Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark Vantage scores with your brand new GTX 295 SLI or Radeon HD 4870 X2 Crossfire in that Intel Core 2 rig? Then this is your section!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1051)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-27-2012, 23:33 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

My Best 3dMark06 Score, not enough to beat BZ on this one. Don't think pushing to 4.9GHz would help either

Uploaded to the bot and scored 1point for Hardware Points.

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1052)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-28-2012, 01:14 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

New 3dMark11 P Score, not much more than my previous, however scored me more Hardware points.

Single 6950



Is the fact that I'm not running a HT enabled chip holding me back here? I noticed my Physics scores are much lower than those with HT
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1053)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-28-2012, 02:11 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

It's reducing the score somewhat but not really holding you back significantly as 3dmark 11 doesn't benefit that much from a high physics score. It's only when your GPU score goes above your physics score that you know you are being bottlenecked severely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1054)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-28-2012, 02:17 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

^Not really since they are two separate tests...physics score is only for the CPU and memory while the graphics score is the GPU.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1055)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-28-2012, 02:50 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

While trying not to be too subjective, I was referring only to the overall 3dmark 11 score being limited here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1056)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-28-2012, 02:55 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

^Yep, but I was referring to the second part of your post...

Quote:
It's only when your GPU score goes above your physics score that you know you are being bottlenecked severely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1057)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-28-2012, 03:28 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

I'm not entirely sure we are on the same page, so my apologies if I have misunderstood, but once your individual GPU score becomes significantly higher than the physics score your overall score increases will also start to diminish, relatively.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1058)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-28-2012, 03:32 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

^Really? I didn't know that...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1059)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-28-2012, 03:55 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

Yes, as long as your CPU scores are higher than the GPU score your overall score will mostly stay very close to your GPU score, but if this changes any increases in GPU score will not reflect as much in the overall score.

For e.g.

I can get my Physics score to around 11.5k with my current CPU, at this point if I have a GPU score of 10k then my overall score is also close to 10k, if I then improve on my GPU score to around 12k the overall score will also be just under 12k.

However, If I start to push past 12k the improvements in overall score start to diminish significantly, to the point that even when scoring over 15k GPU score I would end up with an overall score of around 13.5k, or so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1060)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 12-28-2012, 12:56 | posts: 11,750 | Location: new jersey

Yes thats right bz,just as running on sb or ib will boost your gpu score over a x79 rig.
Of coarse the overall score may be better on x79 but not always.

Getting to my 7980 this weekend on dx9 and the cat 12's i hope it has improvement over the 11 cats in dx9 benches
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1061)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-28-2012, 14:16 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

I still haven't played with an x79 based system, Cowie. It's something I would like to look into next time I'm upgrading, especially as a 5GHz SB can't keep up with a single 7970 any more, at least not at 720p.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1062)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 12-28-2012, 16:52 | posts: 11,750 | Location: new jersey

BZ Is 50 the max multi,or can you turn off ht and go faster?
In DX9 benches it matters very little on ht,its better to see if you can run 2/4 cores with faster speed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1063)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-28-2012, 19:26 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
It's reducing the score somewhat but not really holding you back significantly as 3dmark 11 doesn't benefit that much from a high physics score. It's only when your GPU score goes above your physics score that you know you are being bottlenecked severely.
I wasn't sure as I checked out your 6950 score and you managed something in the region of 7200 Marks which is much higher than my 6400 Marks. Since you run a 2600K and have HT I thought that might have been the difference there.

Not quite sure where I'm going wrong with this one then, as upping my CPU to 5GHz (not that I can yet) I don't see that upping my score significantly enough to catch you up.

Perhaps an earlier version of 3dMark11 scored better? Can drivers make that big of a difference? Was you on XP? Perhaps that scores better in 11? Not sure why it would though.

Any thoughts guys?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1064)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 12-28-2012, 19:35 | posts: 17,185 | Location: New Jersey, USA

3d mark 11 is a dx11 bench, xp is dx9 os
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1065)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-28-2012, 20:52 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
3d mark 11 is a dx11 bench, xp is dx9 os
Oh yeah lol how'd I forget that lol

TK, do you know if 3dmark2001se can run on 7? I ran it on Vista, but not having much luck under 7
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1066)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 12-28-2012, 20:59 | posts: 17,185 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Believe 01 runs best on XP. On 7,8, vista it runs in compatibility mode (at least my understanding) , hence the lame scores. Cowie would know all the tricks and such to getting higher scores
try XP compatibility mode for 01 maybe

Last edited by ---TK---; 12-28-2012 at 21:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1067)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-28-2012, 21:15 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Believe 01 runs best on XP. On 7,8, vista it runs in compatibility mode (at least my understanding) , hence the lame scores. Cowie would know all the tricks and such to getting higher scores
try XP compatibility mode for 01 maybe
Nah, still not seeming to work.

I've tried compatibility set to 7, Vista and XP now. It's weird though, when I double click the icon windows will go into basic mode, as most of the older 3dmarks do, however the application doesn't load up on my screen! If I go into Task Manager however there's an entry there in under the Process tab for 3dmark2001se.exe *32 But yet nothing comes up on my screen
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1068)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 12-28-2012, 23:03 | posts: 11,750 | Location: new jersey

Unless you have 3 or more gpus dont bother.

BTW you guys on amd cards ever try setlod beta 6?
If you cant grab it on the web pm for a copy
It helps the dx9 benches for squeking out a few more points
try between 3 and 9 for starters but you really have to test since all series cards are different.

Last edited by cowie; 12-29-2012 at 00:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1069)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-29-2012, 02:16 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

cowie

I can run 5.1 for dx9 benches but there's no benefit for 3d06/3dvantage or 3d11 as they make use of HT and 100MHz doesn't offset it enough. I'll see if I can get it to 5.1 with HT or 5.2 no HT now that I have the entire waterloop to the CPU, just waiting for all the air bubbles to get out. Any higher than that and it's more voltage than I want to put through the chip.

Regarding LOD settings, I believe Radeon pro used to give access to a slider for LOD. I haven't tried SetLOD, I'll see if I can find it.


Matt

I couldn't get 3d01 to run in windows 7 x64, I believe it will not work for AMD cards. I had to install XP to get it to run a few days ago, I also did a couple of quick 2d benches while I was in XP and without even trying to go higher on the CPU I managed to beat my windows 7 scores in wprime32 and 1024.

And, you'll need to modify tessellation if you want any 3d11 points at hwbot.

Last edited by BlackZero; 12-29-2012 at 02:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1070)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-29-2012, 02:34 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
cowie

I can run 5.1 for dx9 benches but there's no benefit for 3d06/3dvantage or 3d11 as they make use of HT and 100MHz doesn't offset it enough. I'll see if I can get it to 5.1 with HT or 5.2 no HT now that I have the entire waterloop to the CPU, just waiting for all the air bubbles to get out. Any higher than that and it's more voltage than I want to put through the chip.

Regarding LOD settings, I believe Radeon pro used to give access to a slider for LOD. I haven't tried SetLOD, I'll see if I can find it.


Matt

I couldn't get 3d01 to run in windows 7 x64, I believe it will not work for AMD cards. I had to install XP to get it to run a few days ago, I also did a couple of quick 2d benches while I was in XP and without even trying to go higher on the CPU I managed to beat my windows 7 scores in wprime32 and 1024.

And, you'll need to modify tessellation if you want any 3d11 points at hwbot.
Oh right, well I have XP Pro laying around somewhere, perhaps I could pop my spare SSD in and whack it on that see how it goes, could do with picking up a cheap HDD or something to put XP on really.

Yeah I noticed on the bot you'd uploaded a couple more scores and done well with them, I'll be sure to remember to run 2d stuff if I put XP on the SSD.

Oh and the tessellation, I was meaning to ask you about that! What is it and how do I do it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1071)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-29-2012, 02:44 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

Matt

Keep in mind though, that even in XP other than the ability to run 3d01 and score higher in aquamark, you will not get many hwbot points, and likely lower scores for 03/05/06 in crossfire. The 2D benches might be worth the hassle though.

Regarding tessellation, there's a slider in catalyst control centre.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1072)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-29-2012, 02:48 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
Matt

Keep in mind though, that even in XP other than the ability to run 3d01 and score higher in aquamark, you will not get many hwbot points, and likely lower scores for 03/05/06 in crossfire. The 2D benches might be worth the hassle though.

Regarding tessellation, there's a slider in catalyst control centre.
Thats ok, I'm used to not getting many points some is better than nowt, like you say 2d might be worth it so I'll give it ago at some point.

I've gone into CCC and found tessallation in Gaming>3d Application Settings I've unchecked AMD Optimized and set it too off. Is that it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1073)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-29-2012, 02:52 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt26LFC View Post
Thats ok, I'm used to not getting many points some is better than nowt, like you say 2d might be worth it so I'll give it ago at some point.

I've gone into CCC and found tessallation in Gaming>3d Application Settings I've unchecked AMD Optimized and set it too off. Is that it?
Yes, that will help with higher scores at hwbot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1074)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-29-2012, 03:34 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
Yes, that will help with higher scores at hwbot.
Cheers mate, that's working a treat! Just hit 6979! Really boosted my points :-) Running in CF now, see what I can get :-)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1075)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-29-2012, 15:08 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

Got another new 3dMark11 Score

Single Unlocked 6950



Sorry BZ took another of yours down.

I can't seem to get near your 03,06, or Vantage scores though, so there safe

Does 03 perform better on XP? Or is it just 2d that tends to do better there?

Also got a new Crossfire score



picked up a small amount of points I think for this too.

Last edited by Matt26LFC; 12-29-2012 at 15:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.