Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Samsung 840 Pro SSD tested and reviewed [Guru3D.com]
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Samsung 840 Pro SSD tested and reviewed [Guru3D.com] - 12-12-2012, 08:27 | posts: 21,323 | Location: Guru3D testlab

In this article we test, benchmark and review the Samsung 840 Pro SSD. What a stunning piece of technology this is. An SSD that is extremely fast and actually amongst the handful of fastest storage un...

Samsung 840 Pro SSD tested and reviewed
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 12-12-2012, 08:42 | posts: 1,489 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Thanks for the review.
There are so many good SSDs to choose from - Vector, then Plextor, now 840 Pro. Too bad that these faster models are significantly more expensive than the regular ones.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Arbold
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sli Zotac 970 Amp extreme
Processor: Intel i5 3570k @4,6
Mainboard: Gigabyte z77x ud3h
Memory: 16gb Gskill Ares 1600
Soundcard: Xonar Essence One/DT 880
PSU: Bqt P10 850watt 80+ plat.
Default 12-12-2012, 11:25 | posts: 217 | Location: Germany

You should have included a bench of the Samsung 830 256gb.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 12-12-2012, 12:00 | posts: 497

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arbold View Post
You should have included a bench of the Samsung 830 256gb.
why who cares it's old and slow in comparison with 840 pro, vector, corsair neutron and others...nobody will bother buying 830 anymore end of life...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 12-12-2012, 12:02 | posts: 21,323 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arbold View Post
You should have included a bench of the Samsung 830 256gb.
Actually we asked, Samsung wasn't able to provide a 830.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 12-12-2012, 12:21 | posts: 497

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Actually we asked, Samsung wasn't able to provide a 830.
excuse me for questioning because i don't know every time you bench you are using again the hardware and not taking results from previous reviews.?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
telc
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X EVGA 780Ti
Processor: Intel 3930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Formula
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1200i
Default 12-12-2012, 14:51 | posts: 11 | Location: Australia

Picked one up earlier today....sweet
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 12-12-2012, 14:52 | posts: 10,984 | Location: Finland

This page, first test: http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...w_test,10.html


840 Pro is missing from the graph (or named wrongly).

Last edited by Anarion; 12-12-2012 at 14:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
CronoGraal
Ancient Guru
 
CronoGraal's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Q9450 @ 3.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DQ6
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 750W TX
Default 12-12-2012, 15:07 | posts: 3,827 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
why who cares it's old and slow in comparison with 840 pro, vector, corsair neutron and others...nobody will bother buying 830 anymore end of life...
Because they'll be on sale now that the 840 is out? And the performance is probably comparable, not like it's a completely new ball game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 12-12-2012, 15:34 | posts: 21,323 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
This page, first test: ).
Thanks man, fixed.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
makaveli316
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Strix GTX 970
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.2
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-I DELUXE
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8gb LP
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Pro
PSU: Corsair 650HX
Default 12-12-2012, 20:18 | posts: 141 | Location: Freiburg, Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
why who cares it's old and slow in comparison with 840 pro, vector, corsair neutron and others...nobody will bother buying 830 anymore end of life...
You won't even notice substantial difference in real world performance if you compare the 830's and the 840's.
And yes, a lot of people bothered buying 830, especially the 256gb which at the moment has ridiculous price.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX660ti OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.3 GHz
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill DDR3 1600 lv
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi Prelude
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,2 KW
Default 12-12-2012, 20:20 | posts: 345

I'm on a 256GB 830. Yes the 840 pro is better, but the 830 still outruns the non-pro 840. The 830 series flew a bit under the radar, with very few reviewers looking at them. Yet in the few reviews that exist, it's a very strong performer. The one thing that made me choose Samsung over the more known ones was lack of failure. The 830 simply run, and so did the 470 before that. Nearly all other brands had notorious failure series, even Intel.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-12-2012, 20:40 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ven0m View Post
Thanks for the review.
There are so many good SSDs to choose from - Vector, then Plextor, now 840 Pro. Too bad that these faster models are significantly more expensive than the regular ones.
I would avoid the Vector, it uses system memory as a cache, yet it doesnt beat the 840 Pro, that doesnt use system memory as a cache.
If your machine crashes, you may suffer data loss with the Vector.

With my current SSD (Vertex 2), I have not once had to run scandisk since I installed it, and I often make my machine crash through tweaking.
Prior to getting it, I have had tons of times I needed to run scandisk, and have hosed my OS a few times!
If I had a Vector, I might be in serious trouble.
Why risk it when you dont need to.

edit:
pls ignore the above, its rubbish.
I'm sure I read it somewhere...

Last edited by Mufflore; 12-12-2012 at 21:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 12-12-2012, 21:13 | posts: 6,790 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
I would avoid the Vector, it uses system memory as a cache, yet it doesnt beat the 840 Pro, that doesnt use system memory as a cache.
If your machine crashes, you may suffer data loss with the Vector.
No it doesnt. It has its own onboard memory of 512MB/1GB. The 840 Pro also uses 512MB for cache. They are no different in that regard. The only drives that do not use a dram cache is sandforce. You are not going to lose data because one has dram cache or not. Once the system writes to the nand, its not going to be unwritten if the system crashes.

Ive had my 2 256gb Vertex 4s in RAID 0 for afew months now and have had plenty of crashes when i was doing ram timings and cpu clocks. No data loss at all. Vertex 4 is indilinx 2 controller, vector is barefoot 4 controller which is based off of indilinx.

and wait for firmware updates. Itll get faster no doubt, just as the vertex 4 saw huge improvements from firmware. Dont forget all the drives that died from the first firmware for the 840 pro.

Last edited by Agent-A01; 12-12-2012 at 21:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-12-2012, 21:29 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
No it doesnt. It has its own onboard memory of 512MB/1GB. The 840 Pro also uses 512MB for cache. They are no different in that regard. The only drives that do not use a dram cache is sandforce. You are not going to lose data because one has dram cache or not. Once the system writes to the nand, its not going to be unwritten if the system crashes.
Not true
See this page
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...ew_test,5.html
Quote:
In the photo above we zoom in a little at the DDR3 memory cache chip from Samsung.
They have onboard cache, there is no mention of system ram being used.

The Vector does use system ram as a cache, check some reviews!

edit:
hmm, its hard to clarify what it does actually use.
It has a DDR3 controller but it looks like it will have its own memory.
Not sure about this yet, soz for the exclamation.

edit2: yeah, I'm an idiot :blush:

Last edited by Mufflore; 12-12-2012 at 21:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
slow_poke
Newbie
 
Videocard: evga
Processor: intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 12-12-2012, 21:42 | posts: 14

Vertex 4 uses a Marvelle controller, they just like to call it indillix.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1228MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-12-2012, 21:45 | posts: 2,377 | Location: canada

Thanks for the review, excellent as always.

Iíve been running 128gb 840 pro for a few weeks now as my OS drive and although hard to measure it is noticeably more responsive then the M4 it replaced.

Iím picking up another 128gb to again replace the M4 which is a dedicated Steam drive.

No issues to report with the 840 pro, has worked flawlessly so far...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 12-12-2012, 22:07 | posts: 13,558 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by slow_poke View Post
Vertex 4 uses a Marvelle controller, they just like to call it indillix.
Lol GTFO. OCZ has never used Marvell for their controllers on any of their SSDs. Ever. They have always been Sandforce controllers up until they acquired Indilinx. Also, Indilinx and Marvell are 2 completely different companies and are in no way associated with one another.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 12-12-2012, 22:34 | posts: 8,024 | Location: Urban`Jungle

^
No he is kinda right, its Indilix hw with marvell bits inside.. At least that's what i've read in one Vertex4 review.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 12-12-2012, 22:46 | posts: 13,558 | Location: USA

Indilix hardware with Intel and Micron parts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-12-2012, 22:47 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
No it doesnt. It has its own onboard memory of 512MB/1GB. The 840 Pro also uses 512MB for cache. They are no different in that regard. The only drives that do not use a dram cache is sandforce. You are not going to lose data because one has dram cache or not. Once the system writes to the nand, its not going to be unwritten if the system crashes.

Ive had my 2 256gb Vertex 4s in RAID 0 for afew months now and have had plenty of crashes when i was doing ram timings and cpu clocks. No data loss at all. Vertex 4 is indilinx 2 controller, vector is barefoot 4 controller which is based off of indilinx.

and wait for firmware updates. Itll get faster no doubt, just as the vertex 4 saw huge improvements from firmware. Dont forget all the drives that died from the first firmware for the 840 pro.
Soz to bring this up again, but there may still be an issue with the Vector.
I'm wondering if you know about this...

The Vector has its own DDR3 controller for caching, so could still lose data stored in the DDR3 on a power down unless the cache can be committed to the SSD in time, or it has a battery backup.
Do you know if there is any protection in place to prevent data loss?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 12-13-2012, 00:08 | posts: 6,790 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Indilix hardware with Intel and Micron parts.
"Under the hood the drive is all new. Vector uses the first home-grown SSD controller by OCZ. Although the Octane and Vertex 4 SSDs both used OCZ Indilinx branded silicon, they were both based on Marvell IP - the controller architecture was licensed, not designed in house. Vector on the other hand uses OCZ's brand new Barefoot 3 controller, designed entirely in-house."

From anandtech review of vector. So yes, Vertex 4 used marvell

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Soz to bring this up again, but there may still be an issue with the Vector.
I'm wondering if you know about this...

The Vector has its own DDR3 controller for caching, so could still lose data stored in the DDR3 on a power down unless the cache can be committed to the SSD in time, or it has a battery backup.
Do you know if there is any protection in place to prevent data loss?
Yes, some SSDs(mainly enterprise drives) incorporate large caps, aka supercaps(ocz) that are designed for data loss protection when power is lost. They keep the nand powered long enough for the dram controller to write the cache to them. They basically store power for a short time. I know the Vertex 4 uses supercaps but unsure about vector, wouldn't be surprised if it did as its based off of the indilinx in vertex 4. I can tell you for sure that neither the samsung 830 or the 840 have protection against data loss.

Last edited by Agent-A01; 12-13-2012 at 01:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
GPU
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 780scsli ek 2x655 ek
Processor: 3770k H2O 3xmcr320 rads.
Mainboard: MVF- H20
Memory: 8gb Trident 2400
Soundcard: SB-Z/YAM765 5xpsb ,10"sub
PSU: AX1200 , 27"SA850[1440]
Default 12-13-2012, 00:16 | posts: 426 | Location: Canada

not sure why AS SSD showed the 840 pro with only a total score of 853 , when all the ones benched so far including mine will reach 1200 ish .
-853 is around what the non pro gets see second link.
-also in AS SSD the complete firmware only shows in the non pro that I have noticed ,the pro will show up like in the first link with the latest AS SSD.


http://www.hardocp.com/article/2012/...o_ssd_review/9
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 12-13-2012, 00:17 | posts: 13,558 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
"Under the hood the drive is all new. Vector uses the first home-grown SSD controller by OCZ. Although the Octane and Vertex 4 SSDs both used OCZ Indilinx branded silicon, they were both based on Marvell IP - the controller architecture was licensed, not designed in house. Vector on the other hand uses OCZ's brand new Barefoot 3 controller, designed entirely in-house."

From anandtech review of vector. So yes, Vertex 4 used marvell

I had a derp moment there. My bad. I believe I have gotten the 2 controllers mixed up.
   
Reply With Quote
AS SSD Score
Old
  (#25)
steeda1974
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD7950@1125/1450
Processor: 2700k@4.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: Samsung 22nm@2200mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Antec Quattro 1200w
Default AS SSD Score - 12-13-2012, 05:26 | posts: 1 | Location: Boise, Idaho

AS SSD score is definitely low. I saw that score and it is incredibly low. I have a 840 pro 256gb in my laptop and I got a 1181 score, outside of that, everything looked normal. Something went terribly wrong with that benchmark. They should run that again on another system and make sure there is nothing wrong with that particular drive. I replaced my neutron gtx with an 840 pro and it scored considerably higher than the corsair drive but I also have nothing but praise for that drive as well. I actually get an extra 30 minutes of battery life with 840 pro vs the neutron gtx on a HP DV7-7000 series laptop with a 9 cell battery.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.