Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6870CFX 1GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 05-04-2012, 00:31 | posts: 55 | Location: NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
guess that will do if your short on money, unless somebody has a better deal, is that your max budget? and its crossfire ready too lol

750 watt 62.4 amps on the 12v rail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703027
15% off with promo code and rebate
yeah that's my max budget unfortunately i spend so much money on this computer im broke now
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-04-2012, 00:34 | posts: 17,994 | Location: New Jersey, USA

that psu I linked will power that system fine with oc too. 15% promo ends 5/5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6870CFX 1GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 05-04-2012, 00:38 | posts: 55 | Location: NY

I guess i could beg my mom for 5$
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-04-2012, 00:55 | posts: 17,994 | Location: New Jersey, USA

why dont you enter the 15% promo code?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6870CFX 1GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 05-04-2012, 01:02 | posts: 55 | Location: NY

where do you enter the code?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-04-2012, 01:04 | posts: 17,994 | Location: New Jersey, USA

in your cart when you are logged in to your account
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6870CFX 1GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 05-04-2012, 01:15 | posts: 55 | Location: NY

wow really i never knew that thanks a lot man ill buy it now ill let you know how things go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-04-2012, 01:16 | posts: 17,994 | Location: New Jersey, USA

np bro enjoy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
VenoMaizeR
Member Guru
 
VenoMaizeR's Avatar
 
Videocard: 470 GTX 875/2125 1.150v
Processor: Core 2 Quad 3.3Mhz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: KHX8Gb DDr2/971 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Creative XFi Fatality Pro
PSU: CorsairHX 650w psu
Default 05-04-2012, 23:05 | posts: 122 | Location: Portugal/Lisbon

Im having the same issue on BF3 Multi 64 maps...2 cards 40-30% usage 35-45fps. 1 card 99% 55-60fps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-04-2012, 23:37 | posts: 1,566 | Location: Toronto

well in bf3 beta, i noticed SOMETIMES CF breaks if you click into the game too fast, so just let it load as it wants when joining a match

it could also have been related to needing to restart the browser
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#61)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-05-2012, 00:54 | posts: 17,994 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by VenoMaizeR View Post
Im having the same issue on BF3 Multi 64 maps...2 cards 40-30% usage 35-45fps. 1 card 99% 55-60fps.
cpu bottleneck on bf3 mp 64 player
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
VenoMaizeR
Member Guru
 
VenoMaizeR's Avatar
 
Videocard: 470 GTX 875/2125 1.150v
Processor: Core 2 Quad 3.3Mhz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: KHX8Gb DDr2/971 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Creative XFi Fatality Pro
PSU: CorsairHX 650w psu
Default 05-06-2012, 04:42 | posts: 122 | Location: Portugal/Lisbon

Originally Posted by sccr64472 View Post

A bottleneck cannot cause a decrease in performance with a superior part compared to an inferior part. Your single card setup outperforming your dual card setup had nothing to do with your cpu. What I've explained is a simple fact and has nothing to do with experience or equipment. Are you doubting this? I can't quite tell if you're trying to state that your situation is possibly different, so I'll state it again. No bottleneck of any magnitude can ever cause a faster part to perform more poorly than a slower part. My opinion? ****ty drivers...in BFBC2 only after 1 year the game was out ati launch some big optimized driver that boost up the gpu usage....only took 1 year...

Meanwhile i use my 470oc and play it in 70fps on ultra... gg..

Last edited by VenoMaizeR; 05-06-2012 at 04:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-06-2012, 09:22 | posts: 1,566 | Location: Toronto

er, it's a known fact that CF uses more cpu power than single, so it's quite possible if the game just happens to be on the edge of max cpu usage, CF can start decreasing performance (of the most demanding minimum fps)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
VenoMaizeR
Member Guru
 
VenoMaizeR's Avatar
 
Videocard: 470 GTX 875/2125 1.150v
Processor: Core 2 Quad 3.3Mhz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: KHX8Gb DDr2/971 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Creative XFi Fatality Pro
PSU: CorsairHX 650w psu
Default 05-06-2012, 16:56 | posts: 122 | Location: Portugal/Lisbon

Quote:

"Have been struggling with some FPS drops in BF3, and i have done some testing and monitoring today

i7 2600K @ 4.7Ghz
Asus P8Z68 Deluxe
16GB XMS3 1600Mhz
7970 Crossfire @ 1125/1575

With one card, the GPU usage is 98-99% rock stable, but when i run two card, some interesting thing show up.

Both GPU's are working in the 50-80% Area, its pending up and down as i move around, and the highest i can se in 80% on both GPU's.
I only ask this for others have suggested my CPU was a bottle neck for my game play when I do not see my CPU going over 30% use."

Drivers period.

The fact remains that at least i should been having the same fps has a the singlecard....at least... not half, which is pretty ridiculous.

Last edited by VenoMaizeR; 05-06-2012 at 17:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
lenne
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 290x ref @ Accelero V4
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4,3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 1600 4x4gb
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 05-06-2012, 20:36 | posts: 349 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
cpu bottleneck on bf3 mp 64 player
Absolutely true, i did double check this recently a q6600 @ 3,6ghz is nowere fast enough to run cfx on 64 player maps! ( even on way older gpus, my test setup was an 4870x2, we had severe lag, low usage with cfx, switched to an i5 2500k @ 4,5ghz and it ran absolutely flawless with fps as high as 90+ with high settings.


Quote:
Originally Posted by VenoMaizeR View Post
Originally Posted by sccr64472 View Post

A bottleneck cannot cause a decrease in performance with a superior part compared to an inferior part. Your single card setup outperforming your dual card setup had nothing to do with your cpu. What I've explained is a simple fact and has nothing to do with experience or equipment. Are you doubting this? I can't quite tell if you're trying to state that your situation is possibly different, so I'll state it again. No bottleneck of any magnitude can ever cause a faster part to perform more poorly than a slower part. My opinion? ****ty drivers...in BFBC2 only after 1 year the game was out ati launch some big optimized driver that boost up the gpu usage....only took 1 year...

Meanwhile i use my 470oc and play it in 70fps on ultra... gg..
GET UR FACTS STRAIGHT BEFORE POSTING ( all caps because im annoyed )

Last edited by lenne; 05-06-2012 at 20:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-06-2012, 21:16 | posts: 17,994 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by VenoMaizeR View Post
Originally Posted by sccr64472 View Post

A bottleneck cannot cause a decrease in performance with a superior part compared to an inferior part. Your single card setup outperforming your dual card setup had nothing to do with your cpu. What I've explained is a simple fact and has nothing to do with experience or equipment. Are you doubting this? I can't quite tell if you're trying to state that your situation is possibly different, so I'll state it again. No bottleneck of any magnitude can ever cause a faster part to perform more poorly than a slower part. My opinion? ****ty drivers...in BFBC2 only after 1 year the game was out ati launch some big optimized driver that boost up the gpu usage....only took 1 year...

Meanwhile i use my 470oc and play it in 70fps on ultra... gg..
with 1 470 and the specs in your sig?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
deluxe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 780 DC2
Processor: i7 3930 @ 4.4
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45 Plus
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: ADATA HM-850
Default 05-06-2012, 21:51 | posts: 227 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
with 1 470 and the specs in your sig?
On 640x480
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-07-2012, 00:00 | posts: 1,566 | Location: Toronto

Quote:
Originally Posted by lenne View Post
Absolutely true, i did double check this recently a q6600 @ 3,6ghz is nowere fast enough to run cfx on 64 player maps! ( even on way older gpus, my test setup was an 4870x2, we had severe lag, low usage with cfx, switched to an i5 2500k @ 4,5ghz and it ran absolutely flawless with fps as high as 90+ with high settings.
on the same 4870x2!? i also need to find info on how a 7970 runs on a q9550 3.5ghz (i believe this is similar to a certain phenom ii quad stock based on cinebench & x264 bench numbers)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
Brandon_34
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 690GTX
Processor: 3930K 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS X79 Rampage IV
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16 GB
Soundcard: realtek high def
PSU: Corsair AX 750
Default 05-07-2012, 00:29 | posts: 320 | Location: Basement

The problem here is simple. Don't Ever Ever Ever run a multi gpu setup on a 16x 4x bus. It won't work. A friend of mine tried that on a h57 intel chipset with a 875k@ 4.0 and had the exact same problem. Switch to a x2 card like a 6870x2 5970 ect and the problem will go away. " talking about the ops problem"

Last edited by Brandon_34; 05-07-2012 at 00:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
VenoMaizeR
Member Guru
 
VenoMaizeR's Avatar
 
Videocard: 470 GTX 875/2125 1.150v
Processor: Core 2 Quad 3.3Mhz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: KHX8Gb DDr2/971 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Creative XFi Fatality Pro
PSU: CorsairHX 650w psu
Default 05-07-2012, 00:45 | posts: 122 | Location: Portugal/Lisbon

Quote:
Originally Posted by deluxe View Post
On 640x480
Yes 1080p ofc mesh is low and antialiasing off the rest is on ultra. 470s and 480s overclock like a charm im passing by far stock 570s, aftermaket cooling ftw. You mad bro? my bf3 config http://www.dropmocks.com/mBi1Oq getting offtopic now.. ...neeeedd more voltage...moreeee!

Last edited by VenoMaizeR; 05-07-2012 at 01:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
VenoMaizeR
Member Guru
 
VenoMaizeR's Avatar
 
Videocard: 470 GTX 875/2125 1.150v
Processor: Core 2 Quad 3.3Mhz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: KHX8Gb DDr2/971 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Creative XFi Fatality Pro
PSU: CorsairHX 650w psu
Default 05-07-2012, 01:29 | posts: 122 | Location: Portugal/Lisbon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon_34 View Post
The problem here is simple. Don't Ever Ever Ever run a multi gpu setup on a 16x 4x bus. It won't work. A friend of mine tried that on a h57 intel chipset with a 875k@ 4.0 and had the exact same problem. Switch to a x2 card like a 6870x2 5970 ect and the problem will go away. " talking about the ops problem"
Mine runs at 8x 8x (single 16x) ...actually i have read something about that chip, the old p45 doesnt have that problem..

Last edited by VenoMaizeR; 05-07-2012 at 01:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Brandon_34
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 690GTX
Processor: 3930K 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS X79 Rampage IV
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16 GB
Soundcard: realtek high def
PSU: Corsair AX 750
Default 05-07-2012, 02:00 | posts: 320 | Location: Basement

Quote:
Originally Posted by VenoMaizeR View Post
Mine runs at 8x 8x (single 16x) ...actually i have read something about that chip, the old p45 doesnt have that problem.. all other games are running fine crysis 2, BFBC2 and etc., i got 80-90gpu usage on both cards only BF3 is pissing me off...
As long as you are 8x/8x you are good but the huge problem is 16x/4x.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
lenne
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 290x ref @ Accelero V4
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4,3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 1600 4x4gb
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 05-07-2012, 07:59 | posts: 349 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
on the same 4870x2!? i also need to find info on how a 7970 runs on a q9550 3.5ghz (i believe this is similar to a certain phenom ii quad stock based on cinebench & x264 bench numbers)
A single 7970 will run OK it will be limited in certain situations but not as much as a cfx setup ( i had this same q6600 running with an 6970 which was ok, but nontheless i gained a lot of frames when i switched to an i5 2500k @ 4,5 )

dont throw your 4870x2 away jet, its amazing how fast it stil is, atleast if u give it the right processor to play along with, we switched on vsync because it barely dips below 60 fps (and otherwise microstutters quite badly) with high settings and its really smooth.

Last edited by lenne; 05-07-2012 at 08:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-07-2012, 22:50 | posts: 1,566 | Location: Toronto

i want ~60fps bf3, crysis (1 & 2), dx11, windowed performance, etc

also my fan is starting to die, but i'll probably get a new card when 8970 is out
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-07-2012, 23:30 | posts: 17,994 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon_34 View Post
As long as you are 8x/8x you are good but the huge problem is 16x/4x.
err look at the link I posted 16x 4x xfire. not much of a performance hit nor a huge problem. not saying I would do it myself, but the info is there
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.