Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
NVIDIA future GPU is VOLTA and gets on-chip DRAM
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default NVIDIA future GPU is VOLTA and gets on-chip DRAM - 03-20-2013, 07:39 | posts: 21,276 | Location: Guru3D testlab

NVIDIA CEO Jen-Hsun Huang shared a handful of details about the company's next-generation graphics chips. Early next year we can expect Maxwell, the successor to Kepler. This chip will introduce unif...

NVIDIA future GPU is VOLTA and gets on-chip DRAM
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 03-20-2013, 07:59 | posts: 6,876 | Location: Dubai

I misread "DRAM" as "DRM" and had a little shock to the system for a moment there

Ah nice. Looking forward to seeing what Maxwell can do. This Volta is too far off for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Yxskaft
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5770
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 03-20-2013, 12:17 | posts: 647

Maxwell early 2014 sounds nice. If it were late 2014, I might be tempted to wait for Volta instead. Of course I'll see what AMD has to offer as well before deciding though
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
h0d
Master Guru
 
h0d's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7970 Cfx - EKwb En
Processor: 3930k - EK HF-Supreme
Mainboard: Rog Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: DDR3-2133 16g
Soundcard: HT | Omega - eClaro 7.1
PSU: Silverstone 1200W
Default 03-20-2013, 13:17 | posts: 188 | Location: Québec

I'm sure Volta can have more than 3 times faster bandwidth than the Titan. It seems they intentionally slowed their cards improvement to sell more of them.

Anyway nice new feature, can't wait to see the real impact of this new architecture.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 760
Processor: Intel Xeon W3680
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5.1
Memory: 6gb ddr3 1333
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Mac PRO PSU
Default 03-20-2013, 13:32 | posts: 10,442 | Location: Toledo Ohio

So then the dram will be stacked on the die then? Will there be different memory to accompy it like gddr5?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 03-20-2013, 13:37 | posts: 4,023 | Location: Australia

DRAM on chip might sound good, but exactly how much are they talking about? The performance GPU's are already at 3GB, so they have say, 4GB. Will that on-chip memory be the full 4GB, or just say, 512MB? It kind of sounds like large cacheing memory to me, where the commonly used stuff is in the 512MB cache and data is transferred from the remaining memory as required. This is of course a complete guess, as I doubt they could do 4GB on chip. It's not just about space, it's about the heat. You have all the heat from the GPU transferring through the memory and vice versa, and the room to get rid of this heat is still a similar size to currently what is available for the GPU to get rid of heat now. You also have to consider that currently there is a quite a large surface area for the RAM to get rid of heat.

The unified memory is what AMD is going towards too (apparently), but no doubt they'll implement a not-dissimilar memory cache too. I'm not sure exactly how unified the unified memory principle will be, wouldn't the programs have to be compiled specifically for this? The heterogeneous architecture AMD are heading towards with their CPU's etc is a little different, the principle sounds more efficient. That said, having that coupled with a graphics card of similar principle would probably be advantageous.

Last edited by thatguy91; 03-20-2013 at 13:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 03-20-2013, 14:03 | posts: 5,941 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Was waiting for Maxwell to arrive when I my GTX480 (850/1700/2000 @1.1v)

But I bit the dust and went team red with the HD7970 and dont see the point in Maxwell now, Volta is very interesting though this might just be the upgrade that us graphics buffs have been waiting for.

I think Maxwell will be very strong indeed and will outperform my HD7970 by around 50% but still what games will use it? Crysis 3 looks outstanding now and runs pretty damn well maxed out my single HD7970 with 4xMSAA @ 1080p so there are going to have to be some seriously damanding games that will make use of Maxwell or even the next AMD architecture but I think GCN being as good as it is we will just get a revision of it with the 8K series at the end of year.

Also with PS4 being already outdated by current high end PC hardware I see no games truly using Maxwell's potential.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 03-20-2013, 14:42 | posts: 3,713

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
I think Maxwell will be very strong indeed and will outperform my HD7970 by around 50% but still what games will use it? Crysis 3 looks outstanding now and runs pretty damn well maxed out my single HD7970 with 4xMSAA @ 1080p
Well, you could try triple-monitor gaming with the same AA level and see if your card would choke or not.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
JJayzX
Master Guru
 
JJayzX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 660 FTW Sig2 Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
Memory: RipjawsX 8gb DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 03-20-2013, 14:45 | posts: 352 | Location: RI, USA

Maxwell was supposed to be another push into efficiency so I don't think there will a huge performance gain there. It seems like Volta is the one that is going to push for performance more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Yxskaft
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5770
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 03-20-2013, 16:25 | posts: 647

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post

I think Maxwell will be very strong indeed and will outperform my HD7970 by around 50% but still what games will use it? Crysis 3 looks outstanding now and runs pretty damn well maxed out my single HD7970 with 4xMSAA @ 1080p so there are going to have to be some seriously damanding games that will make use of Maxwell or even the next AMD architecture but I think GCN being as good as it is we will just get a revision of it with the 8K series at the end of year.

Also with PS4 being already outdated by current high end PC hardware I see no games truly using Maxwell's potential.
I've had similar thoughts, but at least I have a better "excuse" to upgrade than you(need to update my specs here, using a HD 5770 for the time being). Am not counting on playing the next-gen games with this, at least not smoothly.

I'm hoping even a mid-range Maxwell/VI GPU will be enough for handling the console ports at high settings for some years(I want the "next 8800GT"), and then I'll upgrade again when/if the PC versions start getting more attention.
I'll also be surprised if we don't get DX12 in 2014.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX 290x/ 2x 7970L
Processor: 3930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: R4BE/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 16GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: SupremeFX/ Disabled
PSU: NEX1500/ AX1200i-/ AX1200
Default 03-20-2013, 16:43 | posts: 1,030 | Location: Nebulas

It is not going to happen until 2016 if it ever happens.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
The Chubu
Maha Guru
 
The Chubu's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
Processor: i5 2500K stock
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M Pro
Memory: 16Gb Patriot G2 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Satellite SL-8600EPS 600w
Default 03-20-2013, 19:14 | posts: 2,541 | Location: Look out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
DRAM on chip might sound good, but exactly how much are they talking about? The performance GPU's are already at 3GB, so they have say, 4GB. Will that on-chip memory be the full 4GB, or just say, 512MB?
They don't need huge amounts of eDRAM (or whatever they use), if they can hold up a couple of frames at high resolution it will be enough (say, 64Mb or 128Mb).

Thats how xbox 360 devs can get 4x FSAA working (yep, Full Screen Anti Aliasing, something unthinkable if you just check its GPU specs alone), they process the frame on the eDRAM, since its super high bandwidth and super low latency memory, the operation is pretty much free. If im not mistaken, I read they tile the frame in 4 or more since while 10Mb is enough to hold a full HD frame, it isn't enough for holding the frame and storing additional data for the AA pass, so divide an conquer. And still its fast enough to get playable framerates on a 8 year old console

Imagine if you could get 4x FSAA (or more!) with little to no fps impact playing at 1080p (or more?). It would be awesome.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 03-20-2013, 19:49 | posts: 5,583

He's about to take off!



   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 03-20-2013, 19:56 | posts: 5,941 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1net1cs View Post
Well, you could try triple-monitor gaming with the same AA level and see if your card would choke or not.
1. you dont need any form of AA at those resolutions.

2. I hate triple monitor gaming

Now if 4K monitors become cheaper and games natively support the res then yes I could see a use for these chips.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yxskaft View Post
I've had similar thoughts, but at least I have a better "excuse" to upgrade than you(need to update my specs here, using a HD 5770 for the time being). Am not counting on playing the next-gen games with this, at least not smoothly.

I'm hoping even a mid-range Maxwell/VI GPU will be enough for handling the console ports at high settings for some years(I want the "next 8800GT"), and then I'll upgrade again when/if the PC versions start getting more attention.
I'll also be surprised if we don't get DX12 in 2014.
I completely agree with you, for people on current mid to low range cards or last gen hardware then sure grab one of these as it would be a better value upgrade for you.

Also DX12 I don't think will come any time soon. DX11 needs a few more updates and fixes and maybe some performance improvements. Tessellation is only just starting to be used more and if used to much it cripples even the high end cards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm View Post
He's about to take off!




To infinity and beyond!!!!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 03-20-2013, 20:06 | posts: 9,208 | Location: UK

Rofl
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-20-2013, 20:24 | posts: 18,700 | Location: New Jersey, USA

gimme some maxwell action
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
vidra
Maha Guru
 
vidra's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670OC@26"Samsung
Processor: Core i5 750 @3.6GHz/1.26V
Mainboard: EVGA P55 LE
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Chieftec 750W
Default 03-20-2013, 21:09 | posts: 2,456 | Location: Novi Sad, Serbia

They could call the flagship "Johntra"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 03-20-2013, 22:27 | posts: 3,713

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
1. you dont need any form of AA at those resolutions.
Then why do you need 4xMSAA @1080p?
Or did you honestly think using three monitors placed horizontally next to each other magically extends each monitor's vertical resolution?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
2. I hate triple monitor gaming
Which is inconsequential.
You did ask what games would need more than your single 7970.
Well, any games that support multi-monitor gaming apparently. With AA.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 03-21-2013, 00:46 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

Would this be a solution to the stuttering some games have? Not that I've had it lately but I remember it was pretty bad about 6 months ago.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 03-21-2013, 09:28 | posts: 7,511 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
I misread "DRAM" as "DRM" and had a little shock to the system for a moment there
Lol, same.

Too bad Maxwell got pushed back by about 18 years. I was hoping to have one already. It's a real kick to the balls that it won't be out when Haswell is.

What do I dooooo?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 03-21-2013, 11:09 | posts: 7,175 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Cyrus View Post
Lol, same.

Too bad Maxwell got pushed back by about 18 years. I was hoping to have one already. It's a real kick to the balls that it won't be out when Haswell is.

What do I dooooo?
Keep your current card because there are barely any games worth playing that require something better. My 690 is a complete waste. I haven't really played anything worth my time aside from Starcraft lately and I really don't need a 690 for that.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.