Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


View Poll Results: ATI Catalyst 12.11 B11 HotFix 11.01 Thoughts
AMD HD 5000 and 6000 Users (GOOD) 5 5.38%
AMD Legacy GPU Users (HD 2000-4000) (GOOD) 42 45.16%
AMD Previous Legacy Mobility Users (Old GPU's) (GOOD) 8 8.60%
AMD Switchable Graphic Users (GOOD) 7 7.53%
AMD HD 5000-6000 Mobility Users (GOOD) 8 8.60%
AMD Legacy Mobility Users (HD 2000-4000) (GOOD) 17 18.28%
AMD HD 5000 and 6000 Users (BAD) 1 1.08%
AMD Legacy GPU Users (HD 2000-4000) (BAD) 5 5.38%
AMD Previous Legacy Mobility Users (Old GPU's) (BAD) 3 3.23%
AMD Switchable Graphic Users (BAD) 5 5.38%
AMD HD 5000-6000 Mobility Users (BAD) 1 1.08%
AMD Legacy Mobility Users (HD 2000-4000) (BAD) 7 7.53%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 93. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#476)
si_s3p3t
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati/Mobility 4570/512Mb
Processor: AMD Athlon QL-64
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Asus
Default 03-14-2013, 17:33 | posts: 29

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
How does the driver perform in games?
never done, even in dota, i dont know how to see the fps..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#477)
Cipao
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Mobility Radeon
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AC
Default 03-14-2013, 19:18 | posts: 46 | Location: Poland

dellon132, There is a problem with HDR lighting to your OpenGL drivers, see the video below. You can fix replacing this file http://dl.dropbox.com/u/108606896/atiogl.7z in the directory of the driver files.

http://youtu.be/RxT3clPdUbc

Last edited by Cipao; 03-14-2013 at 19:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#478)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 03-15-2013, 00:02 | posts: 1,898

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipao View Post
dellon132, There is a problem with HDR lighting to your OpenGL drivers, see the video below. You can fix replacing this file http://dl.dropbox.com/u/108606896/atiogl.7z in the directory of the driver files.

http://youtu.be/RxT3clPdUbc
Thanks, Cipao, can you run some test to see if it affects opengl games? Iv'e played rage and there is little to no pop-ins when using the opengl files, so if you can confirm that the lack in HDR lighting in gpu caps viewer affects all opengl games with HDR lighting I will definitely make the necessary changes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#479)
kevsamiga1974
Maha Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-15-2013, 04:16 | posts: 801 | Location: England

Yes. That's my modified atioglxx.xml file.

Currently your driver has no OpenGL crossfire profiles at all...the file is blank.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#480)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 03-15-2013, 04:55 | posts: 1,898

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevsamiga1974 View Post
Yes. That's my modified atioglxx.xml file.

Currently your driver has no OpenGL crossfire profiles at all...the file is blank.
Yes, I took them out for testing purpose, to see whether or not it would be a problem for crossfire users, but as you can see the experiment is still on going...
When using OpenGL on my single Gpu Graphic Card the OpenGL driver can function correctly without the profiles so.....I'm just waiting on solid results that can either confirm that this approach to OpenGL profiles work/don't work when profiles are removed.

In regards to fixing HDR lighting. This bug is not a profile bug but a driver bug so replacing it with Kev profile won't fix it. (Well, at-least not on my end)

Last edited by dellon132; 03-15-2013 at 04:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#481)
kevsamiga1974
Maha Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-15-2013, 12:18 | posts: 801 | Location: England

Yes all well and good for testing purposes only but don't follow the logic behind it because maybe 50% of people are gonna be crossfire....

Just wondering why remove perfectly valid and working OpenGL profiles for apps and games when they actually work better in 99% of cases than including nothing at all with a filesize of 0. ?!?

It's just going to lessen performance+cause issues for those in crossfire trying to play with old games n apps and stuff...

This is because the caps not only activate AFR for crossfire in OpenGL, they also patch in/restrict OpenGL extensions to work around existing game/app bugs on ATI hardware. Because the implementation of Nvidia's and ATI's OpenGL is different, and so profiled games or apps were developed on NVidia hardware, but crash on ATI without the said OpenGL workarounds.

If no profile entries don't exist, then in crossfire they will just crash/perform badly now instead...

You may add to the atiogl.xml file (like I have done), but removal of all existing entries for those in crossfire isn't really a favourable option.

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-15-2013 at 12:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#482)
Andrw0830
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia 740M/ Intel 4600
Processor: Intel i7 4700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 03-15-2013, 14:37 | posts: 349

dellon132 I know you took out the Application Profiles in the last beta, but even before I have noticed it wasn't listed in 3D settings in the other beta when I installed it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#483)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 03-15-2013, 16:51 | posts: 1,898

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevsamiga1974 View Post
Yes all well and good for testing purposes only but don't follow the logic behind it because maybe 50% of people are gonna be crossfire....

Just wondering why remove perfectly valid and working OpenGL profiles for apps and games when they actually work better in 99% of cases than including nothing at all with a filesize of 0. ?!?

It's just going to lessen performance+cause issues for those in crossfire trying to play with old games n apps and stuff...

This is because the caps not only activate AFR for crossfire in OpenGL, they also patch in/restrict OpenGL extensions to work around existing game/app bugs on ATI hardware. Because the implementation of Nvidia's and ATI's OpenGL is different, and so profiled games or apps were developed on NVidia hardware, but crash on ATI without the said OpenGL workarounds.

If no profile entries don't exist, then in crossfire they will just crash/perform badly now instead...

You may add to the atiogl.xml file (like I have done), but removal of all existing entries for those in crossfire isn't really a favourable option.
Yea, I know it isn't a favorable option for crossfire users but I wanted to confirm whether OpenGL profiles would need to be updated constantly or the OpenGL driver is able to function correctly without the profiles. So, If the OpenGL profiles does turns out to be necessary for crossfire to function correctly I would make the required changes to ensure OpenGL functionality.
However since I haven't received any comments about that from Crossfire Users no changes were made.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrw0830 View Post
dellon132 I know you took out the Application Profiles in the last beta, but even before I have noticed it wasn't listed in 3D settings in the other beta when I installed it.
So, application profiles normally work for you?
Can you try out the latest beta and tell me if you are experiencing any screen corruption?

Last edited by dellon132; 03-15-2013 at 17:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#484)
Andrw0830
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia 740M/ Intel 4600
Processor: Intel i7 4700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 03-15-2013, 20:29 | posts: 349

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellon132 View Post
Yea, I know it isn't a favorable option for crossfire users but I wanted to confirm whether OpenGL profiles would need to be updated constantly or the OpenGL driver is able to function correctly without the profiles. So, If the OpenGL profiles does turns out to be necessary for crossfire to function correctly I would make the required changes to ensure OpenGL functionality.
However since I haven't received any comments about that from Crossfire Users no changes were made.



So, application profiles normally work for you?
Can you try out the latest beta and tell me if you are experiencing any screen corruption?
I personally haven't used them but seeing them in your earlier driver I installed them and AMD Vision Control Center always said that no profiles existed so I am just mentioning it in case of it being a bug with switchable graphics. Anyways no screen corruption appears when switching between cards just that one flicker on that one site. I wonder if that one site is trying to use both graphics cards to accelerate it and causing that issue. The earlier drivers when flash was laggy, the flicker is gone so something from modifying the drivers to get smooth flash has caused it. I defiantly prefer smooth flash video so if I use that site, I will just use a different browser.

Last edited by Andrw0830; 03-15-2013 at 20:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#485)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 03-15-2013, 21:13 | posts: 1,898

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrw0830 View Post
I personally haven't used them but seeing them in your earlier driver I installed them and AMD Vision Control Center always said that no profiles existed so I am just mentioning it in case of it being a bug with switchable graphics. Anyways no screen corruption appears when switching between cards just that one flicker on that one site. I wonder if that one site is trying to use both graphics cards to accelerate it and causing that issue. The earlier drivers when flash was laggy, the flicker is gone so something from modifying the drivers to get smooth flash has caused it. I defiantly prefer smooth flash video so if I use that site, I will just use a different browser.
Have you by chance tried playing videos on your HD 4000 series graphic card instead of your HD 5000?

Application Profiles for certain graphic cards has always acted this way, so there is nothing I can do to fix it. Well, at least for now.

Last edited by dellon132; 03-15-2013 at 21:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#486)
Andrw0830
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia 740M/ Intel 4600
Processor: Intel i7 4700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 03-15-2013, 21:38 | posts: 349

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellon132 View Post
Have you by chance tried playing videos on your HD 4000 series graphic card instead of your HD 5000?

Application Profiles for certain graphic cards has always acted this way, so there is nothing I can do to fix it. Well, at least for now.
Yeah I have no problems there. It is just my 5000 that is causing the flickering bug but also with switchable graphics, it always references my 4200 so both cards are active when I switch to the 5400. Both cards can play smooth HD flash video.

Last edited by Andrw0830; 03-15-2013 at 21:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#487)
heatseeker
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 280x
Processor: AMD FX-8350@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 860w
Default 03-15-2013, 23:41 | posts: 32 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellon132 View Post
How are your other games performing when using crossfire?
Well... Sorry for the delay... I've been testing kevsamiga1974's drivers vs hotfix Beta 8. With Beta 8 I get better overall performance.

Now Tom Raider runs relatively smoothly in high (55 fps avg) and 80%/100% crossfire load most of the time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#488)
IFPMaximus34
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati mobility radeom 4300
Processor: Intel dual core t4300
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dont know
Default 03-15-2013, 23:53 | posts: 35

Dude a Problem dx9 games dosent work using Latest hotfix 8 beta 1 updated 03/15/2013
:Fifa 13 error E0001
:Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 says unsupported video card detected continuing to run blalbla....
:Battlefied Bad Company 2 on dx 9 dosent open
:Rome total war failed to find directx 9
But dx10 games Works Perfect like TombRaider and putting Battlefield Bad Company 2 on dx10 works to seems latest dx9 files dosent support my card or whatever
My Spec:Windows 8 64bit ati mobility radeon 4300.Any Solution?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#489)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 03-16-2013, 00:58 | posts: 1,898

Quote:
Originally Posted by IFPMaximus34 View Post
Dude a Problem dx9 games dosent work using Latest hotfix 8 beta 1 updated 03/15/2013
:Fifa 13 error E0001
:Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 says unsupported video card detected continuing to run blalbla....
:Battlefied Bad Company 2 on dx 9 dosent open
:Rome total war failed to find directx 9
But dx10 games Works Perfect like TombRaider and putting Battlefield Bad Company 2 on dx10 works to seems latest dx9 files dosent support my card or whatever
My Spec:Windows 8 64bit ati mobility radeon 4300.Any Solution?
I'm gonna upload an experimental build for you today. Please test it and depending on your results I will make my decision on whether or not I should downgrade the dx9 driver to the previous version in Hotfix 8.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#490)
zawardo
Newbie
 
Videocard: x1800xt
Processor: Athlon x2 @2400mhz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500w
Default 03-16-2013, 09:10 | posts: 2

Sorry to be off topic, but i did found nothing searching the forum: for a x1000 serie (x1800xt) vga there is any alive project? or i must use the 2010 super bugged official legacy drivers?
Thanks and sorry for the OT
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#491)
kevsamiga1974
Maha Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-16-2013, 09:27 | posts: 801 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by zawardo View Post
Sorry to be off topic, but i did found nothing searching the forum: for a x1000 serie (x1800xt) vga there is any alive project? or i must use the 2010 super bugged official legacy drivers?
Thanks and sorry for the OT
Try 9.3 and below if your not happy with the state of 10.2, the last driver to have old cards support...

If I owned such old cards, I would have tried something....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#492)
solarmystic
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo T9550
Mainboard:
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: 90W
Default 03-16-2013, 14:52 | posts: 3

Is the dx9 driver in Hotfix 8 not compatible with all DX9 games? It seems to work fine on the games I've tested so far. Pretty swell performance too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#493)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 03-16-2013, 15:22 | posts: 1,898

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmystic View Post
Is the dx9 driver in Hotfix 8 not compatible with all DX9 games? It seems to work fine on the games I've tested so far. Pretty swell performance too.
No, it's not that it's not compatible with all dx games, it's because it may not have support for one or 2 graphic cards. So, if the support for those graphic cards are non existent in this release I will downgrade the dx9 driver.

Other Thoughts
I will probably downgrade it for performance purposes though. (Undecided)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#494)
IFPMaximus34
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati mobility radeom 4300
Processor: Intel dual core t4300
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dont know
Default 03-16-2013, 17:56 | posts: 35

hi again I tested hofix 8 beta 2 03/16/2013
Is still have the same problem with dx9 games didn't fix it.
Dx10 games runs smoothly.
Hoping to fix it in furture releases.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#495)
shck
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD4830 512mb
Processor: Intel Dual Core E5300
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 300Wt
Smile 03-16-2013, 18:02 | posts: 3

Hi. You will support the driver for 32bit system?

Previous driver (beta 4) to give an error when installing. In beta 3 had a problem with the video on the floor of the screen (not full screen).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#496)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 03-16-2013, 18:30 | posts: 1,898

Quote:
Originally Posted by IFPMaximus34 View Post
hi again I tested hofix 8 beta 2 03/16/2013
Is still have the same problem with dx9 games didn't fix it.
Dx10 games runs smoothly.
Hoping to fix it in furture releases.
Sure, the next release will resolve your problem, I'll upload it soon.

I have Question for you.
This driver uses dx9 files from Catalyst 13.1 Official Legacy driver. When using that driver did you experience the same same problem?

Quote:
Hi. You will support the driver for 32bit system?

Previous driver (beta 4) to give an error when installing. In beta 3 had a problem with the video on the floor of the screen (not full screen).
Yes I will update the 32 Bit version of this driver later. Can you give more details in regards to installation and the video bug on the floor?

Last edited by dellon132; 03-16-2013 at 18:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#497)
Andrw0830
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia 740M/ Intel 4600
Processor: Intel i7 4700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 03-16-2013, 19:23 | posts: 349

The corruption bug is back when switching between cards at startup, but performance of this driver is nice and smooth.

Do u mind as a test if you can just remove my 5400 infs and just give me the latest inf files because I tried the official AMD driver for thr 5000 and I have no flicker it just is my 4200 is disabled and I can't go to sleep.

Last edited by Andrw0830; 03-16-2013 at 19:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#498)
kevsamiga1974
Maha Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-16-2013, 20:56 | posts: 801 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by heatseeker View Post
Well... Sorry for the delay... I've been testing kevsamiga1974's drivers vs hotfix Beta 8. With Beta 8 I get better overall performance.

Now Tom Raider runs relatively smoothly in high (55 fps avg) and 80%/100% crossfire load most of the time.
Well.....it was just actually a 2 minute job to copy over atiapfxx.blb from 13.3 b2 non legacy as replacement into the driver folder or System32/SysWOW64 folders to actually have right support for tomb raider with moi drivers in crossfire in the first place instead of using the included crossfire profiles that don't include tomb raider because the new profiles break F1 2012 (in fps and flickering) amongst other newer games that don't have actual support in the drivers to match, so it's a bit hit and miss whether newer profiles work correctly or not. That's why I didn't use them because I always choose for to be stable and glitch free, and sometimes caps can break things rather than help.

There is very little difference in performance increases driver wise in core functions (not counting driver caps or game specific fixes) after Catalyst 10.3 on 4K save for crossfire profiles and game specific tweaks which of course makes all the difference to whether you have good or bad crossfire performance in certain games.

Since tomb raider came out after legacy support ended. It's not possible to have any driver which includes tomb raider specific optimisations on legacy.

Therefore it can only be down to using the right cap ( or lack of it in my driver ) to get more fps in tomb raider.

Oh and btw, and you can further increase by another 25 FPS by changing the RenderAPI setting to 9 (DX9) at the following registry key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Crystal Dynamics\Tomb Raider\Graphics

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-16-2013 at 21:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#499)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 03-16-2013, 21:18 | posts: 1,898

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevsamiga1974 View Post
Well.....it was just actually a 2 minute job to copy over atiapfxx.blb from 13.3 b2 non legacy as replacement into the driver folder or System32/SysWOW64 folders to actually have right support for tomb raider with moi drivers in crossfire in the first place instead of using the included crossfire profiles that don't include tomb raider because the new profiles break F1 2012 (in fps and flickering) amongst other newer games that don't have actual support in the drivers to match, so it's a bit hit and miss whether newer profiles work correctly or not. That's why I didn't use them because I always choose for to be stable and glitch free, and sometimes caps can break things rather than help.

There is very little difference in performance increases driver wise in core functions (not counting driver caps or game specific fixes) after Catalyst 10.3 on 4K save for crossfire profiles and game specific tweaks which of course makes all the difference to whether you have good or bad crossfire performance in certain games.

Since tomb raider came out after legacy support ended. It's not possible to have any driver which includes tomb raider specific optimisations on legacy.

Therefore it can only be down to using the right cap ( or lack of it in my driver ) to get more fps in tomb raider.

Oh, and you can further increase FPS by another 25 by changing the RenderAPI setting to 9 (DX9)
Hmm, I don't he is using the latest beta driver. He is using crossfire profiles form either Beta 1 or HotFix 8. His post was posted before I updated the driver with new profiles.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#500)
kevsamiga1974
Maha Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-16-2013, 21:21 | posts: 801 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellon132 View Post
Hmm, I don't he is using the latest beta driver. He is using crossfire profiles form either Beta 1 or HotFix 8. His post was posted before I updated the driver with new profiles.
Nevertheless, they are still likely higher CAPS than mine (12.4 CAP 2, May 2012)

Crossfire is very inconsistent most of the time. Multi GPU setups performance can be broken with just one single file change.

Believe me, it's a headache compared to single cards.

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-16-2013 at 21:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.