Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit keyboard multimedia keys don't work as expected. Help!
Old
  (#1)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit keyboard multimedia keys don't work as expected. Help! - 05-08-2012, 12:41 | posts: 12,159 | Location: England

I've just upgraded my old but reliable Microsoft Wired Keyboard 500 for a Cherry MX Black-switched Thermal Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit keyboard and so far I love it bar the typing errors that come from having a different sized and different feeling keyboard to what I was used to.

However, one annoying issue I'm having is that the keyboard's multimedia keys don't all work as expected. The Volume Up/Down and Mute keys (which are mechanical) work fine but the Previous/Forward, Pause/Play and Stop buttons don't (these last four of standard keys). With my Microsoft keyboard those last four keys would work in whatever media application I was using, whether MediaMonkey, iTunes or Windows Media Player. Now they only seem to work in Windows Media Player. In fact, the Pause/Play button actually opens WMP, which is annoying.

I have the MEKA G-Unit driver installed and it is working correctly as I have the OSD and the macro keys are working as expected too. I don't think this issue is related to the driver though as reviews I've read commented that everything functions except the macros if you don't install any drivers.

Does anyone know how to fix this?

I've tried Google-ing but couldn't find anything about how to correct it other than discovering that other keyboards have similar issues. I did use the multimedia keys a lot on my old keyboard so it is annoying to not be able to use them properly in iTunes and MediaMonkey (the latter is the player I use the most).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Sever
Ancient Guru
 
Sever's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galaxy 3GB 660TI
Processor: i7 2600k - XSPC Raystorm
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme9
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Silverstone Gold 1200w
Default 05-08-2012, 13:21 | posts: 4,826 | Location: Land of the Great Downunder

all my keys worked fine. are you using a native usb port or a usb port thats connected to an additional controller? some boards use NEC or etron chips for extra usb ports, which dont work as well as the native ports for some input devices. for my gamepads, native ports map buttons properly, but etron ports mess up the configuration.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-08-2012, 13:47 | posts: 12,159 | Location: England

Thanks for the reply.

I'm using the native USB 2.0 port which is right next to the one I use for my mouse (and to the right, when looking from the back, of the PS/2 port).

I'm wondering if the specific drivers for the keyboard have not been installed? Inside the MEKA G-Unit driver folder there are x64 and x86 drivers but these will not install on my system as I'm told everything is already up to date. In the Device Manager > Keyboard section I have three entries for Keyboard Device HID, something like that, not MK1 or whatever the drivers are in those folders.

Should I manually delete those three Keyboard Device HID entries and then try reinstalling the MK1 drivers? What do you have showing under Device Manager > Keyboard on your system?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-08-2012, 18:56 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Thanks for the reply.

I'm using the native USB 2.0 port which is right next to the one I use for my mouse (and to the right, when looking from the back, of the PS/2 port).

I'm wondering if the specific drivers for the keyboard have not been installed? Inside the MEKA G-Unit driver folder there are x64 and x86 drivers but these will not install on my system as I'm told everything is already up to date. In the Device Manager > Keyboard section I have three entries for Keyboard Device HID, something like that, not MK1 or whatever the drivers are in those folders.

Should I manually delete those three Keyboard Device HID entries and then try reinstalling the MK1 drivers? What do you have showing under Device Manager > Keyboard on your system?
You should run the installer as it may configure the keyboard differently and may or may not be that "Keyboard Device HID" you speak of.

You can manually try and force INF installation through Device Manager. When you're updating the driver just say "Let me pick from a list device on my computer" and then click "Have Disk". Then select the .inf file in the x64 folder.

Try to see if that works.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-09-2012, 01:48 | posts: 12,159 | Location: England

I tried the manual install, deltatux, but it didn't work - Windows tells me I already have the latest drivers installed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-09-2012, 01:51 | posts: 12,159 | Location: England

Previous, Forward, Play/Pause and Stop only work in WMP and not iTunes or MediaMonkey as before with my last keyboard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 05-09-2012, 03:08 | posts: 2,989 | Location: Canada

Does it work with a PS/2 adapter?

Did it install the GUI software for the keyboard, that lets you set what lights turn on and assign macro keys and other such things?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-09-2012, 09:42 | posts: 12,159 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by rflair View Post
Does it work with a PS/2 adapter?
The first thing I tried when I got the keyboard was to connect it with my PS/2 adaptor but the keyboard doesn't work at all with it, only USB.

Quote:
Did it install the GUI software for the keyboard, that lets you set what lights turn on and assign macro keys and other such things?
I installed the MEKA G-Unit software, yes, and it appears to working correctly as the macros work as does the OSD (which pops up when I press the multimedia keys or raise/lower the volume, etc.).

I deleted those three HID Keyboard Device entries under Device Manager > Keyboards then rebooted but the same drivers where installed again. I checked the Device Manager > Human Interface Device section and there are two entries for the keyboard that use those MK1 drivers I mentioned in an earlier post so it looks like the drivers are installed correctly after all.

Surely I'm not the only one with this issue or is this not a popular keyboard (personally I think it is terrific myself)?
   
Reply With Quote
Meka gunit
Old
  (#9)
Nimajeb
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GforceGTS 450
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Xilence 550
Default Meka gunit - 08-01-2012, 10:48 | posts: 1

The only thing that worked for me was having Windows Media Player open while i was using Itunes, just don't have anything in the playlist. And for some reason it works.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
cekop
Newbie
 
cekop's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 660 TI
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Seasonic 660w
Default 06-06-2013, 15:54 | posts: 1 | Location: Indonesia

Dont install the GUI software or uninstall WMP, mostly we dont use WMP
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Odellot
Master Guru
 
Odellot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI & 750Ti Physx
Processor: i7 4930K @ 4.5/1.4v - X60
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Gskill RipjawsX-2133/64GB
Soundcard: STX - T40 II / DT 990 Pro
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000w
Default 06-06-2013, 15:57 | posts: 264 | Location: Philippines

Are you using Windows 8? I have similar problem with my k90. What I did was to check "Human Interface Device Access" under Services if it was running.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 06-07-2013, 00:42 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by cekop View Post
Dont install the GUI software or uninstall WMP, mostly we dont use WMP
Way to necro this 2012 thread.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.