and see.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
rEbirTH
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-12-2005, 03:37 | posts: n/a

i dl that pci latency tool, all my devices show 64 without me having done anything. guess im ok then.


http://craigwp.customer.netspace.net.au/LtcyCfg.zip
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
johndoe
Newbie
 
Videocard: PowerColor Radeon 9800XT 256MB
Processor: Northwood 3.0C, Thermalright XP-120
Mainboard: MSI 875P Neo-FIS2R (PCB 1.0)
Memory: Kingston DDR400 512*2
Soundcard: ADI Integrated, Creative 5.1
PSU: ASUS 5224A CDRW & E616P DVD-ROM, MX
Default 01-12-2005, 15:14 | posts: 15

Quote:
Originally posted by GODzillaSDM
johndoe, i don't know why u are getting so many returns. Where are they located?
DisableProgPCILatency found at following locations:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Cl ass\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000\Settings]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Cl ass\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0001\Settings]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Vi deo\{0C5AF3E1-BADC-413D-A6E5-3D1891E4B358}\0000]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Vi deo\{C9F7B253-F2FB-4A2D-AE52-20544B383D6B}\0000]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\a ti2mtag\Device0]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\a ti2mtag\Device1]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\a ti2mtag\Device2]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\a ti2mtag\Device3]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\Cl ass\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000\Settings]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\Cl ass\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0001\Settings]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\Vi deo\{0C5AF3E1-BADC-413D-A6E5-3D1891E4B358}\0000]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\Vi deo\{C9F7B253-F2FB-4A2D-AE52-20544B383D6B}\0000]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\a ti2mtag\Device0]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\a ti2mtag\Device1]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\a ti2mtag\Device2]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\a ti2mtag\Device3]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000\Settings]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0001\Settings]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Video\{0C5AF3E1-BADC-413D-A6E5-3D1891E4B358}\0000]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Video\{C9F7B253-F2FB-4A2D-AE52-20544B383D6B}\0000]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ati2mtag\Device0]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ati2mtag\Device1]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ati2mtag\Device2]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ati2mtag\Device3]

Last edited by johndoe; 01-12-2005 at 15:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
johndoe
Newbie
 
Videocard: PowerColor Radeon 9800XT 256MB
Processor: Northwood 3.0C, Thermalright XP-120
Mainboard: MSI 875P Neo-FIS2R (PCB 1.0)
Memory: Kingston DDR400 512*2
Soundcard: ADI Integrated, Creative 5.1
PSU: ASUS 5224A CDRW & E616P DVD-ROM, MX
Default 01-12-2005, 15:16 | posts: 15

Quote:
Originally posted by Netcore
download the latest version of ati tool,it has the ability to overwrite the pci latency of you video card.
I was looking to go the regedit way cuz I wanted the settings to stick without using a third party program if ya know what I mean
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Darthb0b0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Visiontek 4870 X2 2GB
Processor: Intel QX6850
Mainboard: Asus PK5-E Premium
Memory: 4GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Razer
PSU: Enermax 720
Default 01-14-2005, 23:31 | posts: 224 | Location: Chicago

Quote:
Originally posted by SVT Amateur
I thought I read somewhere that for users of PCI-Express graphic cards that they don't have to worry about sharing PCI bandwidth with other PCI cards because they have dedicated bandwidth. Is this true?
Yes. Here's a brief breakdown of how it works. The regular PCI bus is like a hub, multiple connection sharing the bus, but only one device can actually talk at a time. Changing the latency timing determines how long each "port" or slot can use the bus before giving up its turn to another device. A true PCI-Express (not to be confused with PCI-X) bus is more like a switch where multiple "conversations" can be had at the same time. PCI-E buses have 32 lanes available to them at 250mhz (or mbs, I don't recall offhand). These lanes can be combined to allow a single slot multiple lanes. That's why you see mother boards with 16x, 8x, 4x and 1x slots. Most of the PCI-E video cards, at least the high-end ones, are 16x. This means that they can use 16 X 250 =4gbs memory throughput, whereas AGP is limited to 1.2ghz (me thinks). Things like your sounds card will only need the 1x slot. That's why those lucky enough to do so, have to be careful in purchasing an SLI mobo. A lot of them have only 1 16x slot and then the second one is 8x. Then again, two 16x PCI-E slots, would use the entire PCI-E bus. Maybe you'll have mobos with 2, I don't know. Most of the current mobos that are PCI-E also include regular PCI buses for your other devices. Someday you will be able, for example, to buy a PCI-E sound card.

Does that help?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Darthb0b0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Visiontek 4870 X2 2GB
Processor: Intel QX6850
Mainboard: Asus PK5-E Premium
Memory: 4GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Razer
PSU: Enermax 720
Default 01-14-2005, 23:33 | posts: 224 | Location: Chicago

To John Doe:

You can safely ignore all of the currentcontrolset001 and 002 stuff. those are backups windows makes. they're used when you hit F8 and say use Last Known Good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
johndoe
Newbie
 
Videocard: PowerColor Radeon 9800XT 256MB
Processor: Northwood 3.0C, Thermalright XP-120
Mainboard: MSI 875P Neo-FIS2R (PCB 1.0)
Memory: Kingston DDR400 512*2
Soundcard: ADI Integrated, Creative 5.1
PSU: ASUS 5224A CDRW & E616P DVD-ROM, MX
Default 01-16-2005, 15:41 | posts: 15

ok so that leaves me with the following:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000\Settings]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0001\Settings]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Video\{0C5AF3E1-BADC-413D-A6E5-3D1891E4B358}\0000]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Video\{C9F7B253-F2FB-4A2D-AE52-20544B383D6B}\0000]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ati2mtag\Device0]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ati2mtag\Device1]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ati2mtag\Device2]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ati2mtag\Device3]

sure should i go ahead and change all of these ?

Last edited by johndoe; 01-16-2005 at 15:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-16-2005, 15:52 | posts: n/a

i reckon you should leave alone and learn to use the program properly

i myself am using a 9800XT and have had no problems in setting my latency at 64 for my agp without any registry tweaks

anyone using the registry tweaks just aren't using the program right
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
johndoe
Newbie
 
Videocard: PowerColor Radeon 9800XT 256MB
Processor: Northwood 3.0C, Thermalright XP-120
Mainboard: MSI 875P Neo-FIS2R (PCB 1.0)
Memory: Kingston DDR400 512*2
Soundcard: ADI Integrated, Creative 5.1
PSU: ASUS 5224A CDRW & E616P DVD-ROM, MX
Default 01-17-2005, 17:44 | posts: 15

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
skyfox
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-19-2005, 14:59 | posts: n/a

Have been using the latency tool for the last week and still can't get the settings to stick on reboot. I can read and have been following the directions to the letter. Very weird.

skyfox
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.