Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Catalyst 12.10 WHQL_Modded for LEGACY GPUs - SUPER STABLE SUPER PERFORMANCE
Old
  (#1)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Talking AMD Catalyst 12.10 WHQL_Modded for LEGACY GPUs - SUPER STABLE SUPER PERFORMANCE - 10-31-2012, 15:42 | posts: 314

AMD Catalyst 12.10 WHQL Modded_ Legacy GPU(s) - Super Stable, Super Performance.. (31/OCT/2012)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Download Link : (Windows Vista / 7 / 8 - x32 ONLY)


>> 32Bit Modded Driver Download Link <<


Download Link : (Windows Vista / 7 / 8 - x64 ONLY)


>> 64Bit Modded Driver Download Link <<


** Disable Driver Signature Enforcement before installation.
** Download all the parts, extract it to a single folder and install the driver.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alternate method of modding the driver.

Download the 12.10 WHQL x32Bit Original Package :

Direct Link >> AMD 12.10 WHQL Win V/7/8 x32bit Official

Download the MODDED x32Bit Driver Files (.rar) :

Link >> 12.10_WHQL_x32bit_Modded_Package_Legacy_AnkX.rar

************************************************** ********

Download the 12.10 WHQL x64Bit Original Package :

Direct Link >> AMD 12.10 WHQL Win V/7/8 x64bit Official

Download the MODDED x64Bit Driver Files (.rar) :

Link >> 12.10_WHQL_x64bit_Modded_Package_Legacy_AnkX.rar



** Download the Original and the Modded Files according to the OS (32 bit / 64 bit) and just replace the Folder named "Packages" in the original Driver with this folder "packages" from the modded driver (.rar).

Then follow the installation procedure.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Features in Driver :

WDDM 1.1 Feature Levels Supported = 10.1,10,9.3,9.2,9.1,9
Clock Bug Fixed.
Open CL Supported.
Direct Compute Supported.
DXVA Playback Supported.
GPU Performance Support in Photoshop.
AVT supported.
Dx9 Errors rectified.

Installation Procedure :

** Uninstall & remove all previously installed Driver.
** Do remember to uninstall the old Catalyst Control Center also. ( Delete the "ATI Technologies" folder from the Program Files/Program Files(x86) folder(s). )


Step 1.> Unrar the Driver files.

Step 2.> Install the Driver through Device Manager (Do Not use the AMD Setup)

** x32 bit OS Users:

Download the x32 bit Modded Package.

and use the Use Driver path "..\12.10 WHQL x32bit Modded Legacy_AnkX\Packages\Drivers\Display\W8_INF"

** x64 bit OS Users:

Download the x64 bit Modded Package.

and use the Use Driver path "..\12.10 WHQL x64bit Modded Legacy_AnkX\Packages\Drivers\Display\W86A_INF"


--------------------------- END OF DRIVER INSTALLATION PROCEDURE -------------------------------------


Catalyst Control Center (CCC) Installation Procedure:

* Make sure the system is not having any component of CCC installed in it. ( Delete the "ATI Technologies" folder from the Program Files/Program Files(x86) folder(s).)


Step 1.> ONLY install the CCC from the 12.6 WHQL through the Normal install method. (Dont install any other component)

Step 2.> after the old CCC installation, Open Task Manager and terminate these processes if running:

* clistart.exe
* ccc.exe
* mom.exe
* msiexec.exe

Step 3.> Go to the Folder "..\Packages\Apps\CCC2\Core-Static-Net4" of the MODDED DRIVER and run the "ccc-core-static.exe" installer.


------------------------------ END OF CCC INSTALLATION PROCEDURE ------------------------------------------

Associated Apps Installation :


Go to the Folder "..\Packages\Apps" Of the MODDED DRIVER and Manually istall all Apps according to the OS (x32/x64).


----------------------------- Installation End ----------------------------------------


** Personal Test/Conclusion :

I have tried to make the driver as perfect as it can be. Tested on almost 12 New games (on HD 4650) namely :

Crysis 2
Prototpe 2
COD Black Ops
Max Payne 3
Dark Siders 2
Sleeping Dogs
Battle Field 3
Singularity
NFS Run & Shift 2
I am Alive

and few more..

These Drivers not only has a stable performance in all the games but performace increase can also be felt than the 12.11 Beta Modded Driver.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Overclocking GPU :

Just download this .rar file.

http://rapidgator.net/file/52869949/..._AnkX.rar.html

Extract all the data and copy all the .dll files to your system folder.
Use any 3rd party application like Rivatuner, MSI Afterburner, ATI Tray Tool, etc

** for 32bit OS users : Copy the .dll files to " ..\windows\system32 " Folder

** for 64it OS users : Copy the .dll files to " ..\windows\system32 " AND "..\windows\syswow64" Folder.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by ankinferno; 10-31-2012 at 16:20.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 15:56 | posts: 381

Thank you. How do I run a benchmark to see the difference between this driver and the 12.6 one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
player
Newbie
 
Videocard: dv6
Processor: dv6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dv6
Default 10-31-2012, 16:03 | posts: 28

thx testing
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 16:09 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
Thank you. How do I run a benchmark to see the difference between this driver and the 12.6 one?
Well you can use Bench Marking software like 3DMark, Aquamark, Lightsmark, Furmark, etc.

Or you can use a lay method for general testing in games like Sleeping Dogs, SS4, and many other games provide internal benchmark options where you can do bench marks to see differences.

else you can use any FPS Counter software in a game to see the difference when playing the game. Many game like Battle Field provides the command line option to enable FPS showing which can be handy.

OR you can use Radeon Pro, which can hook onto d3d9 and d3d10 games to show you the FPS count while playing....

Remember.., make sure all settings in CCC and games are same while performing tests with different Drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 16:18 | posts: 381

Quote:
Originally Posted by ankinferno View Post
Well you can use Bench Marking software like 3DMark, Aquamark, Lightsmark, Furmark, etc.

Or you can use a lay method for general testing in games like Sleeping Dogs, SS4, and many other games provide internal benchmark options where you can do bench marks to see differences.

else you can use any FPS Counter software in a game to see the difference when playing the game. Many game like Battle Field provides the command line option to enable FPS showing which can be handy.

OR you can use Radeon Pro, which can hook onto d3d9 and d3d10 games to show you the FPS count while playing....

Remember.., make sure all settings in CCC and games are same while performing tests with different Drivers.
I will use the fps test in css.

Device manager doesn't want to update the generic driver. I installed the inf by myself, is that ok?

edit2 : I did some group policy trick to prevent windows from installing the generic driver, then I chose the modded driver folder and before clicking on "next" I disabled the policy and windows installed the new driver.

Last edited by trocio2; 10-31-2012 at 16:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 16:59 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
I will use the fps test in css.

Device manager doesn't want to update the generic driver. I installed the inf by myself, is that ok?
did you remove the old driver completely first.??

and did the new driver installed successfully..???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 17:00 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
edit2 : I did some group policy trick to prevent windows from installing the generic driver, then I chose the modded driver folder and before clicking on "next" I disabled the policy and windows installed the new driver.
gr8..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 17:09 | posts: 381

Dammit. Windows cannot load the driver. The old drivers were completely removed and windows installed the new inf.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 17:12 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
Dammit. Windows cannot load the driver. The old drivers were completely removed and windows installed the new inf.
Is your Windows loading properly..?? or giving a BSOD..??

Which type of OS are you using..? 32 bit / 64 bit..??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 17:16 | posts: 381

Windows (8 pro with media center x64) starts ok but it gave me a code 31 error in device manager. It rejects your modded driver. I have a 4670.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 17:24 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
Windows (8 pro with media center x64) starts ok but it gave me a code 31 error in device manager. It rejects your modded driver. I have a 4670.
Same as mine,, Win 8 Pro x64..

Ok do this..

go to c:\windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository.

there will be a folder named '' ati*something*something* ''
just rename the folder to some thing else.. but remember to take a note of the actual name of the folder.

by doing this,, it will not install the default Ati Driver when the gpu driver is uninstalled from the Device manager.

Then go to c:\windows\inf\

There also you will find a file named '' ati*something*something* .inf ''

rename it to something else.

now open your Device Manager and uninstall the GPU Driver.
Select the option of 'delete driver files' when uninstalling.

Now reboot.. your pc should be booting with the Basic Display driver and not the default ATI driver..

then go to Device Manager and update the Basic Display driver Manually with this Modded Driver.. It should install nicely...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
DigitalMind
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6870 Elite 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 960T-X6
Mainboard: ASUS M4A77T
Memory: Kingston HyperX 4 GB DDR3
Soundcard: VIA VT1708S
PSU: ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT
Default 10-31-2012, 17:28 | posts: 12 | Location: Romania

testing now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 17:40 | posts: 381

Quote:
Originally Posted by ankinferno View Post
Same as mine,, Win 8 Pro x64..

Ok do this..

go to c:\windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository.

there will be a folder named '' ati*something*something* ''
just rename the folder to some thing else.. but remember to take a note of the actual name of the folder.

by doing this,, it will not install the default Ati Driver when the gpu driver is uninstalled from the Device manager.

Then go to c:\windows\inf\

There also you will find a file named '' ati*something*something* .inf ''

rename it to something else.

now open your Device Manager and uninstall the GPU Driver.
Select the option of 'delete driver files' when uninstalling.

Now reboot.. your pc should be booting with the Basic Display driver and not the default ATI driver..

then go to Device Manager and update the Basic Display driver Manually with this Modded Driver.. It should install nicely...
I did what you say and I used the "search driver software in the computer" option to install the driver. Now it works fine

I get a few more fps in games and the new ccc is fast.

Last edited by trocio2; 10-31-2012 at 17:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
JohnnyS
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD Radeon 4850
Processor: Intel E8400
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax 425
Default 10-31-2012, 18:44 | posts: 1

Thanks ankinferno for the modded drivers.

But I seem to have the same problems as trocio2 (code 31).

So I tried your solution:
I have got six folders that start with ati @ c:\windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository.
The next problem is that I cant change folder name, Windows wont let me (UAC is disabled and I'm admin).

I have two files that start with ati @ c:\windows\inf\
I renamed those.

Still not working. Windows isn't installing some old Ati driver after restart automatically anyway because I did the same thing trocio2 did ( group policy trick).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 19:08 | posts: 381

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyS View Post
Thanks ankinferno for the modded drivers.

But I seem to have the same problems as trocio2 (code 31).

So I tried your solution:
I have got six folders that start with ati @ c:\windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository.
The next problem is that I cant change folder name, Windows wont let me (UAC is disabled and I'm admin).

I have two files that start with ati @ c:\windows\inf\
I renamed those.

Still not working. Windows isn't installing some old Ati driver after restart automatically anyway because I did the same thing trocio2 did ( group policy trick).
Look. The new inf should be in Windows database (you can add it manually), like this:



If you cant change a file name in system32 you need are lacking privileges.

Try this tool (or keep looking in the web..)

http://www.addictivetips.com/windows...-in-windows-8/

Once you do that, uninstall the device and it will show up as a generic graphics adapter and you can choose the modded driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
DigitalMind
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6870 Elite 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 960T-X6
Mainboard: ASUS M4A77T
Memory: Kingston HyperX 4 GB DDR3
Soundcard: VIA VT1708S
PSU: ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT
Default 10-31-2012, 19:23 | posts: 12 | Location: Romania

i can't install the driver .........: The Best driver software for your device is already installed : Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date....
WTF ?

Last edited by DigitalMind; 10-31-2012 at 19:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
teohokage
Newbie
 
Videocard: atimobility HD4570
Processor: intel T4400
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ..
Default 10-31-2012, 20:06 | posts: 20

when i try to install driver,say the system cannot find the file specified,help me plz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
jdc2389
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6870 1gb
Processor: AMD Thuban 1045t 3.7ghz
Mainboard: ga-990fxa-ud3 1.0
Memory: 8gb Samsung 30nm ddr3
Soundcard: alc889toampedbeyerdynamic
PSU: Seasonic X series 750w
Default 10-31-2012, 20:43 | posts: 33

Will this Driver work with the 3650m?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
orionatus
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI M3650
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2,5GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: BIG
Unhappy 10-31-2012, 22:22 | posts: 2

Hi all! Thx for the driver ankinferno!!! It really flies! I've installed it manually as installer didn't show me any driver to install. But it works correctly only if I restart my laptop into "driver signing off" mode. Anything I can do about it? Maybe I've chosen the wrong file? There are C7.... C8... and CH... I don't know if it matters which one you choose. Either way my m3650 feels more lively now Thx again!

SMALL UPDATE:
Driver loads properly if system is shut down from "signed drivers off" mode but when you restart Windows you will end up with vga driver.

Last edited by orionatus; 10-31-2012 at 23:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
player
Newbie
 
Videocard: dv6
Processor: dv6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dv6
Default 10-31-2012, 23:04 | posts: 28

overclocking not wrking
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 11-01-2012, 00:04 | posts: 381

Quote:
Originally Posted by player View Post
overclocking not wrking
Did you follow OP's overclocking steps?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
player
Newbie
 
Videocard: dv6
Processor: dv6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dv6
Default 11-01-2012, 00:22 | posts: 28

yes i did
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 11-01-2012, 00:36 | posts: 381

aww I can't help you
   
Reply With Quote
Windows 8 Driver Signature Enforcement
Old
  (#24)
MichaelT
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 870m 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 4800 MQ HT @3.7
Mainboard: MSI GT Dominator Gaming
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: DynAudio
PSU: Laptop AC Adapter
Cool Windows 8 Driver Signature Enforcement - 11-01-2012, 05:03 | posts: 61 | Location: US

Quote:
Originally Posted by orionatus View Post
Hi all! Thx for the driver ankinferno!!! It really flies! I've installed it manually as installer didn't show me any driver to install. But it works correctly only if I restart my laptop into "driver signing off" mode. Anything I can do about it? Maybe I've chosen the wrong file? There are C7.... C8... and CH... I don't know if it matters which one you choose. Either way my m3650 feels more lively now Thx again!

SMALL UPDATE:
Driver loads properly if system is shut down from "signed drivers off" mode but when you restart Windows you will end up with vga driver.
Try to run the following commands in a Command Prompt as Administrator

These 2 commands turn off the enforcement
bcdedit -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING ON

These 2 commands turn the enforcement back on
bcdedit -set loadoptions ENABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING OFF
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 11-01-2012, 06:15 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by orionatus View Post
SMALL UPDATE:
Driver loads properly if system is shut down from "signed drivers off" mode but when you restart Windows you will end up with vga driver.
Ys 64 bit System has this odd problem..

Solution:
(Make Sure you Disable UAC Before proceeding)

Download > Driver Enforcement Overrider. Link >(http://www.softpedia.com/dyn-postdow...103154&t=4&i=1)

Use the Sign System file option in the application to sign the 'atikmdag.sys'
(provide the correct path to the atikmdag.sys when asked)

After signing Follow the Commands described by MichaelT:

Start a command Prompt with Admin Rights, and execute these commands:

bcdedit -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING ON

restart the system normally..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.