Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Logitech Launches new PC Gaming products
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Logitech Launches new PC Gaming products - 03-20-2013, 16:08 | posts: 21,541 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Today Logitech announced the new Logitech G line, reflecting its new approach to PC gaming. The new lineup includes six redesigned mice and keyboard favorites and two new headsets. "With Logitec...

Logitech Launches new PC Gaming products
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-20-2013, 17:12 | posts: 16,738 | Location: US East Coast

So, did Logitech put any effort into improving the quality of their products, or was all the time/money/effort put into new marketing schemes?


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Solid_State
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 5870 VF3000A / GT430
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.135 1.28V
Mainboard: GAX58-USB3
Memory: 6GB Corsair XMS3 Platinum
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 03-20-2013, 17:19 | posts: 105 | Location: Canada "muddy waters"

I want that G700s. Looks like I can use my index finger for the extra buttons, this is really a must for me.

Currently own a "Tt eSPORTS BLACK ELEMENT" and to press the extra buttons I have to use my thumb and ring finger, not ideal for me I have found out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-20-2013, 17:42 | posts: 16,738 | Location: US East Coast

I just replaced a Logitech G500 that was less than a year old because it started suffering from the "double-click" issue...and it's laser sensor was starting to fail. That was Logitech mouse #4 in the last 6 years....all with either faulty sensors or malfunctioning left buttons.


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
remixedcat
Newbie
 
remixedcat's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce 650TiSSC 1GB
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 3.8Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro3
Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 03-20-2013, 18:31 | posts: 18

I love my G700 and I have also the following Logitech mice:

2X LX6 Optical Mice (2 Button)
2x Trackman Marble (4 Button+ Ball)
1x Logitech Marble Mouse (2 button+ball)

and all but one works (1 of the LX6 due to the cable being yanked from a very hectic move) still works if you push the cable in a bit)

All of those others listed above have been ABUSED thru 10 moves and two of those moves I was in a HUGE hurry (packing en ENTIRE 2BR 2BA apt in 4 hours) and all of those work just like the day we got those but the one LX6. I got mad and threw one of the LX6 mice across the room when Fallout 3 kept crashing and it still works great!!!!

I also got some X-550 speakers that have been thru 5 moves abused a lot as well... I dropped one of them on a concrete parking lot and half stepped on it and it still works.

I also just got a G35 headset and it's awesome.

I also just got some Logitech UE 350vi's but one of the driver units got 40% quieter then the other one, however I contacted them and got a new set sent kinda quick and the whole process of getting the replacement was extremely easy! didn't even have to send the defective one back!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 03-20-2013, 18:32 | posts: 3,839 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
I just replaced a Logitech G500 that was less than a year old because it started suffering from the "double-click" issue...and it's laser sensor was starting to fail. That was Logitech mouse #4 in the last 6 years....all with either faulty sensors or malfunctioning left buttons.
My G500 is 3,5 years old and still seems brand new, like it was unboxed yesterday.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX980 G1 4GB
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: STX II/Sennheiser HD600
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 03-20-2013, 18:47 | posts: 1,361 | Location: Australia, QLD

no mechanical kb..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
mackintosh
Member Guru
 
mackintosh's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 3-way SLI
Processor: i7 950 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified E760
Memory: Dominator 2133 12GB
Soundcard: AVR-1911 & HD 650s
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
Default 03-20-2013, 18:55 | posts: 130 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

I dumped my Logitech gear for a Das and a Sensei and couldn't have been happier. Can't help but feel somewhat disappointed by a lack of a mechanical keyboard in the lineup though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
remixedcat
Newbie
 
remixedcat's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce 650TiSSC 1GB
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 3.8Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro3
Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 03-20-2013, 18:59 | posts: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by drac View Post
no mechanical kb..
maybe they're taking extra time to make it extra EPIC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
proFits
Ancient Guru
 
proFits's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7 950
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D PREMIUM
Memory: Corsair 2x8GB 1600MHZ
Soundcard: Turtle Beach Headphones
PSU: Thermaltake 850W modular
Default 03-20-2013, 19:18 | posts: 5,863 | Location: Montreal

Quote:
Originally Posted by remixedcat View Post
maybe they're taking extra time to make it extra EPIC.
They are already way behind on the e-sport boat.

This stuff comes much too late, they aren't nearly as cool as TT esports or Razer and don't have any visibility right now.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Mato87
Banned
 
Videocard: GB GTX 970 G1 Gaming
Processor: core i5-3570K ~ 4.6 ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: Kingston 16GB DDR3 2133
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Champion
PSU: SS 860 W XP F3 platinum
Default 03-20-2013, 20:21 | posts: 282 | Location: on planet earth

I always loved their stuff, been using the logitech mice for over***65279; 12 years, I started with mx 500, then mx518 and now iam using both g400 and g500 on my two PCs and vx nano on notebook. I also have a z5500 speaker system.

I simply love their products except their keyboards which I think the other companies, like gigabyte or saitek have upper hand in this territorry.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Sarex
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX560Ti 1GB
Processor: Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: 2.1 Altec Lansing VS4121
PSU: SEASONIC SS-660KM X-660
Default 03-20-2013, 21:40 | posts: 39

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
I just replaced a Logitech G500 that was less than a year old because it started suffering from the "double-click" issue...and it's laser sensor was starting to fail. That was Logitech mouse #4 in the last 6 years....all with either faulty sensors or malfunctioning left buttons.
The double click issue is an easy fix.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-53dC4E81Q

Though I hold the button with a very small screwdriver and spray the wd directly in it until I fill the mechanism and then click like crazy (repeat the process a couple of times).

Fixed 2 logitech m510 like this and they are still going strong. One is now 4 years old.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-20-2013, 21:54 | posts: 26,804 | Location: Hampshire, UK

he's on about Logitech g500 double clicking issue, not Naga. I have to say, I once had a Logitech mouse that double clicked, it was the g400 a few years ago, or something like that. The g9 has been nothing but solid though, for over god knows how many years, 3.5 years or so. Still, nice to see logitech releasing new gear, will check out some of their keyboards maybe, my g15 feels a bit soggy in places after thousands of hours of mmo abuse.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-21-2013, 01:37 | posts: 16,738 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by remixedcat View Post
I love my G700 and I have also the following Logitech mice:

2X LX6 Optical Mice (2 Button)
2x Trackman Marble (4 Button+ Ball)
1x Logitech Marble Mouse (2 button+ball)

and all but one works (1 of the LX6 due to the cable being yanked from a very hectic move) still works if you push the cable in a bit)

All of those others listed above have been ABUSED thru 10 moves and two of those moves I was in a HUGE hurry (packing en ENTIRE 2BR 2BA apt in 4 hours) and all of those work just like the day we got those but the one LX6. I got mad and threw one of the LX6 mice across the room when Fallout 3 kept crashing and it still works great!!!!

I also got some X-550 speakers that have been thru 5 moves abused a lot as well... I dropped one of them on a concrete parking lot and half stepped on it and it still works.

I also just got a G35 headset and it's awesome.

I also just got some Logitech UE 350vi's but one of the driver units got 40% quieter then the other one, however I contacted them and got a new set sent kinda quick and the whole process of getting the replacement was extremely easy! didn't even have to send the defective one back!
Only 2 of the Logitech mice I've purchased in the last 20 years, still worked when I stopped using them. The first was an old serial mouse, which I'd probably still be using if it could be connected to a computer without requiring additional hardware. The second, is a PS/2 mouse that my aunt/uncle are still using 15 years after I bought it....the track ball in it has been replaced, but the mouse is still 100% functional. The serial mouse was actively used for 10 years with no issues. Logitech doesn't make anything with high enough quality to last that long anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
he's on about Logitech g500 double clicking issue, not Naga. I have to say, I once had a Logitech mouse that double clicked, it was the g400 a few years ago, or something like that. The g9 has been nothing but solid though, for over god knows how many years, 3.5 years or so. Still, nice to see logitech releasing new gear, will check out some of their keyboards maybe, my g15 feels a bit soggy in places after thousands of hours of mmo abuse.
It's a very well known and long running issue. Logitech has known about the issues since the G500 was released and has done nothing to correct it. I could have probably dealt with it until the switch completely failed, if the tracking laser hadn't started having problems. Now I'm using a Roccat Kova+



Last edited by sykozis; 03-21-2013 at 01:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX660ti OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.3 GHz
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill DDR3 1600 lv
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi Prelude
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,2 KW
Default 03-21-2013, 08:18 | posts: 361

I'm disappointed.....again. I have the original G700, and it sure is the first Logitech mouse I own that hasn't yet lost a button due to massive use. That one is fine. The keyboards however.... I have the second version of the G15, and it's not a bad product. But the new keyboards are yet again rubberdome tech. Logitech *did* introduce the G710+ mechanical keyboard, and I really really like the MX brown with dampening ring solution, but that one lacks the integrated display, which I wouldn't want to miss ever again. Wake me when they release a mechanical keyboard *with* display. Then that G15 will go. Not a moment sooner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
FULMTL
Ancient Guru
 
FULMTL's Avatar
 
Videocard: AOC 27"
Processor: Intel N2830 laptop :(
Mainboard: New build later
Memory: DEAD
Soundcard: ShureSRH940+ JDS Labs C5D
PSU: DEAD
Default 03-21-2013, 08:24 | posts: 6,735 | Location: Portland, Oregon

Logitech needs to integrate their Ultimate Ears brand into their headsets. http://ue.logitech.com/en-us/headphones
All they have to do is slap a proper mic on the UE6000 or UE4000.

Last edited by FULMTL; 03-21-2013 at 08:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
remixedcat
Newbie
 
remixedcat's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce 650TiSSC 1GB
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 3.8Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro3
Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 03-21-2013, 10:11 | posts: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by proFits View Post
They are already way behind on the e-sport boat.

This stuff comes much too late, they aren't nearly as cool as TT esports or Razer and don't have any visibility right now.
Some people refer to Thermaltake as Thermalbreak.... although I've never had anything of thiers so I haven't a personal experience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Only 2 of the Logitech mice I've purchased in the last 20 years, still worked when I stopped using them. The first was an old serial mouse, which I'd probably still be using if it could be connected to a computer without requiring additional hardware. The second, is a PS/2 mouse that my aunt/uncle are still using 15 years after I bought it....the track ball in it has been replaced, but the mouse is still 100% functional. The serial mouse was actively used for 10 years with no issues. Logitech doesn't make anything with high enough quality to last that long anymore.



It's a very well known and long running issue. Logitech has known about the issues since the G500 was released and has done nothing to correct it. I could have probably dealt with it until the switch completely failed, if the tracking laser hadn't started having problems. Now I'm using a Roccat Kova+
Did you contact support about any of the issues? Lots of the time I hear people have a crappy time with something and don't even bother to call support and just buy a new one.

How many Logis have you had??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
proFits
Ancient Guru
 
proFits's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7 950
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D PREMIUM
Memory: Corsair 2x8GB 1600MHZ
Soundcard: Turtle Beach Headphones
PSU: Thermaltake 850W modular
Default 03-21-2013, 13:30 | posts: 5,863 | Location: Montreal

Quote:
Originally Posted by remixedcat View Post
Some people refer to Thermaltake as Thermalbreak.... although I've never had anything of thiers so I haven't a personal experience.
They don't have widespread availability here in Canada so I wouldn't know about their gaming stuff breaking. Never had an issue with their PSU though.

My point is, it's about time they updated their gaming catalogue, so good on them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Loobyluggs
Maha Guru
 
Loobyluggs's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW
Processor: Intel 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8z77-v pro
Memory: DDR3 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative Labs Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair
Default 03-21-2013, 14:08 | posts: 1,304 | Location: UK

The guy in that video has a speech deficit.

Just being picky, probably; but having the entire internet enabled world potentially watching your video should really make you put someone in front of the camera who can talk, or at the very least understand cadence.

They picked a monotonic mumbler...makes me wonder about the parts they pick for their products now...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
remixedcat
Newbie
 
remixedcat's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce 650TiSSC 1GB
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 3.8Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro3
Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 03-21-2013, 14:10 | posts: 18

I want a mech. KB from Logitech but one that's a lil more low profile and no orange. I have all black devices with blue or green LEDs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
morbias
Don Tommasino
 
morbias's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480
Processor: i7 920 D0 @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6GB HyperX @1600 6-7-6-18
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS + CL 6700's
PSU: ePower Tiger 1200W
Default 03-21-2013, 15:47 | posts: 12,691 | Location: Southampton, UK

Really don't like the look of the new stuff from Logitech, the older models looked sleek but these just don't.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Folding@Home - join team Guru3D!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 03-21-2013, 16:35 | posts: 4,146 | Location: Finland

Hmph nothing new i would want currently using gigabyte osmium and kryptonite cause i got a packet deal for both and a mat for mouse, these are really good products. my old imperator 2012 sucks compared to this gb mouse

But i still have my old trusty performance mx mouse for movie watching that it does nicely and g19 keyboard for my other computer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 03-21-2013, 16:44 | posts: 3,839 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by LesserHellspawn View Post
I'm disappointed.....again. I have the original G700, and it sure is the first Logitech mouse I own that hasn't yet lost a button due to massive use. That one is fine. The keyboards however.... I have the second version of the G15, and it's not a bad product. But the new keyboards are yet again rubberdome tech. Logitech *did* introduce the G710+ mechanical keyboard, and I really really like the MX brown with dampening ring solution, but that one lacks the integrated display, which I wouldn't want to miss ever again. Wake me when they release a mechanical keyboard *with* display. Then that G15 will go. Not a moment sooner.
Came from a G19 to a G710+, can't say i miss the LCD at all.

I did replace all o-rings with Red ones tho. And so far i'm rly liking my first Mechanical Keyboard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-21-2013, 17:12 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

I wont be buying anything more from them.
My G19 keyboards display rarely works now, its a very common fault.
I can get it working by taking it apart, unplugging the internal connectors a few times, but after a short while (mins to hrs) it stops again.
You cant change the keyboard backlight colour unless the display is functioning, because the display not working disables the software!

My G500 mouse came without the weights tray so I used Blu Tak to hold them in place.

It is rarely detected by the driver and cant be configured unless it is detected.

It requires a very flat surface or it tracks awefully, giving very jerky/slow movement.

Just running the G500 mouse software causes the G19 keyboard software to crash, every single time, so they cant both be used to their potential in the same system.

I use a Steelseries Sensei mouse which tracks on just about any surface and doesnt screw my keyboards software up. Although the keyboards software is useless now because the display doesnt work.
Absolutely crap products that are supposed to be their flagships and arent cheap, great advert guys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
biggerx
Ancient Guru
 
biggerx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 FTW 4GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.6GHz/1.185v
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6/TB
Memory: 16GB Vengeance @ 1866MHz
Soundcard: Digidesign M-Box Pro/BX5s
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750w
Default 03-21-2013, 17:35 | posts: 3,520 | Location: Los Angeles

Damn I just bought a new G400. Going to have to get one of their new mice.

*my original G11 keyboard & MX518 work just fine still. 6 years later.

Last edited by biggerx; 03-21-2013 at 17:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.