Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
8GB Memory has any use?
Old
  (#1)
ArCElM
Banned
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 4.5 | H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Crucial Ballistix E
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair AX750W Gold
Cool 8GB Memory has any use? - 05-08-2012, 09:06 | posts: 1,434 | Location: The Octagon

Hi,

I just decided to replace my 4GB 2000Mhz PC3 with Crucial 8GB 1866Mhz PC3


Qute frankly I never really ran my Ripjaw above 1800-1900mhz anyway so, question is this, is there really any need for the extra RAM in gaming? or is 4GB enough still.

Also, what about the speed, am I making a mistake? is somebody going to tell me for gaming, I need at least 2000mhz ram speed?

Help me out! as I can still cancel the order.

the 8GB was cheap enough, just is there any point?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-08-2012, 09:21 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

8 GB is recommended but is not required for gaming as most games don't use more than 4 GB of RAM since they're 32-bit applications. That's all they can address up to.

What you'll see in the future are 64-bit applications that can take advantage of more RAM. However, since the adoption of 64-bit native apps is very slow, you probably won't see it until 5 years from now maybe.

I have 16 GB which is not necessary but like you, RAM's cheap these days and who knows, I might be able to run more virtual machines and my CPU would be the bottleneck and not because I'm low on RAM.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ArCElM
Banned
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 4.5 | H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Crucial Ballistix E
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair AX750W Gold
Default 05-08-2012, 09:32 | posts: 1,434 | Location: The Octagon

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
8 GB is recommended
deltatux

IS IT? I DID NOT KNOW THAT i HAVE BEEN OUT OF THE PC SCENE A WHILE.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 05-08-2012, 09:35 | posts: 23,631 | Location: Netherlands

i cant turn my pagefile off when i play skyrim with loads of mods. 8gb fully used lol (wish i had 16gb)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-08-2012, 09:43 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArCElM View Post
IS IT? I DID NOT KNOW THAT i HAVE BEEN OUT OF THE PC SCENE A WHILE.
it is, and please refrain from posting in all caps.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ArCElM
Banned
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 4.5 | H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Crucial Ballistix E
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair AX750W Gold
Default 05-08-2012, 10:17 | posts: 1,434 | Location: The Octagon

So are you guys saying getting 8GB it a decent move? my concern is I just wasted 45 quid instead of sticking with my 4GB and running it that bit faster.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 05-08-2012, 11:49 | posts: 3,716

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArCElM View Post
So are you guys saying getting 8GB it a decent move? my concern is I just wasted 45 quid instead of sticking with my 4GB and running it that bit faster.
Depending on your usage, really.

If you plan on keeping other applications open while you're gaming (e.g. the browser so you can Alt+Tab to GameFAQs), then it's more sensible to have more RAM.
While it's true that 32-bit applications (as in most games right now) can't use more than 4GB of RAM, they do stack up if you run many apps at once, and that excludes the portion that Windows reserves for its own usage.

If anything, having more RAM gives your OS and applications more breathing room.
Having 4GB for Windows 7 is like having 1GB for Windows XP; it's enough for most cases, but having more never hurts.
Yes, it's a lousy comparison, but that's the general idea.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 970
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 05-08-2012, 12:23 | posts: 5,679

I have 24gb of spare DIMMs but only use 8. Bough the excess ram for future builds or in case some floods drown out the manufacturing plants, lol. With 8gb, even with virtual machines with 4gb allocated to, still have plenty free ram left.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Hangry
Member Guru
 
Videocard: nvidia gt 550m
Processor: intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory: 6gb ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: laptop psu
Default 05-08-2012, 16:25 | posts: 110

8 gb is not necessary but its cheap and you never know if one day you want to watch youtube while listening to music having facebook, steam, origin, fraps and xsplit open while playing skyrim with mods. 8gb is totally worth the money.
About speed, you dont need 2000MHz for gaming, 1600 is already fast enough but i think 1866 is the best.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 05-08-2012, 16:33 | posts: 11,162 | Location: Finland

In games like SW:TOR it does make difference, especially if you have stuff open background. In my case 4GB would not be enough.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Hangry
Member Guru
 
Videocard: nvidia gt 550m
Processor: intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory: 6gb ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: laptop psu
Default 05-08-2012, 16:40 | posts: 110

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
In games like SW:TOR it does make difference, especially if you have stuff open background. In my case 4GB would not be enough.
+1 mmos need a lot of ram, several of my friends complain about their ram when they play wow.
Btw I usually play sc2 with chrome open (pandora, facebook, guru3d) with 6gb.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Xtreme1979
Maha Guru
 
Xtreme1979's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
Processor: 2600K 4.4-4.7gHZ 1.30v
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43 B3
Memory: DDR3 Ripjaws Z 2133 4x4gb
Soundcard: X-Fi/Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold
Default 05-08-2012, 17:17 | posts: 1,256 | Location: Bay City, MI

The price difference between 2x2gb and 2x4gb is fairly negligible so purchasing 8gb for a new build is the smartest way to go. Now if your happy with your current 4gb no need to upgrade. For me 8gb wasn't even enough. I feel much better with 16gb in my rig.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
tweakpower
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI HD 6770
Processor: FX-4100 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: HuperX 2x4GB PC12800
Soundcard: Realtek Onboard
PSU: LC-Power 600W
Default 05-08-2012, 22:41 | posts: 932 | Location: Serbia

Yeah, more RAM can't do any harm .

Side note, i discovered something very interesting, first on mine PC, then tested on few of them. RAM is cheap, so if you buy it, get a good brand, i can't say what brand is good, but I'm sure here are people who know it. Mine tests:

Mine RAM (don't have a clue what brand is, and I'm too lazy to open the case now )
1333Mhz (max freq.) = unstable, 1066Mhz = unstable, 800Mhz = stable.

Kingston on another PC (didn't remembered type)
1333Mhz (max freq.) = unstable, 1066Mhz = unstable (close to stable say 40% more), 800Mhz = perfect stable.

Another don't know brand name RAM, unstable at all speeds.

Didn't tested with different latency then default. One note, all RAM modules tested here are prime/mem test stable, no errors.

Way to test if it's really stable, is to use poorly optimized software (game). Best game for testing in mine opinion is old Need For Speed Most Wanted. On stable settings, gameplay is perfect without stutters (no mater how tiny is).

So, no matter how cheap is RAM, if you are hard core gamer and you like perfect gameplay (most of users here are), then, always buy better RAM, even if it cost more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX770 - G2773HS
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Essence ST - Sennh. HD650
PSU: Antec Truepower 850W
Default 05-08-2012, 23:16 | posts: 5,545 | Location: Belgium

4GB of DDR --> BF3 took ages to load levels
8GB of DDR --> First game of the day still quite long but after that load times are alot smaller
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
nomunk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Audigy2/X-Fi Xtrememusic
PSU: Mushkin 800W Modular PSU
Default 05-09-2012, 19:08 | posts: 219 | Location: St. Louis

I only have 6 gigs of Ram so im hoping I have enough
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970 SC | X270OC
Processor: I7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 10GB DDR3
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 05-09-2012, 19:37 | posts: 4,184 | Location: Oakland, CA, US

6-8GB IMO is better for windows 7, I like having a lot of apps in the background open (xfire, steam, ventrilo, mumble, chrome, hwmonitor, anit virus, ect) with 8GB of ram I never notice a speed difference with them open.

It depends on how you use your computer. For most on windows 7 4GB is fine, but with RAM prices so cheap now it was only $50 for 8GB of 1866Mhz DDR3.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 05-10-2012, 02:58 | posts: 821 | Location: Orange County, CA

16GB is the new 8GB
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-10-2012, 09:51 | posts: 12,262 | Location: England

I'd say that 6-8 GB is the ideal amount of RAM to have for 64-bit Windows as it means applications and games will run smoother and there'll be less swapping to the pagefile. 4 GB is the minimum IMO.

Windows likes lots of memory which is why I upped mine from 6 to 12 GB a few weeks back. Surprisingly, I've noticed that Windows works even better than before and applications launch even quicker, noticeable over long sessions, likely because it doesn't have to shuffle stuff around anymore. For example, I can play two or three games but when I return to the first or second, it appears to load quicker, possibly because it is cached? Whatever, more memory is always nice.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
bokah
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670GTX 2G
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD3-B3
Memory: G-Skill F3-12800CL7D-8GB
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX
PSU: LC-Power 750W
Default 05-10-2012, 10:09 | posts: 2,314

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArCElM View Post
Hi,
8GB Memory has any use?
no, u need atleast 16G

when u start fiddling with virtual space, on 8G limits comes too fast
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
killer_939
Maha Guru
 
killer_939's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.36v
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX + AD700
PSU: 720w
Default 05-10-2012, 10:18 | posts: 2,598 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by bokah View Post
no, u need atleast 16G
Replace "u" with i and sure. I sure don't need more then 8gb tho.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
isidore
Ancient Guru
 
isidore's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX670M
Processor: i7-3610QM @ 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus RoG
Memory: Asus 8Gb
Soundcard: Asus G75VW
PSU: Asus RoG
Default 05-10-2012, 11:20 | posts: 5,690 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

Huge use, Battlefield 3 ultra at 1080p used my old 4gb at max. So i say yes, it's time to go 6 or 8gb for gaming. Higher then 8gb only if you run virtual machines or other software that utilize huge amount of memory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
ArCElM
Banned
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 4.5 | H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Crucial Ballistix E
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair AX750W Gold
Default 05-10-2012, 11:48 | posts: 1,434 | Location: The Octagon

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
it is, and please refrain from posting in all caps.

Deltatux
oh.. My.. God.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
ArCElM
Banned
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 4.5 | H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Crucial Ballistix E
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair AX750W Gold
Default 05-10-2012, 11:50 | posts: 1,434 | Location: The Octagon

Anyway, thanks for the replies gentlemen, I will stick with my order of 8GB
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-10-2012, 13:39 | posts: 24,544 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArCElM View Post
oh.. My.. God.
Mr Funny Guy...


Only trouble I had w/ 4GB is running BF3 without a PF.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
MrH
Maha Guru
 
MrH's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Corsair TX 750 v2
Default 05-10-2012, 15:10 | posts: 2,079 | Location: UK

8GB is like 10 more expensive than 4GB these days. I'd say 8GB is the standard when building a new PC.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.