Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-19-2013, 14:16 | posts: 8,496 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeJay.dk View Post
No, Dithering in SweetFX only work for changes SweetFX makes.
To remove the banding that games create I would first need to create a medium to large radious blur effect and use it to blur the areas look like they could be banding , which means also writing a algorithm to detect them and THEN dither that.

The dither part is done, but proper debanding also requires the others and they will be tricky to write and make fast enough.
It will be easier with multipass capability so I'm currently working on other stuff until I get that. Maybe in a future version.
Ok thanks, I will wait a little longer and thanks for info


Also good job, this tool rocks

Last edited by -Tj-; 03-19-2013 at 14:18.
   
 
Old
  (#27)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 03-19-2013, 14:16 | posts: 7,439 | Location: Canada, Quebec

edit: nvm I always make things work after I ask for help. lol

Last edited by Wanny; 03-19-2013 at 14:19.
   
Old
  (#28)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 03-19-2013, 15:05 | posts: 11,152 | Location: Finland

Has anyone found a way to get injectors work in Windows 8 when FRAPS is running?
   
Old
  (#29)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 03-19-2013, 16:21 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Cool new update
Thanks a lot for this great tool CeeJay
   
 
Old
  (#30)
conan2k
Newbie
 
conan2k's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 780GTX
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX620
Question 03-19-2013, 16:29 | posts: 42

CeeJay, you've written previously:

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeJay.dk View Post

I also discovered bugs in both saturation (in the Tonemap shader) and in Vibrance when you them to desaturate. Hardly anyone does that so I think that's why no one seems to have noticed yet.
Are the respective fixes included in v1.4?

BTW, many thanks for the new release.
   
Old
  (#31)
CeeJay.dk
Master Guru
 
CeeJay.dk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6870
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 03-19-2013, 16:43 | posts: 659 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by conan2k View Post
Are the respective fixes included in v1.4?
No, but don't tell anyone.
   
Old
  (#32)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-19-2013, 17:16 | posts: 7,606 | Location: Sunny Scotland

do we need three sweet fx stickies?
lets just have this one stickied.
*don't ban me bro.
   
Old
  (#33)
Marcel
Maha Guru
 
Marcel's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 Gaming
Processor: i7 4770 (3,9 GHz)
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Memory: DDR3/16GB/1600/CL9
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750 W
Default 03-19-2013, 17:17 | posts: 1,012 | Location: Slovakia

new thread with changelog and news about sweetFx?

Thank you CJ! and thank you for 1.4 version.
   
Old
  (#34)
johnchaser
Newbie
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: 3570
Mainboard: z77
Memory: 1866+
Soundcard: Xonar
PSU: 87+
Default 03-19-2013, 17:26 | posts: 11 | Location: 3rd world country

Hi 2 all! Please, don't beat the newbie...

1. Great thanx for SweetFX!!! Using it from the Sep. 2012 with many games and it's a really amazing. Before using the FXAA Tool but don't actually likes it's quality, so the SweetFX become number 1 for me (and for many others as i see, BTW "read-only" all 3 threads from beginning till now So thanx again!

2. "Q" about "SweetFX Configurator" - what about it and 1.4 version ?? I use 1.33 and it's really a handy tool.

3. So far SweetFX is working with many modern games, but i have a strange problem with "Chaser". W/o SweetFX it runs good, but when SFX is "on" the file named "log.log" contents only "full path" info about games folder and effects don't work(game is working, but no SFX).
I tried ENB DirectX 8 wrapper, because IDK what version is used in the game, but with this "d3d8.dll" the game just crushes after intro videos. In that case "log.log" contents the
Quote:
full path: C:\chaser\
redirecting CreateDevice
initialising shader environment
redirecting device->Reset
initialising shader environment
Any help is appreciated!
   
Old
  (#35)
jim2point0
Maha Guru
 
jim2point0's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V
Memory: 16GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 03-19-2013, 17:37 | posts: 1,206

Haven't played BL2 in a while so I thought I'd give it ago now that it has some pretty nice screenshotting tools in the form of Cheat Engine.

CeeJay once said that people don't desaturate with vibrance Nonsense! If you desaturate and then bump contrast, you get color back and a different look than before. I've been trying it out...

 Click to show spoiler



I need to give 1.4 a shot. Ceejay, can you elaborate on the following? What are the improvements?

Quote:
Improvements to Curves (done)
Improved performance of Curves - formula 5 (done)

Last edited by jim2point0; 03-19-2013 at 17:45.
   
 
Old
  (#36)
darkninjavn
Newbie
 
Videocard: nvidia gtx660
Processor: Intel Core i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: acbel 510w
Default 03-19-2013, 18:28 | posts: 8

Alice: Madness Returns

 Click to show spoiler



setting: http://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/230/
   
Old
  (#37)
CeeJay.dk
Master Guru
 
CeeJay.dk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6870
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 03-19-2013, 18:45 | posts: 659 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnchaser View Post
Hi 2 all! Please, don't beat the newbie...
A newbie you say?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnchaser View Post
2. "Q" about "SweetFX Configurator" - what about it and 1.4 version ?? I use 1.33 and it's really a handy tool.
SweetFX 1.4 should work fine with the configurator.
Just install the 1.4 files over the 1.3 it comes with.
Or wait until Terrasque updates the configurator with the new SweetFX version bundled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnchaser View Post
3. So far SweetFX is working with many modern games, but i have a strange problem with "Chaser". W/o SweetFX it runs good, but when SFX is "on" the file named "log.log" contents only "full path" info about games folder and effects don't work(game is working, but no SFX).
I tried ENB DirectX 8 wrapper, because IDK what version is used in the game, but with this "d3d8.dll" the game just crushes after intro videos. In that case "log.log" contents the
Any help is appreciated!
Chaser use DirectX 8.1, so yes you'd need a working wrapper for it.
Try installing only the ENB DirectX 8 wrapper and running the game.

If that doesn't work then it's a problem with the wrapper and you could try disabling some of the games graphics option.
I'd try to disable everything and set everything to low and then installing the wrapper and see if that works - if it does then I'd slowly turn on more and more until it break and I know which setting it doesn't like.
   
Old
  (#38)
CeeJay.dk
Master Guru
 
CeeJay.dk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6870
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 03-19-2013, 18:56 | posts: 659 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2point0 View Post
Haven't played BL2 in a while so I thought I'd give it ago now that it has some pretty nice screenshotting tools in the form of Cheat Engine.

CeeJay once said that people don't desaturate with vibrance Nonsense! If you desaturate and then bump contrast, you get color back and a different look than before. I've been trying it out...

 Click to show spoiler



I need to give 1.4 a shot. Ceejay, can you elaborate on the following? What are the improvements?
Awesome screenshots - May I include them in the screenshots section?

The improvements are (listed in the changelog on page 1) :
  • Adds the Border shader as a workaround for the bright screenedge forcing certain AA modes can cause
  • Adds the Cartoon shader that can make the image look more cartoonish
  • Adds the Advanced CRT shader that can mimic the look of an old arcade CRT display
  • Adds the Monochrome shader that removes the colors
  • Adds the FXAA shader as an alternative to SMAA for the few people that still prefer it. (only in DX9 for now though)
  • Improved the Curves shader so it can now apply contrast to Chroma as well as Luma (as before) or both
  • Improved the performance of formula 5 in the Curves shader (the simplified Catmull-rom spline)
  • Improved the Dither shader with the option to use Random Dithering.
  • Improved the Dither shader so now uses a subpixel dithering pattern. (Both when using Random or Ordered Dithering)
  • Lowered the default SMAA threshold to 0.10 so fewer aliased lines escape processing.
  • Fixed a bug where dark areas could on occasion appear when HDR and Lumasharpen where both activated at the same time.
  • The alpha channel is now cleared before outputting the image to prevent it messing with screenshots converted to png.
  • The SweetFX settings file now include a description field to help keep of which version the settings are for.
  • Improved the Vignette shader to allow you to create oval shaped vignettes.
  • Curves_formula 2 is now the default Curves formula.
  • Includes some notes on how you can make custom shaders

So you can now apply contrast to chroma too. It boosts colors in a manner similar to Vibrance.
You can also apply contrast to both Luma and Chroma at the same time which is actually faster because I don't need to seperate Luma and Chroma.

I actually haven't tried decreasing the contrast of Chroma to see what that does to the colors - it should desaturate them too.
   
Old
  (#39)
jim2point0
Maha Guru
 
jim2point0's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V
Memory: 16GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 03-19-2013, 19:11 | posts: 1,206

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeJay.dk View Post
Awesome screenshots - May I include them in the screenshots section?

The improvements are (listed in the changelog on page 1) :
I didn't think to look to the 2nd post for the changelog I'm a dumby.

Feel free to use any of my screenshots I post anywhere that says SweetFX was used I'm now all kinds of intrigued by 1.4. I must see it now... can't put it off any longer
   
Old
  (#40)
conan2k
Newbie
 
conan2k's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 780GTX
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX620
Default 03-19-2013, 19:45 | posts: 42

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2point0 View Post

CeeJay once said that people don't desaturate with vibrance Nonsense! If you desaturate and then bump contrast, you get color back and a different look than before. I've been trying it out...
Yeah, I've been using Vibrance for desaturation in a number of games (along with Curves for contrast). It makes some games to look much more vivid and realistic IMO. However, I haven't experienced any visible glitches when using Vibrance with negative values. So, I was wondering if CeeJay has already fixed the aforementioned issues (and what were those issues actually? ).
   
Old
  (#41)
ninjafada
Master Guru
 
ninjafada's Avatar
 
Videocard: pny 670
Processor: i5 3570k@4.5
Mainboard: gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: Gskill 8G@2023
Soundcard: rltek + Altec Lansing
PSU: 550W
Default 03-19-2013, 21:05 | posts: 305

i'm searching for a image viewer using dx so i can use sweetfx with it and test so things on screenshots w/o the game
i found one but can't on/off or reload and crash a lot
and i'm a little lazy to make it today :p
   
Old
  (#42)
Marcel
Maha Guru
 
Marcel's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 Gaming
Processor: i7 4770 (3,9 GHz)
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Memory: DDR3/16GB/1600/CL9
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750 W
Default 03-19-2013, 22:53 | posts: 1,012 | Location: Slovakia

Dishonored 1.4

 Click to show spoiler

   
Old
  (#43)
CeeJay.dk
Master Guru
 
CeeJay.dk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6870
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 03-20-2013, 00:24 | posts: 659 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjafada View Post
i'm searching for a image viewer using dx so i can use sweetfx with it and test so things on screenshots w/o the game
i found one but can't on/off or reload and crash a lot
and i'm a little lazy to make it today :p
That sounds really useful, let us know if you find a good one.
   
Old
  (#44)
CeeJay.dk
Master Guru
 
CeeJay.dk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6870
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 03-20-2013, 01:21 | posts: 659 | Location: Denmark

If you're a redditor then I've have just announced the new version in /r/games/ , where I'm also taking questions.
   
Old
  (#45)
Elite Bushido™
Maha Guru
 
Elite Bushido™'s Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 SLI
Processor: 920@4.0GHz CoolermasterV8
Mainboard: EVGA X58 SLI Classified
Memory: Corsair Dominator 12Gb
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi
PSU: Enermax Revolution85+ 950
Default 03-20-2013, 01:42 | posts: 1,133 | Location: New York, U.S.

do old configs work with 1.4?
   
Old
  (#46)
methodunderg
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5770
Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 955 B.E
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ThermalTake
Default 03-20-2013, 07:24 | posts: 52 | Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

I guess so Bushido; just enable the same shaders, and manually copy over your parameters/settings for those shaders.

I need some help please guys; it doesn't seem like SMAA is working for me @ all..

I have maxed out the settings for SMAA, don't see a performance drop what so ever, and my game still looks jagged as it does without, but the .log file tells me SMAA is on?

I also use GTA:SA ENB v0.075 if that makes a difference, but the original injectSMAA works for me from here : http://mrhaandi.blogspot.co.nz/p/injectsmaa.html

SweetFX_settings.txt
 Click to show spoiler


log.log
 Click to show spoiler


enbseries.ini (the d3d9.dll from SweetFX is renamed to d3d9_s.dll)
 Click to show spoiler


@EDIT:
I have even deleted all my SweetFX related files, and re-applied SweetFX 1.4, and enabled SMAA only, and maxed out the setts; and don't see a difference. Even when using the splitscreen shader, I don't see a difference. Still very jagged aliased edges.

Last edited by methodunderg; 03-20-2013 at 07:44.
   
Old
  (#47)
vejn
Master Guru
 
vejn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7870 TF3
Processor: Core i5 3350P
Mainboard: MSI B75 G41
Memory: 4 Gb DDR
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 03-20-2013, 07:52 | posts: 761

Which preset uses Maldo and Blackfire mod for Crysis 2 ?

Last edited by vejn; 03-20-2013 at 07:56.
   
Old
  (#48)
QuadReaktor
Master Guru
 
QuadReaktor's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX680 2GB
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS SupremeFX X-Fi
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 03-20-2013, 08:19 | posts: 161 | Location: Germany

Question: How do I know which code for the color is (Lift Gamma Gain) ?
   
Old
  (#49)
Marcel
Maha Guru
 
Marcel's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 Gaming
Processor: i7 4770 (3,9 GHz)
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Memory: DDR3/16GB/1600/CL9
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750 W
Default 03-20-2013, 10:04 | posts: 1,012 | Location: Slovakia

CJi have little problem. Screenshots with 1.4 version have stronger colors than are in the game...
   
Old
  (#50)
methodunderg
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5770
Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 955 B.E
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ThermalTake
Default 03-20-2013, 10:21 | posts: 52 | Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

I used to have this problem when taking screenshots with FRAPS, when the game would change or create a 'Color Scheme'.

Start > Control Panel > Color Management.
Under 'Devices' tab, I deleted all profiles, and everything was fixed.

@EDIT

I can definately see DITHER helping out in GTA:SA, with the water, and the sky/clouds. But still want to resolve my SMAA problem above ^^

Last edited by methodunderg; 03-20-2013 at 10:28.
   
Closed Thread

Tags
forum, yazsana.net

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.