Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Card upgrade
Old
  (#1)
zavulon
Newbie
 
zavulon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4730 512 MB
Processor: AMD FX-4100
Mainboard: Asrock 970 extreme3
Memory: 2x4GB ddr3 1333
Soundcard: logitech 5.1 speakers
PSU: ace black edition 550
Default Card upgrade - 05-08-2012, 10:23 | posts: 6 | Location: United Kingdom

Hello to all, Basically I'm looking for advice on upgrading to a new g-card I'm currently using Sapphire 4730 512MB price wise preferably 50 - 100 but could extend to maybe 150 - 200.

My current motherboard is crossfirex cable and I have a midi-case if it helps.

Thank you
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 05-08-2012, 13:15 | posts: 833

Sapphire 6850 102.99 http://www.ebuyer.com/338547-sapphir...d-11180-00-20r

Whats the model number of that psu ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
lenne
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 290x ref @ Accelero V4
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4,3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 1600 4x4gb
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 05-08-2012, 13:39 | posts: 349 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by PinguX View Post
Sapphire 6850 102.99 http://www.ebuyer.com/338547-sapphir...d-11180-00-20r

Whats the model number of that psu ?
Second that, just got me a bulk for 110 and especially after oc ( which is really easy on that card ) it just rocks !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
zavulon
Newbie
 
zavulon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4730 512 MB
Processor: AMD FX-4100
Mainboard: Asrock 970 extreme3
Memory: 2x4GB ddr3 1333
Soundcard: logitech 5.1 speakers
PSU: ace black edition 550
Default 05-08-2012, 16:37 | posts: 6 | Location: United Kingdom

Hello PinguX, I think this could be the model number A-550BR also here link to where I got it from.

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=47037

Thank you both

Also had a look around would this be better http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=49690

Last edited by zavulon; 05-08-2012 at 16:44. Reason: Adding links
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 05-08-2012, 17:23 | posts: 6,883 | Location: USA

No get the sapphire, better support and warranty. better cooler. arianet seems to be an unknown brand
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 05-09-2012, 02:09 | posts: 833

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavulon View Post
Hello PinguX, I think this could be the model number A-550BR also here link to where I got it from.

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=47037

Thank you both

Also had a look around would this be better http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=49690
Looks like a cheap psu, I would advise you get a decent psu.

OCZ ZS 550W 47.99 http://www.ebuyer.com/264509-ocz-zs-...-ocz-zs550w-uk

This psu will easily power your rig including overclocking.

Get the Sapphire, as Agent said, its a reputable brand.

What cpu cooler are you using ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
zavulon
Newbie
 
zavulon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4730 512 MB
Processor: AMD FX-4100
Mainboard: Asrock 970 extreme3
Memory: 2x4GB ddr3 1333
Soundcard: logitech 5.1 speakers
PSU: ace black edition 550
Default 05-09-2012, 09:55 | posts: 6 | Location: United Kingdom

Hello PinguX, yeah just a cheap psu to get me started and I'm using the stock cpu cooler also my case has 4 pre-installed cooling fans running. Here is a screenshot of my current heat values no idea if they are good or bad though lol.



I'm also thinking about changing out my ram to 2x of these http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B006EWUO2...SIN=B006EWUO22 good choice?

Your all so awesome and amazing I'm really thankful for the great advice your giving me and maybe I'll learn what to look for as well

Last edited by zavulon; 05-09-2012 at 09:56. Reason: Spelling mistake.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
lenne
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 290x ref @ Accelero V4
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4,3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 1600 4x4gb
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 05-09-2012, 11:45 | posts: 349 | Location: Germany

The FX and the 6850 will run just fine even overclocked on a 400w psu.

But u always have to consider buying a quality psu even at low wattage because cheaper ones dont have that many overvolt / short ciruit protection as quality ones have, i lost more than one rig to cheap psu failure, whereas it didnt happen to me with more expensive ones even when they failed.

Pingux advice is good, that psu even has enough grunt to power an oced i7 rig.

Last edited by lenne; 05-09-2012 at 11:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 05-09-2012, 12:34 | posts: 833

What ram is in your rig ?

If its cheap generic ram, then change it to G.Skill http://www.ebuyer.com/264750-g-skill...2800cl9d-8gbxl
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
zavulon
Newbie
 
zavulon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4730 512 MB
Processor: AMD FX-4100
Mainboard: Asrock 970 extreme3
Memory: 2x4GB ddr3 1333
Soundcard: logitech 5.1 speakers
PSU: ace black edition 550
Default 05-09-2012, 13:18 | posts: 6 | Location: United Kingdom

Hello both of you, my current ram is http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=41882 again just to get me started. I think my next purchase will be the psu I'm a bit scared of my cheap psu failing on me now lol.

I was just wondering do the more expensive psu have more connectors as I currently using 3 molex to molex splitters to run the case fans and 2 molex to sata splitters for my ssd and hdd's.

Last edited by zavulon; 05-09-2012 at 13:32. Reason: Adding more text.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 05-09-2012, 21:46 | posts: 2,881 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavulon View Post
I think my next purchase will be the psu I'm a bit scared of my cheap psu failing on me now lol.

I was just wondering do the more expensive psu have more connectors as I currently using 3 molex to molex splitters to run the case fans and 2 molex to sata splitters for my ssd and hdd's.
Here...>http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139027
Thats really all you need for your Setup
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 05-10-2012, 01:37 | posts: 833

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavulon View Post
Hello both of you, my current ram is http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=41882 again just to get me started. I think my next purchase will be the psu I'm a bit scared of my cheap psu failing on me now lol.

I was just wondering do the more expensive psu have more connectors as I currently using 3 molex to molex splitters to run the case fans and 2 molex to sata splitters for my ssd and hdd's.
That ram is fine, the OCZ ZS 550W has 8 sata's and 3 molexs. Whats your budget for a new psu ? Also which case do you have ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
zavulon
Newbie
 
zavulon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4730 512 MB
Processor: AMD FX-4100
Mainboard: Asrock 970 extreme3
Memory: 2x4GB ddr3 1333
Soundcard: logitech 5.1 speakers
PSU: ace black edition 550
Default 05-10-2012, 05:59 | posts: 6 | Location: United Kingdom

Hi PinguX, This is my case http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=47034 I think I should mention the current psu is slightly too small for the case. Budget for next purchase 100 - 180 so psu and something else maybe? On a side I like your avatar pic PinguX is it Tifa from Advent Children? Sorry for going off topic a little.

I just had a thought should I get a bigger case i.e. full atx as I going to be limited to case size and is this a good choice? http://www.scan.co.uk/products/zalma...oogle+shopping

Last edited by zavulon; 05-10-2012 at 06:31. Reason: Adding a question.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.