Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Intel Haswell to arrive in low volume until USB 3.0 issue is fixed
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Intel Haswell to arrive in low volume until USB 3.0 issue is fixed - 03-15-2013, 07:37 | posts: 21,374 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Intel will slowdown the ramp of its new Haswell platform until it has fixed a USB 3.0 issue in the Haswell platform that causes some relatively minor issues when a system wakes from S3 sleep mode with...

Intel Haswell to arrive in low volume until USB 3.0 issue is fixed
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nicugoalkeper
Master Guru
 
nicugoalkeper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3600
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4Gb DDR2 800 Geil Ultra
Soundcard: Soundmax
PSU: CoolMaster 620 Real Power
Default 03-15-2013, 10:19 | posts: 791 | Location: RO TM

Or another way to say we are selling faulty chips !!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 03-15-2013, 10:22 | posts: 11,388 | Location: England

I will part with any cash until the problems are fully resolved! I need a new case too!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
NAMEk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward/GTX560/2GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8600
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX
Soundcard: Realtec ALC1200
PSU: Corsair HX520
Default 03-15-2013, 11:45 | posts: 390 | Location: Lithuania

Disgusting.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 03-15-2013, 11:55 | posts: 3,827 | Location: The Netherlands

Bah, guess i'm gonna have to wait even longer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 03-15-2013, 13:11 | posts: 497

help me all these from the beginning problems, can't be fixed with just a bios update.? if not, why.?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 03-15-2013, 13:22 | posts: 2,732 | Location: florida

I dont even use my usb 3, it disabled in bios.

speeds up my boot process when it disabled, so even if I had a haswell chip that had the issue it wouldnt bother me.


I dont even use sleep mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
{LOD}PITBULL
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7970
Processor: Intel 2600k H2O
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 16G G skill 1600 8,8,8 21
Soundcard: Klipch ultra thx 5.1 X-FI
PSU: Thermaltake 1200W Modular
Default 03-15-2013, 14:11 | posts: 769 | Location: Upstate NY

Hi WE are Intel WE are going to over charge you and you are going to PAY...lol. But wait we also Put out Faulty chips which you will Also pay for.. Suckers... lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 03-15-2013, 14:17 | posts: 7,194 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

I hate to break it to you guys but every single processor ever made has some form of errata. I mean yeah this is more serious obviously, but if you think they haven't' sold you "faulty" chips in the past you're sorely mistaken.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 03-15-2013, 14:18 | posts: 2,732 | Location: florida

companies do it...


I had compaq computer that wouldnt actually save power in sleep mode because the psu where cheap and didnt have sleep mode. the motherboard would go into sleep mode, but the psu stayed on.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(14-15-15-34-2T)@2800
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 03-15-2013, 15:00 | posts: 752 | Location: France

Just a stupid question, how many people here use PC sleep mode/resume with USB 3 drive connected and used by an application while going to sleep?

Moreover, just restarting the applications or unplug replug the drive could do the trick. For me it is clearly a minor issue since I only have Sata external drives
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-15-2013, 15:13 | posts: 8,088 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Im going to get it anyway, i dont use usb3 and hardly put cpu to sleep so its not a big deal for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Dragondale13
Master Guru
 
Dragondale13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2Gb SLi
Processor: Intel i7 3930K @ 4.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD3 F20 Bios
Memory: GSkill Sniper 16GB 2133
Soundcard: X-FI Ti.Champ + Z5300 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850 Watt
Default 03-15-2013, 15:27 | posts: 348 | Location: Trinidad & Tobago, W.I.

Minor issue, I'm holding out cuz I wanna see NUMBERS, NUMBERS!!!! I LIKE NUMBERS!!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
schmidtbag
Master Guru
 
schmidtbag's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x ATI HD5750
Processor: AMD FX-6300 @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: GA-890FXA-UD5 Rev 2.0
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889
PSU: 700W
Default 03-15-2013, 15:31 | posts: 427 | Location: MA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
I hate to break it to you guys but every single processor ever made has some form of errata. I mean yeah this is more serious obviously, but if you think they haven't' sold you "faulty" chips in the past you're sorely mistaken.
Based on the way you're wording that, fault is a relative, maybe even opinionated term. For example, the Phenom II x6 can sometimes outperform an 8-core FX processor, where you could consider the FX to be at fault when really it just isn't optimized for that particular task; the FX isn't worse than the Phenom. In a situation like this, a more suitable word would be deficient or regression.

So, perhaps what you meant to say is every chip ever sold has deficiencies/regressions, because it is simply un-realistic to have 1 chip be good at everything.


If you really do mean that every chip has had a fault, what were the fault(s) of Sandy Bridge or Core 2 Duo or Athlon II? I'm not saying those didn't have faults, but I simply haven't heard of any. And by faults I mean in ways the chip was intended to be used, so faults in overclocking don't count.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 03-15-2013, 15:55 | posts: 3,468 | Location: UK

Will the Haswell CPU's work with existing X79 chipsets?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 03-15-2013, 15:57 | posts: 7,194 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
Based on the way you're wording that, fault is a relative, maybe even opinionated term. For example, the Phenom II x6 can sometimes outperform an 8-core FX processor, where you could consider the FX to be at fault when really it just isn't optimized for that particular task; the FX isn't worse than the Phenom. In a situation like this, a more suitable word would be deficient or regression.

So, perhaps what you meant to say is every chip ever sold has deficiencies/regressions, because it is simply un-realistic to have 1 chip be good at everything.


If you really do mean that every chip has had a fault, what were the fault(s) of Sandy Bridge or Core 2 Duo or Athlon II? I'm not saying those didn't have faults, but I simply haven't heard of any. And by faults I mean in ways the chip was intended to be used, so faults in overclocking don't count.
I'm not talking about performance characteristics, I'm talking about processor errata. Intel documents it on the release of every stepping. Certain programming functions will literally be broken on certain processors. For instance Intel had a TLB bug in it's MMU on Core 2 which would cause hardlock ups of the processor when performing certain operations.

Here is an example of the documentation that Intel releases for programming around errata:

http://download.intel.com/design/mob...T/31407918.pdf

If you scroll down to page 40 you can see the list of all the problems and workarounds for them.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/2477/2

Anandtech did its own write up on the AMD version of the TLB errata.

Most of these problems aren't seen by end users because developers are aware and make changes in order to fix, or they are fixable via bios/microcode updates. This USB3 problem I guess is more significant and cannot be fixed via these methods but by a new stepping. But to pretend like processors never have problems and Intel is just now selling a faulty chip is nonsense.

Last edited by Denial; 03-15-2013 at 16:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
freeZ
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 670 PE
Processor: i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar STX + HD 600's
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 03-15-2013, 16:03 | posts: 658

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nono06 View Post
Just a stupid question, how many people here use PC sleep mode/resume with USB 3 drive connected and used by an application while going to sleep?

Moreover, just restarting the applications or unplug replug the drive could do the trick. For me it is clearly a minor issue since I only have Sata external drives
I do. Seems pretty inconvenient for the bleeding edge. Think I'd rather wait till they ironed out this problem before considering it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 03-15-2013, 16:47 | posts: 3,827 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Im going to get it anyway, i dont use usb3 and hardly put cpu to sleep so its not a big deal for me.
You're right.

I'm not using Sleep Mode either, nor USB 3.0 on my current motherboard. (But that's because i can't route them to my front panel) I do have a USB 3.0 External HDD and Thumb Drive tho, but i'm a patient person

I think ill just go for Haswell as soon as they are out. By that time my current CPU hits 3,5 years of age, it's time to retire.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 03-15-2013, 16:49 | posts: 3,827 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
Will the Haswell CPU's work with existing X79 chipsets?
Haswell has 1150 pins, x79 has 2011 pins.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
The Chubu
Maha Guru
 
The Chubu's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
Processor: i5 2500K stock
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M Pro
Memory: 16Gb Patriot G2 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Satellite SL-8600EPS 600w
Default 03-15-2013, 17:11 | posts: 2,541 | Location: Look out!

Intel: "Haswell is going to be relased... sometime. It's not like we have to check our release dates against AMD's anymore roflmao"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
{LOD}PITBULL
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7970
Processor: Intel 2600k H2O
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 16G G skill 1600 8,8,8 21
Soundcard: Klipch ultra thx 5.1 X-FI
PSU: Thermaltake 1200W Modular
Default 03-15-2013, 17:14 | posts: 769 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
Haswell has 1150 pins, x79 has 2011 pins.


LOL I was just going to say that...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(14-15-15-34-2T)@2800
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 03-15-2013, 17:14 | posts: 752 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
I'm not talking about performance characteristics, I'm talking about processor errata. Intel documents it on the release of every stepping. Certain programming functions will literally be broken on certain processors. For instance Intel had a TLB bug in it's MMU on Core 2 which would cause hardlock ups of the processor when performing certain operations.

Here is an example of the documentation that Intel releases for programming around errata:

http://download.intel.com/design/mob...T/31407918.pdf

If you scroll down to page 40 you can see the list of all the problems and workarounds for them.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/2477/2

Anandtech did its own write up on the AMD version of the TLB errata.

Most of these problems aren't seen by end users because developers are aware and make changes in order to fix, or they are fixable via bios/microcode updates. This USB3 problem I guess is more significant and cannot be fixed via these methods but by a new stepping. But to pretend like processors never have problems and Intel is just now selling a faulty chip is nonsense.
+1. Bug free HW does not exist. As you said, most of the time SW workarounds (at different levels) correct those problems. On designs I'm working on, we are doing the same. If our low level drivers/BIOS cannot mask the problem we send "coding recommendations" to our customers to avoid any problem in the final products.

The USB 3 problem is not in the CPU but on the “Lynx Point” chipset. So maybe some MB manufacturers will propose a replacement when a fix will be available.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-15-2013, 17:21 | posts: 18,783 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Time to replace socket 1155, I'm buying
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
{LOD}PITBULL
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7970
Processor: Intel 2600k H2O
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 16G G skill 1600 8,8,8 21
Soundcard: Klipch ultra thx 5.1 X-FI
PSU: Thermaltake 1200W Modular
Default 03-15-2013, 17:47 | posts: 769 | Location: Upstate NY

ok when is it saposed to come out. we all know that they are NOT in a rush to put new stuff out.I.E 2011 soc. NO update since chip wise.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-15-2013, 17:58 | posts: 8,088 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by {LOD}PITBULL View Post
ok when is it saposed to come out. we all know that they are NOT in a rush to put new stuff out.I.E 2011 soc. NO update since chip wise.
27.May - 7.June


lol I already bought 2x8Gb Cl9 ddr3 2133mhz and Corsair H90 cooler, all I need is z87 and i7 4770k.. Hurry up intel

Last edited by -Tj-; 03-15-2013 at 18:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.