Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#326)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 04-23-2012, 18:32 | posts: 16,634 | Location: US East Coast

The first WU assigned to my 2600K estimated 18hrs to complete....yet my 2400 was doing the same WU in 6hrs. Also makes no sense that my 7870 would only get 8k PPD...which coincidentally is what my 4850 was getting 3 years ago....yet my 560Ti was getting 14-17K PPD with occassional jumps to 24K...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#327)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 04-23-2012, 19:01 | posts: 1,466 | Location: uk

i wouldn't compare old and new work unit like that, over the history of the smp client different work unit ppd has change a lot.
that is very strange about the 2400 and the 2600k though.
at the moment im going to let go for a little while(to see what happen). ppd from client to client or wu to wu same vs same the ppd is all over the place at the moment so it also hard to compare that to
the 560 jumping from 14 to 25 is just down to the wu i knot that much it the same as my 460's
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#328)
Brasky
Maha Guru
 
Brasky's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 SC
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: AsRock Z77e-ITX
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 2133 16gb
Soundcard: Littering and...?
PSU: Silverstone 450
Default 04-25-2012, 16:24 | posts: 1,749 | Location: BBQ Capital of the World

Well, good news, might have figured out my issue, During the initial construction phase of installing waterblocks on cards/motherboard, i had to cut away part of the pci card holder slot, the little piece of plastic you either push up or down in order to fully seat the card. i made sure not to actually cut the part that secures the card, but the handle had to be removed. and the evga hydro copper water blocks are a heavy beast, so I'm guess with the constant movement over the past few months things got jostled loose, so i went in and checked the placement of the cards and they were up and running well, with no odd stoppage except for the 296.10 driver issue that i installed. so today i'll install the old 285.62 driver and then i should be back at full strength again. Hope you enjoyed my rant.

And so, Ideally, This was the only issue.

Last edited by Brasky; 04-25-2012 at 17:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#329)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-26-2012, 01:23 | posts: 3,714

You won't try 301.24 Beta?
Folds great with my 560 Ti; 'great' as in 'stable'.
No lag whatsoever anymore while folding when doing anything else than folding.
It even backs off quite gracefully when I play 'casual' games (like SPAZ) on it.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#330)
Brasky
Maha Guru
 
Brasky's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 SC
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: AsRock Z77e-ITX
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 2133 16gb
Soundcard: Littering and...?
PSU: Silverstone 450
Default 04-26-2012, 04:31 | posts: 1,749 | Location: BBQ Capital of the World

i might, all i know is 296.10 doesn't work at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#331)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 04-29-2012, 07:56 | posts: 16,634 | Location: US East Coast

Thought I finally had all my issues sorted, but seems I need to put my 560Ti back in. The 7870 appears to be struggling. It frequently drops from 100% GPU load to 10% GPU load. This happens every 30sec or so.... Not sure if it's the 12.4 driver or the card itself but at this point I feel like I'm beating my head against a wall.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#332)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-30-2012, 02:05 | posts: 3,714

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
The 7870 appears to be struggling. It frequently drops from 100% GPU load to 10% GPU load. This happens every 30sec or so....
My guess the drop happens every time it completes a 1% step.
It could be the driver, though.
IIRC my 5770 back then also drops in GPU utilization a bit on every 1% step, but always got back up to 100%; made a funny utilization graph on Afterburner.

In any case, I'd probably cease folding for a day or two.
It's related to regenerating HDDs.
For some reason 1TB WD (Green) drives are always dying out on me, while the two 500GB Seagate and a 2TB Samsung haven't shown its age and still running spiffy.
Luckily HDD drive prices are starting to fall back down, though not pre-flood yet.
Should be enough, regardless.
This is my lossless rips archive I'm talking about, so it's kinda urgent to back these up on a new drive.
No more WD drives for me, though; had enough of those. =/




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#333)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 04-30-2012, 02:58 | posts: 16,634 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1net1cs View Post
My guess the drop happens every time it completes a 1% step.
It could be the driver, though.
IIRC my 5770 back then also drops in GPU utilization a bit on every 1% step, but always got back up to 100%; made a funny utilization graph on Afterburner.

In any case, I'd probably cease folding for a day or two.
It's related to regenerating HDDs.
For some reason 1TB WD (Green) drives are always dying out on me, while the two 500GB Seagate and a 2TB Samsung haven't shown its age and still running spiffy.
Luckily HDD drive prices are starting to fall back down, though not pre-flood yet.
Should be enough, regardless.
This is my lossless rips archive I'm talking about, so it's kinda urgent to back these up on a new drive.
No more WD drives for me, though; had enough of those. =/
No, it's not ever 1%.... It happens whether the progress indicator changes or not. After making that last post, I stopped F@H, returned the card to stock clocks and observed the frequency increase to every 10-15sec.

I gained 4K points lastnight and lost 2 spots. Time for the 560Ti to step in and pickup the lost points.

Oh, now I'm seeing flickering when the card switches to idle clocks....so, I'll run the 560Ti to make up a few points then give the 12.3 drivers another shot since they didn't exhibit the same behavior as the 12.4 drivers. At least the card was staying at 46C while folding...unlike the 12.3 drivers where it appeared to actually be stressed and would reach nearly 60C. Sad when WoW could get the card as high as 68C....yet F@H couldn't even break 50C....lol.

I honestly think there's a major flaw in AMD's OpenCL implementation within their drivers. It just doesn't seem like it's working properly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#334)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-30-2012, 05:15 | posts: 3,714

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
I honestly think there's a major flaw in AMD's OpenCL implementation within their drivers. It just doesn't seem like it's working properly.
That, or the OpenCL core is also partially at fault.
I mean, why bother having GPU folding if it also utilizes one CPU core no matter what?
A waste of resource, IMO.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#335)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 04-30-2012, 05:48 | posts: 16,634 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1net1cs View Post
That, or the OpenCL core is also partially at fault.
I mean, why bother having GPU folding if it also utilizes one CPU core no matter what?
A waste of resource, IMO.
AMD needs to ditch .Net framework....then they wouldn't need to use that 1 core....

Update: The 560Ti is up to it's old tricks again. Temp is down 10C (58C max) and GPU load is only at 88-90%. Is this due to the R300 drivers or is GPU-Z reading wrong or what????

Last edited by sykozis; 05-01-2012 at 02:01.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#336)
PlayN@Home
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3 @ GTX 570 WC
Processor: Intel i7-980x @ 4.3Ghz WC
Mainboard: Asus P6T6 WS
Memory: 6Gb Mushkin DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Cooler Master 1200w
Default 05-01-2012, 05:03 | posts: 50 | Location: USA

Update: The 560Ti is up to it's old tricks again. Temp is down 10C (58C max) and GPU load is only at 88-90%. Is this due to the R300 drivers or is GPU-Z reading wrong or what????[/QUOTE]

The lower GPU load could be the WU. Which WU is your 560ti getting? All of the P76XX WU's that I've been getting have been using about 85% GPU on all of my Nvidia video cards. On GTX 470 and GTX 570 in two different systems. My PPD has dropped about 40K. These new WU's suck on my systems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#337)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-01-2012, 05:19 | posts: 16,634 | Location: US East Coast

My PPD is fine.

The only work units I've seen it run are P76XX units, but I don't recall them only utilizing 88-90% before. If it's normal I can live with it....just want to make sure it's normal.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#338)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 05-05-2012, 05:43 | posts: 3,714

Well, just started folding again.

Couldn't believe scanning the damn drive took me 3 days with HDD Regenerator, and the final drive layout almost had nothing but D's and a couple of B's.
Anyone who have ever used HDD Regenerator would know what that means. =/




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#339)
Ghost15
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 465 SC 1GB
Processor: Core i7 980x @ 4.15
Mainboard: EVGA X58 3x SLI
Memory: DDR3 6GB @ 2004 mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatality
PSU: Corsair AX-850
Default 05-11-2012, 19:41 | posts: 77 | Location: USA,RI

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
AMD needs to ditch .Net framework....then they wouldn't need to use that 1 core....

Update: The 560Ti is up to it's old tricks again. Temp is down 10C (58C max) and GPU load is only at 88-90%. Is this due to the R300 drivers or is GPU-Z reading wrong or what????

I've been noticing the same 90% load on my video card now that it finally keeps folding instead of erroring out. It's a 465


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#340)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 05-14-2012, 03:23 | posts: 3,714

My folding PC.
No drops in GPU load whatsoever.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#341)
Kaktus
Master Guru
 
Kaktus's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 785O OC 2GB
Processor: I5 3570K @4.6 +EVO 212
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair cx600
Default 05-17-2012, 20:54 | posts: 307 | Location: South Africa

Ordered the parts for a 3570k setup, bring on some more folding points..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#342)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 05-17-2012, 21:58 | posts: 1,466 | Location: uk

cool cool let us no how it folds
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#343)
Brasky
Maha Guru
 
Brasky's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 SC
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: AsRock Z77e-ITX
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 2133 16gb
Soundcard: Littering and...?
PSU: Silverstone 450
Default 05-18-2012, 02:06 | posts: 1,749 | Location: BBQ Capital of the World

One more post into this thread by me... basically just admitting more faults left and right...
but over the past few weeks after cleaning and undusting/dedusting the computer i got pissed at the folding errors, so today, along with a 6'er of coors light i went to town dusting and replacing the cords into their respective places.. when i found that i misplaced my psu cables from the main 6/8 pin(yellow) and the auxiallary 68 pin (black) so that i ended ended up have the main dedicated pins in the same videocard instead of having the pins staggered like i had before fixed it, and everything is working swimmingly again.

you may ask yourself... why does this giant pile of awesomeness, aka Brasky, keep posting these stupid posts in the folding@home user thread...

Well, because i don't mind admitting my mistakes/errors and hopefully these stupid posts will help someone else along the way.

Also. trying out the new nvidia drivers in the 300 ranges and so far so good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#344)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 05-18-2012, 02:34 | posts: 1,466 | Location: uk

let us know if you think the 300 driver are any good i want to update mine as it been a while since there were good folding driver

not sure what you mean on the 6/8 pin problem but glade you got the problem sorted
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#345)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-18-2012, 02:46 | posts: 16,634 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by iancook221188 View Post
not sure what you mean on the 6/8 pin problem but glade you got the problem sorted
His power supply has aux connectors that work as either 6pin or 8pin PCIe Aux power connectors. Think of them like 6+2 connectors.....similar to the ATX 20+4 power connector.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#346)
Brasky
Maha Guru
 
Brasky's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 SC
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: AsRock Z77e-ITX
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 2133 16gb
Soundcard: Littering and...?
PSU: Silverstone 450
Default 05-18-2012, 03:47 | posts: 1,749 | Location: BBQ Capital of the World

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
His power supply has aux connectors that work as either 6pin or 8pin PCIe Aux power connectors. Think of them like 6+2 connectors.....similar to the ATX 20+4 power connector.
Exactly, and the 301.24 drivers have been working swimmingly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#347)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 05-18-2012, 11:19 | posts: 1,466 | Location: uk

ok u mean 4 pin molex connector

that good on the driver may have to try them soon

Last edited by iancook221188; 05-28-2012 at 23:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#348)
Kaktus
Master Guru
 
Kaktus's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 785O OC 2GB
Processor: I5 3570K @4.6 +EVO 212
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair cx600
Default 05-28-2012, 19:03 | posts: 307 | Location: South Africa

So i find the sweet spot for this cpu...

Running 4.7ghz using only 1.3v at 60 odd degress stressed..

Now to see what it's folding like..

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#349)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 05-28-2012, 23:09 | posts: 1,466 | Location: uk

that a good clock you got there but i would def stress it for a bit longer like over 4 hour at the least
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#350)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 05-29-2012, 10:25 | posts: 3,714

Oh my...just noticed I got the same exact Daily Production for two consecutive days.
What are the odds of that?




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.