Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Catalyst Application Profiles 13.4 CAP1 (April 24)
Old
  (#1)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Talking AMD Catalyst Application Profiles 13.4 CAP1 (April 24) - 04-24-2013, 19:17 | posts: 1,031 | Location: iTALY

Enjoy!

> Download <

New profiles added to this release:
  • The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct: Fixes image quality issues when enabling Anti-Aliasing through the AMD Catalyst Control Center
  • Crysis 3: Improves CrossFire performance in 3 and 4 GPU configurations
  • Deus Ex: Human Revolution: Improves CrossFire performance
  • Unigine Heaven: Improves CrossFire performance in 3 and 4 GPU configurations
  • Hitman Absolution: Resolves application issues on the AMD Radeon HD 7790 when running at 1680x100 with 8xAA enabled
AMD Enduro Technology profile updates:
  • Alien Colonial Marines acm.exe
  • BioShock Infinite BioShockInfinite.exe
  • Crysis 3 Crysis3.exe
  • GodMode GodMode.exe
  • Grid 2 grid2.exe
  • Hawken HawkenLauncher.exe
  • Neverwinter gameclient.exe
  • SimCity SimCity.exe
  • Sniper Elite Nazi Zombie Army NZA.exe
  • The Walking Dead Survival Instinct WalkingDead.exe
  • Tomb Raider TombRaider.exe
  • Kapersky Anti-virus - avt.exe

Last edited by asder00; 04-24-2013 at 22:45.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Ltmatt
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS Ice-Q 7950 Crossfire
Processor: 2700k@4.9ghz
Mainboard: P8P667 Deluxe
Memory: 16gb Sammy Green 2133mhz
Soundcard: G35
PSU: 750 xfx
Default 04-24-2013, 19:34 | posts: 118 | Location: Norwich

I thought caps were embedded in the driver??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 - XL2720T
Processor: i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Gene
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-24-2013, 19:36 | posts: 5,287 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ltmatt View Post
I thought caps were embedded in the driver??
Sometimes they include them sometimes they dont.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Ltmatt
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS Ice-Q 7950 Crossfire
Processor: 2700k@4.9ghz
Mainboard: P8P667 Deluxe
Memory: 16gb Sammy Green 2133mhz
Soundcard: G35
PSU: 750 xfx
Default 04-24-2013, 19:40 | posts: 118 | Location: Norwich

Quote:
Originally Posted by UZ7 View Post
Sometimes they include them sometimes they dont.
They said from 13.1 onwards they will be included in the driver.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-24-2013, 20:20 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

They are in all driver sets.

separate caps are just additional ones.

WHQL takes a couple weeks, so any new ones will need a separate cap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ltmatt
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS Ice-Q 7950 Crossfire
Processor: 2700k@4.9ghz
Mainboard: P8P667 Deluxe
Memory: 16gb Sammy Green 2133mhz
Soundcard: G35
PSU: 750 xfx
Default 04-24-2013, 20:29 | posts: 118 | Location: Norwich

So if we use 13.5 beta 2 we don't need the caps file?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-24-2013, 20:31 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

you never NEED caps. They are just additional profiles.

i would have to see whats in the driver vs whats in the 13.4caps to answer your question.

But without looking, id say just install it. cant really hurt.

Usually at some point AMD says which cap set goes with the beta, if nessisary.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Rosewill RG630-S12 630W
Default 04-24-2013, 21:57 | posts: 1,438 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ltmatt View Post
They said from 13.1 onwards they will be included in the driver.
They said this with the beta drivers. Nothing about WHQL though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-24-2013, 21:59 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

to be fair, they said AFTER 13.1 and did not specify. Not 13.1 onward.

13.1 acutally has a cap.

I just assumed because of how long it takes for certification that all whqls would have one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Default 04-24-2013, 22:41 | posts: 1,031 | Location: iTALY

So i just checked both caps (13.5 b2 and 13.4 cap1) 13.4 cap1 is more updated and has more stuff, so install it.

Build numbers, just for the fun of it:
13.5 b2: 12.102.3_20130416_1028_
13.4 cap1: 13.12_20130416_1957_
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Default 04-24-2013, 22:45 | posts: 1,031 | Location: iTALY

New profiles added to this release:
  • The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct: Fixes image quality issues when enabling Anti-Aliasing through the AMD Catalyst Control Center
  • Crysis 3: Improves CrossFire performance in 3 and 4 GPU configurations
  • Deus Ex: Human Revolution: Improves CrossFire performance
  • Unigine Heaven: Improves CrossFire performance in 3 and 4 GPU configurations
  • Hitman Absolution: Resolves application issues on the AMD Radeon HD 7790 when running at 1680x100 with 8xAA enabled
AMD Enduro Technology profile updates:
  • Alien Colonial Marines acm.exe
  • BioShock Infinite BioShockInfinite.exe
  • Crysis 3 Crysis3.exe
  • GodMode GodMode.exe
  • Grid 2 grid2.exe
  • Hawken HawkenLauncher.exe
  • Neverwinter gameclient.exe
  • SimCity SimCity.exe
  • Sniper Elite Nazi Zombie Army NZA.exe
  • The Walking Dead Survival Instinct WalkingDead.exe
  • Tomb Raider TombRaider.exe
  • Kapersky Anti-virus - avt.exe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
yavdanchev
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 5850 Xtreme
Processor: C2D E8400
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Default 04-24-2013, 22:57 | posts: 1

Kapersky Anti-virus? Is this some new game I haven't heard of?

The correct process name is avp.exe in that case.

Edit: Just remembered an old joke from about a decade ago: Kaspersky AV is great antivirus - run it and not one virus will have enough ram to start ever

Last edited by yavdanchev; 04-25-2013 at 07:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Scarecrow7
Master Guru
 
Scarecrow7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 280X / 3GB
Processor: Phenom II x4 970 BE
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750
Default 04-25-2013, 01:24 | posts: 150 | Location: Brasil

Quote:
Originally Posted by yavdanchev View Post
Kapersky Anti-virus? Is this some new game I haven't heard of?
Yep, is something like Space Invaders.

Thanks for news asder.
I think I will stick with 13.4 + CAP1 for a while, until 13.5BETA3 at least, lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Shaneus
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5970/5850 TFX 899/1150
Processor: Core i5-2500K @ 4.9GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: 16GB Gskill RipjawsX
Soundcard: Yamaha MW10/Asus Xonar U1
PSU: TT Toughpower 750W
Default 04-25-2013, 02:56 | posts: 263 | Location: Geelong, Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by asder00 View Post
  • Kapersky Anti-virus - avt.exe
I've never laughed harder at anything else posted on this forum. Not because it doesn't make any sense (obviously they've created a profile so it doesn't kick into 3D mode for it or something) but because it's just casually dropped in there as if it were a game.

PS. Great work, Patrick

Edit: Someone might be able to answer this for me... the fixes on this page, are they the history of fixes over past CAPs, or just profiles that are new in that release? I'm not sure if Saint's Row 3 (for example) just had an updated profile or if that's old news.

Last edited by Shaneus; 04-25-2013 at 03:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-25-2013, 03:27 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

i hate to be captain obvious, but it could be an issue of compatibility that profile tweaks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Danny Nissan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4890 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone Strider 600W
Default 04-25-2013, 16:50 | posts: 88

Should the .blb file get updated in system32/syswow folders? I installed these and they didnt change anything with those files..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Default 04-25-2013, 16:57 | posts: 1,031 | Location: iTALY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Nissan View Post
Should the .blb file get updated in system32/syswow folders? I installed these and they didnt change anything with those files..
No, it gets installed in program files and loaded from there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Danny Nissan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4890 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone Strider 600W
Default 04-25-2013, 17:04 | posts: 88

Quote:
Originally Posted by asder00 View Post
No, it gets installed in program files and loaded from there.
Silly me, thanks for the quick answer asder!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
rtwertwerwretyw
Newbie
 
Videocard: 123
Processor: 4332
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 123
Default 04-26-2013, 16:40 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by asder00 View Post
So i just checked both caps (13.5 b2 and 13.4 cap1) 13.4 cap1 is more updated and has more stuff, so install it.

Build numbers, just for the fun of it:
13.5 b2: 12.102.3_20130416_1028_
13.4 cap1: 13.12_20130416_1957_
due to Andrew the cap is already in 13.5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-26-2013, 17:15 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

clarification by amd: the crossfile profiles are up to date in 13.5. AA profiles are not.

bottom line: install cap on 13.5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
juzz
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD5850
Processor: E8400 @ 4GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 05-06-2013, 13:38 | posts: 27

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaneus View Post
I've never laughed harder at anything else posted on this forum. Not because it doesn't make any sense (obviously they've created a profile so it doesn't kick into 3D mode for it or something) but because it's just casually dropped in there as if it were a game.

PS. Great work, Patrick

Edit: Someone might be able to answer this for me... the fixes on this page, are they the history of fixes over past CAPs, or just profiles that are new in that release? I'm not sure if Saint's Row 3 (for example) just had an updated profile or if that's old news.
Considering there was windows update just moment ago that made kasperh!t crash PCs it wouldn't surprise if the AV were incompatible with some drivers also

Not turning this to AV hate war tho. It's a decent AV with some incompatibility issues lately.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
@asder00

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.