Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#276)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-09-2012, 11:27 | posts: 1,589 | Location: Toronto

i think a few people said that's fixed in 8.97
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#277)
Harribo
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD6950
Processor: E8500
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DS5
Memory: 4GB mushkin
Soundcard:
PSU: TT Toughpower 750W
Default 05-09-2012, 12:07 | posts: 5 | Location: Norway

This driver introduced the HDMI audio switching problem with my Panasonic TV. I did clean using driver cleaner in safe mode before installing the new driver.

If i change to another source (TV etc) and change it back to my desktop, i will have no sound.

Removed the HDMI driver and now it works.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#278)
krishnarama108
Master Guru
 
Videocard: asus ati 5850 1gb 850mhz
Processor: intel q9550 3.4ghz+
Mainboard: asus P5E(formula rev.)
Memory: ddr2-800mhz+ cl4 6GB
Soundcard: M-Audio Transit
PSU: corsair TX 650wat
Default 05-09-2012, 19:13 | posts: 288 | Location: Goloka

sleep mode is not working...this was introduced in latest drivers...
anyone?
   
Reply With Quote
12.4 Xfire broken after reboot
Old
  (#279)
moheban79
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970 - 2GB Trifire
Processor: Intel 920 D0 @ 3.8 Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA Classified 759
Memory: 6gb DDR3 7-7-7-20
Soundcard: SB Xfi Titanium
PSU: PC Power Cooling 1200ESA
Default 12.4 Xfire broken after reboot - 05-10-2012, 02:56 | posts: 174 | Location: worcester, ma

I have noticed that with these drivers my performance is aweful until
I disable Xfire and then enable it back on. Have to start over after every reboot. Though I must say the fps are awesome once I turn it off and on again. Anyone notice this? Should I go 12.5 beta?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#280)
shankly1985
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GE Crossfire
Processor: i7 2600k @4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8z77 WS
Memory: Kingston HyperX 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X - Roccat
PSU: SuperFlower 1000w Platium
Default 05-11-2012, 11:51 | posts: 383 | Location: England

I auto updated from CCC 12.3 to 12.4 and having zero issues with my games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#281)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Cool 05-11-2012, 11:53 | posts: 3,674 | Location: UK

Same here.
   
Reply With Quote
Gpus are down clocked..
Old
  (#282)
moheban79
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970 - 2GB Trifire
Processor: Intel 920 D0 @ 3.8 Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA Classified 759
Memory: 6gb DDR3 7-7-7-20
Soundcard: SB Xfi Titanium
PSU: PC Power Cooling 1200ESA
Default Gpus are down clocked.. - 05-13-2012, 03:34 | posts: 174 | Location: worcester, ma

I run Afterburner and enabled monitoring of gpu core clocks and inside Windows the core clocks are 500mhz, 250mhz, 250mhz. When I play like Fear 3 I get the following: 880mhz, 250mhz, 250mhz and only the last two gpus being used!

So now I goto go disable Xfire and re-enable Xfire to get it working again. This is with three 6970 cards which I totally regret purchasing last year. Will try the 'enableulps' fix in registry but that didnt work last time..

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#283)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 05-13-2012, 18:35 | posts: 5,703 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by moheban79 View Post
I run Afterburner and enabled monitoring of gpu core clocks and inside Windows the core clocks are 500mhz, 250mhz, 250mhz. When I play like Fear 3 I get the following: 880mhz, 250mhz, 250mhz and only the last two gpus being used!

So now I goto go disable Xfire and re-enable Xfire to get it working again. This is with three 6970 cards which I totally regret purchasing last year. Will try the 'enableulps' fix in registry but that didnt work last time..

Thanks.
Well that is your problem FEAR 3 doesn't even require that kind of horsepower to max out, and it doesn't support multi-GPU all that well either. It's the game in that case not the cards.
   
Reply With Quote
its all about horsepower
Old
  (#284)
moheban79
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970 - 2GB Trifire
Processor: Intel 920 D0 @ 3.8 Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA Classified 759
Memory: 6gb DDR3 7-7-7-20
Soundcard: SB Xfi Titanium
PSU: PC Power Cooling 1200ESA
Default its all about horsepower - 05-13-2012, 19:16 | posts: 174 | Location: worcester, ma

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
Well that is your problem FEAR 3 doesn't even require that kind of horsepower to max out, and it doesn't support multi-GPU all that well either. It's the game in that case not the cards.
Well I'm playing at 5760x1080 so at those clocks I was getting like 8 fps. I rolled back to 12.3 after giving up on 12.4 and now all three gpus operate at 880 mhz and get like 60 fps. So my problem are these driver bugs. Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#285)
The Goose
Maha Guru
 
The Goose's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga gtx680sc sli-h2o
Processor: I7 4820@4.6ghz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus rampage formula BF3
Memory: 16g Gskill redZ 2133 ddr3
Soundcard: Recon3D pro series
PSU: Ocz ZX-1250
Default 05-14-2012, 09:14 | posts: 1,554 | Location: shropshire,UK

very poor cf performance with my 4890`s in 3d mark 06(dropped 60fps) and 3dvantage(dropped 30fps) msi afterburner says im only gettin 60% max gpu usage on both gpu`s hopefully wont have any issues when my Asus 7970 Directcu arrives later today

Update: just tried the latest cap and i and gpu usuage back up to 99%

not tried any games yet

Last edited by The Goose; 05-14-2012 at 09:25.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#286)
fluxetreflux
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5770 CF / 5870m
Processor: i5 750 / i7 Q740
Mainboard: Gigabyte PA55-UD3 / Asus
Memory: 8 Go DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750W
Default 05-14-2012, 13:29 | posts: 5 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by pokerapar88 View Post
It must be a bug, mine says 12.3 lol that was a pic i found on google images ^^
Same here...

12.4 works fine on my rig. Games runs smooth but i have several BSOD if i don't use the computer while a quarter of an hour...



I did some "tricks" with powercfg command. The report returns me errors so i disabled all automatic shut off (screen, usb) and no results. BSOD are still there.

Now i investigate following those advices "..., in which this error occurs, overclocking/c-state and/or bad devices drivers are the reason, only in few cases it's actually because of defective hardware or an unsufficient power supply unit." ... Either i think that is due to the driver because there's a message in the BSOD screen that speak about "ATI..mag". Sorry didn't remember exactly

Maybe one "guru" crawling this thread could help me ?

Thanks in advance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#287)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 05-16-2012, 04:14 | posts: 5,703 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by moheban79 View Post
Well I'm playing at 5760x1080 so at those clocks I was getting like 8 fps. I rolled back to 12.3 after giving up on 12.4 and now all three gpus operate at 880 mhz and get like 60 fps. So my problem are these driver bugs. Thanks.
What...I was saying your problem was FEAR 3 does not support Multi GPU very well compared to most games.

It's a console port.

It wasn't meant to be offensive....

Driver or not..FEAR 3 just does not support multi-gpu very well or it would be used in benchmarks for it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#288)
MichaelTurbo
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7970x2 lightning@1300/160
Processor: i7 2600K @ 5.48GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 16GB Ripjaws @ 2200 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon3D
PSU: Kingwin Mach1
Default 05-16-2012, 07:09 | posts: 13 | Location: California

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
What...I was saying your problem was FEAR 3 does not support Multi GPU very well compared to most games.

It's a console port.

It wasn't meant to be offensive....

Driver or not..FEAR 3 just does not support multi-gpu very well or it would be used in benchmarks for it.

As far as I'm aware, FEAR 3 does not play well in any multi-GPU mode; CrossfireX & SLI alike. Therefore it isn't a driver bug, but a fundamental game or engine-based limitation as this fellow points out.

That said? In 2560x1600 & 3560x1920 I'm hitting 110-120 FPS on the former & 60-80 frames the latter. No wild bounces between high & low fps, GPU utilization around 60% . Game isn't especially demanding.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#289)
fluxetreflux
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5770 CF / 5870m
Processor: i5 750 / i7 Q740
Mainboard: Gigabyte PA55-UD3 / Asus
Memory: 8 Go DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750W
Default 05-16-2012, 15:21 | posts: 5 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluxetreflux View Post
Same here...

12.4 works fine on my rig. Games runs smooth but i have several BSOD if i don't use the computer while a quarter of an hour...



I did some "tricks" with powercfg command. The report returns me errors so i disabled all automatic shut off (screen, usb) and no results. BSOD are still there.

Now i investigate following those advices "..., in which this error occurs, overclocking/c-state and/or bad devices drivers are the reason, only in few cases it's actually because of defective hardware or an unsufficient power supply unit." ... Either i think that is due to the driver because there's a message in the BSOD screen that speak about "ATI..mag". Sorry didn't remember exactly

Maybe one "guru" crawling this thread could help me ?

Thanks in advance
I finally revert to 12.3 after a quick try of the 12.5 beta that i uninstalled immediatly because CCC didn't want to start.

But with the 12.3 and cap1, BSOD are still there only when i don't use my computer during 15 or 30 mn. WTF.

After "googling" i found so many things...
- apply some changes in the register about tdr : nothing
- disable "overdrive" from CCC : nothing
- last thing i did : modify the vcore in the bios. Don't know if it works but yesterday night, i could play 2 hours with no issue. Today, i will let my computer on, and i will see...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#290)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-17-2012, 03:36 | posts: 1,589 | Location: Toronto

wasnt CF disabled in fear3 in a CAP a year ago? looking at the CAP xml now, dont see any cf stuff for fear3 though, strange... usually there would be a disable cf line
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#291)
fluxetreflux
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5770 CF / 5870m
Processor: i5 750 / i7 Q740
Mainboard: Gigabyte PA55-UD3 / Asus
Memory: 8 Go DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750W
Default 05-17-2012, 14:21 | posts: 5 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluxetreflux View Post
I finally revert to 12.3 after a quick try of the 12.5 beta that i uninstalled immediatly because CCC didn't want to start.

But with the 12.3 and cap1, BSOD are still there only when i don't use my computer during 15 or 30 mn. WTF.

After "googling" i found so many things...
- apply some changes in the register about tdr : nothing
- disable "overdrive" from CCC : nothing
- last thing i did : modify the vcore in the bios. Don't know if it works but yesterday night, i could play 2 hours with no issue. Today, i will let my computer on, and i will see...
No more BSOD today.

I'd tried a couple of my "GOG" games : JC2, Batman Arkham City, Lara Croft and The GOL (GPU 2 is disabled in this game and just one fail with it during a 2 hours coop ride : back to desktop and a message about graphics resources missing ?), NFS Shift and RAGE play fine...

I can't bring any report about BF3 or Skyrim because they are on my box and i don't have any issue with them...

Maybe i went too fast by reverting to 12.3 instead of trying all that tricks with 12.4. I will stuck now in 12.3 and i hope that 12.5 WHQL will come with less problem...

So i will have no more contribution on this 12.4 thread. See you elsewhere

For those who read me, i apologize about my bad english...

However i didn't have any help for my problem, i like this forum 6and guru3D site.

Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#292)
adrock311
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 4gb SC
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 8 gb DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: 850 watt Thermaltake
Default 05-17-2012, 14:37 | posts: 753

my fans got stuck at 50% on both cards last night, installed MSI afterburner and activated a custom fan profile to fix it, but wtf, is it the 12.4 drivers?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#293)
psyside
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 @1150/6000
Processor: i7 2600K@4.8ghz 1.41v24/7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Extreme IV
Memory: 8GB G.S RipjawsX @2133
Soundcard: Xonar STX/Senn HD595
PSU: Cooler Master 1000W
Default 05-20-2012, 22:20 | posts: 347 | Location: Macedonia

Where is this 12.5 beta driver? and is it better then 12.4 WHQL, sorry i don't read much this driver based threads.
   
Reply With Quote
Not the games fault..
Old
  (#294)
moheban79
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970 - 2GB Trifire
Processor: Intel 920 D0 @ 3.8 Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA Classified 759
Memory: 6gb DDR3 7-7-7-20
Soundcard: SB Xfi Titanium
PSU: PC Power Cooling 1200ESA
Default Not the games fault.. - 05-21-2012, 19:39 | posts: 174 | Location: worcester, ma

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
wasnt CF disabled in fear3 in a CAP a year ago? looking at the CAP xml now, dont see any cf stuff for fear3 though, strange... usually there would be a disable cf line
Its not the games fault. 12.4 just doesn't work for multi monitor multi gpu people. I mean I experience my gpu clocks throttled down to nothing like a lot of other people here. No problems with 12.3. Wish they would hotfix this though!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#295)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 05-21-2012, 20:15 | posts: 5,703 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelTurbo View Post
As far as I'm aware, FEAR 3 does not play well in any multi-GPU mode; CrossfireX & SLI alike. Therefore it isn't a driver bug, but a fundamental game or engine-based limitation as this fellow points out.

That said? In 2560x1600 & 3560x1920 I'm hitting 110-120 FPS on the former & 60-80 frames the latter. No wild bounces between high & low fps, GPU utilization around 60% . Game isn't especially demanding.
Thanks for backing me up. I remember lots of people upset about FEAR 2 and 3 practically being a straight up port to PC.

@Psyside

Bro, 12.5 has been here for months. look at the Sticky with April 18th dated drivers. Those are the leaked 12.5's. Use them!
   
Reply With Quote
Yeah ok
Old
  (#296)
moheban79
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970 - 2GB Trifire
Processor: Intel 920 D0 @ 3.8 Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA Classified 759
Memory: 6gb DDR3 7-7-7-20
Soundcard: SB Xfi Titanium
PSU: PC Power Cooling 1200ESA
Default Yeah ok - 05-21-2012, 20:24 | posts: 174 | Location: worcester, ma

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
Thanks for backing me up. I remember lots of people upset about FEAR 2 and 3 practically being a straight up port to PC.

@Psyside

Bro, 12.5 has been here for months. look at the Sticky with April 18th dated drivers. Those are the leaked 12.5's. Use them!
Regarding Fear3 that maybe so, but what I'm seeing with 12.4 has nothing to with crossfire gpu utilization. The frequency of each gpu goes down to (880 ,250, 250mhz) with only the last two gpus being used. With 12.3 they're fine at (880,880,880 mhz) and all three being used like 65-75 percent. And its not only with Fear3 as Skyrim and Bulletstorm crawl slowly. Did a clean install using three different methods and same thing. BTW: Messing with 'enableulps', just in case your wondering, in the registry did nothing. Thats the way it goes I suppose. Some drivers work and some don't. I accept it. No big deal..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#297)
psyside
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 @1150/6000
Processor: i7 2600K@4.8ghz 1.41v24/7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Extreme IV
Memory: 8GB G.S RipjawsX @2133
Soundcard: Xonar STX/Senn HD595
PSU: Cooler Master 1000W
Default 05-22-2012, 18:32 | posts: 347 | Location: Macedonia

Anyone else have shockwawe player crash, in chrome with 12.5 beta?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#298)
pokerapar88
Maha Guru
 
pokerapar88's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 7970 DD @ 1050/1500
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5Ghz CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Gskill Sniper 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + HT 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster GX 750w
Default 05-22-2012, 19:17 | posts: 1,655 | Location: Argentina // Buenos Aires

Quote:
Originally Posted by moheban79 View Post
Regarding Fear3 that maybe so, but what I'm seeing with 12.4 has nothing to with crossfire gpu utilization. The frequency of each gpu goes down to (880 ,250, 250mhz) with only the last two gpus being used. With 12.3 they're fine at (880,880,880 mhz) and all three being used like 65-75 percent. And its not only with Fear3 as Skyrim and Bulletstorm crawl slowly. Did a clean install using three different methods and same thing. BTW: Messing with 'enableulps', just in case your wondering, in the registry did nothing. Thats the way it goes I suppose. Some drivers work and some don't. I accept it. No big deal..
What a useless thing is crossfiring and trifiring when drivers don't help at all. At the end you get more with less getting the best single GPU availiable. Why do I say this? because my brother's GTS450 feels smoother at its 40ish fps in BF3 without Vsync than my CF at 150-180 fps to 60 or 75 with Vsync on, even with Vsync, game isn't as smooth as his.
this happens in every game except the ones his VGA isn't enough to run them.
I wish drivers would accompany tech evolution, not make it a hassle
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#299)
ticcatch
Newbie
 
Videocard: 4550 5450 7900gs etc
Processor: amd intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1
Default 05-22-2012, 20:05 | posts: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harribo View Post
This driver introduced the HDMI audio switching problem with my Panasonic TV. I did clean using driver cleaner in safe mode before installing the new driver.

If i change to another source (TV etc) and change it back to my desktop, i will have no sound.

Removed the HDMI driver and now it works.
Also got back the handshake issue with 5450 card, samsung tv and pioneer receiver.

Worked with 12.3, probably going to revert to the image with 12.3 if it gets too annoying.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#300)
wlw_wl
Maha Guru
 
wlw_wl's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6850 non-Toxic
Processor: Phenom II x4 955 BE
Mainboard: ASRock 870 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL DDR3 4GB 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek HDAudio
PSU: OCZ MXS Pro 600W
Default 05-22-2012, 22:14 | posts: 864 | Location: Poland, Poznan

If anyone is having video decoding problems with these drivers - I had, random hard lock-ups whenever doing anything related to video, be it streamed or not (youtube, movies) - just uninstall the video decoding/encoding component using the ATI Install Manager in Programs and Features - dirty fix, but it works until 12.5 are here.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.