Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
The Witcher 3 - GTX 780Ti Could Push 35-45 FPS At Max?
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default The Witcher 3 - GTX 780Ti Could Push 35-45 FPS At Max? - 04-14-2014, 08:30 | posts: 21,694 | Location: Guru3D testlab

If it is up to Gametech, The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt is a very challenging title; a title that a sole GTX 780Ti struggles to run when higher levels of AA are enabled. The gaming website noted, the PC ver...

The Witcher 3 - GTX 780Ti Could Push 35-45 FPS At Max?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-14-2014, 08:36 | posts: 23,626 | Location: Netherlands

good stuff , loads of eyecandy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 04-14-2014, 08:58 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 04-14-2014, 09:39 | posts: 5,512 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
If it is up to Gametech, The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt is a very challenging title; a title that a sole GTX 780Ti struggles to run when higher levels of AA are enabled. The gaming website noted, the PC ver...

The Witcher 3 - GTX 780Ti Could Push 35-45 FPS At Max?
Why would you run 8xMSAA when you could just run the game @ 1440p with 2xAA and have just as a goo picture?

Seems kinda silly of an article by that website. I mean you could make a 780ti cry by running Max Payne 3 at 1080p with over the top amounts of AA, so what!

Looking forward to the W3, but the Witcher games have never been gpu killers because of their visuals but more so of the lack of optimizations on launch, after which, they run great for how awesome they look. These guys are like the 4A, great looking games that run way great for how good they look.

Annnndd then there's Ghosts..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 04-14-2014, 10:10 | posts: 2,161 | Location: Estonia

Every game struggles to run with lots of AA lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
miffywiffy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 750ti
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: ASRock > Z97E-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 750watt
Default 04-14-2014, 11:51 | posts: 543 | Location: MK

Yeah probably because it doesn't have enough memory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Jahooba
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 670 FTW 2GB
Processor: Intel Q9550
Mainboard: 965p-DS3, Gigabyte
Memory: DDR2 / 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 04-14-2014, 11:53 | posts: 19 | Location: New Jersey

AA is typically the first thing I turn off. High AA can make a game look nearly photo-real, it's just so computationally demanding it's usually not worth it.

I'd like to see a discreet graphics chip that does nothing but calculate AA, if such a thing is possible (and does not require a dual-GPU-ready motherboard). A discreet card was used to calculate physics (Physx, by AGEIA), and for various reasons that failed, but anti-aliasing is very different than physics simulation. AA just serves to enhance what is already there, which means it could potentially enhance every game, not just ones that are built specifically for it, as with the Physx card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SLI | U2711
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz | H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 04-14-2014, 11:55 | posts: 1,201 | Location: Southampton, UK

lets see it make 780 SLI cry

BRING THE PAIN!!11!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Aveon
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 670 DC2
Processor: core i5 3550
Mainboard: ASUS P8B75-V
Memory: Gskill Ripjaw X 4GB*2
Soundcard: Logitech
PSU: Corsair GS600
Default 04-14-2014, 12:16 | posts: 308 | Location: India Bangalore

I personally never go beyond 2xAA on my GTX 670.
Thats more than enough for my 21.5' screen @1080p

Again I don't get why people employ the crudest way of AA i.e MSAA when there is FXAA, TXAA.

I know they are not so perfect as MSAA but the seem pretty well optimized.

Last edited by Aveon; 04-14-2014 at 12:18. Reason: update
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
meth curd
Newbie
 
meth curd's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Radeon 7990 6gb
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: MSI Z87 MPower
Memory: 16GB DDR3 (2x8)
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold
Default 04-14-2014, 12:19 | posts: 40 | Location: Munich, Germany

the 780ti can't run most 2013 AAA games at steady 60fps in 1080p with 8x MSAA -- even if those numbers are real, the fact that it can run an open world 2015 game at 40 fps with those settings is really good news
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-14-2014, 12:20 | posts: 19,076 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Fxaa is generally blurry txaa is game dependent.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Aveon
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 670 DC2
Processor: core i5 3550
Mainboard: ASUS P8B75-V
Memory: Gskill Ripjaw X 4GB*2
Soundcard: Logitech
PSU: Corsair GS600
Default 04-14-2014, 12:30 | posts: 308 | Location: India Bangalore

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Fxaa is generally blurry txaa is game dependent.
Agreed

I have used MSAA, FXAA and TXAA in games like Arkham origins and Splinter cell Black list the difference is minimal.

Considering TXAA is more of a Nvidia thingy, I wish it could become more of common thing for the AMD cards as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
southamptonfc
Maha Guru
 
southamptonfc's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF 780TI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16Gb 1866
Soundcard: SB XFI
PSU: Seasonic X-750W
Default 04-14-2014, 12:34 | posts: 1,039 | Location: UK

Bit of a non-story really. This is just the same as when Witcher 2 was released with the uber sampling option.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 04-14-2014, 12:37 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Personally I choose low/med SMAA whenever possible. It looks best in my eyes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-14-2014, 12:44 | posts: 4,975 | Location: London

That does look pretty. I should probably complete 1 and 2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
H83
Maha Guru
 
H83's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q DELUXE
Memory: G. Skill 4G DDR2 @1130MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster SB Audigy
PSU: Corsair TX 850W V2
Default 04-14-2014, 12:53 | posts: 1,320 | Location: Mars

Just lower the settings and problem solved!...

The real problem is that Dark Souls 2 is spoiling me so much that i dont know if im gonna enjoy Witcher 3 like i should...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
southamptonfc
Maha Guru
 
southamptonfc's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF 780TI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16Gb 1866
Soundcard: SB XFI
PSU: Seasonic X-750W
Default 04-14-2014, 13:03 | posts: 1,039 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
That does look pretty. I should probably complete 1 and 2.
Mee too, I just got bored with Witcher2, is it worth persisting with?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
H83
Maha Guru
 
H83's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q DELUXE
Memory: G. Skill 4G DDR2 @1130MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster SB Audigy
PSU: Corsair TX 850W V2
Default 04-14-2014, 13:09 | posts: 1,320 | Location: Mars

Quote:
Originally Posted by southamptonfc View Post
Mee too, I just got bored with Witcher2, is it worth persisting with?
Only if you like playing it...

I already finished part 1 and 2 and for me they are both good games but nothing special. And i liked the first one better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-14-2014, 13:43 | posts: 4,975 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by H83 View Post
Only if you like playing it...

I already finished part 1 and 2 and for me they are both good games but nothing special. And i liked the first one better.
I find some of the mechanics in 1 (especially combat) a bit clunky TBH compared to a lot of RPGs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
AcidSnow
Master Guru
 
AcidSnow's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek R9 290X
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUStek P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB 6-6-6-18 @ 1333MHz
Soundcard: 5.1 Klipsch
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 04-14-2014, 13:46 | posts: 326 | Location: Texas

Am I the only one around here who never uses AA? I hate how blurry it makes everything look. Same goes for motion blur, ugh! MSAA all the way
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Default 04-14-2014, 13:50 | posts: 13,894 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcidSnow View Post
Am I the only one around here who never uses AA? I hate how blurry it makes everything look. Same goes for motion blur, ugh! MSAA all the way
lolwut
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 04-14-2014, 14:05 | posts: 5,487 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
lolwut
SHHHH! (Don't tell him thats AA.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
ceesay
Master Guru
 
ceesay's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX-980 -SLI iChill Ultra
Processor: Intel 5960X -H20 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus X99 Deluxe Intel X99
Memory: Corsair 16GB @ 3000 Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Crystal Sound 2
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 04-14-2014, 14:47 | posts: 303 | Location: liverpool uk

bring it on my gtx 780s 3 way-sli @ 2560 x 1600 going love it ..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
D4rKy21
Master Guru
 
D4rKy21's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 SLI
Processor: i7 4930k @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Big Bang Xpower 2
Memory: Vengeance LP 4x4 1600
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Zx
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1350w
Default 04-14-2014, 14:59 | posts: 659 | Location: Netherlands

By that time nvidia released there duel 790 card or the new maxwell gtx 800 series.

I refuse to play this game without aa, and i only want to use msaa, best aa in all ways

4x is still oke for me hopefully my 690 wil pull that off @ ultra detail @ 1920x1080p @ 120 hz monitor between 70-80 fps i dont complain.

else i just buy a single duel gpu chip that runs this game to maximum like a 790

Last edited by D4rKy21; 04-14-2014 at 15:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 04-14-2014, 15:01 | posts: 7,606 | Location: Sunny Scotland

they have released a dual card, the titanZ.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.