Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
I have a dell slim studios,i need to upgrade my power supply
Old
  (#1)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default I have a dell slim studios,i need to upgrade my power supply - 05-05-2012, 20:36 | posts: 9

I have a dell slim studios,i need to upgrade my power supply?
the one i have right now is only 120W
i wanna get a 400 W psu that will fit my pc and run it safely
help?
the reason why i need to upgrade is because im getting a
Sapphire Radeon HD 6570 1 GB DDR3
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-05-2012, 20:40 | posts: 16,434 | Location: US East Coast

Need the exact model number of the computer.....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 05-05-2012, 20:55 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Need the exact model number of the computer.....
opps forgot about that
its the dell 540s
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-06-2012, 01:14 | posts: 16,434 | Location: US East Coast

this is the only compatible unit I can find producing 400watts.....but it's quality is rather questionable....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817338082


Your Dell Studio 540S Slim uses a TFX form factor....and TFX compatible power supplies.


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 05-06-2012, 01:53 | posts: 7,647

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
this is the only compatible unit I can find producing 400watts.....but it's quality is rather questionable....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817338082


Your Dell Studio 540S Slim uses a TFX form factor....and TFX compatible power supplies.
Here's a review on that unit: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story&reid=281

Bit of a mixed bag, it should be efficient enough for the OP's needs. Build quality seems to be pretty bad, that said there doesn't seem to be any competition in the area. The reviewer mentions Seasonic selling 350w TFX units, but I can't find any.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 05-06-2012, 02:47 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
this is the only compatible unit I can find producing 400watts.....but it's quality is rather questionable....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817338082


Your Dell Studio 540S Slim uses a TFX form factor....and TFX compatible power supplies.
thanks
but too freaking expensive
will dis do?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=AZCEI3EMXUPTH
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 05-06-2012, 03:49 | posts: 815 | Location: Orange County, CA

I thought you wanted a 400w unit, that one is only 250W.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-06-2012, 03:56 | posts: 16,434 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by beyonder View Post
thanks
but too freaking expensive
will dis do?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=AZCEI3EMXUPTH
If you want to power a basic system, yes. If you want to power a system with a dedicated graphics card, no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by automaticman View Post
I thought you wanted a 400w unit, that one is only 250W.
That's actually a stock unit for the OP's model on Amazon...


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 05-06-2012, 04:09 | posts: 9

u know what, forget about it , thats too much trouble(although my other pc has 305W but its amd athlon x64 duo 1.9ghz 4gb ram)
one more question

what is the best graphics card out there for my pc apart from a hd 4650 1gb(thats the one i had) based on my 120w?
m
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 05-06-2012, 04:42 | posts: 2,880 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by beyonder View Post
what is the best graphics card out there for my pc apart from a hd 4650 1gb(thats the one i had) based on my 120w?
M
hd 7750........<Fastest graphics card without need for external power...Period...5-5-2012...

Last edited by airbud7; 05-06-2012 at 05:02.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 05-06-2012, 05:59 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by airbud7 View Post
hd 7750........<Fastest graphics card without need for external power...Period...5-5-2012...
wait so u mean that my pc can run this card without any psu crap?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 05-06-2012, 06:10 | posts: 815 | Location: Orange County, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post

That's actually a stock unit for the OP's model on Amazon...

exactly, so....not an upgrade.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 05-06-2012, 06:21 | posts: 815 | Location: Orange County, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by beyonder View Post
wait so u mean that my pc can run this card without any psu crap?

well... the 7750 will draw around 45w under load all by itself, which is small enough to not require an external power connector:

http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-ra...-7770-review/7

However, you still only have a 120w PSU, a lot of which will be taken up by the rest of the system. You can probably shoehorn in the 7750, but just know that AMD recommends a 400w PSU for the 7700 series.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 05-06-2012, 15:16 | posts: 9

guys i just spoke to dell and they said that my psu wasnt 120 but 250W
which now changes the question
which card will be the best for it?
or should i just upgrade the psu which will cost me to much money?
i dont know what to do
please help

Last edited by beyonder; 05-06-2012 at 15:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-06-2012, 16:09 | posts: 16,434 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by automaticman View Post
well... the 7750 will draw around 45w under load all by itself, which is small enough to not require an external power connector:

http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-ra...-7770-review/7

However, you still only have a 120w PSU, a lot of which will be taken up by the rest of the system. You can probably shoehorn in the 7750, but just know that AMD recommends a 400w PSU for the 7700 series.
The wattage is of little concern.....so long as enough is available. However, Dell PSU's are generally overrated and produce the minimum possible amperage. While being rated for 250watts may provide enough wattage to run a system + HD7750, it's extremely unlikely that it produces the amperage necessary to do so.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 05-06-2012, 17:12 | posts: 9

Can 7750 run a 250w psu?
psu is 250w with 12v-16 amps
i had 4650 dat consumed about 55W , the same thing that the 7750 consumes
so can it do it?

Last edited by beyonder; 05-06-2012 at 22:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 05-07-2012, 02:18 | posts: 2,880 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by beyonder View Post
Can 7750 run a 250w psu?
psu is 250w with 12v-16 amps
i had 4650 dat consumed about 55W , the same thing that the 7750 consumes
so can it do it?
I Say yes^Hd7750...Give it a Shot...Please check back and let Us Know how it works....Thanks......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 05-07-2012, 03:14 | posts: 815 | Location: Orange County, CA

the 7750 is roughly double the performance of the 6570 for just a few more watts of power.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 05-07-2012, 22:04 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by airbud7 View Post
I Say yes^Hd7750...Give it a Shot...Please check back and let Us Know how it works....Thanks......
will do
hopefully
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
beyonder
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati hd 4650
Processor: intel core 2 duo 2.50 ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 05-09-2012, 00:06 | posts: 9

i feel really silly now
ihave the slim computer
theres no low profile for that card yet
sigh
6570 it is then
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 05-09-2012, 05:30 | posts: 815 | Location: Orange County, CA

one last option is to just get yourself a new case. While this will cost a bit more (not too much depending on teh case) it has several big advantages:

1) Now you can buy any ATX (standard size) power supply you want and get more power/better quality for less money.

2) Now you can also fit any video card you want (although case selection will play a big role here, but most cases will fit all of the popular cards - certainly everything we've mentioned here)

3) Now that you have a case and power supply you own the two components most likely to be kept when you upgrade your computer and won't need to be bought again. Pick up a new motherboard/CPU/RAM combo, drop them into your case and you've pretty much got a whole new computer - and one without all of the restrictions you get with an HP (or any other OEM) PC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
contrvlr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX570HD
Processor: I7-930 @ 4.0 / IFX-14
Mainboard: P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6x2 OCZ Gold
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Got a few
Default 05-10-2012, 04:06 | posts: 478 | Location: New Jersey

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151090
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.