Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#876)
TirolokoRD
Maha Guru
 
TirolokoRD's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY 770 Superclocked
Processor: SB 2500K @ 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 z68
Memory: 16GB Assorted @1600MHZ
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec 850W
Default 04-03-2012, 16:08 | posts: 1,816 | Location: Dominican Republic

Can be any slowdowns in the overall system performance is pagefile is disabled?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#877)
Sash
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 04-03-2012, 17:48 | posts: 7,068

Hey Bigtime, once Ivy 3770 is out, il stick that bastard in my mobo and join the club! delete ALL the pagefile!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#878)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 2600 3.9-4.20
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 04-09-2012, 07:13 | posts: 2,374 | Location: florida

my system still wont let me disable the pagefile, every time after log on I get message saying windows has created a temporary pagefile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#879)
smnoamls
Maha Guru
 
smnoamls's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 2gb Dirt3 @6970 bios
Processor: i5 2500k@4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte z68x ud3
Memory: 8GB gskill
Soundcard: x-fi xtremeGamer
PSU: 620 thermalte PSU
Default 04-09-2012, 07:15 | posts: 1,430 | Location: israel

As stated many many times, many windows installations will simply not allow you to disable paging file.
There could be a million reasons such as stuff you installed, services you set to run, network drives (yes a real reason) etc.
Please remember, that in normal working conditions your ram will always take the brunt of your performance needs, so dont worry about disabling paging file with a machine like yours.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#880)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 - XL2720T
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: SupremeFX III
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-09-2012, 18:49 | posts: 5,214 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by joweyx View Post
Can be any slowdowns in the overall system performance is pagefile is disabled?
Theoretically there shouldnt be any slowdowns but there will be some games/programs that can go loco when its disabled. One for example being BF3, it will give you a Direct X error if you disable it so I just set it to 1GB just to be safe.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#881)
AaD-Marine
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce 660 Ti
Processor: Intel i5 4670 @ 0.875v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE z87-D3H
Memory: 2x4GB 1600Mhz @ 1.25v
Soundcard: X-FI w/ Klipsch 2.1
PSU: Antec HCP-750
Default 04-18-2012, 09:12 | posts: 240 | Location: United States

deleted.

Last edited by AaD-Marine; 10-22-2012 at 05:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#882)
smnoamls
Maha Guru
 
smnoamls's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 2gb Dirt3 @6970 bios
Processor: i5 2500k@4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte z68x ud3
Memory: 8GB gskill
Soundcard: x-fi xtremeGamer
PSU: 620 thermalte PSU
Default 04-18-2012, 09:58 | posts: 1,430 | Location: israel

PLEASE READ
http://www.tweakhound.com/2011/10/10...g-without-one/
Best article on page file cons and pros I read in a long time. Very exhaustive.
I don't want to put a tl;dr version, prefer you guys read it yourself.
If you still think its too long, scroll to bottom to conclusions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#883)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 2600 3.9-4.20
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 04-18-2012, 12:01 | posts: 2,374 | Location: florida

I keep mine on a seperate drive along with 90% percent of my apps and games and vm images.

1 drive, boot and operation system

2nd drive programs,games,other stuff

3,backup and pagefile.......system information software says 8% of pagefile is in use when system is running

system really fast

Last edited by dsbig; 04-18-2012 at 12:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#884)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 04-18-2012, 12:37 | posts: 12,045 | Location: USA

I havent't had my pagefile enabled in years and I have yet to run into a game or program error because of not having one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#885)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX 1215/1750
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-18-2012, 12:57 | posts: 22,525 | Location: Netherlands

yes you have 16GB how much is skyrim using for you ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#886)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-18-2012, 14:12 | posts: 3,695

Quote:
Originally Posted by smnoamls View Post
If you still think its too long, scroll to bottom to conclusions.
And yet, the conclusion says basically this : test it out yourself.
Helpful, ain't it?




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#887)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 04-18-2012, 14:43 | posts: 12,045 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
yes you have 16GB how much is skyrim using for you ?
Idk, I havent played it yet. i have to finish other games first.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#888)
gamerk2
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVIDIA 570 GTX 1.2 GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 3.9GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Xense
PSU: 750W
Default 04-18-2012, 14:59 | posts: 2,090 | Location: Medford, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestorm View Post
I havent't had my pagefile enabled in years and I have yet to run into a game or program error because of not having one.
Because 32-bit applications on Win64 are limited to no more then 4GB of usage by themselves [assuming compiled with PAE].

And there is the slight increase in memory usage when running without a pagefile to consider, as all commits MUST be put into physical RAM, even if no data has been written to it yet. I've seen some apps that actually do worse without a pagefile for this reason.

The only real reason to bother to go without a pagefile would be to save HDD space [which is ever less of a concern these days], or more likely, prolonging the lifespan of a SSD drive. Still, as we start to get more x64 apps that will gladly eat more then 4GB of RAM, the no pagefile crowd is going to start to run into applications that will happily eat into 8GB RAM like its nothing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#889)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-18-2012, 15:51 | posts: 3,695

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerk2 View Post
Still, as we start to get more x64 apps that will gladly eat more then 4GB of RAM, the no pagefile crowd is going to start to run into applications that will happily eat into 8GB RAM like its nothing.
When 64-bit apps become the norm, I believe this'd already be a 64GB RAM club.
I mean, getting 16GB of DDR3 is already cheap now, and the transition to 64-bit apps are still slow, despite 64-bit OSes have sprung out for a few years already.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#890)
gammelhat
Member Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-19-2012, 11:55 | posts: 96

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerk2 View Post
Because 32-bit applications on Win64 are limited to no more then 4GB of usage by themselves [assuming compiled with PAE].
Compiled with LAA enabled (not PAE). Multiple 32bit apps can consume much more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#891)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-19-2012, 13:01 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by smnoamls View Post
PLEASE READ
http://www.tweakhound.com/2011/10/10...g-without-one/
Best article on page file cons and pros I read in a long time. Very exhaustive.
I don't want to put a tl;dr version, prefer you guys read it yourself.
If you still think its too long, scroll to bottom to conclusions.
Nice article.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#892)
RedSeptember
Master Guru
 
RedSeptember's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 690 4gb
Processor: Intel i7 3930k 4700ghz HT
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV extreme
Memory: Dominator Plat 64gb 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Gigabyte Odin 1200w
Default 05-03-2012, 13:18 | posts: 473 | Location: Dubai

Quote:
Originally Posted by UZ7 View Post
Theoretically there shouldnt be any slowdowns but there will be some games/programs that can go loco when its disabled. One for example being BF3, it will give you a Direct X error if you disable it so I just set it to 1GB just to be safe.
I disabled mine and never had that issue. Might just be you, but thats interesting though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#893)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-03-2012, 13:26 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by UZ7 View Post
Theoretically there shouldnt be any slowdowns but there will be some games/programs that can go loco when its disabled. One for example being BF3, it will give you a Direct X error if you disable it so I just set it to 1GB just to be safe.
That error only occurs if your system reaches the commit limit, usually with 4GB or less ram.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#894)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD555s
PSU: HX1050
Default 05-04-2012, 22:38 | posts: 2,437 | Location: UK

Another reason to have it on (Just turned mine back on) is for a crash dump file, twice now in the last week I've had a random loss of power to my system and I have no idea why, so I thought I know I'll consult the crash dump file, went to access it and was like oh yeah no pagefile, no crash dump file, thats useful lol

So now hopefully if it happens again I might be able to find out the cause
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#895)
TirolokoRD
Maha Guru
 
TirolokoRD's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY 770 Superclocked
Processor: SB 2500K @ 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 z68
Memory: 16GB Assorted @1600MHZ
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec 850W
Default 05-05-2012, 21:51 | posts: 1,816 | Location: Dominican Republic

Before getting the extra 8gb, the only game that I see that has some problems I think was MW3, it didn't dump but it freezes for 3 secs and then starts again. In a 2 hrs session, it happened twice...

Could be cause of the pagefile?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#896)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 05-05-2012, 23:04 | posts: 8,479 | Location: London, Ontario

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1net1cs View Post
And yet, the conclusion says basically this : test it out yourself.
Helpful, ain't it?
Nah it basically says there's absolutely no difference either way.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#897)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 05-06-2012, 06:37 | posts: 185

I thought Vista or Win 7 was smart enough to use ram instead of pagefile when there is enough ram
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#898)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-06-2012, 08:29 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by TirolokoRD View Post
Before getting the extra 8gb, the only game that I see that has some problems I think was MW3, it didn't dump but it freezes for 3 secs and then starts again. In a 2 hrs session, it happened twice...

Could be cause of the pagefile?
No, I played MW3 with PF disabled no problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#899)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 05-06-2012, 20:15 | posts: 2,916 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by campcreekdude View Post
I thought Vista or Win 7 was smart enough to use ram instead of pagefile when there is enough ram
that is up to debate, hell this whole topic is and can be up for debate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#900)
lukas_1987_dion
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 660 Ti Phantom II OC!
Processor: THUBAN X6 1100T @ 4.0GHz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD65 AM3+
Memory: A-DATA 8GB DDR3 @ 1676MHz
Soundcard: 660 Ti HDMI 7.1/Onkyo 608
PSU: Thermaltake 700w
Default 05-31-2012, 16:11 | posts: 302 | Location: Poland

Well for me when I disabled PageFile my crashes are gone in Fallout 3 and New Vegas, and I don't have any problems with disabled PF ;-)

Thanks for tips all xD
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.