Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Recommend a portable audio player
Old
  (#1)
sdamaged99
Maha Guru
 
sdamaged99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 295X2 XPSC Full block
Processor: i7 4960X @ 4.5 H20
Mainboard: Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: 32GB Samsung 2400mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar HDAV1.3
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default Recommend a portable audio player - 05-04-2012, 16:08 | posts: 1,945 | Location: Isle of Man

I've just managed to grab some Grado SR125i headphones off Ebay for 80, got the extension cable too.

Now i need a portable audio device to play my FLAC files, anyone have any recommendations?

Also, do i need a headphone amplifier like a Fiio to drive these?

Many thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nikavelli
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Ti
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: MSI GD65
Memory: 16GB 1866 Corsair
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZXR
PSU: 1200-Watt Corsair
Default 05-04-2012, 17:23 | posts: 404

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamaged99 View Post
Also, do i need a headphone amplifier like a Fiio to drive these?
They're only rated at 32 Ohms.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 05-04-2012, 17:24 | posts: 6,824 | Location: USA

A zune..



jk lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sdamaged99
Maha Guru
 
sdamaged99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 295X2 XPSC Full block
Processor: i7 4960X @ 4.5 H20
Mainboard: Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: 32GB Samsung 2400mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar HDAV1.3
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 05-04-2012, 19:17 | posts: 1,945 | Location: Isle of Man

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikavelli View Post
They're only rated at 32 Ohms.
I'm assuming that means yes then?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
nikavelli
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Ti
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: MSI GD65
Memory: 16GB 1866 Corsair
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZXR
PSU: 1200-Watt Corsair
Default 05-04-2012, 20:25 | posts: 404

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamaged99 View Post
I'm assuming that means yes then?
The answer is no, you don't need a headphone amp to drive them.

Last edited by nikavelli; 05-04-2012 at 20:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
pokerapar88
Maha Guru
 
pokerapar88's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 7970 DD @ 1050/1500
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5Ghz CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Gskill Sniper 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + HT 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster GX 750w
Default 05-04-2012, 22:43 | posts: 1,651 | Location: Argentina // Buenos Aires

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamaged99 View Post
I've just managed to grab some Grado SR125i headphones off Ebay for 80, got the extension cable too.

Now i need a portable audio device to play my FLAC files, anyone have any recommendations?

Also, do i need a headphone amplifier like a Fiio to drive these?

Many thanks
WMA ftw
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
proteo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GeForce GTX560Ti OC
Processor: AMD AthlonII X2 250
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Memory: 16GB 1600CorsairVengance
Soundcard: X-Meridian + Senn HD598
PSU: CoolerMaster RS-600
Default 05-05-2012, 00:32 | posts: 90 | Location: Mexico

if you don't mind transcoding your files to other lossless format (apple lossless), I would suggest an iPod classic, the 160GB HDD would let you take a big selection of music with you, the battery last up to 36 hours, or you could install the Rockbox firmware on the iPod and use your FLAC files without transcoding.

If you want to squeeze every last drop of quality from the iPod you can use a line out adapter and a external headphone amplifier like the Fiio E7 or the E17.

I use an iPod classic because it's the only mp3 player with a hard drive I can find locally and there are lots of accessories almost everywhere.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
heymian
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 FTW
Processor: Intel i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-A
Memory: G.Skill 2133 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar ST
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 05-05-2012, 05:00 | posts: 520 | Location: U.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pokerapar88 View Post
WMA ftw
WMA is awful. Much better standards out there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by proteo View Post
If you want to squeeze every last drop of quality from the iPod you can use a line out adapter and a external headphone amplifier like the Fiio E7 or the E17.
Why would he need an amplifier for 32 ohm headphones..

32 ohm is like standard for headphones. It's meant to plug directly into your phone or ipods or front panels, etc.

I drive my 50-ohm HD595's without amplification, they sound remarkable.

Plug the Grado's directly into the iPod, that will give you the best sound quality. Don't bother running line out cables and passing the signal through external devices. It's not necessary in your situation and will most likely degrade sound quality.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 05-05-2012, 05:59 | posts: 6,824 | Location: USA

Any ipod needs to be amped. My headphones soun like junk compared to my
Pc on my iphone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
proteo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GeForce GTX560Ti OC
Processor: AMD AthlonII X2 250
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Memory: 16GB 1600CorsairVengance
Soundcard: X-Meridian + Senn HD598
PSU: CoolerMaster RS-600
Default 05-05-2012, 06:40 | posts: 90 | Location: Mexico

Quote:
Originally Posted by heymian View Post

Why would he need an amplifier for 32 ohm headphones..

32 ohm is like standard for headphones. It's meant to plug directly into your phone or ipods or front panels, etc.

I drive my 50-ohm HD595's without amplification, they sound remarkable.

Plug the Grado's directly into the iPod, that will give you the best sound quality. Don't bother running line out cables and passing the signal through external devices. It's not necessary in your situation and will most likely degrade sound quality.
Sorry, I don't think I explained myself correctly, rather than the iPod needing an amplifier (it can drive those headphones without problem), I was talking about skipping the integrated headphone amplifier and using the line out to drive a higher quality amplifier to change the sound signature of the output. Just like some people may prefer to replace the opamps, capacitors or other parts from a soundcard, receiver, etc. to change the sound to their preferences.

I prefer the sound of my soundcard over the iPod when using the same headphones, which work without any problem at all on both, it's just that the quality of the DAC and amplifier is a lot better on the computer. I think that you could even skip the iPod's DAC if you wanted, at least that the way it works on my car, sending the audio through the USB port on the car's audio system.

You don't need to do that, just plugging better headphones to the iPod will work, but there is always something else you can try if you want to improve the quality of your music, it's your choice how far in to the rabbit hole you want to fall.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
heymian
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 FTW
Processor: Intel i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-A
Memory: G.Skill 2133 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar ST
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 05-05-2012, 07:28 | posts: 520 | Location: U.S.

Well if he wants to carry around an amplifier everywhere he goes, that's his thing. Seems kind of impractical to me since he wants portability. Plus all headphones are different.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 05-05-2012, 12:05 | posts: 11,010 | Location: Finland

Buy a phone that has good DAC and FLAC support. In my opinion portable players are useless nowadays.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
DirkHardpeck
Master Guru
 
DirkHardpeck's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 SLI @ 1150/3305
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar U7
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 05-06-2012, 05:57 | posts: 252 | Location: NJ

I would like to recommend Creative's line of "Xi-Fi" portable media players but uh...yeah, I can't do that in all good conscience.

For portable media, I absolutely hate to say that I stick with a couple of iPod Classics and encode everything to Apple lossless (ALAC), or *GASP* deal with my old 320kbps mp3 files from before they made ALAC open source. I keep one in my car and one connected to the hi-fi, and pull one or the other (usually my car) when I travel. It works well enough I suppose. Currently I leave everything on my computer as FLAC but it's getting old keeping 2 different sets of the same music.

With your headphones, of course you won't need an amp, but like proteo said, you may prefer one for a different/better flavor...although honestly, IMO, if the iPod can drive the headphones, and you're in a situation where portability is at least somewhat important and I dunno, you're on a train or plane or whatever and aren't using super noise-cancelling cans/buds, it's probably not worth it. I take a Fiio amp with me when I travel for listening in hotel rooms and such, where honestly, it's barely worth it (highest impedance cans I have are 50 ohms). I think I just do it because I am a snob. As far as getting superior overall sound, not just driving higher impedance headphones, I think your real improvements come from non-portable, real deal DAC's and amps anyway. I wouldn't sweat bringing an amp with you everywhere.

Last edited by DirkHardpeck; 05-06-2012 at 06:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.