Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Best drivers for two 4870's on Windows 8? Native doesn't work. Years long problem
Old
  (#1)
crewxp
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD4870 (Two of them) 512M
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX620
Default Best drivers for two 4870's on Windows 8? Native doesn't work. Years long problem - 03-06-2012, 20:50 | posts: 35

What are the best (fastest fps) drivers out for the HD4870? I have 4 monitors and two monitors are hooked up to each card.

I'm running windows 8 consumer preview and the drivers that it auto-installed aren't good. My second card doesn't activate sometimes when I boot up my computer. Only two monitors activate. I have to restart until it turns on. I also get 'driver failed and restarted' randomly when watching videos sometimes.

When I played Battlefield 3 on Windows 7, I used to get about 10-30 fps. If I ran crossfire mode (disables my two monitors), it runs from 20-40 fps. Maybe 50fps if I did not move my mouse. It still was unbearable to play online.

I tried installing the ATI Windows 8 drivers, but sadly, the 4870 is not listed. I tried installing random driver packages, but sometimes (I have had this issue on windows 7 too), the drivers don't recognize my 4870. Catalyst Install installs everything BUT the drivers. I have to manually install the drivers using Decide Manager, and sometimes it makes it worse, other times it bsod's.
--------------------------------------------------------
So my question is: Can anyone recommend the best drivers to get me the highest fps in battlefield 3?, that will work on Windows 8?

Want to Solve:
  • Horrible FPS In Battlefield 3
  • Random missing 2 monitors from other card
  • Driver crashes
  • Windows 8 Support
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ShooterFX
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD7990
Processor: Intel I7 3820
Mainboard: Gigabyte UP4
Memory: Dominator Plat 2133-16gig
Soundcard: Triton Headphones
PSU: AX1200
Default 03-07-2012, 06:56 | posts: 37 | Location: South Africa

Well i am using 11.12 with CAP 3 . Works fine on Win8 CP. I am running 4870x2 CF. Hope you get it sorted
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
elpsychodiablo
Master Guru
 
elpsychodiablo's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 460 HAWK
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v3@3.7
Mainboard: ASRock B85M Pro4
Memory: 16GB 1600/8-8-8-21
Soundcard: Creative Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Modstream 600W
Default 03-07-2012, 13:33 | posts: 233 | Location: at Bill Gates Dog House

best way install windows 7 again, windows 8 still have lower fps then windows 7.

did you try this ?

http://downloads.guru3d.com/AMD-Cata...load-2866.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ShooterFX
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD7990
Processor: Intel I7 3820
Mainboard: Gigabyte UP4
Memory: Dominator Plat 2133-16gig
Soundcard: Triton Headphones
PSU: AX1200
Default 03-07-2012, 18:41 | posts: 37 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by elpsychodiablo View Post
best way install windows 7 again, windows 8 still have lower fps then windows 7.

did you try this ?

http://downloads.guru3d.com/AMD-Cata...load-2866.html
Those driver do not support HD4000 series.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
crewxp
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD4870 (Two of them) 512M
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX620
Default 03-08-2012, 00:07 | posts: 35

yeah, the preview drivers dont work for the 4800 series cards.

To install older non windows 8 drivers, is there a special way you have to install them? (Safe mode, compatibility, etc)? I always had issues in the past with 'ATI Drivers' not showing up in the catalyst installer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ShooterFX
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD7990
Processor: Intel I7 3820
Mainboard: Gigabyte UP4
Memory: Dominator Plat 2133-16gig
Soundcard: Triton Headphones
PSU: AX1200
Default 03-08-2012, 14:04 | posts: 37 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by crewxp View Post
yeah, the preview drivers dont work for the 4800 series cards.

To install older non windows 8 drivers, is there a special way you have to install them? (Safe mode, compatibility, etc)? I always had issues in the past with 'ATI Drivers' not showing up in the catalyst installer.
Nope. I did clean install of Win 8, then just installed 11.12. They installed full without any issues or having to force drivers/ ccc. Still working fine on my setup
   
Reply With Quote
Thanks your brilliant!!
Old
  (#7)
bodgeup
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI HD 4870 X2 XFIRE
Processor: intel i7 950
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default Thanks your brilliant!! - 04-05-2012, 14:09 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShooterFX View Post
Nope. I did clean install of Win 8, then just installed 11.12. They installed full without any issues or having to force drivers/ ccc. Still working fine on my setup
I could kiss u right know, u dont know how long ive been trying to get my 2 HD4870's in XFIRE to work in win 8 CP with CCC & crossfire capability.

tried lots of sites examples but none worked untill i found this post, i downloaded CCC 11.12 and installed and volla it worked 1st time like a charm!!!

I may lose some of the new feature from CCC 12.3 but hey at least i can now use my 4870's in XFIRE in win 8 CP.

Anyone else with similar problem, just remove any attempt of previous CCC installs then just DL & install CCC 11.12 and reboot. CCC should start right up and allow u to enable XFIRE on HD4XXX cards.

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ferinefast
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI/4870/512
Processor: Quad 6600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Green
Default 08-29-2012, 21:33 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShooterFX View Post
Nope. I did clean install of Win 8, then just installed 11.12. They installed full without any issues or having to force drivers/ ccc. Still working fine on my setup
Thanks,you saved my day.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.