Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#526)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-04-2013, 16:21 | posts: 26,804 | Location: Hampshire, UK

someone post a good mp gameplay video that will make me want this pls. I'm not against CoD games, but they've been too samey recently and I want to see something that will sway me. Is it running on the same engine as the previous games? Any new gameplay elements? I'm only interested in online mp btw.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#527)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 11-04-2013, 16:29 | posts: 3,125 | Location: Germany

The one problem with videos is that most of them (before release at least) are from consoles, "softcore". Can't stand those games either. I literally see that fat guy, with his can of beer, sitting on his couch with a controller in his greasy hands, playing.

This game has some new elements but still uses the same "core" engine. It's a new version, apparantly has high resolution textures (+ some form of tesselation and Physx, for example) and should look quite different to the older games.
They always kept their "look" though, just like you could tell what's a Crysis game, or a Battlefield game, or a Metro game for example.

What you'd get here is interactive maps (whatever that means in detail), more movement options (sliding, peaking behind obstacles instead of the usual leaning, things like that) and, again, larger maps. In combination with their "new" Marksman class the game should be more tactical and slower than some of the previous versions.

Hopefully we'll get some videos by tomorrow. Some of the new game modes sound interesting too and, if the balancing / backbone system works as intended, should make this a great game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#528)
KingDazza
Master Guru
 
KingDazza's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 Sli
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: ASRock z77 Fatal1ty Pro
Memory: 16GB 1600mhz Ripjaws
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI to Tannoy 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX1500i
Default 11-04-2013, 16:34 | posts: 633 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrH View Post
Personally I never play the campaign, so it could be 20 minutes for all I care. Honestly I'd prefer it if they dropped singleplayer altogether and focused all their efforts on multiplayer.
Sure, just as I would be happy if they binned the multiplayer element. But unfortunately for me, yours is the more popular stance, no doubt.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#529)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 11-04-2013, 16:36 | posts: 9,964 | Location: Sweden

The game has been unlocked in Australia.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#530)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 11-04-2013, 16:54 | posts: 3,054 | Location: UK

I still don't think the "new" IW has it in them to make a decent cod most of the team is now gone and working on titanfall (which looks pretty cool as ****)

They should just give the entire franchise to treyarch and give them 2 years to make each game maybe let raven software (man what happened to those guys ;_; solider of fortune 2 anyone?) do a super gory spin off in between.

But anyway they are just my hopes and dreams Maybe ghosts will surprise me and wash away mw3 eyebleedingness out of my mind
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#531)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 11-04-2013, 17:02 | posts: 3,125 | Location: Germany

SoF 2 was great, but did you see SoF 3? Oh boy...

A 2-3, or 4, year release schedule would be absolutely enough. No one has that much time to play all these games that often. Or, if it's a good game, is that fed up with them to search for replacement after a single year.

MW3 was really, really bad. Hopefully they learned their lesson and found their place. If not, well... maybe we *do* get those less frequent updates then
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#532)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: RIP
Default 11-04-2013, 17:05 | posts: 7,068 | Location: Dubai

Does it have BO2's option to raise the FOV to 90?

Edit: Just waded through the mess that is the steam community forum and the answer is no. I guess that means I wait for Treyarch's next then?

Last edited by lucidus; 11-04-2013 at 17:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#533)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 11-04-2013, 17:10 | posts: 3,054 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radical_53 View Post
SoF 2 was great, but did you see SoF 3? Oh boy...

A 2-3, or 4, year release schedule would be absolutely enough. No one has that much time to play all these games that often. Or, if it's a good game, is that fed up with them to search for replacement after a single year.

MW3 was really, really bad. Hopefully they learned their lesson and found their place. If not, well... maybe we *do* get those less frequent updates then
SOF 3 was baaaaaad but was in no way anything to do with raven soft it was made by some nobody's and yeah probably killed off any chance of another game in the series :/

And yeah I'd hate to buy a game and know in 12 months a new one would be out.12 months release cycle is silly IMO it's why the last MOH game did soooo bad, it wasn't a terrible game but people were still hugely into the last bf and cod games that no one NEEDED a new/different first person shooty game. One day EA and activation might learn this but doubtful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#534)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 11-04-2013, 17:12 | posts: 9,964 | Location: Sweden










Some quick images, nothing special.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#535)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 11-04-2013, 17:14 | posts: 3,054 | Location: UK

Any fov options Jonas?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#536)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: RIP
Default 11-04-2013, 17:14 | posts: 7,068 | Location: Dubai

Oh yay we can see the body hair on the arms now!!

50GB body hair textures!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#537)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 11-04-2013, 17:31 | posts: 9,964 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesGaizu View Post
Any fov options Jonas?
Not for the SP campaign at least, which is unfortunate.

Starting the campaign also unlocks Extinction which I'm about to test.

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 11-04-2013 at 17:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#538)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R7950 1100/1300
Processor: i7 860@3,7GHz /w HT on
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4x2GB Corsair 1400Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Nexus RX-8500 850W
Default 11-04-2013, 17:44 | posts: 5,252 | Location: Netherlands

What VPN to use guys?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#539)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 11-04-2013, 17:46 | posts: 3,125 | Location: Germany

Spoiler tags, maybe? Especially if the campaign is so short Thanks.

@desgaizu: Oh ok, didn't know / remember that. I really loved the first two parts of that game.

Two years, to me, is the perfect release cycle for a game. If it's good it'd easily carry you over that period and still makes you want the new title at the end.
The sad part about "multiplayer" (at least when there's something new available) -> too many people may jump ship early.
I'd still be playing BO otherwise, I guess. Hopefully they'll learn this one day. Less, but better games. Polished games. With unique, inspiring DLC. Maybe even "two" season passes, whatever. But not this annual thing, it's just silly. Especially, well, if the game needs half a year to mature and be playable. Or if the last DLC just came out a month ago, for "that older title". Sad.

@eclap: I'll let them surprise me. In theory, if everything works as intended, BF4 may have everything aboard already that Ghosts could come up with. Not as many game modes but maybe the most interesting ones. All the movement, of course the graphics and sound. We'll see.
I always loved the "precision" of CoD. Movement, shooting, all very straight forward and accurate. Point, shoot and hit something. No question marks in between. That's how I've gotten to know this series and what I like about it. Some of the latest iterations failed to achieve that though...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#540)
Party Poison
Master Guru
 
Party Poison's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Gtx 970 G1
Processor: Intel I7-2600k @ 4.8 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p8z68v-lx
Memory: 1600ddr ballistix
Soundcard:
PSU: 750w XFX XXX
Default 11-04-2013, 18:01 | posts: 467 | Location: Birmingham, England.

Hey anyone got a rough performance idea? like how would it run on a gtx 680?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#541)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 11-04-2013, 18:09 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Party Poison View Post
Hey anyone got a rough performance idea? like how would it run on a gtx 680?
like melted butter i would venture to guess
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#542)
Party Poison
Master Guru
 
Party Poison's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Gtx 970 G1
Processor: Intel I7-2600k @ 4.8 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p8z68v-lx
Memory: 1600ddr ballistix
Soundcard:
PSU: 750w XFX XXX
Default 11-04-2013, 18:10 | posts: 467 | Location: Birmingham, England.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt_Ram View Post
like melted butter i would venture to guess
ive got it on the other screen ready to buy just would like to see how it runs, Why cant we have demos anymore!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#543)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: RIP
Default 11-04-2013, 18:41 | posts: 7,068 | Location: Dubai



IW was serious about the 6GB RAM thing I think the game's playerbase will be negatively affected by this hard block.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#544)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-04-2013, 18:50 | posts: 26,804 | Location: Hampshire, UK

wasn't the minimum ram for ghost 6gb? your dxdiag is showing 4gb.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#545)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 11-04-2013, 18:55 | posts: 9,964 | Location: Sweden

The game has some form of lock or whatever that it displays a prompt about how the system needs 6 GB of RAM and if you don't have that you are below specifications.

RAM usage so far (Task manager, unsure about VRAM.) is usually around 1.1 - 1.8 GB.
(Maybe it continues to grow the more you play, without unloading as maps change and such? Which isn't ideal.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#546)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 11-04-2013, 19:03 | posts: 9,964 | Location: Sweden

Performance was pretty low so I started testing the settings, SSAO back to off instead of HBAO+ didn't really do much so I switched off the 2x MSAA.
(Could use FXAA instead, RadeonPro isn't working quite correctly with the game so it's that or nothing.)

That solved it.


Framerate is now way over 60 in most scenes (Nearly 90 in the current one.) and there's no random FPS drops either, I'd say it's a driver issue but I wouldn't know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#547)
Kezen
Maha Guru
 
Kezen's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 Gaming OC
Processor: I7 4770K/Noctua NHU12S
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 11-04-2013, 19:09 | posts: 1,161 | Location: France

Where is Physx ?

Besides, the "extra" image quality setting is to be put on "native" I think. MW3 taught me well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#548)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: RIP
Default 11-04-2013, 19:11 | posts: 7,068 | Location: Dubai

Does it still have those two suns like in that early screenshot?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#549)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 11-04-2013, 19:12 | posts: 9,964 | Location: Sweden

Image quality presets are very low, low, normal, high, extra.
(There's no native setting in this or Black Ops 2 from what I remember.)

EDIT: Unsure about PhysX, there's probably no hardware accelerated effects or it's coded so it doesn't appear unless you use Nvidia GPU's.
(Much like TXAA I assume.)

Found SMAA (It's 1x) among the AA options, FXAA, MSAA 2x, MSAA 4x and SMAA, odd that it was listed last but I'm using that now.
(And TXAA is probably there when you have a CUDA capable GPU.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#550)
Ohnooze
Master Guru
 
Ohnooze's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire r9 290 tri-x
Processor: Intel i5-3570K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LE LGA 1155
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 11-04-2013, 19:17 | posts: 318

I'm sure the multiplayer is fun and all but I think I'll wait until I'm burnt out with BF4.

It just looks like more of the same so I see no reason to rush out and get it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.