Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#726)
slickric21
Maha Guru
 
slickric21's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming /AOC GSync
Processor: 4770k 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 DG65
Memory: 16Gb Gskill TriX 2666mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 1150
PSU: Corsait GS 800
Default 12-23-2012, 14:19 | posts: 2,137 | Location: U.K



Not had much luck with the Flash based testers ??? (eg speedtest.net) so having to use other sites to test speed, sadly none give a sig apart from this one.

Paying £20pm for 9ths, then £30 thereafter iirc for above speeds.
Rock solid, 24/7.
9.6MB/s up and 2.4MB/s down throughput.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#727)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 01-10-2013, 03:56 | posts: 16,767 | Location: US East Coast

Been having some issues with the wife's laptop and new connection speed. Decided tonight to run the connection test and came up with this.



That's on a 50/25 connection.... Her ping is a bit higher than mine....I'm guessing due to wireless-G


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#728)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 01-21-2013, 13:31 | posts: 11,092 | Location: Finland

LTE, unlimited but speed capped to 50 Mbit, costs 19,99 €/month. Almost makes me want to pay a bit more for 100 Mbit.



Replaces our ADSL. Redid the test and got 44 Mbit for upload.

Last edited by Anarion; 01-23-2013 at 01:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#729)
BABA-The Hacker
Banned
 
Videocard: PALIT GTX770 OC 2GB
Processor: i7-4790K - Devil's Canyon
Mainboard: ECS-Z87H3-A2XG GANK MACH
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair Carbide Series™ 4
Default 01-21-2013, 19:10 | posts: 455 | Location: Xylanthia

check network adapter card properties>IPV4 or IPV6 settings.... at the bottom:

set to : Obtain DNS server address automatically

Last edited by BABA-The Hacker; 01-21-2013 at 19:16.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#730)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3570K 4.0/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 16GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 01-21-2013, 19:15 | posts: 9,460 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha



My Cell xD with 3 bars reception.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#731)
__hollywood|meo
Maha Guru
 
__hollywood|meo's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 570
Processor: x6 1090T 3.6ghz @1.34v
Mainboard: Asus M4A785TD-V Evo
Memory: 2x4gb Corsair V 1600
Soundcard: M-Audio Revo/Inspire 5.1s
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w Quad
Default 01-22-2013, 11:26 | posts: 2,341 | Location: why do you want to know? stalkers..

Quote:
Originally Posted by __hollywood|meo View Post


just moved. my internets back up, looking good. lines listed as 20/2 btw

its nice being able to disable the wireless transmitter and QoS on my router. no more roommates! yay
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#732)
Shadowdane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti SLI
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3-2400
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Corsair 850HX
Default 01-22-2013, 17:18 | posts: 800 | Location: Virginia

Just upgraded to 100/20 package with Cox... god I love it!

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#733)
dsbig
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 01-28-2013, 15:18 | posts: 2,773 | Location: florida

im jealous of you people with those high download and upload speed.

I just upgraded from 40 to 60





I have nightmares about going back to dialup

Last edited by dsbig; 01-28-2013 at 15:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#734)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 SLI 878/1756/2187
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4 ghz
Mainboard: EVGA 790i SLI FTW PWM
Memory: 8 GB Vengeance 2000mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 02-25-2013, 16:14 | posts: 375 | Location: Minnesota



Oh how I do love my tech college's fiber. I found a way to get onto Steam with this connection too.




Above is my household internet connection.

Last edited by Mda400; 12-06-2013 at 16:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#735)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 02-25-2013, 16:19 | posts: 1,822



30/2 max, plus 30 channels - 31.04€=40,8$
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#736)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 03-11-2013, 21:15 | posts: 11,092 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mda400 View Post


Oh how I do love my tech college's fiber. I found a way to get onto Steam with this connection too
It's kinda funny how wireless connection gives really nice speed nowadays, ping is even ping is acceptable without bad jitter and upload speeds are awesome. And it's cheap too compared to wired alternatives!


(artificial speed cap @ 50Mbit, can't get it all for 19,90 €/month )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#737)
Triton
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7970
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 03-18-2013, 23:08 | posts: 25



250 down, 15 up, 1TB bandwidth. $115 a month (before tax) but it's worth it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#738)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 03-18-2013, 23:21 | posts: 11,415 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triton View Post


250 down, 15 up, 1TB bandwidth. $115 a month (before tax) but it's worth it.
Christ on a bike, that's fast.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#739)
Triton
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7970
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 03-19-2013, 06:16 | posts: 25

Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
Christ on a bike, that's fast.
Downloading games on Steam takes minutes, torrents go stupid fast and I can leave them seeding afterwards at a good speed without worrying about choking my connection. I love it.

My previous connection was DSL, 15 down, 1 up. Never going back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#740)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 03-19-2013, 18:19 | posts: 11,092 | Location: Finland

Doesn't sound that good value wise. 350 Mbit down and 20 Mbit up connections (obviously without any caps) go here for 70,47 €/kk (including 24% VAT).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#741)
LNCPapa
Master Guru
 
LNCPapa's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970 (2-way)
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.6
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth P67
Memory: 16 GB 1600 (4x4)
Soundcard: SB-Z + WooAudio WA7
PSU: 1000W CM
Default 03-19-2013, 22:04 | posts: 229

Sitting at my desk at work


Too bad my home connection doesn't compare.


Last edited by LNCPapa; 03-20-2013 at 05:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#742)
freeZ
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 670 PE
Processor: i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar STX + HD 600's
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 03-20-2013, 02:43 | posts: 658

Looking at some of these connections, especially the full duplex ones, I'm very jealous.

The internet situation in Canada is brutal.

28/1 for ~$70 a month. Which compared to what I used to be paying isn't too bad, but the upload speed kills me. Can't even upload my music collection to Google Music (would probably take weeks). I think the most upload you can currently get from the Big 3 is 2mbit.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#743)
remixedcat
Newbie
 
remixedcat's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce 650TiSSC 1GB
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 3.8Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro3
Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 03-20-2013, 18:35 | posts: 18

22 down/1.5 up and paying around 55/mo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#744)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 03-20-2013, 22:06 | posts: 3,048 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeZ View Post
Looking at some of these connections, especially the full duplex ones, I'm very jealous.

The internet situation in Canada is brutal.

28/1 for ~$70 a month. Which compared to what I used to be paying isn't too bad, but the upload speed kills me. Can't even upload my music collection to Google Music (would probably take weeks). I think the most upload you can currently get from the Big 3 is 2mbit.
I didn't think Teksavvy was that expensive.

With Acanaca 28/1 I pay $45 a month unlimited.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#745)
Triton
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7970
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 03-21-2013, 11:46 | posts: 25

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
Doesn't sound that good value wise. 350 Mbit down and 20 Mbit up connections (obviously without any caps) go here for 70,47 €/kk (including 24% VAT).
For North America it's not bad. Our internet situation is a bit different because Canada and the USA are so large. European countries are small.

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeZ View Post
Looking at some of these connections, especially the full duplex ones, I'm very jealous.

The internet situation in Canada is brutal.

28/1 for ~$70 a month. Which compared to what I used to be paying isn't too bad, but the upload speed kills me. Can't even upload my music collection to Google Music (would probably take weeks). I think the most upload you can currently get from the Big 3 is 2mbit.
I'm in Canada. It's not that bad unless you live in a rural location, really.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interne...ada#Comparison

I hope Novus brings fibre to my neighbourhood soon...

Last edited by Triton; 03-22-2013 at 10:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#746)
twtaylor
Ancient Guru
 
twtaylor's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 2gb
Processor: i5 3350P on an H60
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
Memory: Corsair 8gb DDR3 DC
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Corsair 500w
Default 03-21-2013, 12:57 | posts: 2,861 | Location: Barrie, ON Canada



This is in Canada too so It's not all doom and gloom plus I have unlimited downloading. 75.00CAD/mo Yes, Rogers has unlimited for an extra 10.00CAD/mo.

Last edited by twtaylor; 03-21-2013 at 13:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#747)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 03-21-2013, 16:28 | posts: 2,169 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania


4G hotspot from Clear. I get almost double the speed I pay for, but probably because I live down the street from a Clearwire tower...
I've read about them throttling peoples speed often, but I've had a constant 8-10mb since I got it. Again, probably because I live so close to a tower.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#748)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 07-18-2013, 16:15 | posts: 9,668 | Location: Ireland

Hard to believe i started this thread 5 years ago with this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmimmfn View Post
This doesnt seem to be the right area, but where is?
Anyway, this is my mega connection, 3Mb connection, 66euro per month
And as of 3 days ago, this is now my broadband for €32 a month

Woohoo, happy days.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#749)
dsbig
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 07-22-2013, 17:16 | posts: 2,773 | Location: florida

upgraded to 90, but me thinks they use booster because everytime I upgrade it 10 higher



edit:

interesting fact of the day

when I upgraded from 70 to 90. I had to reboot my modem as the upgrade wasnt taking effect. but this was the reason why

when I had the 70 speed. my modem was using 4 downstream channels. now with the 90 its using 6 downstream channels channels.

Last edited by dsbig; 07-23-2013 at 13:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#750)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 08-09-2013, 00:04 | posts: 1,312 | Location: The Netherlands

04-27-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyNL View Post


Just upgraded my dedicated 12 to an advertised max of 20 mbps ADSL2+ line with equal upload speed of 1024 kbps. Same price of 20€/month.
Speed difference seems almost neglectible, though. Max usenet DL speed went from 1.5 to 1.7 MB/s.

In about 4 years time I went from 56kpbs to 1 mbps to 4 mbps to 12 mbps and now to 20 mbps. Where would we be in 4 more years?
08-22-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyNL View Post
Just about 1 year left and last year it was heaven like this:

This is cable, Ziggo Alles-in-1-Extra 120/10Mbps. Download speed is fine (I have to combine several Usenet accounts just to get there), but I wish the upload speed to be a bit faster though
Got a sweet network upgrade from my provider today (finally)
EDIT: 150/15

Last edited by FatBoyNL; 08-09-2013 at 00:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.