Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
alco
Maha Guru
 
alco's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus gtx780 DirectcuII OC
Processor: 4770K @ water
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87 OC-Force
Memory: 16 Gig Ripjaws
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZXR
PSU: C.master silent pro 1000W
Default 07-11-2012, 21:43 | posts: 933 | Location: Netherlands

correct got 1 card working @ 3d speed when playing the movie
only thing is after stop playing the ticked gpu acceleration is again on off ?
can you tell me what settings are giving me the absolute best possible image quality
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
chainik
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD HD 5670
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Zalman ZM460B
Default 07-13-2012, 09:31 | posts: 21 | Location: Saint-Petersburg

@alco
http://www.svp-team.com/wiki/FAQ#Wha...best_settings?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Zach_
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC Sig 2
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 8GB Corsair Ven DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Audio 8 DJ
PSU: Seasonic X-650
Default 07-27-2012, 17:47 | posts: 47

Hey Chillin,

I replaced my 7950 to a GTX680 and installed SVP from scratch, with PotPlayer, and I used Maken's guide, except I set madVR scaling settings to the max (8 taps and scale with linear light) but I have one little issue with the CPU usage.

I have all settings setup exactly like he explained in his guide, but my CPU is still hitting up to 65% usage when running 1080p movies. GPU % is around 30% which is perfectly fine with me.

Is there something I can do? Previously when I changed DXVA from Copy Back to Native it resolved the issue, but now I'm using NVIDIA CUVID DXVA and the CPU usage is pretty high.

This is my system:

i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.35V
Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
MSI Z77A-GD65
2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Red DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature 2
Seasonic X-650 Gold 80 Plus
Crucial Micron M4 128GB SSD
Western Digital 1TB Caviar Blue 7200RPM
Corsair Obsidian 650D
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Can you please help me reduce CPU usage, without hurting the image quality? Maybe there's a setting I missed?

Thanks for the help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 12-17-2012, 12:34 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach_ View Post
Hey Chillin,

I replaced my 7950 to a GTX680 and installed SVP from scratch, with PotPlayer, and I used Maken's guide, except I set madVR scaling settings to the max (8 taps and scale with linear light) but I have one little issue with the CPU usage.

I have all settings setup exactly like he explained in his guide, but my CPU is still hitting up to 65% usage when running 1080p movies. GPU % is around 30% which is perfectly fine with me.

Is there something I can do? Previously when I changed DXVA from Copy Back to Native it resolved the issue, but now I'm using NVIDIA CUVID DXVA and the CPU usage is pretty high.

This is my system:

i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.35V
Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
MSI Z77A-GD65
2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Red DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature 2
Seasonic X-650 Gold 80 Plus
Crucial Micron M4 128GB SSD
Western Digital 1TB Caviar Blue 7200RPM
Corsair Obsidian 650D
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Can you please help me reduce CPU usage, without hurting the image quality? Maybe there's a setting I missed?

Thanks for the help.
Not sure, but does it matter? You have a powerful CPU there for a reason, let the program make the best use of it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 12-29-2012, 06:04 | posts: 1,353 | Location: Australia, QLD

I get artifacts whatever I do, is there supposed to be a bit regardless of how perfect you have it setup? Or has anyone actually been able to eliminate them all?

60 fps, 120 fps doesn't matter always get them. Kind of looks a bit like images are tearing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 12-29-2012, 06:45 | posts: 23,433 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

is vsync enabled ? right mouse click in mpc when playing video / render settings / vsync
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 12-29-2012, 06:56 | posts: 1,353 | Location: Australia, QLD

Using potplayer and bs.player.

MPC works well?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 12-29-2012, 07:08 | posts: 23,433 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

oh i see, potplayer doesnt have vsync ? if it works well for you i dont know, youll have to try out yourself
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
chainik
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD HD 5670
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Zalman ZM460B
Default 12-30-2012, 20:46 | posts: 21 | Location: Saint-Petersburg

The last update of the year

SVP 3.1.3 - download options

Changes:
Quote:
+ 3D stereo pairs support;
+ Ability to choose GPU on multi-GPU hardware configurations;
= Optimized memory usage;
+ Added compatibility with Intel's Ivy Bridge GPUs (HD2500 & HD4000);
+ New frame lighting ("Ambilight") mode;
+ Selection from 10 predefined profiles sets from "Video profiles" menu;
= Improved compatibility with ProgDVB;
= Lots of small bugs fixed;
= Updated components: MPC-HC 1.6.5.6366, ffdShow rev.4496, madVR 0.85.7, LAV Filters 0.54.1, SVPtube 1.0.4.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-30-2012, 21:00 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Sweet, thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#61)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 12-30-2012, 21:37 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Quote:
Originally Posted by chainik View Post
The last update of the year

SVP 3.1.3 - download options

Changes:
You're the best man!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Jayjay27
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x gainward GTX460 1024mb
Processor: Intel core i7 860
Mainboard: P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: OCZ 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-FI EM
PSU: Corsair HX750W
Default 01-21-2013, 08:39 | posts: 19

hi all,

will this work with XBMC?

also, my tv already has motionflow, but produces artifacts (WHY), what would happen if i enabled svp and turned on motionflow on my tv?

or could i disable motionflow on the tv and turn on svp? any suggestions?

my tv is a Sony HX853.

THANKS ALL!

J
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 01-21-2013, 15:16 | posts: 3,713

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayjay27 View Post
also, my tv already has motionflow, but produces artifacts (WHY)
There's an entry in SVP's FAQs that explains this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayjay27 View Post
or could i disable motionflow on the tv and turn on svp? any suggestions?
It's better to disable MotionFlow and turn on SVP.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
domigr
Newbie
 
Videocard: amd 7770 hd asus(1gb)
Processor: amd fx 6100
Mainboard: gigabyte 990xa-ud3
Memory: 1x8gb ddr3 1600mhz
Soundcard: creative sound blaster
PSU: 850watt
Default 02-06-2013, 21:35 | posts: 6

hello!!!i am new with svp and i would like a little advice..what settings are the best for my pc??i have an amd fx 6100(3.3ghz) and an amd 7770hd(asus)...the auto selected settings are 3g but i noticed that my cpu is on the 4th profile...i worked svp only with potplayer(default settings all)...i have just installed avisync and ffdshow just to run svp...i don't want anything else...thanks in advance!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
chainik
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD HD 5670
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Zalman ZM460B
Default 02-18-2013, 04:19 | posts: 21 | Location: Saint-Petersburg

SVP 3.1.4 - download options, direct link to .torrent file

Quote:
= Improved scene changes detection;
= Improved outer lighting quality;
= Fixed access rights issue;
= Fixed several ffdshow instances issue;
= No more app bundles in Program Files folder;
= Lots of small bugs fixed;
= Updated components: ffdShow rev.4500, madVR 0.85.8, LAV Filters 0.55.3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 02-18-2013, 11:11 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Quote:
Originally Posted by chainik View Post
Sweet.

Thanks a lot for keeping up support of this great program.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 07-15-2013, 19:50 | posts: 23,433 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

SVP 3.1.5
http://www.svp-team.com/wiki/Download

Quote:
Version 3.1.5 (07/15/2013)

+ Minor quality improvement - SVP switches to 13th SVP-shader on "bad" frames depending on scene quality detection parameters;
+ Added applications blacklist (see BlackListApps in "Hidden settings");
+ Added hotkeys for switching 3D stereo modes;
= Fixed incorrect active screen detection in XBMC;
= Fixed GPU processing slowdown for some non-standard frame sizes on AMD cards;
= Lots of small bugs fixed;
= "SVP Lite" package renamed to "SVP Core";
= Updated components: MPC-HC 1.6.8.7417, ffdShow rev.4515, Haali Media Splitter 1.13.138.14, ReClock 1.8.8.0, madVR 0.86.8, LAV Filters 0.58.1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 07-15-2013, 21:12 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Awesome.

I just sent them a small donation for their work (I'm a poor student , otherwise I would donate a full price program equivalent). This program made my movies so much more enjoyable to watch, it actually bothers me to no end when I watch a movie without SVP anywhere else.

Please guys, chip in a little if you can for such an awesome program.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 07-15-2013, 21:33 | posts: 1,822

Hi, im using Media Player Classic with this, the usage of the cpu(I5 2400) goes from 13 to 35% and the gpu(GTX460) jumps to 13%, does this seems ok in a 720p movie?

What is the main difference when using this software?The movie actually looks smoother, why is this?Higher fps?

Buy i have a problem, i have the blue color thing, how do i remove it?

Nvm, i got the solution.
http://www.svp-team.com/wiki/FAQ#I_s...n_Avatar_movie.

edit: i did some comparison and i dislike this.Don't ask me why but it just doesn't seem right.I looks smoother but i don't think the movie i was watching was made to be seen like this, too fast in my opinion.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 07-15-2013 at 22:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 07-16-2013, 01:48 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

It basically creates a third frame between two regular frames included in the film. It uses math and motion vectors to guess what the interloped frame should look like.



So instead of the slow and jerky 24 fps that is standard film (that you usually watch), it makes it like the film is at 48 or 60 fps (or however many you want) so it looks much more natural, especially in fast fight scenes.

Downside is that it is guesswork at the end of the day, and sometimes there are artifacts. But the idea is to find a good balance between the two.

So here for example you see two frames that came with the film on the top, and the software tries to guess what frames in between the two original ones would look like based on the locations of the originals:

Last edited by Chillin; 07-16-2013 at 01:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 07-16-2013, 05:34 | posts: 2,167 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

For those interested, I expanded on the usefulness of making a batch file to run it.
Here is what I use.
Code:
echo off | clip
TASKKILL /f /im PotPlayerMini.exe
TASKKILL /f /im SVPMgr.exe
TASKKILL /f /im svptube.exe
START "" "E:\Libraries\Videos\SVP\SVPMgr.exe"
START "" "E:\Libraries\Videos\SVP\svptube\svptube.exe"
PotPlayerMini.exe
TASKKILL /f /im SVPMgr.exe
TASKKILL /f /im svptube.exe
For this to work you need to make the batch file where potplayer is (you can just make a shortcut to it anyway), AND you need to change the file locations of SVPMgr.exe and svptube.exe (which is optional obviously).

In order of how the batch file goes, first it clears your clipboard (what ever you have copied) so that if you have a youtube link copied it does not automatically start playing, then it makes sure Potplayer an SVP is not running (so you get a fresh start), then it starts SVP. Then potplayer is launched, the CMD prompt stays open- when you close potplayer it will automatically close SVP and the youtube app then the prompt will close.
This way you can just use the batch file as a luncher, and it will just close everything when you close your mediaplayer, I even set a shortcut to it and set the properties to Run: Minimized so I don't have to see it.

Anyway, sounds complicated when I type it out, but it's simple enough, better then running SVP all the time or manually launching it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 07-16-2013, 12:30 | posts: 1,822

Hmm, i think i just got used to this.

I would say that 1m of frame interpolation time and 48-60 fps is what makes it feel a lot better.

What is the difference between 1m and Uniform?

Can i set a fixed fps?I would like 48.Why this number you ask?!Mainly because at sometimes if not mistaken even at 59 or 60 i feel tearing, not completely sure yet.And because it's the double of 24.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 07-16-2013 at 12:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 07-16-2013, 13:39 | posts: 23,433 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
Mainly because at sometimes if not mistaken even at 59 or 60 i feel tearing
Did you enable vsync ?

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by WhiteLightning; 07-16-2013 at 13:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 07-16-2013, 13:46 | posts: 1,822

I have it just like yours, maybe it was not tearing but some kind of artifact.

Thanks for the print-screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 07-16-2013, 13:50 | posts: 23,433 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
I have it just like yours, maybe it was not tearing but some kind of artifact.

Thanks for the print-screen.
ah. have you tried rasing svp settings ?

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.