Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#276)
Yoshpop
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: Z68MA-D2H-B3
Memory: 8GB DDR3 2133
Soundcard: SB X-Fi / Z-5500s
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 05-02-2012, 17:00 | posts: 101 | Location: Northern VA

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenchAndGames View Post
You do not need 12.3 CAP1 Profile, having these drivers ? " 12.x (8.97 April 18) "
I've done tests with the CAP Profile, and is the same performance and FPS's, that without these CAP installed. Only drivers 8.97

And a very curious thing is that the CAP installed, Battlefield 3 has much stuttering, but if I uninstall the CAP, it seems that the stuttering disappears.
Thanks for taking the time to do the comparison. I've noticed a little stuttering as well lately and will uninstall the CAPs to see if it changes anything since we have similar systems.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#277)
n3v3rm1nd
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 6770m
Processor: Intel i7 Mobile
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Notebook
Default 05-02-2012, 18:58 | posts: 12

with these perfomance is really stable .. but my idle clocks are broken .. running @ full

ATI 6770m
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#278)
bokloz
Master Guru
 
bokloz's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 290
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3
Memory: Corsair Venegance 16 GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: HEC Cougar 1000 Watt
Default 05-02-2012, 22:39 | posts: 581 | Location: Egypt

what about crysis 2 ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#279)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 05-03-2012, 15:09 | posts: 2,288 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3v3rm1nd View Post
with these perfomance is really stable .. but my idle clocks are broken .. running @ full

ATI 6770m
you using afterburner or trrixx?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#280)
n3v3rm1nd
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 6770m
Processor: Intel i7 Mobile
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Notebook
Default 05-03-2012, 18:23 | posts: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
you using afterburner or trrixx?
afterburner .. with 12.4 everything is fine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#281)
pokerapar88
Maha Guru
 
pokerapar88's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 7970 DD @ 1050/1500
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5Ghz CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Gskill Sniper 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + HT 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster GX 750w
Default 05-03-2012, 18:28 | posts: 1,644 | Location: Argentina // Buenos Aires

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3v3rm1nd View Post
afterburner .. with 12.4 everything is fine
Have found that with 12.4 kingdoms of amalur is not performing as good as with feb 24th drivers. very laggy in comparison.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#282)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-05-2012, 00:06 | posts: 1,573 | Location: Toronto

stuttering from CAP? but the .blb XML in 12.3cap1 is identical to the beta

EDIT: i was doing something horribly wrong with the blb->xml, nevermind... now i'm trying to get the syntax right to make an XML out of any CAP without it installed

Last edited by kn00tcn; 05-05-2012 at 00:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#283)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 05-05-2012, 01:08 | posts: 216 | Location: Boston, MA

Just installed them after doing a thorough uninstall. I did all of the folder and registry cleaning myself (like always since driver sweeper deleted several files preventing Windows 7 from updating to SP1, oh well got that fixed haha)

anyways back on subject

My driver shows that the catalyst version is 11.12 and yet it says the driver package is 8.97-120418a-137336E-ATI. Does everybody elses CCC say 11.12??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#284)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-05-2012, 01:15 | posts: 1,573 | Location: Toronto

catalyst version is completely irrelevant, it will load some old version, or not have one at all (betas/hotfixes do not contain the number)

it's plain text in the registry, you can change it if you want
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#285)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 05-05-2012, 01:22 | posts: 216 | Location: Boston, MA

thanks for clarifying

I'm gonna change it to 13.10 to make me feel awesome
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#286)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-05-2012, 01:39 | posts: 1,573 | Location: Toronto

13.37
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#287)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 05-05-2012, 02:07 | posts: 216 | Location: Boston, MA

Well, 3DMark11 is up to 9079 with these drivers from 8924 with the 11.12 drivers. Pretty nice jump for drivers being the only change.
I bet I could get it to 9100 with very little tweaking.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#288)
Seren
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 OC (1ghz)
Processor: AMD 8320 @ 4-4.3
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo R2.0
Memory: 2x8GB Patriot VBM @1754
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: XFX 750w Core Edition
Default 05-05-2012, 02:15 | posts: 83 | Location: Perth, Western Australia

Hmm... getting horrible image quality in all my games... Mainly to do with shadows and lighting...
In Dead Island (even with highest quality shadows and shadow res) the best I could make it look was this: http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/123277912-4.jpg
That's with almost maxed out graphics too...
In Torchlight: http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/123278403-4.jpg

I must admit, the last time I swept drivers was months ago and I've just been installing over each new version (without going back). Do you guys think this is what's causing it or is it something more?
Btw, I installed every add-on from the CCC set-up if that makes a diff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#289)
GSB
Maha Guru
 
GSB's Avatar
 
Videocard: Visiontek 4870
Processor: Core 2 Duo E7500
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3L
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2 8500
Soundcard: Realtek Onboard
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w Quad
Default 05-05-2012, 02:31 | posts: 1,166 | Location: Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seren View Post
I must admit, the last time I swept drivers was months ago and I've just been installing over each new version (without going back). Do you guys think this is what's causing it or is it something more?
Btw, I installed every add-on from the CCC set-up if that makes a diff.
Imho, the driver sweeper is not nearly as important as it used to be. I usually just uninstall the old before installing the new. Your mileage may vary though.
How old is your Windows install? Maybe time for a reload? Image quality didn't look that bad.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#290)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-05-2012, 03:44 | posts: 1,573 | Location: Toronto

look here, C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository, if you keep installing overtop, you lose 100mb with every driver you install, but no i dont think that would cause the corruption (unless a leftover CCC value creeped in)

but in your pics, i'm not sure if i'm looking at the right spots, for torchlight it's entirely possible that's what the dev intended, unless you can confirm a previous driver had completely different shadows?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#291)
Seren
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 OC (1ghz)
Processor: AMD 8320 @ 4-4.3
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo R2.0
Memory: 2x8GB Patriot VBM @1754
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: XFX 750w Core Edition
Default 05-05-2012, 04:57 | posts: 83 | Location: Perth, Western Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSB View Post
Imho, the driver sweeper is not nearly as important as it used to be. I usually just uninstall the old before installing the new. Your mileage may vary though.
How old is your Windows install? Maybe time for a reload? Image quality didn't look that bad.
Windows install is just about ancient (since early 2010), though I doubt that'd effect anything that effects IQ after an update of drivers.
As I said, those are the max settings (not just from the in-game but from the video.scr config) and lagg me a little while playing. I normally play it on medium but the IQ hurts my eyes too much on medium since the update.
I got my bro to take a screen in kinda the same place and you can see so much difference especially in the shadows.
Bro (Medium settings with 11.4 Beta): http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/55...43988F823AE5D/
Me (almost max settings with 11.5 Alpha): http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...F7FB350CF0C8B/

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
look here, C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository, if you keep installing overtop, you lose 100mb with every driver you install, but no i dont think that would cause the corruption (unless a leftover CCC value creeped in)

but in your pics, i'm not sure if i'm looking at the right spots, for torchlight it's entirely possible that's what the dev intended, unless you can confirm a previous driver had completely different shadows?
Okay I agree the first pic it's not easy to spot it, but the Torchlight one, the shadows used to be a whole lot clearer and that was on high. The SS I showed you was on the highest shadow setting (the shadows pretty much looks the same blur on all settings now...).

Anyways, DW, I'll sweep and DL the WHQ drivers tomorrow. Not gonna waste too much time on leaked drivers...

Last edited by Seren; 05-05-2012 at 05:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#292)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-05-2012, 10:28 | posts: 1,573 | Location: Toronto

ok ya, something must have gone horribly wrong, or a CCC setting is interfering with the games
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#293)
erocker
Master Guru
 
erocker's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7970
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: 8gb Patriot 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: NZXT Hale90 1000W
Default 05-05-2012, 21:35 | posts: 207

Uninstall CCC isn't in my control panel for some reason. Where can I uninstall these?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#294)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 05-05-2012, 22:17 | posts: 8,828 | Location: UK

Run the set-up.exe again, and select uninstall
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#295)
erocker
Master Guru
 
erocker's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7970
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: 8gb Patriot 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: NZXT Hale90 1000W
Default 05-05-2012, 22:42 | posts: 207

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Run the set-up.exe again, and select uninstall
Lol, that would of been the easy way. I'm dumb for not thinking of it. Thanks much though. I wound up manually getting rid of everything then ran Driver Sweeper. Got new drivers installed and all is well. Heh, need more coffee.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#296)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 05-06-2012, 00:58 | posts: 216 | Location: Boston, MA

BF3 ran great with these but kept CTD on me. I ended up giving the 12.4's another try and found that they bench the same as the 8.97's and the flickering that bothered me with the 12.4's in BF3 the first go around is now gone for whatever reason.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#297)
somemadcaaant
Master Guru
 
somemadcaaant's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.26v
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 F13K
Memory: G Skill 12G DDR3 PC12800
Soundcard: SB X-Fi TF PRO
PSU: Corsair HX-850mhz
Default 05-06-2012, 02:42 | posts: 202 | Location: Australia

BC2 is borked with these for me, halved both gpu performance to about 50%, tried with older caps no difference, went back to feb 14th and back to 95% gpu usage again.

Battlefield 3 performance seemed down abit also, getting less then 60fps sometimes on metro, smallest map and saw some texture corruption as well, feb 14th back up past 80-90fps avg max settings, 1920x1200 and no corruption.

These drivers fixed 2nd gpu constantly at max.

-smc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#298)
|ALE|
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus R290X DCII
Processor: Intel Core-i7 980x@4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-OC
Memory: 3x4GB DDR3 2ghz
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake 875W
Default 05-06-2012, 19:00 | posts: 247

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3v3rm1nd View Post
afterburner .. with 12.4 everything is fine
uninstall afterburner, it gives me many problems with frequencies goes up and down random.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#299)
Rolly
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7970
Processor: Phenom II X4 965 BE
Mainboard: MSI 790FX-GD70
Memory: 2 x 2GB A-Data DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: CM M620W
Default 05-07-2012, 20:11 | posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by |ALE| View Post
uninstall afterburner, it gives me many problems with frequencies goes up and down random.
ALE, I've got exactly the same problem and I was wondering if there is some kind of fix as I really like Afterburner. Does it work properly with an older driver version for example?
I tried using one profile with stock settings for 2D and another one with moderate overclock for 3D but still having those constant frequency jumps up (to clocked setting 1100 MHz) and down (to idle setting 300 MHz) every several seconds when under load.
I think it could be the PowerPlay function of the card, I wonder if disabling it will stop the frequency jumps...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#300)
far-cough
Member Guru
 
far-cough's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R7990 6GB
Processor: intel i7 940 @ 3.54ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X58
Memory: DDR3 12Gigs of G.SKILL
Soundcard: sound blaster Fatilitypro
PSU: coolmaster 1250 watt
Default 05-08-2012, 08:48 | posts: 82 | Location: Brisbane QLD AU

Re-include atipdlxx.dll and atipdl64.dll into the package (better support with 3rd party tools)

done it to mine and all is good now these new drivers of late give me big headaches with this clock speeds so i use the modded drivers from a nother site which has the files in it

works a treat no problems at all now...
i just dont use the extra crap they put in it make my other programs play up...

these
Added HydraVision 4.2.232.0
Added AMD Video Convertor 12.4.100.20315
Added AMD Avivo Codec
Added Catalyst Application Profiles 12.3 CAP 1
with out them all is great iq and fps in games in xfire 6970's oc

Last edited by far-cough; 05-08-2012 at 08:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.