Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1451)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 01-18-2013, 14:20 | posts: 3,509 | Location: Australia

The desktop of Windows 8 doesn't really need much done to it to make it look far superior, even without Aero Glass etc (although a variation on that would be even better again). I strongly dislike the 'white' theme Microsoft have going on at the moment, like the title bars in Windows 8, the whole interface of Office 2013, which really is unpleasant to look at over a full working day. Like many people I find little use of using Metro Apps, and once everything is installed the metro tiles get just as cluttered if not more than the standard start menu (since the normal app tiles are read from the structure of the start menu folders). In any case, even if I relent in terms of the basic styling in Windows 8, it could have been much better and it wouldn't take too much effort. If the rumors of Windows Blue is true in terms of the UI being even flatter and more bland, it really won't look good. I believe the basic principle is to make standard apps less interesting to make metro apps (that you pay for through their store) more interesting, but it really isn't working. People are going to Windows 8 in droves because of the price, not because of the neutering of the UI. Whether these people fall for buying stuff off the App store so Microsoft can make their sale profits through there is anyone's guess, but due to the nature of the store it is more profitable even if the overall cost per installed license is less than what it would be if the person paid the typical price for said license. Confused? Microsoft are counting on that!
   
 
Old
  (#1452)
Major Melchett
Maha Guru
 
Major Melchett's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 is ALIVE!!!.
Processor: AMD X3 450 @ X4 3.875ghz
Mainboard: GA-MA770T-UD3
Memory: 8GB Muskin 1666 CL9
Soundcard: Onboard Nvidia
PSU: High Power 1000w (100a)
Default 01-18-2013, 15:58 | posts: 2,253 | Location: Manchester, UK

Had it for about 2 weeks now and love it, I use Décor8 to so I can make the switch from lock, to metro to desktop look more natural/correct.

Basically I have the same wallpaper across all 3 screens (lock/metro/desktop) but each has a different look, so on the lock screen the wallpaper is black and white, then on metro it's colour and blurred and on desktop it's colour and clear.

It's a great effect IMO, it really helps gel things together along with the way Windows fades things in and out.
---
Only 2 things I'd really want added, to be able to select any wallpaper on metro without a 3rd party program and something like Oblytile being added in as well (basically the option to select custom images for all tiles via right click menu).

Last edited by Major Melchett; 01-18-2013 at 16:00.
   
Old
  (#1453)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 01-18-2013, 21:43 | posts: 15,602 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
@ seaplane pilot - CyberPaddy must work for Microsoft or something because I cannot see how anyone can think that the current implementation of the Modern UI Start screen is actually good for the following reasons:

<...snip....>
Everyone has their own opinion. Some of us genuinely like how Windows8 is, including the "Modern UI". There are a few things that need some work, like adding POP3 support to the built in Mail app and adding support for printing from the built in PDF reader....hell, even PROPER support for Bluetooth would be nice but for the most part it's down to personal taste. Just because you're not found of the "Modern UI".....doesn't mean someone else is an MS employee, fanboy, etc...


   
Old
  (#1454)
ElementalDragon
Ancient Guru
 
ElementalDragon's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 760 ACX
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87I-Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: on-board
PSU: Seasonic 650W
Default 01-19-2013, 01:44 | posts: 8,500 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Everyone has their own opinion. Some of us genuinely like how Windows8 is, including the "Modern UI". There are a few things that need some work, like adding POP3 support to the built in Mail app and adding support for printing from the built in PDF reader....hell, even PROPER support for Bluetooth would be nice but for the most part it's down to personal taste. Just because you're not found of the "Modern UI".....doesn't mean someone else is an MS employee, fanboy, etc...
I just don't understand what people are doing that results in them constantly seeing the Start screen. Granted, i don't use my computer for all THAT much, besides gaming and such, but how many people actually have a few dozen apps installed on their computer and actually USE every single one of them on a daily basis, sometimes several times a day? Have shortcuts for the ones you are regularly using, and Start Screen icons for the ones you use, but not as often, and just use the Start screen search for the rest, which is extremely quick.

IMHO, I think it winds up being a BETTER solution than the Start Menu in that way. You can customize the Start screen with only the apps you want to have a shortcut there, and easily search for the rare app. Yea, you can de-clutter the old start menu as well, but then if you DO need to use one of those rare apps that you hardly use, you'd either have to browse through folders to try to find the exe, or search for the folder or .exe file name.

Last edited by ElementalDragon; 01-19-2013 at 01:46.
   
 
Old
  (#1455)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 2600 3.9-4.20
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 01-19-2013, 15:17 | posts: 2,373 | Location: florida

if any body is interested virtualcustoms.com has a theme that makes it so inactive windows isnt white. which is a good thing, for me I use dark colors but with windows themes the inactive windows would be white, which would clash with the dark colors.
   
Old
  (#1456)
Keitosha
Ancient Guru
 
Keitosha's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 270 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme3
Memory: 32GB Kingston 4x8GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z / SH HD477
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 01-20-2013, 11:09 | posts: 4,495 | Location: Windows 8.1 U1 Pro WMC x64

Does anyone have a spare unused WMC key? Trying to get one via the site and i also tried calling MS support, no luck. Was told the only way to obtain keys now is to wait after Jan 31st and pay 10 euro's for it.

So much for keeping that gift site alive.
   
Old
  (#1457)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 01-20-2013, 13:21 | posts: 5,660 | Location: Urban`Jungle

people still whining about metro start?

I dont mind it one bit, at first when i checked videos i had a problem, but now when im using it its actually very good and it doesnt come in the way one bit.

Imo Win8 is great, the only thing that needs attention is better driver support, some games run worse compared to win7, nvidia needs some more homework.

For example Warframe physx3/apex game runs up to 10fps lower by min fps, 40-45fps vs 50-60fps (win7) by min fps. And some games dont work at all, ok 1-2 so far.
   
Old
  (#1458)
Major Melchett
Maha Guru
 
Major Melchett's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 is ALIVE!!!.
Processor: AMD X3 450 @ X4 3.875ghz
Mainboard: GA-MA770T-UD3
Memory: 8GB Muskin 1666 CL9
Soundcard: Onboard Nvidia
PSU: High Power 1000w (100a)
Default 01-20-2013, 13:40 | posts: 2,253 | Location: Manchester, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keitosha View Post
Does anyone have a spare unused WMC key?
Check ya PM.
   
Old
  (#1459)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX 290x/ 2x 7970L
Processor: 3930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: R4BE/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 16GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: SupremeFX/ Disabled
PSU: NEX1500/ AX1200i-/ AX1200
Default 01-20-2013, 16:02 | posts: 991 | Location: Nebulas

I PMd one to someone a month back and didn't even get a thank you. **** you, your welcome you ungrateful sack of sheep's testicles whoever that was. Lol!
   
Old
  (#1460)
F1refly
Ancient Guru
 
F1refly's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel Iris Pro
Processor: Core i7
Mainboard: Apple
Memory: 8 gigs
Soundcard: Apple
PSU: Apple
Default 01-20-2013, 20:31 | posts: 8,698 | Location: Indiana

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaplane pilot View Post
I PMd one to someone a month back and didn't even get a thank you. **** you, your welcome you ungrateful sack of sheep's testicles whoever that was. Lol!
Kids today think everyone owes them. It was his right to have that WMC key ya know.
   
 
Old
  (#1461)
Keitosha
Ancient Guru
 
Keitosha's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 270 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme3
Memory: 32GB Kingston 4x8GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z / SH HD477
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 01-20-2013, 21:09 | posts: 4,495 | Location: Windows 8.1 U1 Pro WMC x64

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major Melchett View Post
Check ya PM.
Same key, mate and already in use. Thank you very much for the effort. Does not matter though. Guess i'll fork out 10 euro's after the 31st.
   
Old
  (#1462)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 01-21-2013, 02:49 | posts: 15,602 | Location: US East Coast

Over the last few days, I've played with several antivirus apps in Windows8. Biggest mistake was installing Comodo.... It decided to sandbox several system files and drivers with no notification what so ever. The result was BSOD after BSOD.... Oh well, list of antivirus apps below...issues noted where experienced.....your experience may vary. This was done as a result of my own boredom and my Avast subscription expiring.

Comodo Antivirus (BSOD)
Comodo Internet Security (BSOD)
Norton Antivirus
Norton 360
Norton Internet Security
BitDefender Free (Requires removal of Malwarebyte's)
BitDefender Windows8 Security (too many false positives)
Avast Antivirus Pro
Avast Antivirus Free (BSOD)
Panda Cloud Antivirus Free
Panda Cloud Cleaner (Few false positives from Creative drivers, eVGA Precision and FAH)
McAfee SiteAdvisor (still nearly useless)
Microsoft Windows Defender

Still going for....
McAfee Antivirus Plus
Panda Antivirus Pro


   
Old
  (#1463)
KissSh0t
Maha Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX AMD R9 270 DD 2GB
Processor: Phenom 955 @3.8GHz 1.380v
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: 8GB 1333 CL7 Ripjaws X
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 01-21-2013, 07:23 | posts: 1,859 | Location: Deep Dark Dungeon

You use Antivirus 0_o

I have never actually used one before, I have always considered it bloatware.

The only time I recall having virus was back in Windows 2000 and XP days.
   
Old
  (#1464)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 01-21-2013, 07:37 | posts: 3,509 | Location: Australia

How would you know you have a virus, trojan, keylogger, or any other kind of nasty if you don't have an antivirus? Just a day or so ago it was pointed out in this thread http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=373796 that you don't have to visit dodgy websites to risk being infected. Actually, you can become infected merely by an infected site knowing your IP address and sending you bad packets.

Remember that websites these days are NOT self-contained. When you open a website you are actually downloading info from potentially several websites (the website you are visiting, the websites that host the ads, websites that host pics, and the websites that host the pics having their own ads etc...). You really only need to come across a site that links you to malware once to cause a crapload of headaches and lost credit details etc.

In terms of antiviruses:
Avast - is known to cause BSODS, but has improved in the latest update. Still potentially causes the odd BSOD relating to something Microsoft did with their networking files. This error was actually introduced in one of the big updates that was released when Windows 8 first came out. Expected to be fully resolved with Avast 8 which they are heavily working on.

Avira - I'm not sure whether this officially supports Windows 8 yet or not, it didn't a month or so ago. The latest beta test version does fully support Windows 8, and doesn't cause BSODS. This is what I am currently using (Avira free beta, currently program version 13.0.0.3021). If you want the beta you can simply join the beta test programme.

The main issue with Windows 8 is the lack of UI choice, and it is only because they want to promote the Windows store. The new Windows pricing probably reflects the case that the Windows store is less successful than they anticipated, meaning less profits through the store so they are going back to making the majority of the money in the sale. It is the ONLY reason why it was such a cheap upgrade. Microsoft aren't going to do you any favours through the kindest of their hearts, it's profit driven! They are just hoping people are gullible enough to fall for their marketing. Windows 8 isn't the cleanest UI around, it could have been far better. No excuse for the Windows 95 style icons with the solid green backgrounds. No excuse for the absolute boring flat white interfaces and solid colours other than to encourage people to use Metro Apps etc. I bet you Apple users are laughing at gullible pro-Windows people at the moment, since Apple does believe an attractive UI that's well trimmed is very important.

Last edited by thatguy91; 01-21-2013 at 07:46.
   
Old
  (#1465)
ElementalDragon
Ancient Guru
 
ElementalDragon's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 760 ACX
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87I-Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: on-board
PSU: Seasonic 650W
Default 01-21-2013, 07:43 | posts: 8,500 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Can't seem to get my TV to be detected over HDMI anymore... but i'm guessing that's probably more my HDMI cable and not Windows 8....
   
Old
  (#1466)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX 290x/ 2x 7970L
Processor: 3930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: R4BE/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 16GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: SupremeFX/ Disabled
PSU: NEX1500/ AX1200i-/ AX1200
Default 01-21-2013, 08:28 | posts: 991 | Location: Nebulas

anti virus programs, bah!
   
Old
  (#1467)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 2600 3.9-4.20
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 01-21-2013, 12:52 | posts: 2,373 | Location: florida

I find that bitdefender works good for me. and there on top of the charts right now. and less resource hog when file browsing. I was using windows 8 builtin antivirus and when browsing files. cpu usage are sky rocketing. and files took longer to show.


and they got the free antivirus now. which I installed on my dad lappy and wow it very basic. no options really. just on and off.

Last edited by dsbig; 01-21-2013 at 12:55.
   
Old
  (#1468)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 01-21-2013, 17:50 | posts: 15,602 | Location: US East Coast

As long as you don't mind it branding perfectly harmless files as "virus"....it's fine. My issue is that it declared perfectly harmless cookies as "virus" and then removed the cookies without any interaction. False positives that are "cleaned" without user interaction can be as disasterous, or more so, than an actual infection.... Fortunately, they were login cookies used for multi-layer authentication....


   
Old
  (#1469)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 01-21-2013, 21:37 | posts: 18,226 | Location: Turkey

How was that trick that u able to enter os without password screen after a restart please?
   
Old
  (#1470)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 01-21-2013, 22:34 | posts: 15,602 | Location: US East Coast

I use a blank password... unless your computer is shared by multiple users, there's no real need for a password.


   
Old
  (#1471)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 01-21-2013, 22:39 | posts: 18,226 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
I use a blank password... unless your computer is shared by multiple users, there's no real need for a password.
Hmm. But I'm using online account. So I think it must be ON. Or not? Confused big time.
   
Old
  (#1472)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 01-21-2013, 23:22 | posts: 15,602 | Location: US East Coast

If you're using a Microsoft account, you'll have to type your password each time if it doesn't give you an option to store it.


   
Old
  (#1473)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 01-21-2013, 23:29 | posts: 18,226 | Location: Turkey

http://www.pcworld.com/article/20155...rd-screen.html

This is it
   
Old
  (#1474)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 01-22-2013, 10:17 | posts: 2,986 | Location: Germany

Thanks for sharing! I had the exact same problem

I really like Win8 so far on my gaming machine. Tried it out for its advanced audio features and I even like the new UI and built-in features.
Bought a second license for my laptop but haven't installed anything yet. More backups needed and I wanted to be sure I didn't miss anything.
The built-in apps are great but apart from their easy initial setup they don't really want to be changed in any way, right?
As I only have an older Office license I'm not sure it will integrate very well.
   
Old
  (#1475)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 01-22-2013, 12:12 | posts: 18,226 | Location: Turkey

you are welcome.

and iam in such regret. i bought a LENOVO YOGA 11" Tablet-Laptop which came with Windows RT, but didnt know RT doesnt run EXE files at all which wont run any windows application, program or game. only Windows STORE..

well, i use it surfing, email, productivity.no gaming. but at least i wanted to use media player classic, winamp, itunes, and anti virus.

but interestingly yet again default os videoplayer can run FLV files. and as i read RT doenst affected by viruses..interesting..

i strongly recommend that device. can run for hours on battery without an issue.
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.