Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Planning to get another SSD to Raid 0 for Windows
Old
  (#1)
Neillithan
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800 GTX BFG OC
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 6000 3.0ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default Planning to get another SSD to Raid 0 for Windows - 05-14-2012, 09:53 | posts: 6

Hi, I recently purchased the OCZ Agility 3 120gb SSD from Newegg and I installed Windows 7 on it and I am absolutely blown away by its performance. The drive is SO fast.

I am so impressed that I want to get another drive and Raid 0, however, I can save some money by getting an OCZ Vertex 3 120gb SSD.

Would it be fine to get the Vertex 3 to Raid 0 with my Agility 3 SSD, or will that cause problems? Should I just get another Agility 3 and play it safe?

The reason I'm asking is because Newegg has it on a deal for $100 right now. It might not last.

Thanks,
-Neil
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Lightning SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 05-14-2012, 10:04 | posts: 13,132 | Location: USA

i wouldn't. The speed is nice, but the data loss if anything would happen is just not worth it. Put that money towards something else.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Von Dach
Master Guru
 
Von Dach's Avatar
 
Videocard: NV560Ti @900/2394 ATI4890
Processor: Intel 2600K @4600 MHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: 2x4GBCorsairVengeanc1600
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D USB
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 05-14-2012, 11:33 | posts: 623 | Location: Quebec, Canada

TRIM on Raid0 don't work, which mean your performance will degrade as time go by.
Sandforce controllers have low performance compared to the new Indilinx Everest 2 one (OCZ exclusive, on Vertex 4).

Take a look at my personal benchmark of some I own:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=195

It's quite clear you should by a Vertex 4 alone, the speed will still beat 2x Vertex3-Agility3 and TRIM will still be functional.
The Vertex 4 64GB is about to get in stores if you want the lowest priced one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
scheherazade
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: (.) an
Processor: sb-e water
Mainboard: p9x79 ws
Memory: 32 gig
Soundcard: spdif 4x12" driver towers
PSU: dual 1000w
Default 05-14-2012, 21:18 | posts: 2,033 | Location: NOVA

Raid0 is for fast big reads.
Booting is mostly small reads.
You're not looking at any kind of big gains with this move.
With the lack of trim, and SF2's generally bad offline garbage collection, you're probably gonna lose speed over time.

-scheherazade
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
sovietdoc
Master Guru
 
sovietdoc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX470 SLI
Processor: 3930K @ 5.00Ghz
Mainboard: GA-X79-UD3
Memory: 16Gb PC3-19200
Soundcard: Forte 7.1
PSU: TT 1200W
Default 05-15-2012, 00:33 | posts: 700 | Location: h4x0r_lund

get an ocz revo for fast boot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
sdamaged99
Maha Guru
 
sdamaged99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7870XT Joker 1150/1650
Processor: i7 3930K 4.8Ghz H20
Mainboard: Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: 32GB Samsung 2400mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar HDAV1.3
PSU: 1000W Coolermaster Pro
Default 05-16-2012, 08:31 | posts: 1,933 | Location: Isle of Man

You won't notice ANY difference whatsoever raiding drives for your windows volume.

You would notice a decent gain if you use a RAID0 volume for a games drive (like Steam) for example

TRIM doesn't work on RAID but the Corsair Performance Pro drives have background garbage collection which works just as well. They are the only SSD drives that have this as far as i know

They are quite expensive though, i have two of them in RAID0 for Steam
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Arctucas
Maha Guru
 
Arctucas's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI nVIDIA 560Ti
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: eVGA 141-GT-E770-A1
Memory: Mushkin998966 Radioactive
Soundcard: X-Meridian 7.1 2G/ Z-5500
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-16-2012, 14:12 | posts: 1,842

RAID0 TRIM is something Intel is working on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Neillithan
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800 GTX BFG OC
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 6000 3.0ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 05-19-2012, 00:19 | posts: 6

Thanks for your responses, guys. :-)

So from what I've learned, it's not a good idea to Raid0 an OS drive because the performance gain would be very little.

I do prefer to run Steam on my SSD, so Raid 0 for Steam would be a wise idea.

As of right now, I have split my SSD into 2 partitions. 40 gigs for Windows, and 80 gigs for Steam and whatever else.

I was thinking about getting a second SSD so that I could have 240GB, 40 for Windows, and 200 for Steam and whatever else (partitioned).

I don't know much about Raid0 as I've never attempted it so I'm assuming that's possible. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I'm not worried about the potential data loss associated with Raid0. The worst case scenario is, I will lose my OS and my Steam install, which is of zero consequence to me. All of my important data is backed up to physical drives and dropbox.




Can somebody explain TRIM to me? I'm not familiar with this term. Something about degrading performance over time...


Also, can somebody explain background garbage collection to me?


So, basically the OCZ Vertex 4 is great because it has a new controller? I looked at the provided link and those are some pretty high read/write numbers compared to my OCZ Agility 3.


It should be mentioned that I am bottlenecked because I do not have SATA 3 ports on my motherboard and I'm stuck on Socket 1156 which apparently does not have any motherboards with SATA 3.

Thanks!
-Neil
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Davy_b
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX670 CU II TOP
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengance LP
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi HD
PSU: Seasonic 1000W Platinum
Default 05-29-2012, 03:19 | posts: 1 | Location: Ennis Ireland

good to know i was just goanna ask the same question about setting up a RAID 0 with 2 x SSD's , just out of curosity what does TRIM mean ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 05-29-2012, 08:53 | posts: 6,446 | Location: Chilling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davy_b View Post
good to know i was just goanna ask the same question about setting up a RAID 0 with 2 x SSD's , just out of curosity what does TRIM mean ??
In computing, a TRIM command allows an operating system to inform a solid-state drive (SSD) which blocks of data are no longer considered in use and can be wiped internally. While TRIM is frequently spelled in capital letters, it is a command name, not an acronym.

And going with RAID 0 SSD's for a home computer setup is pointless, you are not going to notice the speed benefit at that point.

As for garbage collection:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garbage...age_collection
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.