Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
NVIDIA G-Sync explained (article)
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default NVIDIA G-Sync explained (article) - 10-20-2013, 11:16 | posts: 20,513 | Location: Guru3D testlab

On Friday NVIDIA announced G-Sync, and considering the little details available out there I wanted to write a quick follow-up on this new technology, as it really is a big announcement - a really big ...

NVIDIA G-Sync explained (article)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 10-20-2013, 11:36 | posts: 3,893 | Location: Finland

Good article I hope this some year becomes available for everything else it won't get mainstream attention just like 3d vision things.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti + GTX750Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 10-20-2013, 11:40 | posts: 1,933

Nice article Hilbert
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
hasherr
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 570
Processor: i7 950
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 3x 2GiB
Soundcard: Logitech Z Cinema 2.1
PSU: CFT-750-14CS
Default 10-20-2013, 17:07 | posts: 5

Nice article, but i think this is not really true:
Quote:
Not a lot really but sure, Low FPS could be a drag as say 20 FPS and thus Hz on a LCD panel will look like crap, you'd literally see the screen refresh. Meaning low FPS moments could potentially be horrible with refreshes that you could see live on your screen. So in an optimal situation you will need a graphics card that can stay above 30 FPS as minimum.
20fps doesn't mean that your panel will flicker at 20Hz. LCDs do not flicker . Their backlit does, but not like CRTs which have physical refresh rate. And backlit is not related with screen updates at all.
Even if your video card gives 3 frames per sec, it will be slideshow, but perfect one. When new frame arrives, it will be drawn in 5ms (or 2ms, or 1ms) - according to monitor specs.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Xendance
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce 570
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Soundcard: X-FI Platinum+7.1 system
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower
Default 10-20-2013, 17:10 | posts: 5,442 | Location: Funland aka Happycamp aka Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasherr View Post
Nice article, but i think this is not really true:


20fps doesn't mean that your panel will flicker at 20Hz. LCDs do not flicker . Their backlit does, but not like CRTs which have physical refresh rate. And backlit is not related with screen updates at all.
Even if your video card gives 3 frames per sec, it will be slideshow, but perfect one. When new frame arrives, it will be drawn in 5ms (or 2ms, or 1ms) - according to monitor specs.
Agreed, also the whole sentence doesn't make that much sense. Is it missing few commas or what?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
AC_Avatar100400
Master Guru
 
AC_Avatar100400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 ACX 1440p
Processor: I7 2700k 4.5 Ghz 1.32v
Mainboard: MSI Z77 MPower
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard: I Burnt it in a Fire Lol
PSU: Thermaltake SP-550P
Default 10-20-2013, 18:17 | posts: 284 | Location: Australia

This will be great when its on IPS panels otherwise it can go f*ck off like the rest of The proprietary Nvidia crap no offence.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 780 DC2
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: SF Golden Green Pro 600W
Default 10-20-2013, 18:21 | posts: 10,733 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasherr View Post
Nice article, but i think this is not really true:


20fps doesn't mean that your panel will flicker at 20Hz. LCDs do not flicker . Their backlit does, but not like CRTs which have physical refresh rate. And backlit is not related with screen updates at all.
Even if your video card gives 3 frames per sec, it will be slideshow, but perfect one. When new frame arrives, it will be drawn in 5ms (or 2ms, or 1ms) - according to monitor specs.
They also stated that the minimum variable refresh rate is 30. Anything below they will duplicate frames. And yep, obviously it will not flicker.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI ftw bios @1215
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.9
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 10-20-2013, 18:22 | posts: 6,417 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC_Avatar100400 View Post
This will be great when its on IPS panels otherwise it can go f*ck off like the rest of The proprietary Nvidia crap no offence.
You'll have your Mantle teet to suck on soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290x/670 GTX
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 10-20-2013, 18:26 | posts: 2,869 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
They also stated that the minimum variable refresh rate is 30. Anything below they will duplicate frames. And yep, obviously it will not flicker.
Where was this shown?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 10-20-2013, 18:28 | posts: 3,714

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC_Avatar100400 View Post
This will be great when its on IPS panels otherwise it can go f*ck off like the rest of The proprietary Nvidia crap no offence.
Damn...you just broke my bullsh!t-o-meter.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Reddoguk
Master Guru
 
Reddoguk's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC
Processor: AMD PII 965BE @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard HD Realtek ALC889
PSU: Corsair TX 650W v2
Default 10-20-2013, 18:49 | posts: 475 | Location: Wales

They are saying this can be retro fitted to certain monitors.
They give a diagram and everything to hard wire it to monitors.

mmmmm i could prolly do it no bother, but do i wish to force open my monitor to solder this module to it.

My last monitors osd button broke/stuck and the monitor was a total nightmare to get into. Front bezzles are usually locked in with really weak small pieces of plastic.
I broke a few of them on the last monitor.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 780 DC2
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: SF Golden Green Pro 600W
Default 10-20-2013, 19:41 | posts: 10,733 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by rflair View Post
Where was this shown?
Anandtech.
Quote:
There's a lower bound of 30Hz as well, since anything below that and you'll begin to run into issues with flickering. If the frame rate drops below 30 fps, the display will present duplicates of each frame.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Lowki
Master Guru
 
Lowki's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970/7950 crossfirex
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: msi z77a-ga45
Memory: corsair vengence 8gb
Soundcard: sound blaster z
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 10-20-2013, 21:45 | posts: 505 | Location: miami

I said this in one other thread but monitors should already just work this way. We shouldnt need to buy extra stuff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Xendance
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce 570
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Soundcard: X-FI Platinum+7.1 system
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower
Default 10-20-2013, 22:03 | posts: 5,442 | Location: Funland aka Happycamp aka Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lowki View Post
I said this in one other thread but monitors should already just work this way. We shouldnt need to buy extra stuff.
Well, they don't.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 10-21-2013, 00:16 | posts: 1,368 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

This looks so awesome. It should improve gaming experience by a lot for everyone whos rig can't sustain filling v-synced monitor at 60fps with no drops. Even then the input lag could be nasty. It should also make gaming @ 4k much more comfortable.

Now, when will we be able to get 4k monitor with fallback to FullHD @ 120Hz, and G-Sync, at <$1.5k?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 10-21-2013, 00:48 | posts: 318 | Location: Mississippi

It does look awesome, but i just got a VG248QE a while back. Now i need to turn around and sell if i want yet another proprietary Nvidia feature or the feature in general? I take it you wont be able to add this piece of hardware to the panel you'll have to buy one. Which IIRC i saw them showcasing it with the VG248QE.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
AC_Avatar100400
Master Guru
 
AC_Avatar100400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 ACX 1440p
Processor: I7 2700k 4.5 Ghz 1.32v
Mainboard: MSI Z77 MPower
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard: I Burnt it in a Fire Lol
PSU: Thermaltake SP-550P
Default 10-21-2013, 04:02 | posts: 284 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
You'll have your Mantle teet to suck on soon.
What makes you think i care about Mantle i just stated a fact and
what needs to be there so i can buy it and make use of a great thing
And i hope this is a little more open then what i'm used to seeing Nvidia do
in the past with there technology

At the end of the day this has nothing to with Mantle.sometimes Fantards like really do make me facepalm.

Last edited by AC_Avatar100400; 10-21-2013 at 13:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Andrew LB
Master Guru
 
Andrew LB's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 780 ti @ 1,143mhz
Processor: i5-4670K @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z87 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 10-21-2013, 08:50 | posts: 379 | Location: Peoples Republic of Kalifornia

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC_Avatar100400 View Post
This will be great when its on IPS panels otherwise it can go f*ck off like the rest of The proprietary Nvidia crap no offence.
Spoken like a typical AMD owner. Much like with physX, AMD owners wanted it, then found out it's proprietary, and immediately they all seemed to have received talking points saying it does nothing, is a gimmick, and nV is greedy and should give it for free. lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 10-21-2013, 09:06 | posts: 2,988 | Location: Sheffield UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew LB View Post
Spoken like a typical AMD owner. Much like with physX, AMD owners wanted it, then found out it's proprietary, and immediately they all seemed to have received talking points saying it does nothing, is a gimmick, and nV is greedy and should give it for free. lol.
I recall Nvidia been in the news, they did offer physx to ATI/AMD in licensing deal, but they point blank refused. Who knows if they had agreed it probably would been available in ps4/xbone an been implemented in lot's of games now. Them refusing all those years ago basically killed it from been widely adopted.

What goes around comes around, really think Nvidia will license Mantle, nope can see similar fate for it

See outcome for G sync been totally different, simply because it's something everyone want's....will be must have feature.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 10-21-2013, 09:13 | posts: 9,448 | Location: Sweden

As far as I remember that talk about AMD being "offered" PhysX has been brought up a few times, basically there were some terms that AMD didn't like so they declined, or so it's rumored at least, I don't think we'll ever get a official explanation.

Similarly I can fully see AMD wanting some terms for letting Nvidia use Mantle, they aren't going to just give it away to the competition.

EDIT: That said it would of course be awesome for us end-users if AMD and Nvidia could somehow get along and implement CUDA, PhysX, Mantle, GSync and whatever else (3D viewing?) together but I doubt that will happen anytime soon.
(I guess it's similar between AMD CPU and Intel and their x86 / x64 stuff and extensions but I don't have much insight into these things so what would I know.)

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 10-21-2013 at 09:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 10-21-2013, 10:09 | posts: 3,637 | Location: Nederland

I hope they will be able to release something for all monitor. Perhaps an active module that goes between the monitor and the cable.

Having to buy a new monitor ain't ideal.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 10-21-2013, 10:18 | posts: 3,714

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasBeckman View Post
As far as I remember that talk about AMD being "offered" PhysX has been brought up a few times, basically there were some terms that AMD didn't like so they declined, or so it's rumored at least, I don't think we'll ever get a official explanation.
IIRC Nvidia offered the license for free or close to nothing, but updates would be handled by Nvidia alone.
Which means, Nvidia had to have access to some of AMD's proprietary libraries in their drivers in order to provide proper PhysX support...and every time Catalyst is being updated, AMD had to give Nvidia the details of what had changed.

In short, had AMD accepted Nvidia's deal, they'd agree to pimp out (parts of) Catalyst to Nvidia; that probably what made AMD walked out of it.
CMIIW though.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
AC_Avatar100400
Master Guru
 
AC_Avatar100400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 ACX 1440p
Processor: I7 2700k 4.5 Ghz 1.32v
Mainboard: MSI Z77 MPower
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard: I Burnt it in a Fire Lol
PSU: Thermaltake SP-550P
Default 10-21-2013, 13:37 | posts: 284 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew LB View Post
Spoken like a typical AMD owner. Much like with physX, AMD owners wanted it, then found out it's proprietary, and immediately they all seemed to have received talking points saying it does nothing, is a gimmick, and nV is greedy and should give it for free. lol.
No spoken like someone who Loves open and non propitiatory crap and if you check my sig i have a GTX 570 how does having a AMD card have anything to with what i'm saying.

I said i hope this isn't like there other Crap and will be on IPS panels.
And i hope its more used and really well adopted by everyone
and is open compared to there other stuff.


PhysX is propitiatory and that's why its hardly used besides when Nvidia chucks money at these devs.Games List here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of..._PhysX_support

You alone saying that makes you smell likes Nvidia's B*tch ass lapdog

Last edited by AC_Avatar100400; 10-21-2013 at 13:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
morbias
Don Tommasino
 
morbias's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480
Processor: i7 920 D0 @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6GB HyperX @1600 6-7-6-18
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS + CL 6700's
PSU: ePower Tiger 1200W
Default 10-21-2013, 14:44 | posts: 12,604 | Location: Southampton, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC_Avatar100400 View Post
At the end of the day this has nothing to with Mantle.sometimes Fantards like really do make me facepalm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC_Avatar100400 View Post
You alone saying that makes you smell likes Nvidia's B*tch ass lapdog
Can we keep the discussion civil please.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Folding@Home - join team Guru3D!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 10-22-2013, 00:23 | posts: 4,959 | Location: Washington State, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC_Avatar100400 View Post
No spoken like someone who Loves open and non propitiatory crap and if you check my sig i have a GTX 570 how does having a AMD card have anything to with what i'm saying.

I said i hope this isn't like there other Crap and will be on IPS panels.
And i hope its more used and really well adopted by everyone
and is open compared to there other stuff.


PhysX is propitiatory and that's why its hardly used besides when Nvidia chucks money at these devs.Games List here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of..._PhysX_support

You alone saying that makes you smell likes Nvidia's B*tch ass lapdog

...you seem to really not understand why things are proprietary...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.