Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - 3dfx
Videocards - 3dfx How the mighty have fallen. Unfortunately the company is gone, but of course we still support the products. Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using 3dfx chips from the Voodoo series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
3dfx and XP pro ???
Old
  (#1)
Ice-Pick
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Question 3dfx and XP pro ??? - 09-16-2002, 00:14 | posts: n/a

Sup all....well i posted in the wrong spot last time so hopfully i did this right this time... Anyway this is for a bud...he has a 750 mhz comp with xp pro for an OS has 256 ram and a good monitor...has the voodoo3 not sure what size of voodoo3 but nune the less i was wondering the best driver combination for him...and is there a refreshrate fix with anything cause i myself use NVrefresh fix thats for of course my Vid card..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Kaaos
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-16-2002, 03:22 | posts: n/a

Hmm, I'm not sure, but if I remember right, 3dfx Underground Tools (based on V.Control) have refresh rate forcing capabilities.. if not, use PowerStrip

Best drivers are 3dfx Underground (/3dHQ) 1.09 Beta 4 drivers, there's a thread with d/l locations for it here.

Also remember to update to newest GlideXP drivers, or newest GlideXP and newest KoolSmoky's Glide3x.dll
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Ice-Pick
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-16-2002, 20:52 | posts: n/a

Best drivers are 3dfx Underground (/3dHQ) 1.09 Beta 4 drivers, there's a thread with d/l locations for it here.

Also remember to update to newest GlideXP drivers, or newest GlideXP and newest KoolSmoky's Glide3x.dll....................................... .......................................... So what exactly is this glide thing your talkin about....and i thought that those beta versions are not compatable cause there not hq'd..but hey it's not my comp so i will try it on his...thx anyway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Kaaos
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-16-2002, 22:46 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Ice-Pick
So what exactly is this glide thing your talkin about....and i thought that those beta versions are not compatable cause there not hq'd..but hey it's not my comp so i will try it on his...thx anyway
hq'd?

the drivers are unofficial, not really supported or anything, but they are everything there is for XP.

Glide is 3dfx's propiertary API, supported by some older (&some newer) games.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Ice-Pick
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-16-2002, 23:10 | posts: n/a

Correct....cool man thats what i thought..... so BETA just means NON Certified by the company of the CARD ??? So that refreash fix was included in which drivers ??? PowerStrip is that an add in or does it come with a driver set ??? Anyway thx again i will do some digging again and if somting fishy hits me ill message you guys again....you'v been helpful and i am greatful
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Glidefan
Don Booze
 
Glidefan's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850 | 8600M GS
Processor: C2Q Q6600 | C2D T5550
Mainboard: ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
Memory: 6144MB | 4096MB
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS | ALC 888
PSU: Aurora 600w | 90w AC
Default 09-16-2002, 23:15 | posts: 11,940 | Location: Solar System, Earth, Med, Cyprus

PowerStrip is a utility for tweaking your card. It doesn't come with drivers or anything.
BETA means that it is still under developement but it SHOULD work and you take the liability of the try.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Kaaos
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-17-2002, 02:34 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Ice-Pick
Correct....cool man thats what i thought..... so BETA just means NON Certified by the company of the CARD ??? So that refreash fix was included in which drivers ??? PowerStrip is that an add in or does it come with a driver set ??? Anyway thx again i will do some digging again and if somting fishy hits me ill message you guys again....you'v been helpful and i am greatful
Glidefan just explained what BETA means, but since 3dfx doesn't exist anymore (okay, exists, but doesn't support any products or anything anymore), there is no official support for any 3dfx card anymore.

The name of the 3dHQ/3dfx Underground drivers is bit misleading, since the 1.09 betas don't have the new OpenGL ICD, which was the main point of the 1.09's. So the 1.09 betas use still old 3dfx OGL ICD, but have updated Glide dll's (GlideXP something, don't remember the build, but not as new as the one I gave link in the other thread over there). DirectX part of the drivers is old too. And the rest is just .inf modifications.

It's still very unclear will the 1.09's ever come, but AFAIK Aquoess will release the OpenGL ICD anyway. Biggest difference you'll notice is that your Voodoo can do Anisotropic Filtering with them, and supports OpenGL 1.2.. There was some other enchances too, but can't remember what they were at the moment.

Some rumors tell that someone was building updated DirectX part of the drivers too, but dunno about that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
element72
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 660 TI
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX 650W
Default 12-03-2012, 16:02 | posts: 3

I'm trying to get SweetFX to work with COD: black ops II. I get this error after installing "unable to start correctly 0xc0000007b" Any ideas why?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
calebmill
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX Gefore 560 ti
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: No idea
Default 12-11-2012, 04:07 | posts: 1

Hey guys,
Trying to get SweetFX working with Eve Online. I tried putting the files in the main directory. No dice. Then both directories, /bin and main. Still no dice. Anyone get it working with Eve?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 01-07-2013, 15:47 | posts: 4,090 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

10 years later... woww?!!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 01-14-2013, 22:33 | posts: 2,914 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Quote:
Originally Posted by calebmill View Post
Hey guys,
Trying to get SweetFX working with Eve Online. I tried putting the files in the main directory. No dice. Then both directories, /bin and main. Still no dice. Anyone get it working with Eve?
Wrong section, this is a 3dfx thread lol. Start a thread in the Games, gaming section or post in a SweetFX shader thread
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX660ti OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.3 GHz
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill DDR3 1600 lv
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi Prelude
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,2 KW
Default 02-13-2013, 20:59 | posts: 331

The most recent driver options for a Voodoo 3 (and any other 3dfx card) are probably on 3dfxzone.it

Oops, failed to notice that this thread is so old, sorry -.-
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.