Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-17-2012, 04:10 | posts: 8,841 | Location: The Zone

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
that is competely and uttery wrong.
Yep, his head is in the sand. W/e, we don't care now do we?
   
 
Old
  (#27)
mr_scarface
Master Guru
 
mr_scarface's Avatar
 
Videocard: galaxy 660gtx SLI 2gb
Processor: intel I5 3570k
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 8
Soundcard: Logitech
PSU: corsair tx850
Default 06-17-2012, 04:47 | posts: 275

hey guys. i didnt want to make a thread on this but, i saw the fx 4100 for 99 today. it was on sale. is that cpu worth it?
   
Old
  (#28)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-17-2012, 05:13 | posts: 8,841 | Location: The Zone

Only if you already have an AM3+ board. If not, get an i3 2100 or 2120 if your budget is low.
   
Old
  (#29)
mr_scarface
Master Guru
 
mr_scarface's Avatar
 
Videocard: galaxy 660gtx SLI 2gb
Processor: intel I5 3570k
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 8
Soundcard: Logitech
PSU: corsair tx850
Default 06-17-2012, 05:45 | posts: 275

the am3 board i saw was 59 dollars. then a intel board that takes a i3 is about the same price. im just not sure if i need a quad core right now
   
 
Old
  (#30)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 06-17-2012, 16:51 | posts: 17,807 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice445 View Post
Yep, his head is in the sand. W/e, we don't care now do we?
na OP enjoy your "upgrade", hope you like it.
   
Old
  (#31)
vejn
Master Guru
 
vejn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7870 TF3
Processor: Core i5 3350P
Mainboard: MSI B75 G41
Memory: 4 Gb DDR
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 06-18-2012, 17:42 | posts: 710

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice445 View Post
Only if you already have an AM3+ board. If not, get an i3 2100 or 2120 if your budget is low.
2120 is my country is still expansive and it is not on budget. That my concern.
What about between core i3 and FX 8120?
   
Old
  (#32)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-19-2012, 00:01 | posts: 8,841 | Location: The Zone

Quote:
Originally Posted by vejn View Post
2120 is my country is still expansive and it is not on budget. That my concern.
What about between core i3 and FX 8120?
If an FX 8120 is cheaper than an i3 2120, then by all means go for it. It's a good overclocker.
   
Old
  (#33)
main_shoby
Maha Guru
 
main_shoby's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 90Hz
Processor: 3930k 4.8ghz (water)
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Gskill Sniper 16gb 2400
Soundcard: Xonar STX & DT 880 Prem
PSU: Corsair Ax1200
Default 06-19-2012, 12:41 | posts: 974 | Location: Miami

rofl, what a thread!
its like a dude is trying to jump off a cliff and other people are like .
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.......... !!!!
and then .. aahh.. oh well
rofl. funny stuff
   
Old
  (#34)
SoloCreep
Master Guru
 
SoloCreep's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 SC Signature
Processor: AMD FX-6200 BE 4.4 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: CorsairXMS3 DDR3 1600 8gb
Soundcard: SupremeFX X-Fi 2
PSU: CORSAIR HX750 80+ Gold
Default 06-25-2012, 00:11 | posts: 408 | Location: Wa

Del_Boy - Now that you have bought a new cpu. Im curious what your thoughts are on your purchase. Does the speed feel like a upgrade? Im just wondering after reading this thread..
   
Old
  (#35)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 06-25-2012, 09:08 | posts: 23,606 | Location: NZ

I'm also curious...
   
 
Old
  (#36)
Del_Boy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 (2560x1440)
Processor: FX-8350 4.7ghz (water)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: 8GB ddr3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700w
Default 06-29-2012, 21:32 | posts: 452 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoloCreep View Post
Del_Boy - Now that you have bought a new cpu. Im curious what your thoughts are on your purchase. Does the speed feel like a upgrade? Im just wondering after reading this thread..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
I'm also curious...
No change in skyrim, but other games like BF3 etc there is an increase in smoothness, my overall computing experience has not changed much although files and folders open a lot snappier, but that could just be because of new windows install, who knows.
   
Old
  (#37)
apintojr
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI TwinFroz 560ti 2gb
Processor: Intel i7 930@3.8Ghz H100i
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A UD3R
Memory: 6GB OCZ 1448MHZ
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: TT Toughpower 850
Default 06-30-2012, 16:42 | posts: 1,161 | Location: NJ-USA

sorry, i just had to chime in my two cents. to OP. one big LOL for you.

-enjoy
   
Old
  (#38)
bemaniac
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX SC SLI
Processor: 3820 @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79 UD3
Memory: 8gb Geil Corsa 2133mhz
Soundcard: ZXR > LX57/Q500/Sub
PSU: Silentpro Gold 1200watt
Default 06-30-2012, 21:18 | posts: 55 | Location: Portsmouth

I'm just weirded out by the fact the poster says amd cards only work with amd processors. I matched my amd card with the highest amount of pci-e lanes for future tri-fire and the best value overclocking chip on that platform and my 7970 performs excellently.
   
Old
  (#39)
DualCORE1
Master Guru
 
DualCORE1's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI XFX 7990 6GB
Processor: i7 870 2.93ghz/TX3 evo
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E Deluxe
Memory: GSkill RipjawsX 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Asus Via/Yamaha 5.1 AV
PSU: Tagan 1100w
Default 07-01-2012, 01:54 | posts: 620

been using ati cars with intel chips for years with hardly no issues of course they will be 1 of two issues as its the pc mostly due to new cards been released and it takes a while for some decent drivers to come out but graphics card work on either amd or intel boards, had more trouble with nvidia side of things had a 8800gtx which was prone to get hot quick and crashing,
also cant see point in people upgrading their proccesoor all the time from a i7 to a newer i7. unless your pc is slowing down just go with best card out at the time.

Last edited by DualCORE1; 07-01-2012 at 01:56.
   
Old
  (#40)
Del_Boy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 (2560x1440)
Processor: FX-8350 4.7ghz (water)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: 8GB ddr3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700w
Default 07-04-2012, 15:48 | posts: 452 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by apintojr View Post
sorry, i just had to chime in my two cents. to OP. one big LOL for you.

-enjoy
And one big lol back to you sir.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bemaniac View Post
I'm just weirded out by the fact the poster says amd cards only work with amd processors. I matched my amd card with the highest amount of pci-e lanes for future tri-fire and the best value overclocking chip on that platform and my 7970 performs excellently.
Be careful bonermaniac, only weirdos get weirded out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DualCORE1 View Post
been using ati cars with intel chips for years with hardly no issues of course they will be 1 of two issues as its the pc mostly due to new cards been released and it takes a while for some decent drivers to come out but graphics card work on either amd or intel boards, had more trouble with nvidia side of things had a 8800gtx which was prone to get hot quick and crashing,
also cant see point in people upgrading their proccesoor all the time from a i7 to a newer i7. unless your pc is slowing down just go with best card out at the time.
Same here, problem only known to occur with my particular card, its this one > http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/P...or/HD_6870_X2/

Last edited by Del_Boy; 07-04-2012 at 15:51.
   
Old
  (#41)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-04-2012, 16:05 | posts: 17,807 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Do you have any evidence proving your claim as to a problem with your card not working with Intel cpu's?
   
Old
  (#42)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 07-04-2012, 21:18 | posts: 7,212

Even if his paticular card didn't work too well with Intel setups, going the AMD route CPU wise still comes across as badly thought out. I'd sell the bloody GPU and get something else, a lot less hassle than the trouble he's went too for this 'upgrade' if you can even call it that. I'm not trying to be nasty toward the OP: But honestly, I'd hate for someone to see this thread and waste money thinking it to be the right option.
   
Old
  (#43)
yelsewshane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire VaporX 290
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z79
Memory: Corsair 16gb ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair 750
Default 07-05-2012, 04:51 | posts: 1,535

Lol dude your downgradeing going from that intel to the amd cpu .... wow
   
Old
  (#44)
Del_Boy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 (2560x1440)
Processor: FX-8350 4.7ghz (water)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: 8GB ddr3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700w
Default 07-05-2012, 06:53 | posts: 452 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Do you have any evidence proving your claim as to a problem with your card not working with Intel cpu's?
Not cpu is actually certain intel chipsets on motherboards, there where a couple of reveiws (i shall look later when i get in from work) and they had boot problems with certain intel chipsets, but card worked fine on AMD set ups, as i said this happened to a couple of reviewers on the net, card also has known compatibility problems with sandy bridge as well but not for everyone. Weird i know but better for me to play safe than spend money on headaches.

ps are there any AMD users left in the world ? only intel trolls have high jacked this thread to bash AMD, i thought by posting here i would maybe get a few straight answers from AMD users as this is the AMD section no ?

Last edited by Del_Boy; 07-05-2012 at 06:57.
   
Old
  (#45)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 07-05-2012, 07:12 | posts: 7,212

Quote:
Originally Posted by Del_Boy View Post
Not cpu is actually certain intel chipsets on motherboards, there where a couple of reveiws (i shall look later when i get in from work) and they had boot problems with certain intel chipsets, but card worked fine on AMD set ups, as i said this happened to a couple of reviewers on the net, card also has known compatibility problems with sandy bridge as well but not for everyone. Weird i know but better for me to play safe than spend money on headaches.

ps are there any AMD users left in the world ? only intel trolls have high jacked this thread to bash AMD, i thought by posting here i would maybe get a few straight answers from AMD users as this is the AMD section no ?
You made a bad choice, stop the bull****. Period. Most people telling you that you are wrong have used BOTH companies for hardware over the years. The fact you seem to show brand loyalty only proves you're not worth listening too.

Straight answers? You were given a page and a half worth. You refused to listen and bought ****ty hardware while lying your backside off against all reason. You've only yourself to blame. Don't dare come out with the "badly done too" whine you seem to be pushing for. You made a piss-poor choice, while everyone else told you to do otherwise. Your failure, end of story.

Last edited by Darkest; 07-05-2012 at 07:23.
   
Old
  (#46)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-05-2012, 10:34 | posts: 17,807 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Del_Boy View Post
Not cpu is actually certain intel chipsets on motherboards, there where a couple of reveiws (i shall look later when i get in from work) and they had boot problems with certain intel chipsets, but card worked fine on AMD set ups, as i said this happened to a couple of reviewers on the net, card also has known compatibility problems with sandy bridge as well but not for everyone. Weird i know but better for me to play safe than spend money on headaches.

ps are there any AMD users left in the world ? only intel trolls have high jacked this thread to bash AMD, i thought by posting here i would maybe get a few straight answers from AMD users as this is the AMD section no ?
Proof or GTFO
   
Old
  (#47)
Del_Boy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 (2560x1440)
Processor: FX-8350 4.7ghz (water)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: 8GB ddr3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700w
Default 07-05-2012, 18:22 | posts: 452 | Location: UK

READ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Del_Boy View Post
Not cpu is actually certain intel chipsets on motherboards, there where a couple of reviews (i shall look later when i get in from work) and they had boot problems with certain intel chipsets, but card worked fine on AMD set ups, as i said this happened to a couple of reviewers on the net, card also has known compatibility problems with sandy bridge as well but not for everyone. Weird i know but better for me to play safe than spend money on headaches.

ps are there any AMD users left in the world ? only intel trolls have high jacked this thread to bash AMD, i thought by posting here i would maybe get a few straight answers from AMD users as this is the AMD section no ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
You made a bad choice, stop the bull****. Period. Most people telling you that you are wrong have used BOTH companies for hardware over the years. The fact you seem to show brand loyalty only proves you're not worth listening too.



Straight answers? You were given a page and a half worth. You refused to listen and bought sh!ty hardware while lying your backside off against all reason. You've only yourself to blame. Don't dare come out with the "badly done too" whine you seem to be pushing for. You made a piss-poor choice, while everyone else told you to do otherwise. Your failure, end of story.
you obvious don't read posts fully ^, sorry pal, reported for your arrogance and uncalled-for rudeness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Proof or GTFO
----troll known----- here's your proof

http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/graph...eon-hd-6870-x2

now this guy TK is a known troll, maybe that what TK stands for but backward, sorry known troll, reported for unneeded rudeness
(its been building up for months)

I think you two guys need a few lessons in etiquette.

Last edited by Del_Boy; 07-05-2012 at 18:37.
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.