Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core 2 or i7 giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SUPPLY and PROCESSOR upgrade on a SlimCase
Old
  (#1)
CONRACK
Newbie
 
CONRACK's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel GMA 950 (Stock)
Processor: Intel Core2 Duo E4300
Mainboard: ASUS IPLIP-AR (Locktite)
Memory: DIMM DDR2 2GB
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: 160W
Question SUPPLY and PROCESSOR upgrade on a SlimCase - 03-12-2012, 06:15 | posts: 14

hello people, ok so i have a doubt... many i mean. this was my computer http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...roduct=3423017 after a time i upgraded it with a 9400gt(1gb) gpu (the best you can find for this kind of case: low profile), then added 1 more gb of ram (2gb) that's all ive changed of my computer and i want to upgrade my processor from e4300(1.80ghz) to e6700(2.66ghz) and these are my doubts:
1. is it worth? note that the bios is totally locked, and i know nothing of soldering (in case you want me to apply the bsel/vid OC)
2. IF it's worth... is it safe? i ask this cuz i've seen in other posts that i need a power supply of 500w or something and mine is 160w but the link up there says it's "safe" (processor upgrade info)
3. if it's not... how must i ask for power supplies around? (does my slim case affects the kind/size of the p.s or something like with the gpu? which had to be low profile?)
that's all i want to know it may be a lot but i didn't wanted to leave anything unasked cuz when it's about hardware i get extremely cautious because i am kind of what you can call... POOR. thanks for the help
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 03-12-2012, 13:07 | posts: 4,963 | Location: London

Might be easier to throw together a PC from second hand parts from eBay my friend. The E6750 is a pretty fine CPU, but if the BIOS is locked, the chances are you won't be able to use it, mainly due to the E4300 being an 800 MHz FSB chip, whereas the E6750 is a 1333 MHz FSB chip. Try hunting down a reasonable P35 board off eBay, your current RAM might be salvageable, though second hand DDR2 ain't too expensive, get a better case (again, cheap on ebay), better PSU, as 160W just ain't gunna cut it.

Hoop that helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CONRACK
Newbie
 
CONRACK's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel GMA 950 (Stock)
Processor: Intel Core2 Duo E4300
Mainboard: ASUS IPLIP-AR (Locktite)
Memory: DIMM DDR2 2GB
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: 160W
Default 03-12-2012, 14:35 | posts: 14

well that fsb thinguie i didn't know... juast another doubt IF i manage to unlock it (dunno if updating it) can this still be done? or the poor PSU is still a problem?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-12-2012, 23:30 | posts: 16,791 | Location: US East Coast

Core 2 Duo E4300, E6700 and E6750 are all 65watt processors. The PSU won't be an issue, however, the bios itself may be. According to HP though, the E6750 is not supported. An issue you might run into is the fact that Intel has released newer processors under the "E6700" label. So, you need to specifically look for "Core 2 Duo E6700" as there's also a "Pentium E6700" which is a cache reduced Core 2 Duo E7600.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
CONRACK
Newbie
 
CONRACK's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel GMA 950 (Stock)
Processor: Intel Core2 Duo E4300
Mainboard: ASUS IPLIP-AR (Locktite)
Memory: DIMM DDR2 2GB
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: 160W
Default 05-09-2012, 18:59 | posts: 14

OMG 5 months (exactly) later... thxz for that sykozys that gave me hope again, yes the one i want is the core2 duo e6700, ive seen it in stores i think i might try that one any time soon... as possble
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
case, power supply, processor, upgrade help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.