Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 05-08-2012, 16:15 | posts: 6,559

There should be an extra test for these "extra RAM" kind of cards. They should be reviewed in the manner in which they will most likely be used.

A texture modded Skyrim would be an ideal candidate.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 05-08-2012, 16:20 | posts: 3,839 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
A texture modded Skyrim would be an ideal candidate.
It's a why a 4GB Model makes sense for me to upgrade from a 1.5GB GTX 580

Already hitting 1512 MB with just the Official HD Pack at 1680 x 1050 with 4x MSAA, 2x SuperSampling and 16x AA.

A Heavy Modded Skyrim will use over 2GB VRam.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-08-2012, 16:20 | posts: 7,243 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
There should be an extra test for these "extra RAM" kind of cards. They should be reviewed in the manner in which they will most likely be used.

A texture modded Skyrim would be an ideal candidate.
Agreed - it should probably show minimum FPS numbers as well, as that's what lack of memory is going to effect the most. Minimum FPS graph over time would be awesome.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
It's a why a 4GB Model makes sense for me to upgrade from a 1.5GB GTX 580

Already hitting 1512 MB with just the Official HD Pack at 1680 x 1050 with 4x MSAA, 2x SuperSampling and 16x AA.

A Heavy Modded Skyrim will use over 2GB VRam.
But how much of an effect does it actually make? I mean when I was playing it on my 480, I ran like a billion texture mods at 1920x1200. I never actually checked my memory usage because I didn't care, the game ran fine until I started screwing with the ultra lush grass mods.

I'm really curious to see how much the extra ram effects minimum framerate. I bet it's not as nearly as important as people are making it out to be.

Last edited by Denial; 05-08-2012 at 16:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Elder III
Maha Guru
 
Elder III's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 4GB 5760x1080
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD45
Memory: 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair CX-600
Default 05-08-2012, 17:33 | posts: 2,427 | Location: Ohio

It does affect framerate, stability, and "stuttering" - Skyrim may be the single exception, but if it's a game that you put hundreds of hours into *raises hand* the extra VRAM is worth it. If you don't play a modded Skyrim, then you might as well save your cash.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 05-08-2012, 18:12 | posts: 3,839 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elder III View Post
It does affect framerate, stability, and "stuttering" - Skyrim may be the single exception, but if it's a game that you put hundreds of hours into *raises hand* the extra VRAM is worth it. If you don't play a modded Skyrim, then you might as well save your cash.
Thank you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 05-08-2012, 18:44 | posts: 1,478 | Location: uk

could you show how much memory these game are using it would help to know if more than 2gb was needed in some of the title, it mite be that one of the games is using near 2gb
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 05-08-2012, 18:52 | posts: 3,839 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by iancook221188 View Post
could you show how much memory these game are using it would help to know if more than 2gb was needed in some of the title, it mite be that one of the games is using near 2gb
Unmodded non of the games will be using more than 2GB.

Currently only a heavy modded Skyrim is pushing VRam beyond 2GB.

I thought i had enough with 1.5GB for the future, but i clearly havn't. And to upgrade from 1.5GB to 2GB isn't worth it. It's why i want a 4GB Model and be 100% Future Proof, even it that means for just 1 or 2 games.

Last edited by Svarog; 05-08-2012 at 18:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
TechFreaK
Banned
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX570 Custom OC
Processor: Intel C2Q 8x455Mhz @1.33v
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DQ6 @ Turbo
Memory: DDR2 4x 2GB @ 1092mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-FI fatality
PSU: XFX 750W 80+
Default 05-08-2012, 19:12 | posts: 155 | Location: TechLand

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
It's a why a 4GB Model makes sense for me to upgrade from a 1.5GB GTX 580

Already hitting 1512 MB with just the Official HD Pack at 1680 x 1050 with 4x MSAA, 2x SuperSampling and 16x AA.

A Heavy Modded Skyrim will use over 2GB VRam.
idk if you know, but there is a handy tool that checks all files and corrects/compresses any lose files. Meaning less vram usage with overdone HQ textures.


Optimizer Textures by AdPipino
http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=12801
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
VultureX
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 SLI
Processor: Core i7 2700K @4.8GHz H2O
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 2133MHz CL9
Soundcard: Xonar Essence ST - Z-5500
PSU: Corsair TX850 V2
Default 05-09-2012, 09:25 | posts: 2,472 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
I was about to post the same as you Darren.
The 4GB card needs memory using beyond 2GB to expose the performance difference/penalty.
Not doing this misses the point of the card.

The review did expose that the 4GB cards memory is running a little slower and that its performance is as expected.
This^

Quote:
Why 4 GB ? Well some of you like to game at extremely high resolutions or have 8xAA as a bare minimum.
What does this review do? Disable MSAA in Metro2033 and test almost all games with 4xAA :\ No wonder the extra 2GB doesn't make a difference.

Hell, I'm playing most games on my setup at those settings. It's once the texture mods, 16xAA and other modifications come in when vRAM starts to matter.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Elder III
Maha Guru
 
Elder III's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 4GB 5760x1080
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD45
Memory: 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair CX-600
Default 05-09-2012, 19:33 | posts: 2,427 | Location: Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by iancook221188 View Post
could you show how much memory these game are using it would help to know if more than 2gb was needed in some of the title, it mite be that one of the games is using near 2gb
I can post a screenshot of Skyrim and GPUZ showing it hitting ~1900 mb with occasional peaks up to 2000, but it would be easier if you just took my word for it. Crysis 1 & S.T.A.L.K.E.R. use over 1 GB but I don't think I have any other games that really make my system stretch it's legs so to speak. Maybe someone with BF3 could comment on how much VRAM it uses....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#36)
chrisfam
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 460
Processor: I7-920
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 05-09-2012, 23:14 | posts: 2

Still waiting for a review for a GTX 680 4gb SLI or Tri-SLI using the resolutions 5760 x 1200 and 7680 x 1600 on games BF3, Crysis 2 with high textures, and Skyrim with all the texture mods. Then I will be sold that 2gb is enough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
Frohman0905
Maha Guru
 
Frohman0905's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX680 2GB OC @ 1202/7000
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 05-09-2012, 23:52 | posts: 976 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elder III View Post
Maybe someone with BF3 could comment on how much VRAM it uses....
Using the following settings: 1920x1080, ultra, 4xmsaa I get around 1500mb usage in a 64 player game.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.