Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-11-2013, 23:11 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonob View Post
what is related to HWINFO64 temp3? is it the socket? because there is like 10°c difference between cpu temp and this one.
that suck i'm stuck at 4.2Ghz 1.42v, i got random error on all core at 4.3Ghz even with 1.46v with OCCT cpu is at 35°C and temp3 45°c, i'm starting to hate that board and the last F8a bios didn't help with oc. I certainly will try to RMA it and try to get at least a 990X instead.
AIDA64 readings are correct. The sensors are labelled CPU Temp.

Use the AIDA64 plugin for OCCT.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-11-2013 at 23:14.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-11-2013, 23:17 | posts: 11,985 | Location: USA

Can you post a SS of your sensor tab. I'm not sure what gigabyte uses and dont want to give you the wrong sensor
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-11-2013, 23:18 | posts: 11,985 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
AIDA64 readings are correct. The sensors are labelled CPU Temp.

Use the AIDA64 plugin for OCCT.
I can confirm this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-11-2013, 23:27 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
ALright guys. I have officially hit my max clock of 4.7GHz. I am not trying for anything higher on air. Even with a Thermalright Silver Arrow strapped to the CPU. I'm happy with the speed I got. the voltage may seem low, but when the CPU gets used, it' cranks up to 1.440v Now I just need to work on getting the NB settled and im good to go.





http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2687587
Hey why is your HT @2200? should be 2600.....it'll do over 3000 though without issue.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-11-2013, 23:28 | posts: 11,985 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
You sure it's the mobo? Could be the HDD.....

False alarm. It is my PSU that is making the clicking noise. Is it normal for it to do that when it powers off and/or restarts? It's really not that noticeable until you put your ear right up to it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
bonob
Master Guru
 
bonob's Avatar
 
Videocard: radeon hd 6970 2 go
Processor: FX 8320/H2O
Mainboard: gigabyte GA 970 UD3 v1.2
Memory: PC3 15000 corsair 8g
Soundcard: VIA HD audio
PSU: Antec HCG 900
Default 02-11-2013, 23:31 | posts: 335 | Location: France

http://s4.postimage.org/yoqdot2ml/Sans_titre.png
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
Memory: Ripjaws X 1866 @ 2160
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: 1000 watt
Default 02-11-2013, 23:31 | posts: 1,050 | Location: South Dakota

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
You sure it's the mobo? Could be the HDD.....

I already did that yesterday in the 3DM 2013 thread. Some newbie with a 2500K was bragging how his i5 could beat the 8320, so I called him out on it...

Well my Vishera @~5Ghz beat his 5Ghz 2500K by about 400 points in the Fire Strike physics test.

He couldn't admit defeat and made every excuse under the sun as to why he lost, then started to ramble on about how Vishera sucked blah blah....in the end I sent Hilbert a pm about his behavior.

Here's an example...(this was (AFTER I beat him). lol http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=319

AIDA64 shows the correct CPU temp but the core temps are all messed up.
I checked the reading against the ASUS Thermal Radar CPU sensor which I know is accurate, they were both the same.

HWiNFO64 is also accurate as Phazedelta said.


Oh my god, that reminds me of this.. Wonder if its the same guy.

read all the posts by JML

Is from wccftech forum

 Click to show spoiler



These super fan boys have never even looked at some of the results of the 8350 and just spit this junk all over the internet.. Thinkin they are funny and so smug about it, it makes me sick.. I mean to think someone can be that self ignorant. Anyways off topic... That link should give you a laugh..

Last edited by Taint3dBulge; 02-11-2013 at 23:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-11-2013, 23:34 | posts: 11,985 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Hey why is your HT @2200? should be 2600.....it'll do over 3000 though without issue.
All stuff I have read about HT overclocking says its a negligible difference from stock. My NB is overclocked to 2800MHz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
bonob
Master Guru
 
bonob's Avatar
 
Videocard: radeon hd 6970 2 go
Processor: FX 8320/H2O
Mainboard: gigabyte GA 970 UD3 v1.2
Memory: PC3 15000 corsair 8g
Soundcard: VIA HD audio
PSU: Antec HCG 900
Default 02-11-2013, 23:39 | posts: 335 | Location: France

even at 1.48v for 4.3Ghz i see error on some core definitely something wrong with this board
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-11-2013, 23:40 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
All stuff I have read about HT overclocking says its a negligible difference from stock. My NB is overclocked to 2800MHz
Yeah that's true in relation to the Athlon/Phenom but I'm pretty sure the 8320 got better results with it at 2600....

Actually I think I'll double check that since I don't really remember lol
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#111)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
Memory: Ripjaws X 1866 @ 2160
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: 1000 watt
Default 02-11-2013, 23:42 | posts: 1,050 | Location: South Dakota

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
All stuff I have read about HT overclocking says its a negligible difference from stock. My NB is overclocked to 2800MHz
You will see a diffrence in you HT at 3ghz when you have ram that is 2133 or higher.. of course the higher your ram is clocked the more you will see a diffrence... Or so it has been told with the phII Have myn oced to 3ghz and my ram is/was at 2100mhz i have downclocked it cause something started acting funky afew days ago and try ing to figure it out, but not going toworry about it since i got new stuff coming.. no need to tweak it any more.. 4.5ghz off a 1055t was the best i could do... now 5.2ghz here i come.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-11-2013, 23:47 | posts: 11,985 | Location: USA

LOL man I remember when people use to say PC3200 ram was fast. And now we have kits that can hit 3GHz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-11-2013, 23:55 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taint3dBulge View Post
Oh my god, that reminds me of this.. Wonder if its the same guy.

read all the posts by JML

Is from wccftech forum

These super fan boys have never even looked at some of the results of the 8350 and just spit this junk all over the internet.. Thinkin they are funny and so smug about it, it makes me sick.. I mean to think someone can be that self ignorant. Anyways off topic... That link should give you a laugh..
What a douche, idiots like him should be banned from the internet..

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonob View Post
even at 1.48v for 4.3Ghz i see error on some core definitely something wrong with this board
What error?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
LOL man I remember when people use to say PC3200 ram was fast. And now we have kits that can hit 3GHz.
What about PC133? Way faster than PC66
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-12-2013, 00:03 | posts: 11,985 | Location: USA

Dat voltage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
bonob
Master Guru
 
bonob's Avatar
 
Videocard: radeon hd 6970 2 go
Processor: FX 8320/H2O
Mainboard: gigabyte GA 970 UD3 v1.2
Memory: PC3 15000 corsair 8g
Soundcard: VIA HD audio
PSU: Antec HCG 900
Default 02-12-2013, 00:04 | posts: 335 | Location: France

error with OCCT, sometime core 0 ,or core 8, or core 2....i was thinking probably foolishly that i can push higher than 200 poor Mhz above the max turbo of this chip and with an 8+2 pwer phase this board seems enough to oc more, i was wrong, horribily wrong i should hav spend 50 euro more to get a better one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2013, 00:45 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
All stuff I have read about HT overclocking says its a negligible difference from stock. My NB is overclocked to 2800MHz
How many volts for 2800?

Oh btw last night I discovered that overcurrent protection kicks in at 1.62v....just in case you were wondering.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-12-2013 at 00:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-12-2013, 00:54 | posts: 11,985 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
How many volts for 2800?
Too fu*king many. almost 1.29v

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Oh btw last night I discovered that overcurrent protection kicks in at 1.62v....just in case you were wondering.
Not even going to ask how you know that lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2013, 00:56 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Too fu*king many. almost 1.29v
Really? You're lucky...I need 1.4 for 2700
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-12-2013, 00:58 | posts: 11,985 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Really? You're lucky...I need 1.4 for 2700
For the NB voltage?????

It goes into the red shortly after 1.3v.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 02-12-2013, 01:32 | posts: 15,586 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
I already did that yesterday in the 3DM 2013 thread. Some newbie with a 2500K was bragging how his i5 could beat the 8320, so I called him out on it...

Well my Vishera @~5Ghz beat his 5Ghz 2500K by about 400 points in the Fire Strike physics test.

He couldn't admit defeat and made every excuse under the sun as to why he lost, then started to ramble on about how Vishera sucked blah blah....in the end I sent Hilbert a pm about his behavior.

Here's an example...(this was (AFTER I beat him). lol http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=319
Don't worry about that kid...he obviously has some issues to deal with.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-12-2013, 03:57 | posts: 8,476 | Location: London, Ontario

I have an 8350 on the way, was wondering if there's anything different when overclocking compared to good old Phenom II. Pill, I'm sure you've gone balls deep already, what's your take? I went with the '50 because they're supposedly binned better, so I'm expecting some good clockin'.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2013, 06:58 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
I have an 8350 on the way, was wondering if there's anything different when overclocking compared to good old Phenom II. Pill, I'm sure you've gone balls deep already, what's your take? I went with the '50 because they're supposedly binned better, so I'm expecting some good clockin'.
Hey man, yeah it's just like overclocking the Phenom II the same rules apply. 1.55v absolute max (not recommended though). What else... raising the CPU/NB past 2600 seems to give little or no gains.

Disabling cores doesn't give higher overclocks fwiw....

Still testing the HT, got it sitting at 3000mhz just now and I'm going to run some different benches and see if improves performance.....

The 8320/8350 seem to have the same OC headroom, however I have found the CPU/NB to be very stubborn since I need about 1.45v for 2800 which is ridiculous.

PhazeDelta is only using 1.29v for his NB, this could indicate the chips are binned but I don't know for sure yet.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-12-2013 at 07:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-12-2013, 07:05 | posts: 8,476 | Location: London, Ontario

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Hey man, yeah it's just like overclocking the Phenom II the same rules apply. 1.55v absolute max (not recommended though). What else... raising the CPU/NB past 2600 seems to give little or no gains.

Disabling cores doesn't give higher overclocks fwiw....

Still testing the HT, got it sitting at 3000mhz just now and I'm going to run some different benches and see if improves performance.....

The 8320/8350 seem to have the same OC headroom, however I have found the CPU/NB to be very stubborn since I need about 1.45v for 2800 which is ridiculous.

PhazeDelta is only using 1.29v for his NB, this could indicate the chips are binned but I don't know for sure yet.
Hmmm...nice to know. I'll see what mine can do when it arrives. I also grabbed some new RAM to play with since this is Gen 1 DDR3 (Ancient stuff, 1.65-1.85V range lawl). Some G.Skill 1866. Hopefully I can get it to 2133 or around there. What timings are you at to run that high?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2013, 07:16 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
Hmmm...nice to know. I'll see what mine can do when it arrives. I also grabbed some new RAM to play with since this is Gen 1 DDR3 (Ancient stuff, 1.65-1.85V range lawl). Some G.Skill 1866. Hopefully I can get it to 2133 or around there. What timings are you at to run that high?
Using 1.6v
This is actually 1866 but I overclocked it. Gotta love Hynix!


Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-12-2013 at 07:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-12-2013, 07:24 | posts: 8,476 | Location: London, Ontario

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Using 1.6v
This is actually 1866 but I overclocked it. Gotta love Hynix!

Nice. Does FX have a memory voltage limit like Sandy Bridge? And how did you find out what IC's your memory is using?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
one step back

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.