Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Asus 7770 + 12.10 (or 12.11b11) + Starcraft 2 = Display driver stopped responding?;_;
Old
  (#1)
Renzeko
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 570 1.2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1866 Patriot
Soundcard: ASUS DGX 5.1 PCI-E
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default Asus 7770 + 12.10 (or 12.11b11) + Starcraft 2 = Display driver stopped responding?;_; - 12-11-2012, 10:05 | posts: 140 | Location: Canada

Hey guys, so I got this computer built:

Mobo:Asus M5A97 R.20 (up to date bios)
RAM: 8GB Patriot 1600Mhz
CPU: AMD FX-6300 6 core 3.5ghz
PSU: Corsair CX500, with 56A on 12v+
GPU: Asus HD 7770 1GB http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX39888
HDD: 1TB Seagate
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1 with all updates.

-----

Anyways, it runs great, but SCII for some reason, runs at 60fps constant at 1080p, I was surprised by that really, but the display driver keeps crashing when too many things happen at once. It's especially bad in customs where you can send waves and waves of units, the game will load 200+ units no problem, 60fps, but then the computer will freeze about 10-15 seconds, and display driver has stopped responding and has recovered...

-----------Things I've tried:

-Switching between 12.10 and the newest 12.11b11, using driver sweeper in between.

-Reformatting and using the beta drivers from scratch.

-Different graphics settings in SC2

-Stress testing the GPU in Furmark to see if it's crashing from heat (Lasted 12 hour Furmark no crash...)

-Updated DX

-------------

So... Any ideas? Card might be a dud? Or just bad drivers with the 7xxx?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 12-11-2012, 11:47 | posts: 4,856 | Location: Spain

try 11.8
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Renzeko
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 570 1.2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1866 Patriot
Soundcard: ASUS DGX 5.1 PCI-E
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 12-11-2012, 20:11 | posts: 140 | Location: Canada

Exact same thing happens with 11.8 Q_Q
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-11-2012, 20:30 | posts: 2,019

What settings are you using?
Not even I am getting 60fps in SC2 at 1080, that is at best settings.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 12-11-2012, 21:54 | posts: 2,291 | Location: USA

sounds like a thermal reset, what are you temps like right before it crashes?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 12-11-2012, 21:55 | posts: 2,291 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by naike View Post
What settings are you using?
Not even I am getting 60fps in SC2 at 1080, that is at best settings.
i get 60fps at 1920x1200 with SSAA and all the IQ cranked up...

but im using a7970

lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Renzeko
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 570 1.2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1866 Patriot
Soundcard: ASUS DGX 5.1 PCI-E
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 12-12-2012, 07:37 | posts: 140 | Location: Canada

Okay, so I played a 4v4 round with some hardware logging on the right side of my screen so I could try to find a pattern to the crashing. Since I was playing Windowed, I guess that went easier on the GPU so it didn't crash as* often..

First crash:
http://i.imgur.com/wdVU9.jpg

GPU Temp: 51C
GPU Usage: 60%
Fan speed: 15%
Memory Usage: 110MB

Second Crash:
http://i.imgur.com/UG9yA.jpg

GPU Temp: 55C
GPU Usage 61%
Fan speed: 15%
Memory Usage: 416MB


:| Nothing seems to be standing out...

EDIT: I'm randomly crashing to an off black screen, can't ctrl alt dlt or anything... Have to manually restart, nothing stands out or gets logged by event viewer when this happens >.<

Going to look for some GPU diagnostic software, unless anyone knows of any good ones..

Thanks for the suggestions so far..

Last edited by Renzeko; 12-12-2012 at 08:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
xChimp
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7770 1GB OC
Processor: AMD Athlon II X4 645
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500w
Default 12-13-2012, 14:27 | posts: 9

Hey there, I'm not sure if you've found a fix yet, but I think I may have a solution that worked for me. I too have a 7770 (funnily enough also from Memory Express) and I was getting the same issue with most of my games. The card that I had bought was also an overclocked card, and what I did after having my card crash for months was lower the clocks of the card to the stock clocks of 1000/1125.

Last edited by xChimp; 12-13-2012 at 14:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 12-18-2012, 09:04 | posts: 1,364 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Checked board and cooling design...
Card have decent and Powerful cooling for GPU since it is low power GPU. But It has no heat sinks at all on VRMs.

As for memories, they are rated 1250MHz, so down clocking would not do big difference since heat dissipation into board itself should be sufficient. (Other than drawing less current via VRMs.)

I would use HWiNFO64 to get actual VRMs Temperature. This board uses cheaper ones which are rated bellow 100C instead of expensive which should survive 120C.

So 15% of fan RPMs may be far enough for GPU, but make sure VRMs are not going to critical temperature.

I see this as general problem of any overkill GPU core cooling.
Since GPU is not going to high temperatures, there is no need to ramp fan speed and increasing airflow around other components on board.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.