Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Android 5.0 coming to Galaxy S4, reports suggest
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Android 5.0 coming to Galaxy S4, reports suggest - 03-20-2013, 08:32 | posts: 21,694 | Location: Guru3D testlab

The Samsung Galaxy S4 and Galaxy Note 2 are on a short list of devices rumored to see an Android 5.0 Key Lime Pie update, according to SamMobile. In 2011, 2012 and this year Samsung brought plenty of ...

Android 5.0 coming to Galaxy S4, reports suggest
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 03-20-2013, 12:14 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

My 16 months old GNote is already outdated/underpowered for LimePie android? Seriously..? Why? Does the Android 5.0 requires minimum a Quadcore at 1.5GHz? Really? W*nkers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-20-2013, 12:50 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

officially unsupported. like s2 wasn't officially supported by jb at first, yet I still used a jb rom.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nicugoalkeper
Master Guru
 
nicugoalkeper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3600
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4Gb DDR2 800 Geil Ultra
Soundcard: Soundmax
PSU: CoolMaster 620 Real Power
Default 03-20-2013, 13:47 | posts: 791 | Location: RO TM

My old S 1 works perfect on a moded 4.2.2 rom so .... !
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-20-2013, 13:53 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

yeah. also, 16 months is ages in phone development atm.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 03-20-2013, 15:46 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

I'm a member over XDA too. Been using custom ROMs since 2004. But that's not the case.. I would still have like to see some official support for it. It's not that underpowered or anything..

I still get Quadcore performance(1000-1100ms) in Sunspider with my Cassie's XLite JB Rom dammit.

Anyway.. It was a fun ride.. I will hold on it until GNote 3 with its rumored 5.99" screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
nick0323
Master Guru
 
nick0323's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX970 Jetstream OC
Processor: i5 2500k / 4.5GHz @1.275v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro Gen 3
Memory: Corsair Ven 2x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Recon3D Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 03-20-2013, 16:14 | posts: 579 | Location: Old England

Yeah but this will be the first OS from Google to require a quad core, let's wait and see if there is something in the software code which detects this though it probably won't take much to modify it!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 03-20-2013, 16:38 | posts: 7,274 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick0323 View Post
Yeah but this will be the first OS from Google to require a quad core, let's wait and see if there is something in the software code which detects this though it probably won't take much to modify it!
Or just wait to see if the report is real because it's probably not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-20-2013, 16:48 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

it will require a quad core cpu? in a way that is good for future improvements of Android, but it also writes off a lot of the older phones. interesting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Speed Weed
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 260+
Processor: Core i5 2500K @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro ( 3.1)
Memory: 8Gb Corsair @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Tuffpower 850
Default 03-20-2013, 17:09 | posts: 1,055 | Location: Somewhere in Scotland

Can hardly wait!
Have already read some good things about Lime Pie.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3570K 4.0/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 16GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 03-20-2013, 18:33 | posts: 9,463 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
it will require a quad core cpu? in a way that is good for future improvements of Android, but it also writes off a lot of the older phones. interesting.
There might a be more positives in this though if you look at it. For example it will force some sort of minimum specifications for the OS but it might raise the price on low end devices if they are ever released with Android 5.

Currently on S3 with 4.1.1 on official ROM and thinking on going to XDA to put a custom ROM on it. Have to Root it first though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
kapu
Ancient Guru
 
kapu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 GHz TOP
Processor: Intel i5 750 @ 4.0 /1.38v
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D
Memory: GoodRAM 8GB , 1600 MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer|Siberia V2
PSU: Be Quiet! E9 680W
Default 03-20-2013, 18:37 | posts: 3,642 | Location: Poland

If it can work on S3 it will work on my galaxy nexus
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
scipio
Ancient Guru
 
scipio's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780ti
Processor: 4770k 4.4
Mainboard: asus z87 deluxe
Memory: gskill 16 gb
Soundcard: xi-fi gamer
PSU: BFG es-800
Default 03-20-2013, 18:40 | posts: 4,197 | Location: NorCal

If it'll work on my s3 there's no quad core requirement, in the US the s3 is dual core.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-20-2013, 19:31 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

from what I'm seeing all around the net, it'll also work on s2 so the quad requirement is a pile of tonk
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.