Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SimCity can be modded to play offline
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default SimCity can be modded to play offline - 03-15-2013, 06:36 | posts: 20,506 | Location: Guru3D testlab

A modder managed to enable unlimited offline gameplay in SimCity with some quick changes to the game. On top of that, he also found a way to access the game's debug mode. Most of the debug features (...

SimCity can be modded to play offline
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
DeathDealer175
Master Guru
 
DeathDealer175's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX780
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws-X 16GB
Soundcard: XFI Fatality Titanium
PSU: Novatech power 600W
Default 03-15-2013, 07:46 | posts: 336 | Location: Southampton, England.

Hi everyone -- due to EA's ToS we cannot allow threads discussing hacking/modifying the game. Thanks for understanding.

http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/9368164.page

Guess they dont like what has been done..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Speed Weed
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 260+
Processor: Core i5 2500K @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro ( 3.1)
Memory: 8Gb Corsair @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Tuffpower 850
Default 03-15-2013, 08:26 | posts: 1,005 | Location: Somewhere in Scotland

That's how to stick it up EA!
Well done that modder.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nicugoalkeper
Master Guru
 
nicugoalkeper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3600
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4Gb DDR2 800 Geil Ultra
Soundcard: Soundmax
PSU: CoolMaster 620 Real Power
Default 03-15-2013, 09:17 | posts: 791 | Location: RO TM

+1 I Agree !
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 03-15-2013, 11:02 | posts: 4,648 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathDealer175 View Post
Hi everyone -- due to EA's ToS we cannot allow threads discussing hacking/modifying the game. Thanks for understanding.

http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/9368164.page

Guess they dont like what has been done..
Good thing this isn't the EA forums then . Good work on that to the modder.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
schmidtbag
Master Guru
 
schmidtbag's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x ATI HD5750
Processor: AMD FX-6300 @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: GA-890FXA-UD5 Rev 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889
PSU: 700W
Default 03-15-2013, 14:38 | posts: 355 | Location: MA, USA

I might actually get the game now knowing I won't have to depend on EA's servers. I'm not really interested in playing it online - I've never played SC4 online and I easily put 50+ hours into that game.

I get the impression that the new SimCity is dependent upon neighboring cities of other players, and in a virtual world that isn't a risk I'm willing to take. This isn't real life where people actually give a damn and (should) have qualifications to run a city, and while a game isn't serious if a neighbor screws you over, it's still frustrating.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Major Melchett
Maha Guru
 
Major Melchett's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 - is a bit iffy.
Processor: AMD X3 450 @ X4 3.875ghz
Mainboard: GA-MA770T-UD3
Memory: 8GB Muskin 1666 CL9
Soundcard: Onboard Nvidia
PSU: High Power 1000w (100a)
Default 03-15-2013, 14:47 | posts: 2,276 | Location: Manchester, UK

Just remember people, this isn't a true full offline mode - you still need to connect to the servers to save your game (as per what the article states).

So if you want to play this offline all the time (saves being made locally) you currently can't do that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
schmidtbag
Master Guru
 
schmidtbag's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x ATI HD5750
Processor: AMD FX-6300 @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: GA-890FXA-UD5 Rev 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889
PSU: 700W
Default 03-15-2013, 14:51 | posts: 355 | Location: MA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major Melchett View Post
Just remember people, this isn't a true full offline mode - you still need to connect to the servers to save your game (as per what the article states).

So if you want to play this offline all the time (saves being made locally) you currently can't do that.
Has the game been pirated yet? If so, many games are pirated by simulating a fake local server, in which case maybe you could actually save locally. *sigh* If I'm right, it's a shame that once again pirates get the better experience.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 03-15-2013, 15:01 | posts: 3,206 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
Has the game been pirated yet? If so, many games are pirated by simulating a fake local server, in which case maybe you could actually save locally. *sigh* If I'm right, it's a shame that once again pirates get the better experience.
Game was pirated on day one. Just took a little longer for a EXE crack to appear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
freeZ
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 670 PE
Processor: i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar STX + HD 600's
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 03-15-2013, 15:06 | posts: 658

Sim City REQUIRING you to be online and play it... It was bad enough for D3.

Why do people even give them their money for that kind of BS? If people were man enough to vote with their wallets, they wouldn't be stepping all over us. Stop supporting these companies, let them starve until they start treating paying customers properly again.

Last edited by freeZ; 03-15-2013 at 15:10.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Stukov
Ancient Guru
 
Stukov's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970 UL / 4870X2 (dead)
Processor: Intel i5 3570k 4.2-4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Professional
Memory: 16GB Gskill 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Audigy
PSU: Corsair 850watt
Default 03-15-2013, 15:13 | posts: 4,882 | Location: South Dakota

I voted with my wallet. I would have loved a new Sim City, just as I would have loved to play Battlefield 3, but EA practices (such as online DRM in SC and Origin on BF3) have prevented me from buying them. Same thing with Ubisoft and Blizzard. There are plenty of other games out there I can buy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 03-15-2013, 15:36 | posts: 1,445 | Location: uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stukov View Post
I voted with my wallet. I would have loved a new Sim City, just as I would have loved to play Battlefield 3, but EA practices (such as online DRM in SC and Origin on BF3) have prevented me from buying them. Same thing with Ubisoft and Blizzard. There are plenty of other games out there I can buy.
same as this there not getting my money to game i want but im not buying
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Sash
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 03-15-2013, 19:25 | posts: 7,068

i don't care who believes me or not, but Ocean Quingley said in this twitter, there is a screencap somewhere in simcity reddit's page that modders where allowed to freely mod the game, according to Maxis's TOS, but not to EA's TOS!

tl:dr Maxis allows modders to mod simcity, but EA does not... EA wins, customers lose, as usual!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-15-2013, 19:28 | posts: 25,838 | Location: Hampshire UK

show us that tweet!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Major Melchett
Maha Guru
 
Major Melchett's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 - is a bit iffy.
Processor: AMD X3 450 @ X4 3.875ghz
Mainboard: GA-MA770T-UD3
Memory: 8GB Muskin 1666 CL9
Soundcard: Onboard Nvidia
PSU: High Power 1000w (100a)
Default 03-15-2013, 19:38 | posts: 2,276 | Location: Manchester, UK

@schmidtbag
No matey it hasn't been, the save system is server side only right now and until someone mods it or EA change their mind to make it local then using the offline mod/hack means no saving.

So don't worry, pirate/thieves haven't got a better experience (thankfully).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Sash
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 03-15-2013, 19:56 | posts: 7,068

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
show us that tweet!
It's cool to see the fans digging through our source files, the creativity of our mod community has always been the lifeblood of Maxis.

@SlackeyedUSMC Maxis = EA. Ocean is on record as saying we are working on exposing parts of the game to modders. Scope as yet undetermined.


michael long
@vertexnormal
Lead Artist @ Maxis, Working on SimCity



@SimCityModding @moskow23 I say go for it, but it'll be a little while before we can provide any support.

Ocean Quigley
@oceanquigley
Creative director & Art director on the new SimCity. Art directed Spore, SimCity 4, SimCity 3000. Oil painter.



   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-15-2013, 20:11 | posts: 25,838 | Location: Hampshire UK

do you have a link to that reddit? or just a pic?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 03-15-2013, 20:14 | posts: 6,857 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
do you have a link to that reddit? or just a pic?
http://www.reddit.com/r/SimCity/?cou...fter=t3_1ad97f

To be fair the bannable thing is from a support team, who probably knows nothing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Sash
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 03-15-2013, 21:06 | posts: 7,068

http://www.ea.com/news/simcity-updat...wers-from-lucy

make a petition and ask Lucy Crapshaw to resign from Maxis please! she is the reason this simcity is broken, not EA, she is the crazy one who thinks that an MMO for a city builder is a good idea, obviously she has no clue what happened to Cities XL when it was online, well that was a small company but if that game made monte cristo go bankrupt, it will surely make EA lose tons of money, maybe they will resign Lucy and slap themselves on the face!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 03-15-2013, 22:26 | posts: 3,207 | Location: USA

this is hope for the game if we can some how play off line with outthe stupid EA BS of "IT"needs to be "online"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
mackintosh
Member Guru
 
mackintosh's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 3-way SLI
Processor: i7 950 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified E760
Memory: Dominator 2133 12GB
Soundcard: AVR-1911 & HD 650s
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
Default 03-16-2013, 01:28 | posts: 120 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sash View Post
http://www.ea.com/news/simcity-updat...wers-from-lucy

make a petition and ask Lucy Crapshaw to resign from Maxis please! she is the reason this simcity is broken, not EA, she is the crazy one who thinks that an MMO for a city builder is a good idea, obviously she has no clue what happened to Cities XL when it was online, well that was a small company but if that game made monte cristo go bankrupt, it will surely make EA lose tons of money, maybe they will resign Lucy and slap themselves on the face!
Don't get so upset over it. Lucy is just another executive with what seems like a background in marketing and corporate bull speak. She has no clue what she's on about, is completely out of touch with the consumer base and will sooner run around circles than admit to a mistake (and that's being very generous given Simcity's failings). At this point, they've spouted so many lies that adding a few more can't really dig them any deeper of a hole they're already in.

I'm actually over my initial frustrations with Simcity and haven't touched it for a couple of days. Instead, I'm getting my entertainment from this massive PR disaster that is unfolding right before our eyes. They're basically doing everything wrong. It's hilarious.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-16-2013, 01:41 | posts: 25,838 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
this is hope for the game if we can some how play off line with outthe stupid EA BS of "IT"needs to be "online"
you are online now... so what is your complaint?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Veeshush
Master Guru
 
Veeshush's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T
Mainboard: ASUS M4A77D
Memory: CorsairDominator 8GB DDR2
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 03-16-2013, 02:12 | posts: 788

They ban mod discussion from costumer support usually on the idea that the mods are buggy and they'll have a harder time figuring out who's having issues from the game itself and who is having issues as the result of a mod installed. A lot of official game support sites are handled the same way.

On paper it makes sense, in practice it's stupid.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Lightning SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 03-16-2013, 02:13 | posts: 12,993 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
you are online now... so what is your complaint?
The complaint could be made that maybe he was traveling in a car, got bored, and wanted to play this game on his laptop. Because there is no internet access, he can't play.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 03-16-2013, 02:35 | posts: 495

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
The complaint could be made that maybe he was traveling in a car, got bored, and wanted to play this game on his laptop. Because there is no internet access, he can't play.
There always will be internet access if you willing to pay even on the moon. That's not a problem. If it's so critical to do some work or play you can have it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.